Honda HR-V – 18k bookings, 4 to 5 months waiting list

Honda HR-V Drive Langkawi 42

We’ve just passed the half way mark of 2015 (where did the past six months go?) and no new car has created a bigger impact than the Honda HR-V. Since its local launch in February, the compact SUV has collected an astounding 18,027 bookings (up to June 30).

Of the over 18k names on Honda Malaysia’s books, the company will be happy to note that 64% are for the RM118,229 top-spec V (11,481 units), followed by 19% (3,449 units) for the RM108,027 mid-spec E and just 17% (3,097 units) for the RM98,690 base S. Prices are OTR with GST and insurance.

Honda Malaysia (HM) has managed to clear 7,374 units from its backlog of orders so far, and the current waiting list for an HR-V is four to five months depending on variant and colour. It stretched up to six months at one point, but HM is targeting a maximum of one to one and a half months by year end.

Those who follow the Malaysian car industry would know that the HR-V wasn’t the first of its kind to reach our shores, but while Peugeot and Ford hacked open a small B-segment SUV trail, Honda brought a bulldozer to the party.

Armed with a powerful brand and a convincing product, the company isn’t even considering the 2008 and EcoSport as classmates, but is instead targeting smaller C-segment SUVs like the Mazda CX-5, Hyundai Tucson and Kia Sportage. Such audacity; but not without merit, as we explain in our review of the HR-V.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• sudonano (Member) on Jul 01, 2015 at 6:55 pm

It checks the 3 main criteria, Gaya, Mutu, Keunggulan.

Nuffsaid. So, how’s the Rush selling, Sam Loo?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 86 Thumb down 17
    • Holofanboi on Jul 01, 2015 at 7:06 pm

Man i wonder how many years since i’ve seen/heard that phrase. The ol tobacco ad days

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 3
      • Areyousure on Jul 01, 2015 at 10:01 pm

Sam Loo still have 2014 Toyota at his stock yard, lololol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
        • karam singh on Jul 02, 2015 at 2:38 am

I bet the Toyota factory giving holidays to their workers as their stock is piling up.
          UMW mehhhhh….

Go Honda Go….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
          • Toyota Moving Coffin on Jul 02, 2015 at 9:09 am

In overseas, Toyota is highly respected. But in Malaysia, Toyota now has become a laughing stock. If you buy one, people secretly laugh at you thinking you are the dumbest person in town cause the Toyota is heavily stripped of its safety features. Now somemore, Picanto can be safer than a Camry!

Malaysians already now know how Toyota has been cheating people. Until today, even RM150k Camry got no VSC and only 2 airbags. Paultan already wrote long article how vital VSC is 3 years ago and yet UMW don’t care a damn for our lives.

Global price of Camry with 10 airbags and VSC is US$22,000. Besides VSC and 10 airbags, the global Camry has about 20 other safety features that is NOT in our Camry. These features are standard and free on the global Camry.

UMW don’t care about your life. you die or vegetable, they don’t care, janji untung lebih. they take out safety features to save cost. Yet, they charge us 3x the global price of US$22k. We buy for RM180k a heavily stripped down car. Same with Altis. Same with Vios.

Worse still, it is CKD and Made in Malaysia. The price is even cheaper. If US Toyota is sold at US22k and still make a profit, you can bet that UMW will get this car at country distributor price of US15k. CKD it, it will be US$12k (about RM40k). But they sell to Malaysians for RM180k.

Camry Hybrid even better. US$26k. Come to Malaysia no tax. But sold for RM175k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 2
          • Lonely Toyota Salesman on Jul 02, 2015 at 9:20 am

I pass Sam Loo (ori1) house yesterday, I peep into his room window from outside, I saw him playing with a dildo. I guess now, Toyota salesman only friend is a dildo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
          • Sam Loo (ori1) on Jul 02, 2015 at 9:35 am

I am so sad. Infact I am suicidal. But when I go home at night, I am happy. I got my dildo as my best friend. It gives me happiness

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
          • Moving Coffin is Real on Jul 02, 2015 at 9:47 am

2011 Altis got VSC
            2011 Camry got VSC

2015 Altis got no VSC
            2015 Camry got no VSC

Answers all you questions

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
          • Same L0rrrr on Jul 02, 2015 at 3:32 pm

A lot of Proton salesman talkok here using my name, yet they forgot it is a holy month not to do stupid things.

