Volkswagen Passat B8 to arrive in Malaysia in Q1 2016

Volkswagen_Passat_Malaysia_Preview_ 016

Remember the sleek Volkswagen Passat B8 that was paraded around at the brand’s Das Event last year? For those who have been wondering when the eight-generation D-segment competitor will make its official Malaysian debut, Volkswagen Group Malaysia‘s (VGM) managing director, Armin Keller, has the answer.

In an interview with BFM 89.9, Armin revealed that the B8-generation Passat will be launched in the first quarter of 2016. Unfortunately, additional details surrounding the car in terms of its specifications and whatnot remain unknown – for now. He did, however, mention that more models (which includes the Golf GTE) will be added in to augment the range. Said models will be introduced as CBU units initially.

Aside from that, the interview also revealed Volkswagen’s steps in its continuous onslaught to improve the brand’s after-sales service. Touching on the issue of its DSG gearbox, Keller commented that there are no more issues surrounding said gearbox – problems were apparently solved over half a year ago.

VW Technical Service Centre

He also added that Volkswagen wasn’t the only brand facing technological issues as other manufacturers who have dabbled in more high-tech equipment will inevitably run into teething problems. Additionally, vehicle parts are now delivered on a daily basis throughout the Klang Valley to help cope with the shortage of parts – deliveries are made twice a day if need be.

Improvements in terms of after-sales services have also been marked with the introduction of courtesy cars at Volkswagen service centres while Keller himself has stated that waiting periods at said centres are now down to two days for regular maintenance works and six for more major repairs.

On the production side of things, there are plans to make Malaysia a regional hub with locally-assembled cars exported to neighbouring markets. The first step is already underway, according to Keller, as the brand prepares to export its a batch of Polo models – assembled in Pekan – to Indonesia. Following on, Keller mentions that there are plans to export locally-assembled Volkswagen cars to Thailand in the future.

GALLERY: Volkswagen Passat B8 in Malaysia

GALLERY: Volkswagen Golf GTE

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• Areyousure on Jun 25, 2015 at 2:47 pm

Copy-and-paste fellows. Show time for you …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 7
    • 2014 Passat Owner on Jun 25, 2015 at 2:54 pm

You can make fun of copy and paste but we as owners know better. We have been misled. We pay to expensive but spend our entire annual leave in the SC.

I am a Passat Owner. I bought my car in March 2014. It is a 2014 model. From March 2014 until today my car has broken down 4 times. All 4 times were DSG related.

Before I bought my car, I asked the salesman and even the manager to assure me that all DSG matters are resolved. The swear upon whatever false Gods t that DSG was a thing of the past and only affected 2011 and earlier models.

So, already 4 times my DSG has broken down. Each time, SC took 2 months to fix it up. In total, I have not seen my car for 8 whole months. And it has only been 11 months I have owned this damn thing.

I have full of regrets. Suffered so much. I tremble in fear when my DSG becomes spoilt after the 2 year warranty is over. I know fleet cars in my office use VW and that their warranty is discretionery after the 2 years.

I am trying to sell off my Passat before the 2 years warranty is over but no used car dealer wants to take it in. The best I have got is RM$80k. But how to sell at that price when I have bought RM$170k? Rugi lah aku!

I advice all buyers, stay away far away from the dry clutch. The sales people will swear to you (as they did to me) and assure you the world, but when it breaksdown, they don’t care for you. They will swear to you that the DSG is resolved.

VGM has stinking service. If you know your DSG are ALL faulty, keep the boxes in store. Why hold a customers car for 2 months? What if i did not have a spare car?

VGM should give all of us owners 10 years warranty. You have sold us a lemon, own up to it. And you are still selling people lemons, be honest about the DSG problems they are going to face!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 128 Thumb down 15
      • Same L0rrrr on Jun 25, 2015 at 4:33 pm

See! I don’t need badmouth other brand. The drivers will speak for themselves.

As I always said, you won’t go wrong with sushi cars. And Yes, we do have recalls on the airbags, but you don’t need to put it at SC 2 months. At the fastest pace, 2 hours enough.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 26
        • Tass AP on Jun 25, 2015 at 6:40 pm

I still want to buy B8 Passat rather than to own rubbish Camry

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 29
          • Same L0rrrr on Jun 25, 2015 at 7:09 pm

You wanna park your car at SC, why I stop you? Better buy a house near SC, to ease you send in/pick up your car quarterly.

If you find a job in SC, da BEST!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 8
          • RicoT on Jun 25, 2015 at 9:51 pm

The facelift Toyota Camry now has 6 speed auto even with the 2.0L, not the dinosaur 4AT of the past. For those who want the best FC, Mazda6; the cheaper option, Honda Accord or Nissan Teana. Maybe this coming B8 Passat will use AT rather than DSG for our market. Then let us compare engine reliability with the new Toyota and Mazda engines.

• Willing to take RISK? on Jun 26, 2015 at 10:09 am

But I ask you, if there is a river, and you are about to cross it, if some villagers tell you there are crocodiles, but many more tell you there are no such things all myths. Would you dare cross?

The same with spending RM190k on a car. Are you very sure it is problem free? Very sure DSG cured already?

