Takata CEO offers formal apology over faulty airbags

SRS-Airbag

After months of avoiding the media spotlight, Takata Corporation CEO, Shigehisa Takada, has finally stepped up and issued a formal apology over the airbag-related scandal that has resulted in the single largest recall ever conducted in American automotive history.

“I want to first offer my heartfelt condolences for those who have lost their lives because of our damaged inflators. I also want to again apologise for the worry this may have caused everyone,” said Takada at a press conference in Tokyo, Japan. “We are obviously considering how we can provide relief for the victims. Unfortunately, we haven’t reach that point where we can say exactly what that will be,” he added.

When asked why he had taken so long to issue a formal response, Takada stated that his first priority of making sure that the products were still safe had prevented him from doing so, as understood by NBC News. “I had been in discussions with automakers and regulatory authorities,” said Takada. “In doing so I realised how I missed several opportunities to speak and for that I apologise.”

Toyota, Honda and Nissan are among the marques affected.

Interestingly enough, Takata has rubbished reports surrounding the cause of failure for its airbag inflators. It is widely believed that the use of ammonium nitrate as a form of propellant had been the root of the problem – the propellant tablets were known to degrade over time with said process sped up by the presence of moisture. Should it deploy, the inflator itself would rupture, spraying metal shrapnel all over the cabin.

Takata is still working to pinpoint the root cause. “We have been working with ammonium nitrate for more than 10 years, and have tested it in a variety of ways. As far as I’m concerned, it is safe and reliable,” said Takada. With that said, other manufacturers have shunned ammonium nitrate for its apparent instability.

Wave after wave of recalls worldwide have resulted in a total of close to 34 million vehicles being affected from manufacturers such as Ford, Chrysler, BMW, Mazda, Subaru, Nissan, Toyota, Mitsubishi and Honda. All in all, eight deaths have been recorded – seven in the US and one here in Malaysia.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• Takata airbag on Jun 26, 2015 at 5:31 pm

Even airbag can’t save life :p

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
    • Same L0rrrr on Jun 26, 2015 at 7:52 pm

Driving at 130km/h without seat belt, 200 airbags also you die.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 15
      • movingcoffin on Jun 26, 2015 at 9:56 pm

If toyoda has only 2 airbags and both of it faulty no use also

• Same L0rrrr on Jun 27, 2015 at 1:11 am

If our product is defective/faulty, we definitely will change it, no matter how old is the car.

Expect same practice on other car (e.g. Proton, Hyundai, Kia)? Slowly wait…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
          • taknaktoyota on Jun 27, 2015 at 5:09 pm

Yeah only after being sued and been court case have those recalls

No sues no recalls

• Same L0rrrr on Jun 29, 2015 at 2:47 pm

If like this, recall US units enough lar, why bother worldwide recall?

This show RESPONSIBLE and COMMITMENT to customer!!

• So when is the CEO gonna seppuku himself? The Malaysian rakyat demands no less than a public shaming, then the grieving relatives spitting on his face, and lastly his final act broadcast on all public & private channels.

If the CEO thinks the Japanese people are unforgiving, it means he hasn’t step foot into Malaysia yet.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • agreed one hundred percent. Malaysian really are entitled lot.

• Syameer (Member) on Jun 26, 2015 at 6:51 pm

If this is gonna be about Proton or somehow Proton is involved in this issue, then it’s gonna be a national crisis. As long as it is Honda or Toyota problem, let’s just close an eye and don’t make noise to show our renowned Malaysian hospitality to the Japs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
    • Same L0rrrr on Jun 26, 2015 at 7:54 pm

We should have national crisis DOZEN times already due to Proton ‘awesome’ quality!

However, you will only hear in SC “Bang, ni Proton. Biasalah lar! Jika takut kenapa beli?”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 35
      • liarsamelorr on Jun 27, 2015 at 5:39 pm

Liar. That’s old sudah basi stories.
        But those toyojunk has worse quality issues, not only in bolehland but all over the world!

• PHILIP LOH on Jun 26, 2015 at 6:58 pm

On a related note, my VIOS is on the airbag recall list BUT I have NOT receive any letter or notice from UMW to send my car for the airbag replacement. It’s coming to 2 months since UMW issued a public statement on the VIOS faulty air bag recall.

I have telephone UMW numerous times but everytime the answer is the same, STOCK FROM JAPAN BELUM SAMPAI.

Anyone here faced the same problem ?

• So Japanese car no longer can call themselve reliable? No doubt, their car will not QUAI TAI as Sam Loo claim but a faulty Airbag is still as BAD as a Car not moving.

• A Quai tai car wont kill you, a faulty airbag will. So do you think both are EQUALLY bad?

• Albert Sam on Jun 26, 2015 at 9:20 pm

No need apology, u juz same as Toyota. Bad and lousy car manufacturer

• need better substitute for the current problematic airbags

• Swiggityswooty on Jun 27, 2015 at 1:29 am

Whenever I see posts about Takata airbags, I have to admit that the song tacata by tacabro plays in my head. No kidding.

• spotted on Jun 27, 2015 at 11:20 pm

caption says toyota honda nissan, but a mazda logo is used instead of a honda.

• Proton4Life on Jun 28, 2015 at 12:11 pm

Proton airbag always the best. Proton also has the best engine in world

• Proton airbags is supplied by Autoliv, the same company that supply airbags for Volvo, so you gets that right. Regarding the engine, well….

• CarmenTung on Jun 29, 2015 at 6:28 am

Is the CEO gonna commit suicide ? I thought is kind a their tradition in this kind of embracing situation. Something like harakiri or beheaded by samurai katana.