Alfa Romeo Giulia interior leaked, looks fantastic

1312838870781687843 (1)

Big news dropped on Wednesday as the all-new Alfa Romeo Giulia was unveiled to the world, giving Milan a credible rear-wheel drive sports sedan for the first time in what seemed like an eternity. A flipping quick one at that too; it was unveiled in top BMW M3-rivalling Quadrifoglio spec, with 510 hp from a six-cylinder turbo mill developed by ex-Ferrari engineers.

But for all the hoopla surrounding the car since, we still know very little about it, including what the interior looks like. That’s pretty much changed, as a photo of the cabin has floated onto the Internet, giving us a first detailed look at the dashboard of this highly-awaited Italian sedan.

Depicted in Quadrifoglio trim (as denoted by the triangular four-leaf clover emblem on the 330 km/h speedometer), the Giulia looks like a sumptuous and very sporty place to be in, even if it seems to riff quite a few cues from other manufacturers.

There’s definitely a hint of the Mazda 6 and various Audi models in the driver-focused cockpit; the flat-bottomed steering wheel – with a Ferrari-style integrated starter button – bears a striking resemblance to the item in the new Audi R8. Still, it looks fantastic – a perfect mix of technology and sportiness.

It starts with the swooping upper dashboard, beneath which sit the two outboard circular air vents, a large centre screen and lovely deep-set instrument gauges. Twin central spars flow down to the transmission tunnel, housing, yes, a six-speed manual shifter.

A large Audi MMI-like controller sits aft of the gearlever, along with the new rotary DNA drive mode selector (with the new Race mode and damper button on the Quadrifoglio), an electronic parking brake and what appears to be a volume knob/audio controller. Topping that off are swathes of black leather, Alcantara, red stitching, alloy pedals and copious amounts of carbon fibre. We can’t wait to see what it looks like in real life!

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• masterpiece on Jun 26, 2015 at 11:48 am

wow…!! orgasmed and ejaculated……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
  • Same L0rrrr on Jun 26, 2015 at 12:06 pm

Lexus has best interior apart from best RV. Thats why i owned 3 Lexus at home. Buying another one next month.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 58
  • muddy (Member) on Jun 26, 2015 at 12:15 pm

Well proportioned this time! Great looks!!

• Looks like the ongoing Mazda partnership has really inspired both brands! (admit it guys, the influence is obvious) If mazda shares a thing or to about reliability and cost optimization and Alfa shares it’s design flair..its a win win for both…..Really happy to see this..

• Jonn Dol on Jun 26, 2015 at 2:44 pm

It might be a co-incidence that some hints of Mazda’s design flair could be seen on the Giulia , especially at the back. But for sure , it’s quite DISAPPOINTING, because Alfa is capable of coming out with original (and stunning) design as can be seen from their cars since the 1990s. I can’t see much Italian style on the exterior of the Giulia, save for the front grille, the telephone dial wheels and the red colour….

• heybadigol (Member) on Jun 26, 2015 at 12:32 pm

Very nice inside too. Have to agree, it does remind me of the facelifted Mazda6 inside. Could be that the design was signed-off a few years ago (before the Mazda6 was facelifted). Possibly a coincidence.

• KontiKinte on Jun 26, 2015 at 12:37 pm

Dammmm… Need to work harder like this no need Lexus this is real conti car

• Jimmy on Jun 26, 2015 at 1:00 pm

Alfa Romeo is for the rich people in Malaysia, although the price is not sky high.

• WALASiZO on Jun 26, 2015 at 2:43 pm

I’m in love again…

• Nenek Kau on Jun 26, 2015 at 3:33 pm

One aircond vent for each driver n front passenger, really??

• Morpheus on Jun 26, 2015 at 5:42 pm

Look at the centre console properly.. There are two vents there

• Alfa Suds Better on Jun 26, 2015 at 3:39 pm

Alfa Romeo is the real deal. The design is not copied from Mazda, they are designed by Italians who surely design better cars than the Japanese. That said, the side profile looks too German. A bit like the 3 series, dont you think?

• kereta_lembu on Jun 26, 2015 at 3:56 pm

While this Alfa is still a very sexy beast, I do agree with some that it has certain hints of KIA/Mazda in its exterior design. You can’t go wrong identifying the front Alfa grill, but if you take away the rear Alfa emblem…my bet is you’ll have a hard time knowing what car it is. This was never a problem with the previous versions of Alfa Romeos, in my humble opinion. You can spot an Alfa from miles away.

I’m not a big fan of the front headlights but maybe the whole design will grow on me or maybe it might look even better in the flesh. Interior design is killer though…very modern and classy at the same time. BMW really ought to improve on their subtle interiors as everyone seems to be moving forward. Take a look at Audi and Mercedes and even Lexus. Can’t wait to see the Alfa on the road but I guess it’ll be something pretty rare in Malaysia.

• shawal on Jun 26, 2015 at 5:15 pm

walauweyh……

• Lance on Jun 26, 2015 at 8:11 pm

When we saw the exterior for the first time immediately saw the hint if Mazda kodo design. Interior got another hint of Mazda. Not a bad thing actually. I feel the previous Alfa design are too strong and look out of proportion. Now it looks far soothing.

• olio benzina on Jun 27, 2015 at 1:01 am

Take away the logo and there’s nothing to tell you its an Alfa. The dash is modern generic. Alfa’s distinctive bits have been adopted by other makes.
    Mercedes nowadays use eyeball vents in their new models.
    A few other cars also have gauges with zero at six o’clock.

Alfa can improve on this by making the tacho needle tremble like in their old cars.
    Another thing they can do is have the manual gear stick protrude from below the dash at a 45 degree angle at a handspan away from the steering wheel.

• Fireblade on Jun 27, 2015 at 1:32 am

Why is there no comment at all about the great Alfa V6 engine? The fantastic marvellous sound that it makes which no other manufacturer could copy besides a modded V8 engine? All i see here are only comments for the superficial amd none of the engine! https://youtu.be/cCPYmVZwXc4

• Helew on Jun 27, 2015 at 1:34 am

Exterior screams Kia, Interior screams Mazda.

• Fireblade on Jun 27, 2015 at 1:35 am

https://youtu.be/cCPYmVZwXc4

All i see here are only comments about the superficial and aircon ventd. But none of the grest Alfa V6 engine!

• Fireblade on Jun 27, 2015 at 1:36 am

https://youtu.be/cCPYmVZwXc4

Why no comment about the great Alfa V6 engine??

• olio benzina on Jun 27, 2015 at 9:14 am

Since you asked three times…
      1. Its not the great Alfa V6 engine. Its a Ferrari/Maserati design.
      2. From the vidclip, the sound the new Giulia makes is that of a typical modern supercar. Loud, brash and piercing.
      3. The great Alfa V6 was introduced in the eighties. The 2 5 version as fitted in the GTV6 makes the best engine sound in the world. It sounds smoother with a higher pitched wail that is mellifluous. It is highly musical and never grates.

• Andys on Jun 27, 2015 at 3:07 am

the Mazda hint comes that fact that Mazda copied 156 and continued in that way

• Fireblade on Jun 27, 2015 at 1:49 pm

Be as it may, so far no manufacturer can churn out 503hp from a 3.0 litre engine…in stock form!

• Spyderf355 on Jul 17, 2015 at 11:18 pm

What’s the price gonna be like when it arrive in M’sia? Will it arrive? If so, when? Who’s the distributor since Sime Darby already relinquish it last yr? Anyway, cant wait for it to arrive… Need to add to my 156 (2.0 16v m – ori n non converted)… :)