This is not like RM1k handphone which you can bin it if it always hangs

• Passat 2013 Owner on Jun 26, 2015 at 10:29 am

My car DSG already replaced few times and still same problems. I wish I had not bought a VW at all.

• paulnut on Jun 25, 2015 at 10:52 pm

Your son use proton saga for its reliability.

• Passat 2013 Owner on Jun 26, 2015 at 10:27 am

My DSG been replaced like 4 times. Still juddering all the time. What lies VW spreading this time?

• e-feelingup on Jun 26, 2015 at 10:45 am

which service center you sent you. Hv your call reported to Germany Expert to check your car?!

• Golf MK7 Owner on Jun 26, 2015 at 11:35 am

The German expert is a joke la. Was called to VW in Puchong for car diagnostics with the German technician. Had a test drive with him and another fella local technician. It was shown that my car judders during low gear shifts G1-G2 especially and obscene creaking sound from front suspensions when going tru bumps. Left my car there in the morning and was told to collect it at 4pm same day (So fast ??!!) At the end, they told me that’s the characteristic of the MK7 clutch which causes juddering and they claimed to have fixed the creaking noise in my suspensions as well. Guess what, both of these issues still persist….After that I sent my car to VW TTDI and they helped to diagnose my car in more detail and sincerely. End result: Replaced new clutch pad, new TPI replacement for the front suspension grease and my problems are solved for now. Thanks for the helpful SA there. In a nutshell, the so called German expert visit might not be as helpful as we all thought. Prolly another publicity stunt.

• e-feelingup on Jun 26, 2015 at 10:44 am

As owner just to be honest.. I have no issued with my PASSAT.. if you ask me is DSG giving me problem? hm… I really dun dare to answer..
          When i say NO, ppl like you guys will start cursing me .. wait until 2 year down the road.. your car still will definitely come with DSG issued than you have to park your car in SC for 2 months…. You guys sometimes even more scary than those DSG… for bad mouthing…
          I had asked around ppl who drive PASSAT in service centre.. i hardly heard anyone have any issued with DSG nowadays.. sometimes I am wondering how would you guys get all these news that DSG will break down etc…. anyway the news that you guys have.. is totally outdated la!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
      • ABTguy (Member) on Jun 25, 2015 at 5:39 pm

TO Volkswagen AG

Actually since VAG is so rich, I would suggest you buy up ZF, the whole company and use its ZF 8 speed autobox on all your cars. It’s one hell good gearbox, forget about DSG 7 speed dry box !! Just look at how BMW do away with its notorious Banyak Masuk Workshop naming –> use ZF 8 speed autobox on all 3/5/7 series, and voila they even confident to give 5 years warranty now.

BTW, if you manage to buy up ZF, do remember to sell BMW your 8 speed box at higher price = higher profit. BMW new buyers all cry :D

• Passat owner as well on Jun 25, 2015 at 8:33 pm

Ya ke? My broken once with dsg related issue. However I’m ver satisfied with the service because they got me a Tiguan as a spare car for 2 months on the same day. During those months I had driven more than 8k mileage. I think I save quite some money on servicing. Lol.

• Hm are you sure your car has DSG issues? It only takes one day to replace the mechatronic GB.

Please take your lies somewhere else.

• Vincent on Jun 25, 2015 at 9:27 pm

You sure you bought your passat at 170k? lol, I seriously doubt if you actually own a passat

• VW Cybertroopers on Jun 26, 2015 at 9:40 am

This is the same way that happened 4 yrs ago. VW never admit their DSG. And many salesman and fanboys come here and create doubt. They say all those spreading rumours and lies and jealous. Now the salesman are doing the same. All the VW salesman now come here and try to rebut. I think facebook does not lie

• nancylow on Jun 26, 2015 at 10:50 am

YOu are totally wrong… VW do admit their DSG problem. They did a so call recall globally as well as in Malaysia to replace with the mineral oil. Do study first before you spread la!!! VW cybertroopers woor…

• nancylow on Jun 26, 2015 at 11:16 am

I remember 2014 Passat is selling at RM160k something.. the price goes up to RM170K due to GST….. ceh!! another LIAR

• e-feelingup on Jun 26, 2015 at 10:36 am

Are you sure your PASSAT 2014 give you that much of problem? In fact, I hardly heard any new PASSAT owner especially on 2014 manufacture with such a big issued like you. Can you please check your car registration car… you confirm is 2014 model? or you buy 2nd hand PASSAT you don’t know.
        VW car is now total giving 2+3 total with 5 year warranty but not 2 year only.
        which service centre you sent too? did they explain to you why take so long? And also did they provide you courtesy car? or maybe you didnot ask…
        I,myself drove a PASSAT with 2014, I never struggle such headache like you. You may say I am lucky or what.

• Golf MK7 Owner on Jun 26, 2015 at 11:44 am

Bro, to each his own. All the owners are sharing their terrible experience of owning a VW AND at the same time I also see people sharing their sheer driving pleasure with their VWs. Owners with bad experience like myself will try to advise people to consider all the factors before getting themselves into trouble, to which you will do the same too in the opposite in encouraging other people to test drive and own one for the great experience. In short, i do not discourage people not to buy a VW, i am simply asking them to do proper research and to certain extent, to put up in a gamble and if the owners got a bad car, i feel sorry for them. Glad to hear that you are enjoying your ride now. Frankly, I had the same feeling as you now during the first year of ownership. Things just rolled down the hill after that.

