Porsche Boxster GTS and Cayman GTS launched in Malaysia – priced from RM660k and RM700k

porsche-cayman-gts-boxster-gts-launched-in-malaysia

The Porsche Boxster GTS has been unveiled for the Malaysian market alongside its coupe sibling, the Cayman GTS. As you would’ve known, the motoring world first got a glimpse of the duo back in early 2014 before hitting international markets. Well, now it’s our turn to get up close with the latest additions to Sime Darby Auto Performance‘s (SDAP) ‘Gran Turismo Sport’ range at its swanky new showroom in Sungai Besi.

On the outside, the GTS models differ from their lesser counterparts by adopting subtle tweaks and add-ons here and there. Beginning at the front, both models receive a slightly reworked fascia with a more pronounced lip spoiler, painted in black for that added hint of menace. The aforementioned new nose adds another 30 mm to the car’s overall length.

Elsewhere, smoked bi-xenon headlights with Porsche Dynamic Light System (PDLS) come as standard, along with gloss black 20-inch alloy wheels, wrapped in 235/35 tyres in front and 265/35 at the rear. Moving on to the rear, both models sport smoked taillights and black-finish exhaust pipes, housed within a diffuser-like element that is also done up in a shade of black.

porsche-boxster-gts-launch 17

Both models share the same atmospheric 3.4 litre flat-six engine, albeit with different states of tune. The Boxster GTS is endowed with a total of 330 hp at 6,700 rpm and 370 Nm of torque at 5,800 rpm. Power, on both models, gets directed to the rear wheels via a six-speed manual or seven-speed double-clutch PDK gearbox with paddle shifters.

Coupled with the PDK gearbox and standard Sport Chrono package with Sport Plus selected, the Boxster GTS goes from 0-100 km/h in 4.7 seconds and soldiers on to its v-max of 279 km/h. With the six-speed manual, the century sprint is completed in five seconds while top speed is slightly higher at 281 km/h.

In the Porsche Cayman GTS, the same mill pumps out a total of 340 hp at 7,400 rpm and 380 Nm of torque at 5,800 rpm. Paired with the six-speed manual, the Cayman GTS rockets from nought to 100 km/h in 4.9 seconds and tops out at 285 km/h. The PDK dual-clutch transmission, along with Sport Plus, cuts that time by a two tenths of a second but drops the top speed to 283 km/h.

porsche-cayman-gts-launch 10

As mentioned earlier, both GTS models are equipped with the Sport Chrono package as standard. Said package adds on dynamic transmission mounts, allowing the system to alter its stiffness and damping according to the current driving condition. In terms of its handling, the GTS models are equipped with PASM (Porsche Active Suspension Management) adaptive damping system which also lowers the car by 10 mm.

Other standard performance-related goodies on both models include an uprated sports exhaust system and a braking system comprised of 330 mm front discs and 299 mm rear discs, clamped by four-piston aluminium monobloc fixed calipers. Owners can add on the optional Porsche Ceramic Composite Brake (PCCB) system that features six-piston calipers up front and four-pistons at the rear – painted in yellow as opposed to red.

Also, owners who wish to pilot their GTS models with added doses of enthusiasm should opt for the fitment of the Porsche Torque Vectoring (PTV) system. PTV works by manipulating both the rear locking differential and targeted braking at each individual rear wheel for increased levels of traction. Said locking differential possesses a locking action of 22% in traction and 27% under acceleration.

The interior of both the Porsche Boxster GTS and Cayman GTS gets trimmed in black leather upholstery with Alcantara accents scattered on the armrest, the rim of the standard-fit Sport Design steering wheel, the gear shifter, portions of the door card and the dashboard – in the Cayman GTS, Alcantara is to be found on the A-pillar and roof lining. Two interior colour packages are offered as options – Rhodium Silver and Carmine Red.

Prices for the Porsche Boxster GTS begin at RM660,000 while the Cayman GTS goes for RM700,000, excluding on-the-road costs. As is the case with Sime Darby Auto Performance (SDAP), a four-year warranty and a four-year complimentary service maintenance package is part of the deal.

Porsche Boxster GTS

Porsche Cayman GTS

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• burong on Jul 03, 2015 at 8:04 pm

700k is sensitive figure. Currently Malaysian is very hot on figure USD700M.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 0
    • Jimmy on Jul 04, 2015 at 11:21 pm

I am a gangster, and I will not decide whether you are right or wrong; you are always wrong if you are not my gang.

My wife is a juru-bodoh, she wants to appeal to me.

My wife cannot tell me any sensitive figure, she has no proof, and she can never get me to believe what she claims to be proof.

