Toyota Mirai FCV – EPA-estimated performance range announced, 502 km on a single tank of hydrogen

2016_Toyota_Fuel_Cell_Vehicle_031

Toyota has announced the provisional performance range for its Toyota Mirai hydrogen fuel-cell electric vehicle, which will make its market debut in the United States in the third quarter of this year.

The Mirai has an EPA-estimated driving range rating of 502 km (312 miles) on a single fill of hydrogen, which the automaker states gives the FCV the longest driving range of any Zero Emission Vehicle on the market. Initially, a claimed range of 483 km per fill was being touted by the automaker, but nothing like going past the 500 km-mark (or 300 mile, if you will) for bragging rights.

The four-door, mid-size sedan features a fuel cell system – the car is driven by an electric motor, with electricity for it created on demand by fusing hydrogen and oxygen to produce the required voltage. Emissions is limited to just water vapour in the process.

The Mirai’s fuel cell stack is located under the driver and front passenger seats and offers 3.1 kW/L of power output density, and other figures include a total output of 153 hp, a 0-100 km/h time of 9.0 seconds and a 40-60 km/h acceleration time of 3.0 seconds.

The automaker is set on pushing the Mirai in a big way in the States, and there are plenty of carrots and reassurances for adopters of the new tech. The Mirai comes with an eight-year/160,000 km warranty on key fuel cell vehicle components, including the FC stack and power control unit, FC hydrogen tanks, hybrid battery pack and ECU, FC air compressor, boost converter and ECU, hybrid control module (power management control module) and hydrogen fueling ECU.

Elsewhere, customers are set to enjoy three years’ worth of complimentary fuel, no-cost scheduled maintenance for three years or 56,000 km (whichever comes first) as well as three years of complimentary Safety Connect and Entune services, including a hydrogen station finder app and 24/7 customer call support.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Areyousure on Jul 01, 2015 at 2:12 pm

Man … is so ugly !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
    • samenob_ on Jul 01, 2015 at 2:41 pm

Same Lorrrr it’s ugly like Vios!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
      • Same L0rrrr on Jul 01, 2015 at 6:40 pm

Ugly or not, it is subjective. Same like you think your wife/gf is hot while your friend think you are blind.

Energy saving however is an objective measurement. You can’t go wrong with sushi cars.

• Albert on Jul 02, 2015 at 10:29 am

The 2 air intake triangular shaped..you say ugly.
      So you want to design a L shaped air intake (for Lazy) or S shaped air intake for STUPID/Syiok sendiri or B for Bodoh?
      Tell us,which appeals to you?

• Wow!! Looks just like Darth Vader’s mask!

• DPCraft on Jul 01, 2015 at 4:32 pm

It’s like a ugly version of Pruis

• modesto.h on Jul 01, 2015 at 4:33 pm

Toyota is only good at designing front, back is not their core competency.

• DPCraft on Jul 01, 2015 at 8:13 pm

But the Mirai also have an over-style front which, could looks nice if the front bumper(the two big thing) is smaller

• ARGHHH!!!. MY EYES!!

• This car is nothing to do with it’s outlook…prefect energy solutions car….turbo bi-turbo n even hybrid are still heavily dependent on fossil fuels.so I will say mirai is a high tech zero emissions car.

• Whynot on Jul 01, 2015 at 11:44 pm

The exterior needed an overhaul. But the technology is very practical for the present needs!

• Toyota Mirai.
    really astounding design – to show that it not a normal petrol/diesel car.

Toyota pure hybrid design car, also have their very own design language, different from any other car.
    Where , we got the Prius range.

Honda FCV?
    the design? same like other concept car.
    nothing special though.