• again and again on Jun 26, 2015 at 11:40 am

you not boring meh?? i read this everytime and i lost believe in people commenting vw anymore. bought 1 and it serve me well. so get on with your life. it gives you problem? then buy other brand.. people have the right to choose. buy honda city also masuk kilang..rubbish

• again and again on Jun 26, 2015 at 11:41 am

bought a honda city 2012.. also park at SC for 2 weeks to rectify my airbag. waste my time.. ask courtesy car also dont give.. say no such privilege..

• dsgsux on Jun 25, 2015 at 2:56 pm

First!
      DSG problematic transmission included?
      Which SC will it go and for how long it will be there?
      Free towing truck service included?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 13
    • Quitesure on Jun 25, 2015 at 3:00 pm

Actually those who are still complaining about the DSG problems are those who have refused to send their cars to VW. Some have already broken their warranty by going to private workshops for quick fixes. These people will continue to complain till kingdom come. So please dont believe all critical comments unless verified.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 49
      • 2015 Jetta Owner on Jun 25, 2015 at 3:12 pm

Ah? Butul kah? I send my car to VW SC all the time. But my DSG already kaput 3 times. Betul kah DSG sorted out 1 half years ago?

Butul ka?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 12
        • Kenny on Jun 25, 2015 at 4:52 pm

VW issue has been spread around since 2 years ago, yet you still bought a Jetta in 2015. Why?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
          • again and again on Jun 26, 2015 at 11:45 am

hahaha.. when did they launch a 2015 jetta??? all 2014 oni ma

• hi, hatter! As I know Volkswagen don’t have 2015 jetta… May I know where u bought it?

• Billy on Jun 25, 2015 at 9:23 pm

“2014 Passat Owner” says, DSG gearbox needs 2 months to repair.
          “2015 Jetta Owner” says, breakdown 3 times this year already.

So you don’t have a chance of driving your car this year right? How to kaput 3 times? lol

• VW Cybertroopers on Jun 26, 2015 at 9:43 am

very typical of VW salesman. 4 years ago they came here and said no such thing as DSG problems. All those spreading rumours are jealous.

But I ask you, if there is a river, and you are about to cross it, if some villagers tell you there are crocodiles, but many more tell you there are no such things all myths. Would you dare cross?

the same with spending RM190k on a car. Are you very sure it is problem free?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
          • Acrix on Jun 26, 2015 at 10:33 am

In 2013 VW made the claim that all new cars from 2013 onward is free of DSG issues. In 2014 they made the same claim and said all DSG issue settled. Now its 2015 and new CEO again claimed all DSG issues settled.
            If that is the case how come my 2013 Scirocco had mechatronic issue twice and my brother 2014 Golf also suffered same problem in less than a year of ownership?? Both cars serviced on time at official VW service centers but DSG problem still occurred.
            Imagine on your wedding day suddenly your car cannot engage past 2nd gear!! A mechatronic issue on my wedding day and the car was serviced just the month before and even specifically asked technician to check if DSG is ok and was given the all clear!!!

• e-feelingup on Jun 26, 2015 at 10:54 am

btw VW don’t do sales here.. even they come here and promote… I dun think you will not buy car from him.. rather direct go for car dealer yourself lol..
            I dun see any reason why VW sales man need to come in to waste time

• nancylow on Jun 26, 2015 at 11:20 am

which service centre you sent to?

• Acrix on Jun 26, 2015 at 3:11 pm

TTDI branch closest to my place so both case of mechatronic issue was done there. For my brother Golf its in Klang branch

• e-feelingup on Jun 26, 2015 at 11:04 am

“2014 Passat Owner” says, DSG gearbox needs 2 months to repair.
          “2015 Jetta Owner” says, breakdown 3 times this year already.
          next one should
          “2016 Polo GTi Owner” says, break down for 1 month already”
          HAHAHA

are you the same person?!!

• Billy on Jun 26, 2015 at 2:43 pm

“VW Cybertroopers” taking over the BS now …

• Food For Thought on Jun 25, 2015 at 3:15 pm

Just read their facebook comments la. Even until June 2015 also people complain about how bad the service is and how DSG on new models are breaking down.

Have you ever wondered by in 3 years VGM got like 3 or 4 CEOs?

Have you wondered why MAA figures showed VW cars have plummet badly?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
        • e-feelingup on Jun 26, 2015 at 11:06 am

which facebook page you go to? VW Malaysia.. I see positive comment more than negative.. maybe my eye got problem

• VW Salesman in Action on Jun 25, 2015 at 3:36 pm

No true la salesman. VW is already heading to be the next Citroen in Malaysia. Slow death.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
        • Tass AP on Jun 25, 2015 at 6:45 pm

Total not agree with your point of view

• nancylow on Jun 26, 2015 at 11:11 am

you die.. VW also not die la!!!
          Beside they willing to take initial to rectify over their car issued. They also make many improvement over their back up service.. VGM is definitely doing a good job.. how to die..