Good for Honda to sell HRV. At our side, Innova and Avanza still selling hot. End of the day, sale figures tell the truth.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
          • Samcock on Jul 02, 2015 at 9:24 pm

Oh…now we know your name is Ah Cock

• samelordupe on Jul 02, 2015 at 10:55 pm

@Same Lorrrr
            Why dragged and accused p1?
            You have proof?

• Same L0rrrr on Jul 02, 2015 at 8:37 am

I am taking leave to do test drive foe ferrari and Lexus. I will choose either one. For the kimchi driver like you, work hard.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 14
        • Sam Loo Crying Like Baby on Jul 02, 2015 at 9:11 am

Same Lorrrr and Sam Loo (ori1) now spend their days in the toilet of UMW. Inside the toilet, the masturbate to pass time because in sales showroom got ZERO sales.

Padan muka for coming here and condemning Korean brands.

• UMW Lancau on Jul 02, 2015 at 9:15 am

UMW better close shop. Their loser salesman now so bored. Whole day play whatsapp in office and go to PT to spread malicious rumours about other car brands. Toyota and VW now facing a slow death. Sales cannot cover cost of operations.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Jul 02, 2015 at 9:31 am

I am so angry with UMW President. That day I complain to him via intranet that our customers want VSC and we salesman sales are so bad, UMW President called me up to his room at HQ and gave me a DVD and asked me to watch it. I went home, I saw so many avi of jav fans in the dvd.

• Same L0rrrr on Jul 02, 2015 at 3:20 pm

You people used my name at blog. I know you guys are jeoulous of me. I have 3 Lexus at home. I enjoy good sales from those sorhai kimchi drivers like you who beg me to accept your junk at RM8k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
          • lexus=toyot on Jul 02, 2015 at 10:56 pm

3 Lexus yeah in your dream, in reality only one saga!

• TT@TT on Jul 02, 2015 at 8:43 am

my friend use that phrase for our school year book quote.
        that in 2001.

• 2013 Altis RM65k on Jul 02, 2015 at 9:27 am

Now got new phrase la bro. It is Toyota, the Moving Coffin. In Bahasa its called Keranda Bergerak.

• 2013 Altis RM65k on Jul 02, 2015 at 9:34 am

Toyota Salesman now applying for jobs at Kia and Hyundai. Last time make fun of Korean, now crawl like a dog to Korean car brands.

• for Gaya, Mutu, Keunggulan @ RM100k up.

I prefer a C-segment, not a B-segment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 13
      • csegment-minion on Jul 01, 2015 at 9:42 pm

too bad the b-segment trumps the c-segment in terms of space and practicality

• karam singh on Jul 02, 2015 at 2:41 am

that many booking proves it.
          action speaks more than words ;D

but sadly among those booking their car got their car after Raya…
          Please Honda,make the dreams come true.
          They really want their car before Raya.

• Sam Loo Crying Like Baby on Jul 02, 2015 at 9:13 am

Nobody is touching Toyota now. Salesman all crying. It is known as the Moving Coffin. Bad luck to buy their cars. Before I talk about the rubbish Vios without VSC, lets talk about their Camry first.

Let us start with the Camry. The previous Camry, everybody boycott because at first when they introduced, it was the only Camry in the world without VSC. UMW thought it is better to reap more profits than the lives of Malaysians and took out the VSC. Then news went viral online and everybody started to boycott Camry. Sales dipped like mad. then UMW damage control. They recently put VSC back into Camry cars on higher end models but people still remember what a useless company UMW is to give peanuts to Malaysians and sacrifice our lives. A 10 airbag CBU Camry 2.5 in the US is US$22,000 (RM60,000). Here, we pay RM180,000 for a Made in Malaysia car with 2 airbags and no VSC. (now got VSC on higher end models). But the RM150k Camry still got no VSC and only 2 airbags.

