Ford Mustang now open for booking: RM435k-RM565k

Ford-Mustang-Malaysia

Sime Darby AutoConnexion (SDAC) has officially announced the start of bookings for the upcoming Ford Mustang ahead of its arrival in showrooms in December, and has also released updated indicative pricing for both variants.

The range will start with the 2.3L EcoBoost model, priced between RM435,000 and RM450,000 on-the-road without insurance. That’s a full RM35,000 jump over the top of the RM350,000-RM400,000 estimated range intimated during the car’s preview in Publika last March, and is a world away from the sub-RM300k pricing previously bandied about – most likely due to the continued fall of the Ringgit’s value against the US Dollar.

Interestingly, the price range of the 5.0L V8 has stayed put, and has in fact been narrowed to between RM550,000 and RM565,000, at the low end of the previous RM550,000-RM600,000 indicated range. This puts the king-of-the-hill model as a serious bargain, as an extra four cylinders and 135 hp will be able to be had at a premium of just over RM100k.

2015_Ford_Mustang_Malaysia_ 012

Still, among the two powertrains to be offer, it’ll be the 2.3 litre EcoBoost turbo four-pot that should see the highest take-up rate – it kicks out 310 hp and 433 Nm, while the 5.0 litre naturally-aspirated V8 churns out 435 hp and 541 Nm.

The left-hand drive example on display at Publika was a 5.0 litre GT Premium variant – the six-speed manual Competition Orange preview unit was loaded to the brim with kit, with a Performance Pack that adds on a 3.73:1 Torsen helical gear differential, Brembo six-pot front calipers and 380 x 34 mm vented front discs and a Gauge Pack (oil pressure and vacuum readouts).

There are also new front springs, unique chassis tuning bits (including the front strut bar you see in the engine bay pix) and 10 double-spoke 19-inch Ebony Black wheels wrapped with 255/40 front and 275/40 rear Pirelli rubbers.

A “Shaker” description on a panel located underneath the four-gang drive mode toggle-switches on the centre console denotes that the particular car is also equipped with an Equipment Group 401A pack, which adds a Shaker Pro Audio System with 12 speakers and amplifier, driver’s seat/sideview mirror memory feature as well as BLIS with cross-traffic alert.

With the exception of the EG 401A pack, the car was essentially kitted out as per the Australian-specification version of the GT. The 401A set will certainly not be seen in our local-spec Mustangs.

Some other info gleaned from visiting the showcase earlier today. Specification literature lists only the six-speed 6R80 automatic for the 2.3 litre EcoBoost and 5.0 litre V8 models in both Fastback coupe and Convertible body styles that will be sold here – it remains to be seen if SDAC will bring in the pony car with the MT82 six-speed manual.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Mousetank on Jun 26, 2015 at 7:02 pm

First!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 65
    • WOW. Kudos to our “first” commentor.

• Same L0rrrr on Jun 27, 2015 at 1:08 am

Some “smart” will definitely say:
        Proton now as good as BMW/Mercedes, why waste money?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 26
    • Jimmy on Jun 27, 2015 at 9:14 pm

When we buy a Benz or BMW, we get good service from Benz or BMW.
      When you buy a Mustang with Mercedes’ price, you get aftersale service from Ford Malaysia. So, please top up a bit and get an S-class or 7-series since E-class is not good enough (once you go beyond it).
      Similarly, do we want to spend nearly BMW’s price for an Infinity and to be treated like a Teana by the service centre? BTW, is Teana serviced by junior mechanics or senior mechanics? Same to Almera, I guess.

Son of Debbie is no good at management, because with so much assistance from his grandparents, he still has not become a Lee Car Sen from Hong Kong.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 13
      • Who the F that is considering to purchase a mustang wants an S class or 7 series?? In case you havent noticed they are COMPLETELY different cars.
        Also, you are mad if you think infiniti service cost is nearly the same as BMW, it is nowhere near to say the least.
        Plus, how often does an infiniti breaks down and how often a bmw breaks down?
        The cost to do an average service for a bmw at an authorized bmw service center is a joke to say the least.