• Ong See Boon on Jun 25, 2015 at 3:52 pm

All my VW friends have at least 5 tow trucks on speed dial. No joke!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 8
        • nancylow on Jun 26, 2015 at 11:19 am

Ong See Boon.. one enuff… need 5 for your! dun tell cold joke la!

• Tass AP on Jun 25, 2015 at 6:43 pm

Yaa…I agree. Those comments juz only Toyota macai do so.

• VW Cybertroopers on Jun 26, 2015 at 9:54 am

Don’t blame Toyota if your car breaksdown every other month brader!

• BeemerFreak on Jun 25, 2015 at 10:19 pm

Finally a true vw owner speaking. I also faced no such problems whatsoever as mentioned. Toyota salesmen at work.

• VW Cybertroopers on Jun 26, 2015 at 9:49 am

lots of VW salesman got email memo to come here and counter the stink comments

• nancylow on Jun 26, 2015 at 11:13 am

what happen to you.. when people say VW is good .. you claimed that he is VW sales man…
            why copy and paste work not enuff paid for you ar?!!!1

• AND THE NOB SHOW BEGINS.... on Jun 25, 2015 at 3:10 pm

sofa. Popcorn please!

• My passat have serve me well for the past 3 years. 100k mileage. I never had a single problem. I even drove it to phuket and bangkok. It is really well built and practical for daily car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 16
      • VW Cybertroopers on Jun 26, 2015 at 9:50 am

you sound like a real VW salesman or VGM staff. Facebook does not lie

• nancylow on Jun 26, 2015 at 11:18 am

you sound like other car brand staff to me too… or ex VW staff that doing bad job that kena fire by VGM.. now revenge! DUH

• again and again on Jun 26, 2015 at 11:51 am

betul betul ini anti vw customer.. don’t badmouth.. and dont buy vw. facebook is another plateform for you guys to badmouth.. everywhere is a lie. don’t see my jetta parked due to problems? its just driver problem.

• VW Common People Car on Jun 25, 2015 at 3:32 pm

According to MAA, VW sales are so bad. Yes it will be. Initially people did not know about the fact they were buying a lemon. Now they know.

Stay away from VW and VGM. They are dishonest. Not worth the hassle and trouble.

If you want good German, go and get a 2nd hand BMW F10. A good 2012 BMW 520i 2.0 now selling for RM170k. It has more status and class than VW

Malayia VGM charge so high but in Europe VW are same level as Proton is to Malaysia. Normal and common cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 18
      • Kenny on Jun 25, 2015 at 4:44 pm

Dun be silly. Just in 3 years, a 2012 BWW520i are now selling at 170k in 2015? How good will it be?

• BMW Buyer on Jun 26, 2015 at 10:04 am

I just bought my 2012 BMW 520i from Bukit Jalil Auto City for RM185k in January this year. 30k and full service history from AB

Anyone can check mudah. Go and check yourself brader. 2012 BMW 520d can get RM160k to RM170k.

you go there bargain can get even lower la

• Mercedes Owner on Jun 25, 2015 at 3:45 pm

I just bought a 2013 Mercedes E250. Perfect condition for RM180k.

Why on earth would someone want to spend RM180k on this problem car?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 9
      • leonon777 on Jun 25, 2015 at 4:15 pm

You must be very lucky to get a 2013 year made E250 for 180K.. either that or it is 2013 last registered.

• Billy on Jun 25, 2015 at 9:32 pm

Seems “2014 Passat Owner”, “2015 Jetta Owner”, “Mercedes Owner” are the same person after all.

I think he don’t even knows how much is petrol price also, hahahaha….

• VW Cybertroopers on Jun 26, 2015 at 9:53 am

I check mudah got many 2013 Merc for RM180k. Maybe you are a VW staff been told to counter all the stink?

• Billy on Jun 26, 2015 at 10:32 am

E250 manufactures 2011 only got below 200K la. Open your mudah ad and read inside la.

E250 manufacturers 2013 still well beyond 230K recond summore.

• Poor Mercedes owner on Jun 25, 2015 at 10:55 pm

RM180k…you must be kidding. Furthermore, if you are not rich enough, please don’t buy a third hand Benz to show off.

• Merc better buy on Jun 26, 2015 at 10:00 am

I check mudah. got so many Merc 2013 for below Rm200k. Lagi mau tipu orang?

• Poor Mercedes owner on Jun 26, 2015 at 3:46 pm

So?…..go buy one then? Dont talk cxxk sing song abang.

• Tow Truck Best Friend on Jun 25, 2015 at 3:50 pm

VW owners and the hot sun are best friends. When their car stalls, the gears lock. Cannot even move the car to the side of the road. Drivers pass by and curse you cause you cannot push the car to the side of the road.

Have to wait hours for the tow truck because ordinary towtruck cannot pull your car. You got to wait for the tow truck that can carry your car up to the truck fully. Cannot simply angkat the front of the car and pull by normal tow truck.