The Altis, nobody is touching also. This car in the US, after discounts and bargaining is US$12,000. (RM39,000) Comes with 9 airbags and so many more features our toilet CKD does not have. Now with this Mazda 3, confirm mati Altis.

UMW Malaysia will get this Altis car in CKD form direct from Toyota Japan for about USD$8000. If Toyota USA can sell the CBU in USA for US$12,000 and still make money, UMW for sure will be getting this car far cheaper.

In Malaysia, we get the jamban made in Malaysia model with 2 airbags and no VSC. A Moving coffin. When a car does not have VSC, it is known as a moving coffin. Half the parts are Made in Malaysia. But the car is sold for RM139k. That is why you hardly can see an Altis on the road despite nearly 2 years launched.

Why do we have CKD when the CKD cost more than the CBU? To support crony part manufacturers? Rm39,000 vs RM139,000.

Anyway, Malaysians know that the Toyota Corolla is a big failure in Malaysia. Do you see it on the road at all? Drive the whole day and you hardly can bump into the 2014 Altis or a Vios despite being launched 1 year plus already (Vios). Everywhere you see Elantra or City.

Somemore Honda give 5 years vs Toyota’s 3 years warranty.

Malaysians rather buy Hyundai Elantra. The car after discounts can get RM85k and comes with VSC. Also, the car is a much bigger C segment than the Altis. No wonder why we see Elantra everywhere.

Malaysians already know that UMW regard Malaysian lives as dirt and don’t care whether you die or not. This Toyota Vios should be named as Toyota Moving Coffin because a car of this price, with no VSC is a risk to you and your family.

Malaysians have now dignity. they know UMW are big cheats. Charge so much for the car, yet compromise on our lives and safety of the family.

How UMW? Still no VSC? All over the world, Toyota comes with VSC as standard!

Our lives not important UMW?

The Vios is a Big big failure. No need to write a lot here. The City with VSC beats it flat. Tak payah cerita panjang. Even the apek jual ikan also know City is more highly specced than the Vios. So Vios is dead.

Sam loo(ori1) and Same Lorr also now hiding like chickens. They will come in here and say Toyota got good RV but in truth, nobody is going to buy UMW’s trash in Malaysia. Even now, their RV jatuh like hell. 11 months old Camry 2.5, you can buy RM120k, drop from RM180k. In 11 months, the car can drop RM60k. Now people say can even get the Camry 2.5 2014 model for even RM98k. Wah! drop RM80k in 11 months!!!

• 2013 Altis RM65k on Jul 02, 2015 at 9:23 am

Nobody want to buy Toyota anymore. Bad bad RV. All this while Toyota salesman come and lie to people here in PT and other forums. Go to Mudah and see.

Why buy brand new? You can get an accident free, 2013 Toyota Altis for RM65k. Hardly 2 years old. Brand new RM139k.

In 2 years, Altis can drop to more than half the price! (about 70%) drop in price.

Go to mudah and check for yourself. Don’t forget, after bargaining, you can get Toyota cars even cheaper.

You want Camry? 2014 Camry 2.5, July registered, accident free, 10 months old, now selling RM98k. In 10 months, can drop RM82k. Car only done 22k km

• I want on Jul 02, 2015 at 10:29 am

I want to buy camry at 98k. Give me contact. If not real, im gonna puck u up!

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Jul 02, 2015 at 9:40 am

I beg everyone here, pls buy our Toyota. Sales are so bad. We need to feed our families.

• jumbuck on Jul 01, 2015 at 7:35 pm

Wonder why DRB Honda refused to sell Brio and Brio Amaze sedan here.

Is it due to both cars are fugly as Saga and Savvy?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 15
      • sudonano (Member) on Jul 01, 2015 at 8:14 pm

More like, selling the Brio and Amaze here would not be technically possible.