• Francis on Jun 29, 2015 at 11:44 am

When come to mention Servicing, do those technician from SDAC qualify/capable to touch the Mustang? Ecoboost maybe due to Fiesta but the V8… I rather trust those old folks in rural places who can rip and re-assemble blocks..

• cendol (Member) on Jun 26, 2015 at 7:03 pm

A basic Mustang is only selling for USD 30000.
    Malaysia is selling for RM400k above.
    I am really speechless.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 164 Thumb down 5
    • Gargantia on Jun 26, 2015 at 8:01 pm

Simple answer Malaysia triple tax system aka Bolehland industry !!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 4
      • GT3 (Member) on Jun 27, 2015 at 3:11 pm

Even if you triple it; USD 30k (with current 3.78 RM to 1 USD) equals to RM 113.4k X 3 = RM340.2k. Wow more than RM 100k margin from selling price here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
        • Ganesh on Jun 28, 2015 at 5:48 pm

There is no triple tax lah. If you see customs site, it is 130%

There is no such thing as 300% tax. And the car price is USD23800

• am not sure on Jun 29, 2015 at 12:32 pm

I’m not sure bout the tax of 300% but i do know this category car will imply 225% tax due to 2 doors and sport/race car.

• Mahamad on Jul 03, 2015 at 9:01 am

have to include shipping cost from US to Malaysia

• Although it’s THE muscle car of Ford, I can’t bring myself to fork out RM400k++ for it.
      I’d stick to my Porsche Carrera TQVM…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 5
    • Basic Mustang USD 23000 on Jun 26, 2015 at 11:20 pm

I think you are wrong. Its not USD 30000 but USD 23000. I just checked the US website.

• By the time you make is same spec as sold here it’s closer to 30k, just configured it and it come in at just under 28k. Still that’s about Rm100k so an awful lot of shipping, tax and profit

• west end boys on Jun 26, 2015 at 7:15 pm

why so expensive ???????? in the middle east you can get this car for only rm170k for the eco boost

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 5
  • jinggo on Jun 26, 2015 at 7:17 pm

Astaga.. bulan puasa jgn la post foto camtu.. kurang pahala puasa pulak nanti..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 47
  • NandaKumar on Jun 26, 2015 at 7:18 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 115 Thumb down 306
    • So much butthurtness. As if once the taxes are down, everyone’s unker & auntie will rush for sportscar. Then we will have everyday, riced up sportscars taking out MPVs & SUVs, overspeeding Polos crashing into patrol cars and running away, and every 100mtr is a dragstrip while every kilometer is a racecourse.

Just great.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 31
      • cendol (Member) on Jun 27, 2015 at 10:17 am

If everyone thinks like you, we might as well ban cars to prevent accident.
        Ban woman to prevent rape

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 8
    • rizal on Jun 27, 2015 at 9:02 pm

So true… Look what they did to MAS.. Port for making money for the cronies.. (way before the 2 tragedies) Najib/rosmah shopping funds… Haha.. I like that..

Its us who suffer from unable to enjoy these superb car..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 15
  • KarTiN (Member) on Jun 26, 2015 at 7:41 pm

Definitely not worth the price tag by any imagination. Mustangs are of average built quality. I feel bad for future mustang owners in Malaysia to pay so much for so average quality. Car prices in our country is totally stupid, we all have a good idea why it is.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 12
  • I blame SDAC.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
  • jim labu on Jun 26, 2015 at 7:56 pm

Buying a house is better….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 7
    • BNaik on Jun 27, 2015 at 8:57 am

So don’t ever comment again in car forum or blog… Loser !!!