So cumbersome. Wait in the hot sun. Ayseh panas panas panas

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 13
    • Jonn Dol on Jun 25, 2015 at 4:52 pm

Opel cars are better than VW. Just wait for the Opel Insignia replacement..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
    • Jonn Dol on Jun 25, 2015 at 4:52 pm

Opel cars are better than VW. Just wait for the Opel Insignia replacement..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
    • VW Owner on Jun 25, 2015 at 5:08 pm

Armin the Keller,
      To start with, I am a VW owner.
      (1)I do not understand why people like you said VW is equivalent to Proton in other countries. Please do not compare with countries. In Europe, Mercedes is a taxi. So are you saying Mercedes is same like Proton too because in Malaysia, Proton is the common taxi? just because VW is cheaper and more affordable to mass market doesnt mean it is the same level same as Proton. I am sure Toyota (Camry I mean) is taxi in some country.

(2) Toyota, Honda, GM Nissan, all has major recall. Ferrari and Porsche 918 too has recently being recalled. I am not saying VW deserved to be problem-free, but each brand and model has specific problem. to single out VW for problem just because DSG is rather childish. I am sure if ferrari and Lambo (cost 10x more) is driven 20,000 mileage a month for few years will suffer problem at earlier stage. SO please do not say VW should be perfect because of rm200k, because it is not. the reason why most of the people buy VW is the way it drive, the built quality (DSG aside). Not because we feel we are on the same par with BMW, Merc or Audi, because it never was. Who ever said that? I test drove all Japanese and Hyundai D-seg car, and by far Passat is the best. Please comment objectively. I can say people avoid buying VW for the fear of DSG and maybe abit overprice (eg Polo, Golf), and not because it is the same level with proton or, built quality issues and the way it drives. I have many friends of mine owning VW, purely because it is more fun to drive compare to similar segment. please get your fact right.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 10
    • Lemon on Jun 25, 2015 at 6:34 pm

Dear sour copy-paster

I’ve bought a 2013 Golf for 95k a month ago and it has not given me any problem yet. Good buy, don’t you think?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
    • 2013 Golf on Jun 25, 2015 at 6:35 pm

Dear copy-paster

I’ve bought a 2013 Golf for 95k a month ago and it has not given me any problem yet. Good buy, don’t you think?

• VGM Memo to Staff on Jun 26, 2015 at 10:07 am

see, 1 salesman trying to pose as 2 individuals here. Lemon and 2013 Golf same person.

Aiyoo, VGM really must have told staff to go all out to say good things.

• Willing to take RISK? on Jun 26, 2015 at 10:17 am

this is what VW did many years ago. just deny and make don’t know and say everybody got no money and jealous of VW buyers.

Until one day VW in Germany said their DSG is memang faulty

• Cantona on Jun 26, 2015 at 10:40 am

Looks like you are the real copy-paster here putting same comment under different names lol.

• Nasi lemak on Jun 26, 2015 at 9:47 am

Diam lar. Although it act as a high class car in msia! U stil can’t afford. U are the one drivin a wira aeroback with mit mivec badge I smoked u the other day at LDP I supposed. Golf R here. Get a life bro! This is Malaysia !

• How dare you compare VW to Proton car?
      First of all I am french and in France VW is of course not as fancy as BMW, Mercedes and Audi but it is still consider a really good car and really reputable. Where is Proton is Europe? I never heard of this brand before to come to Malaysia, so before to talk about global sale, go do some research… The only one responsible for making you pay 200k for a VW car is your government. And a dumb guy like you still gonna buy his proton thinking he is making a good deal. I agree Proton car are cheap but they are piece of crap. That’s why no European country, except UK due to the steerwhell of the right, are importing malaysian crap. German car are the way to go it you want something solid and stylish, Jap if you want good RV and Proton, well when you have no money…

For your information, the DSG issue is only specific to the hot weather and bad traffic jam. In Europe, there is almost no reported case of DSG issue and it is consider one of the top automatic gearbox with the BMW steptronic (sorry but Mercedes gearbox is crap…).

So YES you can buy VW car, but only if you are doing mostly doing highways and you don’t get stuck in the jam too often… if not, do not buy a VW since you might have a lot of issue with DSG…

• Harsha on Jun 25, 2015 at 2:54 pm

Looks beautiful…

• Harsh on Jun 25, 2015 at 2:57 pm

Looking beautiful

• VW_rocks on Jun 25, 2015 at 2:57 pm

Exciting! Can’t wait to see the B8! Hahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • meejawa on Jun 25, 2015 at 3:24 pm

“…Keller commented that there are no more issues surrounding said gearbox – problems were apparently solved over half a year ago…”

Mr. Keller, in that case why was my car spent a week in your service centre due to DSG problem just last month? And this is after 3 times of clutch change/mechatronic/software updates? Again, don’t make sweeping statements without checking on the ground. It makes your words less trustworthy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 12
    • Ong See Boon on Jun 25, 2015 at 3:59 pm

Keller ha just lied to all Malaysians again. Still selling lemons. Pity us. Always cheated and colonized by the Mat Salleh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 14
  • spec for malaysian passat mk6 & mk7 were not bad at all. quite high specced compared to uk cars. problem is current golf mk7. VW brought in low spec golf.. even the seats are lower grade type & the wheels are too small.

