SPYSHOTS: W213 Mercedes-Benz E-Class strips camo

Mercedes-E-class-002

Through our European spy photographers, we’ve seen the progression of the W213 Mercedes-Benz E-Class as it slowly sheds more and more of its disguise with each passing set of spyshots. The latest ones we have here are the most revealing yet and leaves just that little bit less to the imagination.

The exterior design – derivative of the W205 C-Class and W222 S-Class – is much as it was before, with C-shaped headlights and large grille (Avantgarde version here with dinner plate-sized Tristar badge), but here the lower air intake is completely exposed for the first time. It’s a full-width item, unlike its siblings’ three-intake arrangement, and the resulting more aggressive look makes the car look almost like an AMG variant.

Also revealed for the first time is the rear valence of the car, although to be honest there’s not much to see here. It’s the typical downturned Mercedes design with integrated exhausts – in fact, it looks little different from the outgoing facelifted W212 in this regard.

Mercedes-E-class-007

The W213 looks to be slightly bigger than the current car for increased cabin space; however, the adoption of the Modular Rear Architecture (MRA) as used on the C- and S-Class should see the weight dropped by as much as 100 kg. Previous spyshots have indicated that it’ll have a similar interior to the S-Class, with an integrated COMAND display and instrument binnacle, large wood panelling and circular air vents.

Powertrain choices should be the usual turbocharged four- and six-cylinder petrol and diesel engines; the six-pot mills are expected to be all-new. A hot AMG E 63 – utilising the GT and C 63‘s 4.0 litre biturbo V8 – will come later with two variants, the most powerful of which is expected to push as much as 600 hp. On the greener side, a plug-in hybrid variant will arrive down the line as well.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Jimmy on Jun 26, 2015 at 5:14 pm

When I was young, I really admired E-class owners.

Now, to me, E-class is not good enough. Remember the words ‘so so only’?

Will this new one give us surprise?

• Jimmy Father on Jun 26, 2015 at 6:17 pm

When you were young, you like it. When you have grown up now, you cant afford it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • stanley xiao on Jun 26, 2015 at 5:37 pm

Meh….dis car only for uncle and drug dealers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 14
  • Its gonna look like a shrunken s class. No shocker there.

• Mika Hakkinen on Jun 26, 2015 at 11:08 pm

Is your editor unable to understand the phrase “strips camo” at all?? Or was it deliberate fake clickbait….

• Swiggityswooty on Jun 27, 2015 at 1:27 am

Looks like the tail lights are back to being a one piece unit on each sides just like the W211.

• Add-A-Comment on Jun 29, 2015 at 8:39 am

ya…and I am very happy they took away the S-Class/C-Class tail light…that is awful man…Damn Awful…