Honda Malaysia now offering 3M and Ecotint window tint film at dealerships nationwide – 5-year warranty

3M Honda CR-Z-10

Honda Malaysia (HM) has announced the availability of selected window tint films at all of its 82 dealerships nationwide. Customers who purchase any current Honda will have the option to install the authorised window films at an affordable price. Four are currently offered, and they are:

3M – Horizon Safety (only in Pen. Malaysia) – RM1,500
Ecotint – Ray Barrier 4 – RM1,500
Ecotint – Ray Barrier 6 – RM2,100
Ecotint – Ray Barrier Premier 6 – RM2,800

HM says that it went through a stringent process to select 3M and Ecotint as applicators of choice. 3M imports its film from Japan and Korea, while Ecotint’s products are manufactured by Sumitomo Osaka Cement Co Ltd in Japan.

The selected films have varying thickness and visible light transmittance (VLT), but all comply with JPJ regulations. Using non-metallised and low infrared rejection films, HM says that customers need not worry about interference of electromagnetic signals and can use GPS and Smart Tags normally. The specs of the films are listed below.

honda-malaysia-window-tint

Click to enlarge chart

Those who purchase HM’s selected window films get five years warranty from the date of installation, transferable ownership for warranty, after sales support as well as a shorter and safer installation process, the company says.

Films are usually measured and trimmed directly on the car windows during the installation process. The heating process can potentially damage surrounding rubber and plastic parts, while scratches on the windows can happen, HM says, adding that this collaboration with 3M and Ecotint has enabled both suppliers to pre-heat and pre-cut their films to match Honda models, which translates to a shorter installation process and lower risk of damage.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Man Universal on Jul 01, 2015 at 12:57 pm

Excuse me…isn’t the new JPJ regulation front windscreen is 70% VLT, side windscreen 50% VLT and rear windscreen 30% VLT???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 20
    • Areyousure on Jul 01, 2015 at 2:07 pm

Lesser side-income for salesman …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
      • Honda Suxs on Jul 01, 2015 at 5:23 pm

I really don’t see how is this a “promotion” … overpriced tints with an artificial discount

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
    • Same L0rrrr on Jul 01, 2015 at 2:12 pm

Universal rule: want better specs? please pay more.

• viossnail on Jul 01, 2015 at 2:44 pm

So that’s why Vios is still no VSC, outdated gear and engine summore.

How much to pay to get new turbo engine?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
  • Man Universal is a moron on Jul 01, 2015 at 1:50 pm

Dude, its heat rejection not light penetration. All you idiots comment here are morons.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 28
    • geekfiredog on Jul 01, 2015 at 2:27 pm

JPJ does not care about the heat rejection rate, their criteria is about VLT. For user, we care more about Total solar energy rejection and UV rejection. The problem is higher solar energy / UV rejection rate typically means lower VLT without significant increases in manufacturing cost.

BTW – what is the typical VLT % on Honda cars’ window/windscreen? Based on high level calculation, some of the tint films will not meet JPJ regulation when combining with “original tinted” windows from Honda.

• sudonano (Member) on Jul 01, 2015 at 2:33 pm

Doesn’t that make you one…?

#burn.

• tokmoh. on Jul 01, 2015 at 2:10 pm

Anyone has Ecotint? Is it comparable to big names eg 3M, Raytech, Huper Optik, VKool, or overrated cap ayam?

• tokkeh on Jul 01, 2015 at 2:50 pm

You buy you try

• Inspira using Ecotint

4 Side Windows (Security Tint)
      Ray Barrier signature class AEGIS 6 MIL
      Visible Light Transmission -> 58%
      Ultraviolet (UV) Rejected -> 99.5%
      Infrared (IR) Rejected -> 97%
      Total Solar Energy/Heat Rejected -> 64%

even better TSER than the most expensive on the honda offerings…

• Man Universal on Jul 01, 2015 at 2:10 pm

I’m talking about the VLT, not heat rejection. Can’t you read and understand it? VLT stands for Vehicle Light Transmission. Please check the fact before saying something stupid. Who is moron now???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
    • hamboldt on Jul 01, 2015 at 2:40 pm

Ermmm… moron or not is out of topic.
      Please read the chart properly, all VLT are comply with JPJ regulations.
      By the way, it’s a nice move for Honda to have these services, I love this idea.