• Ong See Boon on Jun 25, 2015 at 3:54 pm

Ha Ha Ha. My friends at office also got 2015 Passat and yet his car broke down last week. DSG issue mah!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 12
  • cendol (Member) on Jun 25, 2015 at 4:07 pm

When news like this come out, who will buy Passat now??
    Those dare to buy Passat will wait for 2015

• Kenny on Jun 25, 2015 at 4:51 pm

There is one thing I couldn’t understand, the VW issue has been spread around for 2 years, yet I can still see new VW cars on the road everyday. Are the new buyers stupid or wat?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
      • my own passat ok jer…they already changed gear oil lor…they use mineral oil….

yg komen karut2 tu mostly depa ni salesman toyota…diaorg attack fb vw……

• VW owner JB on Jun 26, 2015 at 11:49 am

My car done mineral oil change on 38K mileage.
          DSG die on 45k mileage.
          When DSG down, you will see a flashing spanner.
          Car will shut down automatically if you continue driving. Freaking dangerous!

• cendol (Member) on Jun 25, 2015 at 6:46 pm

Because VW are giving zero downpayment, zero interest package.
        Basically just sign the paper and drive the car out.
        People get the car first, maintenance or problems come later on.
        Now with Raya coming, people must balik kampung in style (must drive new car), that is a culture.

• Willing to take RISK? on Jun 26, 2015 at 10:19 am

lot of roadshows. Buyers don’t read PT and no clue about DSG. So during the road show, salesman kelentong say German car better than BMW or Mercedes for half the price!

• Sabita on Jun 25, 2015 at 4:32 pm

Last my bf drive passat. So many times i have to take taxi. Coz he never come picked up. I dowan him. Now my new bf drive citreon

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 20
    • From An Owner on Jun 25, 2015 at 5:20 pm

Yes,, VW has a DSG problem. Yes, they have been rectified for those who went to their service centre. However, not every service centre has the parts ready. You have to wait your turn for your car components to be assembled in your car. But in all honestly, as a VW owner, i do see real effort done by the VW service centre since this new guy came in. In the past, there were lots of excuses, but no results. This time they actually change your DSG unit and mechatronics as well for free. In the past, they said things like these things are not covered etc. So i believe Armin walks the talk, at least compared with previous CEO. Despite all that has happened, i still love my VW as it drives far better than my previous car. You know the car is strong and it is durable, meant to last a lifetime. I do hope after these problems are sorted out, VW will sell better cars in Malaysia. Oh yeah, Citreon cars ar far worse to drive. Trust me. My wife has a 1 year old model with far more technical and mechanical issues, which are costlierto fix than VWs. By the way, many of the comments here are from genuine VW owners, but most are just from trolls and not real owners. So you need to read inteliigently to distinguish between genuine and fake comments. Enjoy!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
      • Tass AP on Jun 25, 2015 at 6:50 pm

Yaa…I knew who r they

• VW Cybertroopers on Jun 26, 2015 at 9:56 am

Armin is better than previous MD but a problem car is a problem car. I would not dare touch a car with such a stinking name.

iIf there is a river, and you are about to cross it, if some villagers tell you there are crocodiles, but many more tell you there are no such things all myths. Would you dare cross?

• e-feelingup on Jun 26, 2015 at 11:01 am

stop copy and paste la!! aren;t you boring with your Copy and paste job?!!!
          Who pay you to do this.. let me know.. I want to join too!!

• cendol (Member) on Jun 25, 2015 at 4:44 pm

a 20-year old wira breaks down less than your Passat.
    My condolences

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
  • Same lousy MD with previous, talk for one fun. Spend couple years in Malaysia for holiday and leave shit here

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • DPCraft on Jun 25, 2015 at 4:56 pm

Corolla Altis wannabe

• amacam on Jun 25, 2015 at 4:57 pm

baru booked next service appointment for my Beetle, next available slot >>Jan 2016. kena voided la my warranty

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 15
    • Why VW? on Jun 25, 2015 at 9:05 pm

Pls dun try to bullsheet la.. i just called SC to book my service. They even gave me my preferred service date & time ie. 2 weeks later from today.

U sure u go to VW SC or Ah Chong workshop?

• e-feelingup on Jun 26, 2015 at 12:27 pm

which SC ar…. dun bullshit la!

• Passat B8 body 2016 + Camry hybrid 2015 Drive train.
    = Hot selling D segment model in Malaysia.

• seancorr (Member) on Jun 25, 2015 at 5:19 pm

Wow that’s awfully slow to intro one of the most popular D-segment cars to Bolehland. By the time this B8 arrives, the facelift would have arrived in Europe!

Speaking of DSG I was riding in one of the Uber cars today and the driver was saying about the DSG issue in VW and to avoid buying VW…oh my this issue will plague VW till kingdom come!

• Joshua on Jun 25, 2015 at 6:48 pm

Driving DSG same like driving the dual clutch gearbox on the 3 series. Use BMW as taxi simply means stupid la.

• hazamiey on Jun 25, 2015 at 6:36 pm

This car. Like I care.

• Why VW? on Jun 25, 2015 at 9:12 pm

Very true.. and the more I drive my Passat the more joy I get.

