Uber will never be legalised in Malaysia – SPAD

uber-x-car

Plans for Uber to legalise its services in Malaysia have been quashed by the Land Public Transport Commission (SPAD), theSun understands. This report comes days after Chan Park, strategic planning head and general manager of Uber Technologies South East Asia (SEA), said that matters were “under discussion” to legalise its services. However, he failed to elaborate on the progress.

According to SPAD chairman, Tan Sri Syed Hamid Albar, the market “does not need a new player” – more so in locations such as the Klang Valley, Johor Baru and Penang. “They [Uber] are trying to replace the legitimate taxis. Uber is a matchmaker and it utilises all kinds of cars including private vehicles. Uber is offering the kind of services that we cannot legalise,” he said.

Syed Hamid went on to state that while he does not oppose the existence of an app that offers transport services, said app must facilitate “vehicles with a valid permit and the driver has a valid licence.” SPAD enforcement head, Datuk Paduka Che Hasni Che Ahmad, explained Uber’s matchmaking services by stating that the firm hires a local source to deal with car rental and/or leasing companies to cater to the bookings.

The drivers themselves are provided by said local firm. “Uber does not deal directly with car rental companies because it acts as a middleman,” he clarified. Additionally, Syed Hamid also stated that Uber’s cashless payment system is hindering the local economy.

Taxi Drivers Protest Against GrabCar 6

Taxi drivers protest against GrabCar, Uber and Blacklane.

“The money [fare paid] goes out of the country while the country does not benefit anything from that. There is no spin-off from their business operation, they just operate as they wish,” he stated. Syed Hamid did not comment on the fact that the local drivers here have to be paid by Uber, as well.

As for the steps that Uber can take to ensure its legality in Malaysia, Syed Hamid said that “they [Uber] can buy a taxi company here and operate as a legal transport company.” Currently, SPAD has announced that it will intensify its operations to clamp down on private vehicles used as taxis.

Discouraging consumers to use such services, Syed Hamid said in a report by The Star that “if a customer gets into an accident, passengers are not covered and the insurance company can deny liability.” The use of private vehicles used to ferry passengers is considered illegal. Also, SPAD has found that a majority a Uber drivers do not possess a valid Public Service Vehicle (PSV) driving licence.

Furthermore, private vehicles employed by operators using Uber are not covered under commercial vehicle insurance schemes and are not subjected to Puspakom‘s biannual safety inspections. Drivers and operators who fail to comply risk having their cars confiscated by SPAD in addition to a penalty or imprisonment term.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jul 01, 2015 at 10:15 am

Why always use picture of Vios?

I need to promote the purchase of new Elantra, Sonata and K5, please

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 22
    • MBBS for BOTH kids on Jul 01, 2015 at 10:35 am

These gangsters, instead of working harder, have managed to control SPAD

Btw, don’t be fooled they are poor. I got a buddy whose father just a teksi driver. He managed to send both his children to do medicine in the UK. that is about RM2 million for both of them. Wife not working.

So, to these teksi drivers, stop lying about your income and under declaring to LHDN.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 7
      • You sure your buddy don’t own restoran ikan bakar? or ayam goreng? or 45kg ayam?

• submarine on Jul 01, 2015 at 6:42 pm

Do you know what have u done SPAD? You are so brainless now you only allow these “conventional” taxis to go on with their trickery, and without competition there won’t be any improvements. Obviously the people making the decision has never taken a ride in out “renowned” taxi service.

• SPAD kowtow to PERS1M on Jul 01, 2015 at 10:39 am

the last post on PERS1M had more than 100 comments. Every single person who commented had stinking stories about our teksi in Malaysia. Not one person said anything good about our teksi.