Those two were designed as cheap cars from the ground up. If Honda wants to sell them at 40k (what they were designed for), no way will MITI approve. MITI is only going to approve if it doesn’t compete with the Iriz/Myvi on price, which means, somewhere north of 60k I would say. At which point, 60k, for a budget car, I’d rather buy the Jazz.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
        • Anti-pati on Jul 02, 2015 at 9:12 am

But MITI approved the Suzuki Alto & priced it at 40K. Same for the Hyundai i10 & Kia Picanto at 50K. How?

Maybe Honda knows that even with their cost structure they couldn’t possibly get high margins if bring in the Brio in, hence they don’t even bother.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Jul 02, 2015 at 9:38 am

Miti jaga the failing Proton la bro

• taknaktoyota on Jul 02, 2015 at 1:13 pm

Toyodas is failure, no VSC in 2015 even >100k car.

• das auto on Jul 02, 2015 at 2:17 pm

This miti approval shit is nonsense. Don;t talk kok. Car dealers can always put high list price but give massive overtrade or discounts, 0% interest, etc.

• Clearly a big win for Honda.
      Now for the facelift, we want a sunroof, 17′ rims or possibly your bulletproof good ol’ manual gearbox to target all the potential buyers.
      THE POWER OF DREAMS

• Moving Coffin is Real on Jul 02, 2015 at 9:48 am

I think UMW and VGM better close shop. Name really stinks in Malaysia

• urzu3 on Jul 03, 2015 at 4:48 pm

cek out HR-V on US market.

top spec

sunroof
        AWD
        heated seat
        lane assist like accord
        full leather seat
        navigation

• VHL Loo on Jul 01, 2015 at 10:29 pm

Rush and other jamban junks from UMW Toyota crap cars already fulfill these 3 criteria, but in opposite way:

Gaya – just for show-off only for rich-wannabe tai lan ngong people but become bank slave for 9 years due to ‘gaya’ plus imaginary high RV (in reality, high HV aka Hailat Value). Any unfortunate events that cause their cars to be repossessed by bank due to outstanding loan payment, their peers, even those cheap budget car owners will laugh loudly at them.

Mutu – Even ‘chapalang’ hated Protong and Berukdua nowadays have better ‘mutu’ (built quality) than those jamban junk UMW Toyota ‘brand new’ junk cars. Their ‘mutu’ of their brand new junk cars can be comparable with China made cars. Not even comparable with few years old ‘Buatan Malaysia’ cars.

Keunggulan (Excellence) – Due to excessive and ridiculously high profit margin, it fulfills UMW Toyota’s ‘keunggulan’ criteria (lowest production cost until need to strip off VSC and also lowering built quality into junk car level plus trying to sell at highest possible selling price). Another way, if customer want VSC in Toyota, they are forced to go for highest/top spec level which provides much more greater profit margin only for UMW Toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 2
      • UMW Lancau on Jul 02, 2015 at 9:17 am

Now who wants to touch Altis and Camry? Or even Vios? RV so bad. Used car salesman also so scared to touch Toyota cars. They say customer come in ask got VSC or not

• Same Loo (ori1) on Jul 02, 2015 at 9:33 am

I admit I got very bad sales now. But I am cool cause at night I sell bra and panties in Parkson Subang Parade.

• UMW Lancau on Jul 02, 2015 at 9:40 am

They took out VSC to stick it up the UMW CEO and President’s buntot

• Rm150k No VSC 2 Airbag on Jul 02, 2015 at 9:45 am

Toyota is amazing. 150k also got no VSC and 2 airbag.

2015 Altis got no VSC. But 2011 Altis got VSC. Amazing

• OMG…T.Rush loss in term of exterior, interior, comfort ride and spec….T.Rushhhh for hellll…lol.

• HAMEED KOYAKUTTY on Jul 01, 2015 at 7:13 pm

Cannot play movie….:(((

kahkahkah….