Always happy to see Accord, Camry make way for me. But those myvi (with extended wheel) really ignorant. Dunno why?? Gotto floor a bit to ditch them off.

• Make way haha on Jun 26, 2015 at 9:04 am

Make way for you…haha…you know why? We scare while your car lost control.

• China Cold Country Lah! on Jun 26, 2015 at 10:05 am

Best selling in China because China is a cold country. DSG got kaput but not as bad as kaput in hot country

• grow up pls on Jun 26, 2015 at 3:57 pm

Malaysians always katak dibawah tempurung. China sell well, they say cold country. Win world’s best engine award 7 times, they say Malaysian mechanic dont recimmend. What more you want to talk c*ck? Sorry, im not VW salesman, im just frustrated with small minded Malaysians. By the way, i drive a Toyota, but I cant stand haters who destroy a car company only because they are a threat to their own company.

• Areyousure on Jun 25, 2015 at 9:19 pm

Breakdown maths:
    1 day = 100 units
    1 month = 3000 units
    1 quarter = 9000 units
    1 half-yearly = 54000 units
    (VW got sold so many cars ka?)

• many VW breakdown more than once.

• Willing to take RISK? on Jun 26, 2015 at 10:12 am

Most VW can breakdown every other week if the weather is hot. Like now, hot season, sure DSG kong

• Pakatanrakyat on Jun 25, 2015 at 10:02 pm

If we can see tru behind those who gave comments above, their age, their job and their ride, you will laugh out out on how silly we are taking those comment seriously…

• kenny on Jun 26, 2015 at 9:03 am

You are talking like only 50 yrs old rich bosses or prime minister with Merc or BMW can comment here. Get a life please! This is cyber world.

• VW Cybertroopers on Jun 26, 2015 at 9:47 am

VW salesman and fanboys spreading a lot of good news to counter the stink

• t333son on Jun 25, 2015 at 11:21 pm

I am an owner of 2013Passat. I chose it for reasons other than resale value. All regular cars depreciate. You can work it out that the more expensive the new purchase price, the more you will lose in the first 3 years of ownership. By the way, for the 150k i paid for a CKD Passat, I do appreciate the 6 airbags, the electronic safety aids, the European suspension tuning, the efficiency of the engine and gear change. Unfortunately my car was one of those where the mechatronic was filled with synthetic oil where in our hot and humid weather the oil breaks down and causes the corrosion of the mechatronic circuitry. in the first service VW changed it to mineral oil as part of their program. However, the damage had already set in. I eventually got the clutch and mechatronic replaced under warranty. to be fair, on each occasion the appointment was within 24 hours and the repairs done on the same day. Service centre staff and manager were very helpful. So, will I buy another VW car, the answer is yes. It is a compromise which I can live with. Take one out on a test drive back to back with other 150k car and you may be swayed as well.

• VW Cybertroopers on Jun 26, 2015 at 9:44 am

I think VW staff have been told to counter all the negative comments here. But I ask you, if there is a river, and you are about to cross it, if some villagers tell you there are crocodiles, but many more tell you there are no such things all myths. Would you dare cross?

• e-feelingup on Jun 26, 2015 at 10:59 am

well.. so if people say HONDA got airbag problem, Camry got Break problem, Fiesta also got gearbox problem.. etc.. now all makes car also cannot buy… I suggest you buy Nissan Datsun.. for sure.. it is problem free la!!

• t333son on Jun 27, 2015 at 1:03 am

I am now in my 40’s so tend to be more philosophical. Nothing is perfect and the law of thermodynamics dictate that everything will fall apart. It is just a matter of action, chance (some call it luck) and time.
        To put things into perspective, a simple run down of my cars past and present and their problems
        1. Citroen XM 2.0- suspension failure, aircon switch broken, gear box issue, leaking radiator, electronic glitch, but bless her she was an old lady of 10 years when I got her.
        2. Honda Prelude 2.3- blown engine (write off)
        3. Honda Accord Coupe 2.0- battery failure, dash rattle, brake failure
        4. Smart Car 1.5diesel- no issues when I owned it
        5. Nissan 350Z- corroded alloys, dash rattle, rear suspension creaks, boot struts failure, broken exhaust pipe
        6. BMW 330d- dash rattle, wipers failure due to damaged relay
        7. Perodua Kancil 660 & 850 – rattles, broken water pump, failed central locking and alarm, battery failure, broken radiator, aircond problem
        8. Perodua Myvi 1.3- so far so good. 3 years old
        9. VW Passat 1.8TSi- drained battery, dash rattle, clutch DSG

• t333son on Jun 27, 2015 at 1:07 am

I am now in my 40’s so tend to be more philosophical. Nothing is perfect and the law of thermodynamics dictate that everything will fall apart. It is just a matter of action, chance (some call it luck) and time.
        To put things into perspective, a simple run down of my cars past and present and their problems
        1. Citroen XM 2.0- suspension failure, aircon switch broken, gear box issue, leaking radiator, electronic glitch, but bless her she was an old lady of 10 years when I got her.
        2. Honda Prelude 2.3- blown engine (write off)
        3. Honda Accord Coupe 2.0- battery failure, dash rattle, brake failure
        4. Smart Car 1.5diesel- no issues when I owned it
        5. Nissan 350Z- corroded alloys, dash rattle, rear suspension creaks, boot struts failure, broken exhaust pipe
        6. BMW 330d- dash rattle, wipers failure due to damaged relay
        7. Perodua Kancil 660 & 850 – rattles, broken water pump, failed central locking and alarm, battery failure, broken radiator, aircond problem
        8. Perodua Myvi 1.3- so far so good. 3 years old
        9. VW Passat 1.8TSi- drained battery, dash rattle, clutch DSG

At my age, I am a bit more lazy and drive slower. Tend to look for a compromise towards Safety and Comfort as opposed to Resale Value and Speed.