• Captain Obvious on Jul 01, 2015 at 5:33 pm

Actually bro.. VLT stands for Visible Light Transmission. Please check your facts before saying something stupid. Kthxbai.

• Shaekey on Jul 02, 2015 at 9:29 am

Your JPJ percentages are correct but you didn’t realize the lower the number the darker the tint. Thus, when JPJ allow 70%, it is ok to have percentage above 70% but not lower. Thus, for 3M for example, 85% is way above the allowable percentage of 70% VLT.

• sudonano (Member) on Jul 01, 2015 at 2:41 pm

Tbh, I have heard of quite a number of horror stories with EcoTint especially those that come preinstalled with it. Bubbling seems to be an issue.

3M on the other hand has been pretty good, even Llumar as well. VKool used to be good, but now, their quality has dropped a lot. My last VKool car peeled within 3 years.

Oh, and as for the cap ayam one, don’t do it. Tried one Rhinepro for a cheap runabout car. Worst decision ever. Bubbling after a year. Of course all of it was changed under warranty (literally had to redo the tint for all the doors) but even then you can still see the peel from some of the edges.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
    • tokmoh. on Jul 01, 2015 at 3:14 pm

Thanks.

I guess none of these offerings are attractive enough. 3M is best to go for their flagship Crystalline.

Ecotint, kinda meh.

I tried cap ayam Coolmaster, it’s been 3 years, still no bubble, blur, etc. Not bad in that sense, but not that cooling I feel, but since got it for <rm200, cukur la.

• sudonano (Member) on Jul 01, 2015 at 5:19 pm

Yeah if 3M, definitely Crystalline is the way to go.

I currently use Llumar, but that is because I know the guys who did mine pretty well.

I did the cap ayam one, ok la even despite the small issues after replacement, #syukur la, cause it costed about half the price of Llumar’s Diamond 6.

• Shaekey on Jul 02, 2015 at 9:35 am

I have Llumar on my car for over 7 years now. Still perfect and no problem what so ever. Very satisfied. I had it installed in Puchong, the shop next to Ford.

• iamsuperpro on Jul 01, 2015 at 2:49 pm

that 3M kinda useless.

• Why pay more on Jul 01, 2015 at 3:06 pm

Sharing is caring, just to let you all know groupon are selling cheaper

• tokmoh. on Jul 01, 2015 at 3:30 pm

Those cap ayam tints cannot expect to reject heat as good as proper branded ones like 3M, Vkool, Raytech, Huper optik, Llumar.

But it’s something. And if the workmanship good, can last quite awhile.

My groupon tint 3 years edi, still ok.

• cendol (Member) on Jul 01, 2015 at 5:31 pm

A car tint is still a car tint no matter what .
    I just don’t understand how can 6 pieces of transparent papers can cost more than RM2000.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
    • Lawson on Jul 31, 2015 at 3:51 pm

If a sample tint of have a measured VLT of 51% and IRR of 48% (using 3M transmission light meter) I would consider it of below average quality and not worth RM1000. Its TSER is likely to be higher than 25%.

For me a car tint job of RM2000 must come with IR rejection of 97% or higher. For tint of RM1500 tint must come with IRR rejection of 90% or higher. For tint of RM1000 with IRR rejection of 80% or higher.

3M Skudai that tint my HC is very willing to test the samples of tint that I got from other tint shops and vs their various grades 3M tint. Therefore I escape paying higher than average price for a tint of below average TSER capability.

For those that might urge that measurement % of IR rejection using 3M transmission light tester is not representative of TSER – show me a meter that able to read TSER!.

Owner of one car air cond cum tint shop was willing to give his best tint with IR rejection of 83% for RM900. How ever I was looking for a better tint.

Good if 3M could bring cr60 so that side windows + tint could to comply to VLT ruling of 50%.

Have a good day.

• Mc Kangkung on Jul 01, 2015 at 9:46 pm

The more Honda offer their service/product, to their customers……….the more way Honda can rip-off customers…

• kipidap on Jul 02, 2015 at 10:56 pm

Shut up moron!

• HM cho. on Feb 22, 2016 at 7:23 am

Hello~
    I’m looking for Total Solar Energy Rejected Meter.

Can you help me?