That alone shows Albar, who earns 6 figure salary per month (not per year) in SPAD does not listen to the people and have kowtow to pressure by the gangsters who threatened to make road blocks and disrupt KL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 1
      • UMNO Cronies on Jul 01, 2015 at 2:15 pm

If allow UBER, how are we going to earn? What are we going to do with the teksi permit?. Also what about Spanco, our crony buddy? What are they going to do when no one rents their old Proton? Think lah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 10
      • alldisc on Jul 01, 2015 at 2:43 pm

syed hamid’s wife owns some taxi permits, of which generating an estimated revenue of rm60,000 per month. imagine the disturbance they get by uber.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
      • Is PSV license mean teaching those taxi, lorry or bus driver to drive in a very rude way? Everyone should have known how this type of people drive on the road.

Is permit mean there must be insurance covered? I had a case last time that was hit by a so called licensed taxi with permit end up was told that the taxi do not have any insurance..

They will forever mentioned about this but never improve themselves..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
    • RM200 BB to KLCC on Jul 01, 2015 at 10:51 am

My mat salleh friend just told me he got charged RM200 from Bukit Bintang to Suria KLCC last week.

Bagus betul our teksi in Malaysia

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 1
      • kelso on Jul 01, 2015 at 4:34 pm

I’ve been personally propositioned for RM 50, despite being a local.

Down with the SPADstics

• Gangster Teksi on Jul 01, 2015 at 11:11 am

We protest!

• protonsucks on Jul 01, 2015 at 11:22 am

your joke sucks and its not funny

• Please ask these SPAD people to try both normal taxi and Uber and have them choose which one is better..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 0
    • Message to Jakim on Jul 01, 2015 at 10:36 am

Hello Jakim, your teksi drivers in Malaysia are promoting Malaysia as a sex capital of Asia. Every male passenger who enters any cab, whether he is local of foreigner tourist, always get asked whether the passenger want to go spa or visit brothels.

Jakim, 9 out of 10 teksi drivers are involved in this practice. We all know they get commission from these brothels and massage parlours for every customer they bring in. Infact, the teksi drivers now are enticing most male passengers to visit such places.

So, Jakim, please check these people. They berani to go against Uber and others but deep inside they are promoting Malaysia as the sex capital of Asia and doing injustice not only to Malaysia but to women in Malaysia also.

At least Uber don’t do sex rubbish in Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 7
  • Just a rebrand on Jul 01, 2015 at 10:31 am

Eyh.. Uber just have to go back to it’s roots and keep a low profile. No cars with Uber stickers or paintjob. Advertise it purely as a carpool matchmaking service. Since money is being transferred through apps, it should be able to skirt most of the laws regarding Public Transport.

They just wait until Albar and the rest of the UMNO baruas start rotting in hell.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
    • alldisc on Jul 01, 2015 at 2:47 pm

as it always claim – uber is actually not a transport company but an IT app.

and the concept is known as ‘ride-sharing’, not taxi or chauffered driven limo.

this is one loop-hole that SPAD finds difficult to break.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • Briton Charged RM450 on Jul 01, 2015 at 10:33 am

Spad kena ugut by the thugs few days ago. How is the public now going to be protected by cheats? Every one of us has been cheated by cabs not once but many times.

Tourist also get cheated everyday bringing bad name to the country. The story below is very common. Happens everyday

Briton charged RM450 for 10km trip, sparking furore over cheating cabbies

PETALING JAYA: An English tourist was charged RM450 for a taxi ride from KL Sentral to the Suria KLCC shopping centre, a distance of less than 10km.

The Land Public Transport Commission (SPAD) said the tourist paid the fare before lodging a report against the driver.

SPAD chairman Tan Sri Syed Hamid Albar said they were investigating and would take action against the taxi driver and the operator.

He said the taxi driver was believed to have threatened the tourist into paying the fee.

“Taxi drivers are our frontliners and ambassadors of the country as they interact with tourists daily.

“We are taking this seriously as it affects the country’s image,” he said after opening SPAD’s new enforcement centre at the Persada Plus here yesterday.

He said SPAD was conducting a study to regulate the pricing mechanism for the taxi coupon system.