BN taxes system were bringing good to Malaysia economic. No money don’t complaints!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 36
  • seancorr (Member) on Jun 26, 2015 at 7:59 pm

Lol good luck in selling the base model at that price range. Its supposed to cost way below RM400k! Now the 428i M-Sport seems more logical and u command more respect with that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 2
  • pricey on Jun 26, 2015 at 8:01 pm

This is an good example when Muscle tag at luxury price. LOL

• Called it. Ridiculous pricing. Expect it to be as common as 2015 Jeeps on our roads.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • Crasher7 on Jun 26, 2015 at 8:20 pm

So many times more expensive than what they sell in US! I’m astounded!

• Impossible exchange rate contributed to the hike over estimated price for 2.3L since the V8 is so much closer to estimated price.
    Absolutely ridiculous. Don’t forget, Fuel is no longer subsidised!

• wkaka on Jun 30, 2015 at 9:05 am

Fuel no longer subsidized but car prices still taxed sky high, it’s like getting bent over without any lubrication whatsoever.

• I pending Focus RS

• ahmadjohnson97 on Jun 26, 2015 at 8:32 pm

SDAC please bring the manual especially for 2.3 ecoboost. By the way I hope that’s not a final price as rm400k for ecoboost is too much. Better get subaru wrx sti or Volkswagen golf r for that kind of price.

• therealmaserati on Jun 26, 2015 at 8:34 pm

I managed to drive this car in the usa. It was the 5L model.

To be honest, its powerful but besides that there is nothing else that is good about this car .

Its just the looks. I would rather get a Maserati or a Porsche at this 500k price range.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
  • FIST (Member) on Jun 26, 2015 at 8:44 pm

If only their after sales support is as good as the car

• Ricardo on Mar 23, 2016 at 10:17 pm

I absolutely agree with Maserati man. SDAC service leave much for desire. The Italian Stallion makes a better stride than the American Mustang.

• Gaviny on Jun 26, 2015 at 8:57 pm

Lol , all those hopefully kena kencing

• superbird #43 on Jun 26, 2015 at 9:54 pm

435k – 565k? no thanks.
    i’d rather buy a land and/or a house for that amount of money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 7
  • MrPoppyplants on Jun 26, 2015 at 10:23 pm

You guys at Sime Darby need to learn some maths on how to do Forex Exchange and tax. How the f**k you guys come up with this price tag is beyond all kinds of explanation. Here’s me hoping that you will sell less than 10 of these.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 5
  • shawal on Jun 26, 2015 at 10:36 pm

i know it is made in the US of A, but why so expensive….
    A Novel item…

itll be amusing to see gt cars with the plates starting with ‘Q’ on peninsular roads..

• Ah Beng car in the US, priced for TanSris in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
  • Wait for grey import

• Primus on Jun 27, 2015 at 5:53 am

SDAC have just shot themselves on the foot with the stupid pricing for the mustang. As a comparison, the merc a45 amg is RM346k here, £38k in the UK. The ecoboost mustang is just £30k in the UK. The a45 amg is more powerful (more horsepower), more practical (rear seats), from a more prestigious brand. Pricing the ecoboost mustang at RM100k more than the a45 amg is just ridiculous.

• So much promise. Hoping it would be reasonably priced. Hopes now pufft…. Considering cheaper options from BMW 3 series gran coupe or Mercedes GLA AMG… At least it will hold its value. better

• ponydreamer on Jun 27, 2015 at 11:12 am

400k ~ 565k?? I might as well buy the old old school ones sold here and and restore them.

• KarTiN (Member) on Jun 27, 2015 at 11:55 am

This is your lucky day. I came across this a few months ago and actually went to check to out. The site is rainbirdclassic and they have the real classic mustangs at less than half the price.

• Rammy on Jun 27, 2015 at 12:08 pm

The grey importers collectively just came in their pants.