• benzs on Jul 01, 2015 at 7:15 pm

Best selling car for Honda. Price and quality wise is very acceptable. In term of engine, 1.8L is surprisingly better than CRV 2.0. Crv is huge and heavy while lack of power. But both comparison isn’t correct due to different category. I’ve seen a few in Sarawak. Salesman told me Hrv will be a long waiting list. Other model will not. Meaning to say, Hrv sales is in demand. Good job Honda, but try to solve Takata issue 1st for human life safety.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • Zoom Zoom on Jul 01, 2015 at 7:16 pm

CX-3 where are you? still sleeping??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
    • Mazda Malaysia still sleeping.
      Cx-3 already available for Europe include Netherlands,saw a few already in downtown Amsterdam.

• I think Mazda is the only Japs that sell well in Netherlands,bcos i saw a lot of Mazda in Amsterdam.
      And others like Toyota Honda very hard to see.

• JB_KIA on Jul 02, 2015 at 12:20 am

becoz price range oredi announced and ringgit is like shit now thus can’t bring in

• DPCraft on Jul 01, 2015 at 7:17 pm

Meanwhile the Toyota Rush, 4 to 5 months’ stock still haven’t sell finish…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
    • UMW big cheats on Jul 02, 2015 at 9:41 am

Same Lorrrr and Same Loo (ori1) will rush now to put the dildo in themselves

• Al haffi on Jul 01, 2015 at 7:37 pm

kudo honda

• Albert on Jul 01, 2015 at 7:41 pm

Only Honda has managed to defy this GST wrecked year.6months of waiting is a little too punishing,but people still love this sushi car.Protong…you can have 2014 models with hefty discounts,no need wait.The Protong salesman can even wait outside the jamban after you have bombed Tokyo.

• lolerd on Jul 01, 2015 at 11:16 pm

Same Lorrr has much more time lor. Busy talking kok here coz no customers in showroom, lol

• Lonely Toyota Salesman on Jul 02, 2015 at 9:21 am

Same Lorrr and Sam Loo’s only friend now is a big black dildo

• Lonely Toyota Salesman on Jul 02, 2015 at 9:42 am

Toyota will soon join Fiat and Citroen.Slow death.

• Hmm... More Hmm... on Jul 01, 2015 at 8:03 pm

So is proton going to rebadge this? They done it before/doing it with everything DRB owns.. Mitsubishi, Suzuki, Honda so why not HRV with lotus engineering?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • rosmaria on Jul 01, 2015 at 8:11 pm

Honda glamour only, mybrother bought honda city 2month ago now hving brake problem leaking sent to sc no sparepart. So tinggal kereta di sc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 17
  • No use la…can u beat altis 40 million worldwide….whoa

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
    • 2013 Altis RM65k on Jul 02, 2015 at 9:24 am

Altis doing well overseas because got 10 airbags. In Malaysia, Altis got near ZERO sales. Do you even see any 2015 Altis on the road when you drive?

• Snobs on Jul 01, 2015 at 9:12 pm

Meanwhile, how’s the reception for Toyota’s ‘New’ Rush? Haven’t seen any on the road yet.

• 2013 Altis RM65k on Jul 02, 2015 at 9:26 am

Toyota salesman are the scum of the car sales industry. Only they come online to spread fake RV news about other car brands.

their own Toyota now got bad RV cause no safety features.

• tycoon88 on Jul 01, 2015 at 9:21 pm

How i wish P2 revive itz kembara model. In indonesia it is known as d D.terios. It will give honda a hell of a run for itz money. Terios is pretty similar to that of d over priced T.Rush.

imagine if the new P2 Kembara sells for 55K like good old times, HRV sales will surely halve.

same like former no. 1 selling non-national mpv N. Livina. After P2 Alza launched, new livinas almost extinct on msian roads now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 15
    • They did with Nautica. And they failed miserably.

• And Nissan Grand Livina is still the best-selling NON-NATIONAL MPV. Perodua Alza doesn’t count as it’s still considered as national car.