“We want feedback from taxi drivers and passengers before proceeding with the study,” he said, adding that there were mixed views about the coupon system.

While some supported it, he said, others saw it as restrictive.

“Some drivers said they would be unable to take passengers if they were not part of the taxi coupon system, while others felt it restrict-ed their movement,” he said, adding that the system was implemented privately by mall and airport operators.

SPAD also announced the purchase of 17 new vehicles, which will be used by its enforcement officers nationwide.

Syed Hamid said the highest number of reports SPAD received were against illegal taxi touts, followed by complaints about overloaded lorries on the road.

In the 3,845 operations conducted since Jan 2010, 74 individuals and operators have been taken to court. Source: The Star Online

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
    • submarine on Jul 01, 2015 at 7:12 pm

These teksi thugs only promote these “values” on behalf of Malaysians:
      1) Malaysian (taxi) drivers are reckless
      2) Most Malaysians (taxi drivers) are cheats

You know I know la this is only protectionism…

• tokmoh. on Jul 01, 2015 at 10:37 am

“The money [fare paid] goes out of the country while the country does not benefit anything from that.”

Mak kau hijau, orang dapat servis lagi murah, lagi bagus, dia kata kita tak benefit apape.

Pusing sini, pusing sana, last2 tak mau tackle the elephant in the room: the taxi permit system that benefits certain few only. U know, i know why la kan.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 0
    • blackboc on Jul 01, 2015 at 11:54 am

In their mind “the country” belongs to UMNO and cronies, not belongs to Rakyat. Means they now have no more benefits. Only rakyat and uber have those benefits, which is not allow.

• SPAD chairman is another Ahmad Maslan. Another clown in the making -no common sense!

• shaunD on Jul 02, 2015 at 11:50 am

hahahaha mak kau hijau.

but yeah. this argument is one of the stupidest (among many).

• – There is demand for Uber because the current taxi service is deplorable.
    – Think of ways to improve the taxi industry eg. allow drivers to apply for taxi permit directly without having to go through middleman.
    – Why taxi drivers need to form out a fixed daily commitment fee even though they don’t provide service?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • Kancil Hybrid on Jul 01, 2015 at 10:52 am

All vehicle that charged passengers to travel need to be registered. Period.

This is a country with law after all.

Let taxi drivers to have their individual license, not under few big fat companies which the bosses makan tido goyang telur only. The drivers will then treat their service/vehicle as their own business, far from makan gaji mentality. This in return will bring much better satisfaction to passengers.

• Rice Bowl on Jul 01, 2015 at 10:56 am

of cos, they will nv legalized anything that will break the big bosses lice bowl..

• StupidSPAD on Jul 01, 2015 at 10:58 am

Stupid SPAD. Encouraging malaysia taxis to provide no quality services, rob ppl, and so on. Just like our stupid gomen

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • MrCheeChongFan on Jul 01, 2015 at 11:03 am

SPAD confirm collect money under table somewhere

• hondaman on Jul 01, 2015 at 12:52 pm

if confirm, report to SPRM by showing proof laa, if u said SPRM also the same, then report to Rafizi or DAP. If got no proof, then go and eat your expired cheechongfan in the corner…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 27
      • Oi how long have you been in Malaysia? Even got VIDEO PROOF also kena sapu, sapu, sapu under carpet.

All the open secret corruption cases, no one gets charged. Australia have proof MARA sent AU$4.7M back to Malaysia as “consultancy” fee, PDRM say sorry no CBT, let MACC handle. Then MACC keep pretty quiet.

Go suck on your Maggi Mee, it’s all you can afford to eat when country goes to hell.

• “Go suck on your Maggi Mee, it’s all you can afford to eat when country goes to hell.”

this sentence have too much win in it :)

• So this is how it’s gonna end huh? Taxis suck and they want to monopolize the business so they get rid of the competitors. Not surprised if taxi fare goes up simply because they can & there’s no other service available.