No proof is fit, nah (this nah is not a finger).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 11
  • Kancil Hybrid on Jul 03, 2015 at 8:40 pm

Najib, belanja sebijik please.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
  • seancorr (Member) on Jul 03, 2015 at 10:58 pm

Sigh…can only admire this from the showroom window…maybe the guard will shoo me away coz my dirty hands will soil the glass window.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
    • If P1 shutdown everybody can drive Porsche.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 15
      • closeshopscheme on Jul 04, 2015 at 8:20 pm

Yeah everybody can drive Lambo, RR, Bentley, Ferrari, McLaren, Porsche, Bugatti etc

No sushi, kimchi, p1 or p2 on roads.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
    • Lol… Surely they won’t. Just drive your UDM there and they will entertain you for sure :)

• das auto on Jul 04, 2015 at 3:11 pm

No one gonna shoo you away if you arrive in an F30

• Gracke on Jul 04, 2015 at 12:14 am

A truely..madly…performance sports car arrive with a very very nice price!!! Good job Porsche!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 24
    • It is more a pony car, any high end Mercedes and BMW like M4 will tapao these car everyday.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 10
      • m4sucks on Jul 04, 2015 at 8:22 pm

M4 sucks. GTR tarpau it for breakfast lunch dinner

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 16
        • M4 will eat you and your myvi like eating steamboat.

• We are talk about the post which is Porsche compare to other car, you out of nowhere talk about GTR, can’t even understand the topic, go back to do your homework kid.

• porschejunk on Jul 05, 2015 at 7:16 pm

This boxer is junk car

• m4sucks on Jul 05, 2015 at 8:19 pm

So what, you jelly? I have GTR and for me M4 is crap car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
          • You have GTR? myvi with nissan logo is it? what a ultimate wanker in the internet.

• GTRsucks on Jul 06, 2015 at 11:35 am

I have Bugatti and for me GTR is crap car only good for jelly.

• m4sucky on Jul 06, 2015 at 1:33 pm

Lol M4 sucky car big time
            Hahahahaha

• Briang on Jul 05, 2015 at 11:54 am

Boxster GTS goes from 0-100 km/h in 4.7 seconds.
      Porsche Cayman GTS goes from 0-100 km/h nought in 4.9 seconds.
      Mehhh my CLA A45 AMG can tapau these car la with only 2.0 cc only maa…

• younomerc on Jul 05, 2015 at 7:18 pm

Wow 2.0cc are you sure?
        That’s lesser than cheapo 660cc kanciul

• Every time I see the prices Malaysians get charged for any German or American sportscar I weep for you. Stay strong brothers!

• cendol (Member) on Jul 04, 2015 at 9:55 am

Wait 2 years and price drop RM400k.

• Since Porsche never lets any Cayman to cost more than the 911, I’m guessing the Cayman GT4 should be between RM700k and RM820k if it ever comes here.

• sylwen on Jul 04, 2015 at 10:43 am

Bring back the circular headlamps!

• Black Dog on Jul 04, 2015 at 11:24 am

Take off all the taxes, many would be driving one too

• therealmaserati on Jul 04, 2015 at 11:34 am

Truth to be told, i just booked the Cayman GTS. 50% loan. Loan approved. Now waiting for car only. Apparently 2 mths waiting period.

Monthly rm7k installment for 5 years loan. Pretty reasonable for a Porsche.

Since I specced it up, the GTS costs me 750k.

Cant wait for this little monster!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 12
    • Same L0rrrr on Jul 04, 2015 at 3:04 pm

I just booked one too. No loan. Since i paid cash and affordable,i get it right away.

• samelordupe on Jul 04, 2015 at 8:24 pm

Actually I booked it for my ligerie dept boss.

• alibaba on Jul 04, 2015 at 10:17 pm

Nayy, i got it as a birthday present, but iam into Lycan, just gave it to my frenz.

• Ah Beng Vios Turbo TRD godcar on Jul 04, 2015 at 3:13 pm

I bet you can’t wait to smell my smoke.

• Hidup Proton Power on Jul 04, 2015 at 5:41 pm

Proton can smoke kaw kaw this porsche….
    5% downpayment, with hari raya free gifts….

hahaha

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jul 04, 2015 at 9:16 pm

this will be my return gift to MIC, since palanaviel and subra messing the whole party up

• Jimmy on Jul 04, 2015 at 11:31 pm

Group A have tong cats and pa young.
      Group B have initiatives with hardwork + brain to survive.
      Group C have ?
      Group SoS, sorry lah.

You pay for your X s. Brain cubic in shape.

• Oklatu on Jul 04, 2015 at 9:48 pm

Ok la to. Xdela mahal sgt.

• sudonano (Member) on Jul 04, 2015 at 10:10 pm

For me, the Cayman GTS in that Carmine Red has to be the best combo for the Cayman line, though I would take it with the 20″ Carrera Classic wheels as opposed to the 911 Turbo wheels, mainly cause the polished front of the 911 Turbo wheels would be pretty tough to keep that way, and more so, cause we see so many Macans coming out with those wheels on the road…

But for me, I’d rather have a Cayman over a 911 tbh, I personally prefer the smaller size of the Cayman, feels more pocketable and easier to throw around.

• Jimmy on Jul 04, 2015 at 11:37 pm

Macan is so easily reachable.

GLE coupe ought to be very good, otherwise no chance.

Noise levels in CKDs of certain countries are suboptimal. Hope you experience it or understand what I try to say.

Take care, and all the best.

• Kenny on Jul 05, 2015 at 12:27 pm

Let’s say the car is an affordable RM200K but an oil change cost you RM5000 can you afford to drive it?

• Allroadquattro on Jul 05, 2015 at 2:46 pm

nah. anyone knows how much for the Ruf 3800s?