• tinmilo on Jul 01, 2015 at 9:33 pm

Who say market bad? Product pariah blame market bad..
    S Class all also waiting list…
    Even the camry hybrid has no waiting list…

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Jul 02, 2015 at 9:37 am

Camry Hybrid is about US$25k. Masuk Malaysia, become RM175k despite CKD and got no tax.

We Toyota salesman also don’t know how to bluf to customers who want good value for their money

• Mc Kangkung on Jul 01, 2015 at 9:38 pm

Toyota salesmen will be out of job very soon……
    They must be desperate and might work part time at pasar malam….

Nobody dares to buy a toyota becoz it is overly expensive, unattractive design, low tech, low safety features….Toyota days are over! hahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • Toyota No VSC and 2 Airbag on Jul 02, 2015 at 9:19 am

Toyota is now known as the MOVING Coffin. Bad luck to buy the car. Chances of you being a vegetable is so high

• VHL Loo on Jul 03, 2015 at 7:00 pm

somemore it’s bulit quality nowadays already equal to junk cars with luxury car selling price and maintenance cost.

• sand and grass on Jul 01, 2015 at 9:39 pm

And yet, people still eat sand and grass!!!

• ganni on Jul 02, 2015 at 8:14 am

you are wrong..mr lan said ppl still can afford to eat kfc even the petrol hike..

• Carlos slim on Jul 01, 2015 at 9:51 pm

HR-Vs are the new City/Vios. The car for those too proud to buy something cheaper and more common (Proton ten years ago, Vios/City today) but cant stretch their budgets too much further. its a nice looker you have to give it that.

• seancorr (Member) on Jul 01, 2015 at 9:56 pm

Well like they always say ‘may the best man win’.

• jejambu on Jul 01, 2015 at 10:38 pm

My relative booked the high end model before CNY and last month was told that they will likely get their car earliest August because priority given to muslim purchasers who booked later in order for them to get their car in time for Raya. How fair is that?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 30
    • tailong on Jul 02, 2015 at 8:29 am

and your intention is?

give us concrete proof la bro/sis.. link to hm fbpages that posted this complaint or official reply from hm..anything la bro..

or else, you might be another rba that just want to stir hornet nest?

• Jejambu on Jul 02, 2015 at 1:20 pm

Not trying to stir hornet’s nest. Just frustrated that during booking, the sales person mentioned not more than 4 months waiting and now tells them that they have to wait because they have prioritise delivery. I would have thought its first come first served. Will take on your suggestion to post it up on FB. Thank you Sir

• azhar on Jul 02, 2015 at 8:52 am

never trust SA laa..they will create anything just to save their neck

• CX3, if you didnt intercept into market at this moment while HRV still with long waiting list, you got the dumbest marketing dept.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • Usavich on Jul 02, 2015 at 9:37 am

many ppl i knew already cancelled booking waiting for cx3 instead.

• brvee on Jul 01, 2015 at 11:19 pm

Why no wait for BRV? Got 7 seats summore

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • now, Demand Drop already.

last time wait 6 months.
    now wait 4 months pun dapat dah.

• U are right:

1. Launched February 5th.
      Booking = 13k @ April 29th.

13k over 3 months = 4333/month booking rate.

2. 18k @ July 1st.
      5k increase over 2 monhts. = 2500/month booking rate.

CONCLUSION:
      Booking rate have dropped drastically.
      Thus, Waiting period reduced to 4 months now.

• Orion Q on Jul 02, 2015 at 1:15 am

Bookings? Is it an airplane flight?

• CX3 18inch Rims on Jul 02, 2015 at 4:44 am

Only CX3 with 18inch Rims will tapau the Sales of This HRV if Launch now but not later..cmon Bermaz

• Megane on Jul 02, 2015 at 7:19 am

Honda nie kalau jual keta sorong letak logo HOnda pun org Malaysia beratur tunggu nak beli . Janji Honda kay !