• Painter on Jul 01, 2015 at 11:09 am

No law is cast in stone.

Nobody foresaw the need of Internet, Mobile Phone, Facebook, Rockets, Aircraft, Ship, Car… etc.

Yet, when the demand arised, the regulators adapted. They created new laws with regard to these new technology.

That’s what they do, adapting to people’s changing needs and amending the law to cater to the requirement of market forces, while trying to find the balance between meeting the need of stakeholders – in this case, the customer, the operator, people affected by the new business.

In the US and the rest of the world, people are already testing out driverless cars. So, are SPAD, JPJ and our lawmakers just going to ban any new ideas and technology that come our way?

p/s : I don’t disagree with SPAD. But if they could find a win-win solution, everybody would benefit. People use Uber and Grabcar, there must be a reason for that, and we know what that reason is – negative perception towards service rendered by taxi drivers. Who knows, if Uber is really a solution to our seemingly perpetual problem, maybe taxi drivers themselves will get themselves a car and operate under Uber.

• sudonano (Member) on Jul 01, 2015 at 11:09 am

Let me rephrase that for you…

1. “According to SPAD chairman, Tan Sri Syed Hamid Albar, the market “does not need a new player” – more so in locations such as the Klang Valley, Johor Baru and Penang. ” = We don’t one some competing service that will reduce the amount of moolah our cronies will get for ripping off taxi drivers for rental

2.”“The money [fare paid] goes out of the country while the country does not benefit anything from that. There is no spin-off from their business operation, they just operate as they wish,” he stated. Syed Hamid did not comment on the fact that the local drivers here have to be paid by Uber, as well.” = My cronies and I don’t get our hilarious amounts of cuts from poor taxi drivers.

3. “Discouraging consumers to use such services, Syed Hamid said in a report by The Star that “if a customer gets into an accident, passengers are not covered and the insurance company can deny liability.” ” = Yeah right, we know our Proton Saga from the 1980s is not as safe as a Toyota Vios or heck even the newer Saga FLX, but who cares. Although there is a higher chance of being seriously injured in a 1980s Saga, and high chances insurance will only pay a measly sum for damage, who cares!

4. “Furthermore, private vehicles employed by operators using Uber are not covered under commercial vehicle insurance schemes and are not subjected to Puspakom‘s biannual safety inspections.” = You mean the Puspakom inspections that say the buses that crash are all road worthy? The same place where everything goes as long you got the money, money, money?

Eh hello. Please go back la. Uber and MyTeksi’s GrabCar is just so much better. SO SO SO much better.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 0
    • das auto on Jul 01, 2015 at 12:44 pm

This Syed feller is greedy and rotten to the core. Uber pays 90% of the fare to drivers. How does that equate to fare goes out of the country and our country does not benefit? I am sure you meant your cronies do not benefit. Please be more accurate in your statement.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • Crasher7 on Jul 01, 2015 at 11:14 am

“Does not need a new player” eh? More like uber hasn’t paid cronies any money!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • Blitz on Jul 01, 2015 at 11:18 am

If like this, malaysia taxi system will never improve. Always solo with no competition to challange them to improve themself

• sammy on Jul 01, 2015 at 11:20 am

the market “does not need a new player” ?
    Really?? with all the thug taxis running around with their buruk cars, not using meters and declining passengers??

Maybe what we first need is a new SPAD chairman.

• Unless taxi are safer, more efficient, more user friendly, and of cause more affordable, I dont see any legitimate issue for UBER to be legalised. UBER step up the game providing new level of edgy and fuss free transport service. So for taxi operators out there, instead of riot and defended by SPAD,please be more competitive.

• Darren on Jul 01, 2015 at 11:28 am

Syed Hamid said that “they [Uber] can buy a taxi company here and operate as a legal transport company.”

You mean “under table money” is it, Mr Syed Hamid. You are the one which is behind all these ideas.