• Drzack on Jun 27, 2015 at 12:25 pm

The upper echelon folks will still buy it for whatever price it is. The rest of us are left with scraps. Just sayin

• hybrid2015 on Jun 27, 2015 at 1:07 pm

jeez… what a rip

thank god i’m no longer in malaysia lol

only $61,970 for a fastback manual GT in Sydney :)

• This machine is without a doubt an american legend. The price SDAC is asking for us Malaysian Mustang fans is totally out of reach for many compared to the states. Better wait for recond models if there are any in KL.LOL

• guadahckpgua on Jun 27, 2015 at 2:07 pm

to all the village people….stop complaining if u cant afford..rather than talk cock sing song like u will get the car…hewhew

#burn #brown

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
  • LeBron James on Jun 27, 2015 at 4:47 pm

2.3L eco boost need 430k to 500k doesn’t worth it buy an A45 amg better

• freddie on Jun 27, 2015 at 6:09 pm

I hope the car is right hand drive, as opposed in the photos.

• SDAC, are you guys on drugs? Whatever it is that you are smoking it must be pretty good s**t. For that money, a Cayman is a better bet. Get real.

• Levin on Jun 27, 2015 at 7:49 pm

Malaysians aren’t stupid.
    GT86 aka Scion is being sold at around USD24k which is same as the 2015 Mustang. UMW priced the GT86 at RM240 here, which failed to meet sales target and was recently dropped out. Now SDAC brings in a similarly priced car and asks for half a million? You gotta be kidding me man.
    Sime Darby should just focus on their plantation business instead of selling cars. With RM435k, you can get a used R35 for half the price and use the balance to pimp it up to a 1000hp super car eating monster.
    The 2015 Ford Mustang was build as a global car, but it’s starting to be a global failure. GG!

• shawal on Jun 27, 2015 at 9:10 pm

In australia it starts at 45k AUD which is around RM130k ringgit….
    if we double the tax shubbe around RM260k…

i think we’ll just wait for grey import to bring RHD models from Australia later…

• paparadzi (Member) on Jun 28, 2015 at 12:28 am

At below RM300k, there was hope. At RM435k it just makes no sense. If I still want a Mustang, I’ll probably need to migrate.

• Oe6507 on Jun 28, 2015 at 5:02 am

Mengarut punya harga! Rip off

• i_the_kiasu_people on Jun 28, 2015 at 5:26 am

I’ll wait for four doors variant lah..

• mai tengok sikit muka2 di belakang SDAC. pricing super cheap semua model Ford except Ford Ranger. bgs la korang bt bisnes. Mesti laku mcm goreng pisang panas punya. bolehlah perniagaan automatif ni jd penyumbang utama pendapatan kumpulan 3x ganda melebihi plantation.
    Tahun depan bolehlah minta Ah Jib naikkan bonus 10 bulan.

http://www.simedarbymotors.com/Executive_Leadership.aspx

• rambo on Jun 28, 2015 at 9:56 am

There goes our American Dream – just a dream. Thanks SDAC for the false hope.

• Rammy on Jun 28, 2015 at 12:51 pm

Well they probably have limited supply allocated for Malaysia in the foreseeable future, so why bother pricing it properly. I’m sure the demand will be there for it even at this price, maybe even a 1 year waiting list.

Supply and demand baby.

• mEGANE on Jun 28, 2015 at 4:13 pm

Wuhhuuuu thanks SDAC for pricing the cars out of reach of most people . This car will be unique . (sarcasm) .

• kroni on Jun 29, 2015 at 12:11 pm

I would buy if the girl is included in the car price.

• Sohai Sime Darby on Jun 29, 2015 at 4:37 pm

With 400K price tag,
    I rather higher the little cuties beside the mustang
    10k/month. It will make me feel younger than owning a mustang!
    400K ? I can Order for 40months!
    Unlimited mileage!

• Good Luck on Jun 30, 2015 at 11:59 am

Stupid pricing, good luck in the Sales…

• Why no mustang GT500shelby

• Mahvin on Nov 02, 2015 at 10:31 pm

You got to be a real dumb ass to by a Mustang for that price in Malaysia.

• chibi on May 09, 2016 at 5:26 pm

i think lets it b rare, which only people with waayyy extra money can buy

• Yathesh on May 15, 2016 at 11:56 am

superyahh

• Adiq Manisss on Aug 06, 2016 at 5:02 am

Tuner suka betul mintak pujik!

• I like mustang