RM5.42 bil collected as toll revenue last year, up to 90% for loan repayment and costs – Works Ministry

kuang-toll1

Ever wondered where the money you pay for toll goes to? According to Deputy Works Minister Datuk Rosnah Rashid Shirlin, up to 90% of toll revenue goes to loan repayment, operational and maintenance costs of the highways, New Straits Times reports.

“The remainder 10% of revenue goes to shareholders of the concessions,” she told the Dewan Negara in response to Senator Datuk Jaspal Singh, who asked the government to provide statistics of toll concessionaires and highways with tolls nationwide.

Rosnah said there are 30 highways nationwide operating under 23 concessionaires. “Not all of the 23 concessionaires are recording profits since they started their operations. They have to wait for the concessions to mature before gaining profits,” she told the upper house.

Rosnah revealed that toll revenue for 2013 was RM5.4 billion and last year haul was RM5.42 billion, but reiterated that the amounts are before deducting expenses like loan repayment and costs.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Maintenance cost of the highway – korek one lane which doesn’t have any sign of problem at all..and then tutup balik. That’s another to make money for the crony

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
    • andas on Jul 02, 2015 at 4:00 pm

so…. need to wait until lobang, then can tutup balik.. ayoo… if like that ah, u will accident rate increase ma.. that time, u will say different.. “oih PLUS, no work ka???”

• Why do we PAY toll? on Jul 01, 2015 at 10:08 am

Most oil producing countries got no toll at all. The country has so much of oil revenue, Government makes free highways. In Malaysia, PETRONAS money just goes to a few pockets. We don’t see it.

The best part is, we don’t just have oil. We have everything, palm oil, getah, tin, iron, gold, coconut, kuprum and hundreds of natural resources.

Malaysia is the most resource rich country in the world. So so rich. 100x richer than even Singapore. So why do we pay toll?

Simple. All the wealth goes to a few pockets

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 5
    • Hadiah Hari Raya on Jul 01, 2015 at 10:43 am

Not just a few pockets but UMNO pockets. Btw, this news is just to prepare the rakyat for another increase. This justifies that another toll hike is needed. Another hadiah for Hari Raya, besides increase in petrol prices

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
      • hadi75 on Jul 02, 2015 at 8:25 am

Not just umno pockets la…mca…mic…gerakan..all the bn component parties…

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jul 01, 2015 at 10:14 am

5.48B is only 13% of the 41.8B debt by 1MDB

• Kancil Hybrid on Jul 01, 2015 at 10:27 am

Apa lagi tol operator mahu?

Apa lagi BN mahu?

Apa lagi kroni mahu?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • So, once the loan paid off… will the toll rates reduced accordingly???

• As usual old shit kampong strategy with full of lies.
    Where is proof?
    This bn committed n dedicated to always lie to rakyat

• Put all abang adik in the board and high rank positions and get high salaries, like this not making profits?

• Vejanthern on Jul 01, 2015 at 1:35 pm

Once we change the government all truth will appear soon. Hope for better Malaysia.

• Golf MK7 Owner on Jul 01, 2015 at 4:18 pm

Walao eh. Another BS news for today. First of all, the government can build the highways with our money for free and no, they decided to sub it to private companies because reason given is private companies can provide better service and maintenance. Then, instead of giving the contracts to reputable road building companies tru proper open tender, they decided to award these contracts to some small time RM 2 company or whatever. Since these so called “companies” have no funds to start the projects, government said never mind, we are generous enough to loan you the starter fees worth millions and even billions of ringgit (our freaking tax payer’s money). After finish building the roads, these companies set up tolls to collect fees from the rakyat. What the f logic is this ? You use our money to build the roads and then build tolls to collect money from us again ? We are being ripped off twice man.

• jrBoyot on Jul 04, 2015 at 10:31 am

You should understand the concept of privatization. Govt don’t want to use money collected from people in Sabah to build free highway for people in KL. Better money spent for education and defense. So for people in KL they only pay toll only when they use it.
      Not all money to build highway comes from Govt.
      After concession period end, the highway will be given back to govt. Eg jalan kuching and cheras.
      But to be fair, govt staff must play their role to ensure that highway companies perform.
      Most of highway construction job is thru open tender. You can ask your contractor friends to verify this.

• drust on Jul 01, 2015 at 5:50 pm

90% figure pluck from coconut tree ar? Give details la…

• winwin on Jul 01, 2015 at 7:26 pm

This is a shit figure given by minister. I am pretty sure the minister has rounded up an average figure for all toll concessions combined. If you look at LDP for both Puchong and Kepong side, it is jam packed like nobody’s business. Those are cash cows.This is just a lame drama to justify the toll increase.