What kind of rubbish tourism year, where your own country’s taxi still like rubbish, now still got balls to kick Uber away!!!

• All tokok from SPAD. Say protect customer…. SPAD cannot even enforce the use of proper meters in the taxis…. All they are protecting is their own ass and PERS1M. No credibility at all.

• Buchstaben on Jul 01, 2015 at 12:05 pm

do you want to compare the german taxis, the drivers attitude and ethics towards passenger too? the service that i dont think twice to give them tips summore.

• Then why Germany ban uber it is justified, cuz it follows rules kah?
      Then why not in MY, cuz taxi sux so better go for illegal alternative?
      Why de double standard? why have rules in the 1st place?
      There are better and legal alternatives in the 1st place, just people lazy to search only cuz they only know uber.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
  • Jerry Phang on Jul 01, 2015 at 12:20 pm

To all the taxis drivers: Why protest? Just join Uber and earn your living honestly and no need to spoon feed SPAD and its cronies!!

• tishaban on Jul 01, 2015 at 1:06 pm

On one hand I applaud SPAD for their focus on safety and checking the KTMB trains before they’re allowed to operate on the new double track.

On the other hand SPAD makes statements like this which makes me go *facepalm*. Uber is illegal, but whatever those taxi drivers are doing eg. cheating passengers is equally illegal.

• “Private vehicles employed by operators using Uber are not covered under commercial vehicle insurance schemes and are not subjected to Puspakom‘s biannual safety inspections. If a customer gets into an accident, passengers are not covered and the insurance company can deny liability”

Knowing these risks and yet most will opt for Uber without second thought just tells you how bad the public perception of the local taxi service here. You reap what you sow.

Joke of the day:
    “The money [fare paid] goes out of the country while the country does not benefit anything from that. There is no spin-off from their business operation, they just operate as they wish,” he stated. Syed Hamid did not comment on the fact that the local drivers here have to be paid by Uber, as well”
    Yay! We have another Maslan in the making.

• If UMNO no gain, can Uber can do the business here, Puspakom in under who, SPAD chairman under who? look like open industry, but is monopoly industry such as Puspakom, rakyat didahulukan? dreaminglah, all these rubbish tak runtuh, dont think for better future.

• kennyjay on Jul 01, 2015 at 2:56 pm

let them be, legalized or not legalized, we are not going to take the stupid common taxi anymore. no point talking to these samseng who are good for nothing. if in the first place they serve their passengers nicely and charge fare according to meter, why need to scared of competition?

why need to be so rude to passengers, especially foreign ones? all low class samseng with bad service. padan muka!

• Uberman on Jul 01, 2015 at 3:09 pm

Support uber! Don’t need to care about taxi drivers life, their service is like shit

• Golf MK7 Owner on Jul 01, 2015 at 4:10 pm

Guys, i think we need to perform our own non-violence rally to protest against this nonsense. Taxi in Malaysia is freaking joke! We can all see haggling is prohibited sign on the cabs but they are the one who freaking insist on not using meter and start the haggling shit to try overcharge people. A lot of times they gang up and pakat so all the taxis won’t pick u up unless u agree to their terms. This is nothing short of extortion and bullying. Bull freaking shit man ! Urge everyone to protest against this shit. If they block the city roads. We block your entrance see how ur taxi wanna move out. Screw you !

• I agree we need to protest in support of Uber.

• Uber_Supporter on Jul 02, 2015 at 3:08 pm

Agree! Let’s show some protest to taxi driver! rakyat had enough already! enough of this Bull@@@tting.

who ever organize! I will join.. anytime anywhere..

• Remember when the GoKL free bus service was launched? People could finally get from Chinatown to Bkt Bintang and KLCC without being robbed blind.

Those despicable taxi drivers made noise, even though there was nothing illegal about the bus service.

They will make noise as long as they can’t rip people off (their definition of “making a living”), regardless of the legality of their competition.

