PSA boss tries out the 500 hp Peugeot 308 R HYbrid

maxime-picat-twitter

Here’s something interesting for both Peugeot and hot hatch fans. The French brand’s CEO Maxime Picat has posted two images on his Twitter account, showing PSA Peugeot Citroen chairman Carlos Tavares getting into a Peugeot 308 R HYbrid test mule.

With a caption like “Looks like the Peugeot 308 R HYbrid is ready to move! Today our CEO Carlos Tavares enjoyed its radical performance!” it appears that Peugeot is working on turning the Auto Shanghai 2015 show car into reality. Usually, these things rarely get recorded, much less tweeted for the world to see and expect, so we can treat it as a “confirmation” of sorts.

The 308 R HYbrid was a shocker when news of it came into our inbox in April, thanks to the figures 500 hp and 730 Nm. The powertrain starts a 1.6 litre THP engine with 270 hp. It’s mated through a six-speed paddle-shift gearbox to a 115 hp front electric motor; there’s another motor at the rear, effectively providing four-wheel drive. 0 to 100 km/h is done in four seconds flat, despite emitting just 70 g/km of CO2.

It can use regenerative braking throughout the whole speed range, which, in addition to conserving the life of the pads and discs, can also charge the 3 kWh lithium-ion battery. The pack can also be recharged either by the front electric motor (driven by the engine) as a generator or by plugging the car up to a rapid charging terminal, the latter filling the battery up in 45 minutes.

The concept’s tracks have been widened by 80 mm, and we can see that the red mule has some seriously blistered wheel arches. The just-launched 270 hp Peugeot 308 GTi makes do with the standard 308 body.

The prototype’s face is similar to the GTi’s though, which is less aggressive than the Shanghai showcar’s big grille and air intake combo. Also borrowed from the production GTi are those sexy 18-inch “Diamant” alloys. So, are you ready for a 500 hp AWD hybrid hot hatch? Peugeot seems to be.

Peugeot 308 R HYbrid at Shanghai 2015

Peugeot 308 GTi

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Kancil Hybrid on Jul 01, 2015 at 11:59 am

Please bring it here Naza. I want to buy.

• Same L0rrrr on Jul 01, 2015 at 2:13 pm

Buying the Peugeot in Europe = buying the Proton in Malaysia. Poor quality!

Good luck to you!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
      • toyoytanogood on Jul 01, 2015 at 2:47 pm

I thought it is Toyoda since it’s not good as olden days

• Proton quality seems to be better than UMW toyota nowadays. At least dun have airbags that wanna kill u, or accelerator pedals that wanna murder u, or body so soft wanna squish u, or drivability so boring wanna bore u to death.

• Hmm... More Hmm... on Jul 01, 2015 at 6:55 pm

Historically reliability and serviceability of Peugeot vehicles in UK is horrendous (personal experience, it was cheap for a student!), same goes to Proton.. HISTORICALLY… However it’s no longer the case as their quality has improved though marginally but compared to Japanese marques they are catching up.

• xtremex on Jul 02, 2015 at 8:02 pm

308 is on top 17 out of over 200 cars in uk rated by uk owners, and that includes reliability score. www.autoexpress.co.uk/best-cars/driver-power/91218/best-cars-to-own-in-2015

• hazamiey on Jul 01, 2015 at 12:38 pm

That 6 speed paddle-shift gearbox! I’m on it

• 4G63T DSM on Jul 01, 2015 at 3:42 pm

500hp in a hot hatch. Thats what I call progress.

I wonder how much this weighs….

400Hp AMG A45, 370hp RS3, 400HP Golf 400R. Let the new HP wars begin.

It wan’t that long ago that you don’t even get such output levels from even a supercar.

Sudenly the 320hp Focus RS seems palty. I’m sure the Ford heads are now trying to suff the GT’s 600hp supercharged v6 into the Focus.

• Hmm... More Hmm... on Jul 01, 2015 at 6:45 pm

If only all of the Officer level and above plus stakeholders are legally required to drive their Brand vehicles, we would have so many amazing vehicles by now…

• intermilan on Jul 01, 2015 at 7:55 pm

They r really crazy if this goes into production. Halo car or not… that’s the spirit!

• Damn 0-60 in four seconds? That’s faster than the TT RS Plus, and this has 4 doors.

• I think this is will remain a prototype for now. Hopefully there will be a 2nd gen RCZ with this drive train. It’ll be interesting to see how it would compare with the upcoming TT RS.

• Durian on Jul 02, 2015 at 4:49 am

No second generation of RCZ !

But this 308 R hybrid is real! Ready for Francfort in september with 385hp.