• CarmenTung on Jul 02, 2015 at 7:25 am

I wonder what is so fancy about this ugly looking car ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 15
  • azrai on Jul 02, 2015 at 7:34 am

Malaysian are deceived into thinking they own baby CRV with this Jazz based HRV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
  • Middle Age Driver (Member) on Jul 02, 2015 at 8:32 am

Ha..everybody wants a SUV nowadays. The need for low riding cars are dwindling. Whichever manufacturer that doesn’t have a real SUV model that is competitively priced is doomed to compete in the balance 20-30% of the leftover market for cars.

• Galardo on Jul 02, 2015 at 10:23 am

The global trend is towards sedans now. SUVs are becoming passe and irrelevant in the urban setting. But this is Malaysia, the dynamics are different.

• thepolygonal on Jul 02, 2015 at 9:13 am

Ok good.. now bring in the S660 or S1000 for me to play.

• cmon bro on Jul 02, 2015 at 9:24 am

cmon la bermaz, bring in the cx3 already!!

• therealmaserati on Jul 02, 2015 at 9:39 am

As proven, Japanese cars are still King when it comes to refinement and style.

KOREAN cars can go fly kite. The total sales of Kia and Hyundai cant even match HRVs sales alone.

As a conclusion, no the Koreans still have many lightyears to catchup with the Japs. At the moment they are not even close!

• Sparcov on Jul 02, 2015 at 10:11 am

I owned the HRV V-spec,

Frankly speaking, it does not feel small from the inside. It is spacious. Power ratio is good. Large cargo area

Handling is little floating due to high ground clearance and short wheelbase.

Seating position however is low compare to Cx5 or CRV. It is more or less same like an Alza sitting position. From outside, it does look taller.

Since it is launched in Asia, American and Europe is discussing now and generally received a positive review. Soon to be launch in 2016

it is a global car. So follow the crowd to decide buying should be fine.

Unless we wanted something different, Cx3, renault captur is good

• In short:

HRV =
      1. B-segment Quality
      2. C-segment Space,
      3. Sedan Sitting Position like Alza.

I rather go for a C-segment Car with C-segment quality and Status at the price range.

• nothing WOW about this car.

• i hv checked, now toyota rv is really bad, not like b4. Proton rv also going down. kimchis rv is higher now.

• Harris Shah Abd Hamid on Jul 02, 2015 at 10:53 am

Kerja ..kerja..kerja..
    kumpul duit dan beli HRV sebiji.

• Janji najix tak ditunaikan,penipu Rakyat! on Jul 02, 2015 at 10:57 am

This car is selling too high. Not worth for the Tech and the oldskull design. No doubt,interior look ok,but overall is not worth to get it. Lets wait CX3 who score good FC in euro and also better handling car.

• shawal on Jul 02, 2015 at 10:57 am

the next HRV should have a more conventional dash to free space for more cubbies ,
    rear aircond vents and abit more rear leg room….

for the time being…the top spec is the best car for that price range….

• Ainon on Jul 02, 2015 at 2:44 pm

Is HRV sales eating into CRV sales? Anybody has the statistics on CRV?

• just wait for cx3. then decide :)

• astalavista on Jul 02, 2015 at 4:15 pm

where are u cx3?

• tinmilo on Jul 02, 2015 at 4:53 pm

Why there are people that seem to think CX3 can challenge the statement of this article?
    Even the base CX5 is quite close to the price of HRV now, but doesn’t change a thing.

• Carlos slim on Jul 02, 2015 at 10:00 pm

Like I mentioned, the target for HRVs are those stretching their budgets to buy something to show they’ve outgrown the Vios/City crowd. The base CX5 is a bit too much of a stretch. In some case it’s not because they cant afford to but they are likely not willing to go beyond the HRV price region.

• cx3cramp on Jul 02, 2015 at 11:01 pm

CX3 is small like mazda2. How to compare with C Segmenter equivalent HRV?

It’s like you compare 2.0l engine with powerless 1.5l.

• David on Jul 09, 2015 at 5:31 pm

If you can’t wait don’t book Honda HRV. Current waiting time is almost one year. Shame on Honda that receive orders that cannot deliver on time.