• Acrix on Jun 26, 2015 at 11:02 am

Which service center did you go?? I would love to go there next time when i have a mechatronic issue with my 2013 Scirocco. When i had mechatronic issue in Nov 2013 and Oct 2014 both times i had to leave my car there for 8 weeks before my car is repaired at TTDI branch. My brother 2014 Golf also need 6 weeks to repair DSG issue in Klang branch. Oh and both our cars are using mineral oil but DSG issue still occurred and was serviced on time at official VW centers. Since the branch you go has such good service would you mind to share its location??

• e-feelingup on Jun 26, 2015 at 12:23 pm

consider to sent your car to Volkswagen Technical Service Centre in the country. The centre – which is located on Jalan Sungai Penchala in Taman Tun Dr Ismail in Kuala Lumpur. I sent my car there… overall.. i am satisfied

• t333son on Jun 27, 2015 at 12:08 am

Dear Acrix, I had my initial diagnosis at Old Klang Road. Clutch pack replaced there. However when the Mechatronic went, it had to be transported. I ended choosing the closest centre to my house which was Go Brothers in Klang. If I wanted it transported to Old Klang Road, the transporter would have to charge an additional RM70. So I chose Free of course. Mechatronic done within 24 hours. This was 2 months ago.

• VW owner JB on Jun 26, 2015 at 12:21 pm

Pls share which SC you went which has mechatronic and gearbox/clutch packs ready stock!

I wan to service there for next mecha/gearbox down.
      FYI, my car wait for mechatronics 3 weeks.
      Geargox 6 weeks in JB.

VW is good car, but poor service and poor CKD build quality and reliability..

Perhaps, it only happen in JB.
      Others VW owner in central or northern region.
      Pls share your experience with VW SC.

• t333son on Jun 27, 2015 at 12:10 am

Please see my fuller response to Acrix above. In short Clutch in Old Klang Road. Mechatronic in Goh Brothers Klang.

• carCaarcAArrr on Jun 26, 2015 at 4:13 am

The problem is a combination of factors :
    1. There is not enough consumer protection in Malaysia. So when a company sells you a product that is plagued with problems, you are at a disadvantage.
    2. Our ringgit is weak + vehicle tax is high = making the loss of buying a faulty car extremely burdensome.
    3. Service centres can be under staffed and under qualified, making it difficult to deal with problems smoothly.
    4. A car is the main mode of transportation for most people ( until the MRT comes online ).
    5. Conclusion : in such an environment, one needs to think hard when purchasing a car.

• Willing to take RISK? on Jun 26, 2015 at 10:21 am

If one person say you can suspect. If 2 say you can suspect but if thousands complain on facebook, how not to believe?

If there is a river, and you are about to cross it, if some villagers tell you there are crocodiles, but many more tell you there are no such things all myths. Would you dare cross?

• The Truth- VW salesman on Jun 26, 2015 at 10:26 am

Sounds like a VW salesman. They only like to say, if you drive a VW you will never drive Asian make.

hello bang, I had a Passat and an Accord. Both same lah. Same feel. I sold my Passat cause DSG always breakdown bang

• Sii Pai Gong on Jun 26, 2015 at 11:33 am

Mr. VW , your Kuching Service Centre has qualified people to do the repairs ?? This is no joke !!!!

• eagletalon on Jun 28, 2015 at 6:24 am

All new? I see nothing new from the outside..

• Volkswagen car is not crap, the handling is even better than mazda or mercedes. One things you should know that, in social media all is full of haters instead of real owner they just simply bash vw without fact.

• Brian on Jun 29, 2015 at 1:32 pm

IMHO, VW is a really good driving car and the performance and handling is just awesome compared to many others brand cars. That’s why still have many people want to buy vw just for the pleasure of driving VW. Many of you are complaining about the reliable but so far I seldom see any big issue compared to before DSG resolved.

• I own a volkswagen car. Allow me to share my experience both good and bad:

Good
    – Handling is good
    – The 15K service interval is good (save time and cost)
    – Fuel consumption is good
    – Overall driving pleasure is there

Bad
    – all the SC nationwide has to improve on customer service. Especially FA Wagen Glenmarie
    – since most cars are CKD. Spare parts has to be cheaper.
    – technician has to be competent including SA.

Overall,
    It’s a good car, if you don’t mind spending uncertain length of time (sometimes service is fast, sometimes slow) at SC then its ok.

Like what our leaders would say, “Kalau tak suka, buat lah kereta sendiri.”