• choha on Jul 01, 2015 at 8:30 pm

FLICK SPAD

• Mc Kangkung on Jul 01, 2015 at 9:43 pm

SPAD oso tak boleh pakai….

Come to think of it, SPAD has never never ever being useful. Just a stupid dept with shameless, spineless staffs that knowingly makan gaji buta…

• Doh Doh on Jul 01, 2015 at 9:47 pm

Obviously the smell of corruption in S.P.A.D is getting stronger ………………..

• Khairi on Jul 01, 2015 at 11:15 pm

i just signed up as an uber partner 2 days ago. i even bought mineral water as compliments as well as cables for charging facility, umbrella for passengers waiting in the rain and subscribed to wifi for passenger usage and also magazines… all i can say is.. im really heartbroken. demm -.- i even typed out a professional script trying to provide a quality service. sigh… so much for helping out the country… *cries*

• Farhan on Sep 30, 2015 at 9:31 pm

I know how you feel man… Been working for 6 days. Did just the same as you. Buy water, covering them with an umbrella to the passenger when it is raining.
      After I send my passenger, their smiles is what makes me feel alive. We are not just a service. We are helping them.

• Cheah on Jul 02, 2015 at 10:41 am

SPAD should not confused that they are actually serving rakyat, not the gangster taxi drivers. They should find way to legalize Uber instead of letting those gangsters to continue robbing us.

• old dog on Jul 02, 2015 at 5:23 pm

the Gov also serving themselfs than rakyat by looting the country! you think SPAD serve rakyat?

• old dog on Jul 02, 2015 at 5:22 pm

all this SPAD, or any other agency is cronies puppet la.

• Gooner Stoner on Jul 03, 2015 at 10:54 am

http://www.thestar.com.my/News/Nation/2015/07/02/KL-cabbies-worst-among-ten-cities-globally/

• Besztari137 on Aug 07, 2015 at 8:05 pm

When i see all comments is
    “Malaysian Taxi is sucks!!!”

Their Head still not realize because never try his taxis, have 6 figure income, have a driver, have a good car…

Lolz, dont be one day no one use Malaysian Taxi…
    In Service Marketing, once customer who received bad experience will tell another 7 person and it goes spread easily..

You can continued cheat tourist, but it will in short time because later on, your business will closed slowly.

To SPAD, you try to implement the action to Whatever driver la, itu la, ini la, but never try catch big Jerung.. and ur practice will be useless… Seriously i said, Uber later will spread to another city faster reason because SPAD Takut Tangkap Jerung….

To SPAD, Come on la, do smart job rather stupid job. If u said Uber is Illegal, Then arrest their management first then u can hurt their drivers…

Then one more to SPAD, take a challenge to use taxi for a period of 1 month rather than have a slogan “Gunalah Pengangkutan Awam”…

I saw in Bukit Bintang when gangster calling for their passenger, have some negotiation but end up with declined by passenger. Then they start Maki itu tourist in Bahasa… Phuiiii!! Gangster!!

The end!

• Traveller on Sep 04, 2015 at 7:12 am

I fully support Uber and private car pickup services.
    As a frequent traveller due to business, i had very bad experience with KLIA taxis. There was even once where i was being forced to get out of the taxi for a stupid reason ~ not speaking BM !

• Laughing traveller on Oct 10, 2015 at 10:32 am

Malaysia is WORLD renowned for being corrupted. Forget about tallest building or longest bridge, everyone is laughing at Malaysian laws because the authorities can’t even govern fair unified even taxi fares! Everywhere in the world I go, people are making fun of Malaysia taxi fares. Some people say they should give up their job and be Malaysian taxi driver cause they can just call a price for $1000 per ride from Bukit Bintang to KLCC! It’s a joke! With the greedy devious sly haggling taxi drivers around, no wonder! Get this simple bit by making every taxi use their meter RIGHT, then maybe everyone can trust using Taxis in Malaysia again!! Until then, critics just shut up.