“We’re the worst in the world, but it’s not our fault,” says Kuala Lumpur Sentral Taxi Drivers Association

Taxi Drivers Protest Against GrabCar 6

The Kuala Lumpur Sentral Taxi Drivers Association agrees with the London Cabs website claim that Kuala Lumpur’s cabbies are the ‘worst in the world’. Its president, Badrol Hisham, also said it was true that taxi services in KL are the worst since the Land Public Transport Commission (SPAD) also concurs with this assessment.

“Nonetheless, SPAD’s involvement with taxi associations is at a minimum, and anyone can be a taxi driver, even ex-convicts,” he added. Badrol believes its time for SPAD to tighten the screening process of taxi drivers and not be lenient in giving out licenses.

“SPAD should give more intensive training for taxi drivers to improve their attitude and services,” he laments.

The website, London Cabs, states that in its “10 Countries with the Worst Drivers list,” KL cabbies often overcharged customers by refusing to use the meter or by taking longer routes intentionally. Interestingly, Rome’s taxi drivers came in second and those in Bangkok were in third place.

Anil Prabha

Anil Prabha has always been a petrol head. He also has a strange knack for remembering car models and their respective registration plates. Naturally aspirated engines are always better than turbocharged or supercharged ones, in his opinion. Ultimately, he believes that there is nothing better in life than just going for a drive.

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jul 06, 2015 at 5:28 pm

Partly their fault but mostly the crony system

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 9
    • Low Budget on Jul 06, 2015 at 8:29 pm

Yup, that is right! If our taxi drivers charge according to the fares in the meter and after deducting the taxi rental their income is slightly better off than the floor sweeper in the commercial complex, if the taxi broke down and need repair then ‘habis lah’ no income. I am not siding with the taxi drivers for some of them are filthy, but this is the reality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 21
      • Briton Charged Rm450 on Jul 07, 2015 at 9:22 am

Spad kena ugut by the thugs few days ago. How is the public now going to be protected by cheats? Every one of us has been cheated by cabs not once but many times.

Tourist also get cheated everyday bringing bad name to the country. The story below is very common. Happens everyday and it is NOT an isolated incident. Really happens daily

Briton charged RM450 for 10km trip, sparking furore over cheating cabbies

PETALING JAYA: An English tourist was charged RM450 for a taxi ride from KL Sentral to the Suria KLCC shopping centre, a distance of less than 10km.

The Land Public Transport Commission (SPAD) said the tourist paid the fare before lodging a report against the driver.

SPAD chairman Tan Sri Syed Hamid Albar said they were investigating and would take action against the taxi driver and the operator.

He said the taxi driver was believed to have threatened the tourist into paying the fee.

“Taxi drivers are our frontliners and ambassadors of the country as they interact with tourists daily.

“We are taking this seriously as it affects the country’s image,” he said after opening SPAD’s new enforcement centre at the Persada Plus here yesterday.

He said SPAD was conducting a study to regulate the pricing mechanism for the taxi coupon system.

“We want feedback from taxi drivers and passengers before proceeding with the study,” he said, adding that there were mixed views about the coupon system.

While some supported it, he said, others saw it as restrictive.

“Some drivers said they would be unable to take passengers if they were not part of the taxi coupon system, while others felt it restrict-ed their movement,” he said, adding that the system was implemented privately by mall and airport operators.

SPAD also announced the purchase of 17 new vehicles, which will be used by its enforcement officers nationwide.

Syed Hamid said the highest number of reports SPAD received were against illegal taxi touts, followed by complaints about overloaded lorries on the road.

In the 3,845 operations conducted since Jan 2010, 74 individuals and operators have been taken to court. Source: The Star Online

• Albar Wife on Jul 07, 2015 at 12:16 pm

Albar wife also got a few teksi firms, how to complain to SPAD?

• Pariah Pers1M on Jul 07, 2015 at 4:27 pm

Malaysian teksi drivers are all sex maniacs. Always try to peep into the blouse or skirt of female passengers

• Jakim Jawi Buat Apa? on Jul 07, 2015 at 9:26 am

Hello Jakim, your teksi drivers in Malaysia are promoting Malaysia as a sex capital of Asia. Every male passenger who enters any cab, whether he is local of foreigner tourist, always get asked whether the passenger want to go spa or visit brothels.

Jakim, 9 out of 10 teksi drivers are involved in this practice. We all know they get commission from these brothels and massage parlours for every customer they bring in. Infact, the teksi drivers now are enticing most male passengers to visit such places.

So, Jakim, please check these people. They berani to go against Uber and others but deep inside they are promoting Malaysia as the sex capital of Asia and doing injustice not only to Malaysia but to women in Malaysia also.

At least Uber don’t do sex rubbish in Malaysia

• UMNO Lesen Holder on Jul 07, 2015 at 11:42 am

The last post on Teksi and Uber had about 150 comments. Each and every comment, 99% from Malaysians, say our teksi stink to glory and are big cheats.

the Mat Salleh also say our teksi stink to glory and are big cheats.

Unfortunately, all teksi permits are controlled by UMNO big guns. they just want to untung lebih and don’t care our 30 million rakyat’s safety and opinion and they don’t care about the tourist in Malaysia.

UMNO big guns just want to untung like selling AP Permit

• PJ Hilton to Bangsar RM80 on Jul 07, 2015 at 12:13 pm

Last week I got charged RM80 to go to Bangsar from PJ Hilton. Spad are liars. You complain to them, they too scared to touch some drivers. Depends who is the lessen holder of the cab the driver is renting. Albar also cabinet minister before, he scared to offend his current minister friend int he cabinet

• Guan Yin Maa on Jul 06, 2015 at 5:31 pm

Tak tau malu. Still blame others. Sigh.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 118 Thumb down 5
    • sam proton on Jul 06, 2015 at 7:17 pm

Sam Loo and his son Hilux are worst than taxi drivers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 22
      • P1 Macai on Jul 06, 2015 at 10:31 pm

Still want to blame others? Proton macais tak tahu malu like those taxi drivers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
        • RM200 BB to KLCC on Jul 07, 2015 at 9:27 am

My mat salleh friend just told me he got charged RM200 from Bukit Bintang to Suria KLCC last week.

Bagus betul our teksi in Malaysia.

• Same L0rrrr on Jul 07, 2015 at 11:58 am

Typical mindset:
            When billions found in his acc, he blame ppl sabotage him.

When Proton can’t sell, the salesmen blame me and Toyota of selling good cars.

When taxi is the shame of nation, they blame their classmate, the neighbor’s dog, the sun too hot, nasi lemak too spicy.

• MBBS for BOTH Kids! on Jul 07, 2015 at 9:24 am

These gangsters, instead of working harder, have managed to control SPAD

Btw, don’t be fooled they are poor. I got a buddy whose father just a teksi driver. He managed to send both his children to do medicine in the UK. that is about RM2 million for both of them. Wife not working.

So, to these teksi drivers, stop lying about your income and under declaring to LHDN.

• Not badmouthing on Jul 07, 2015 at 11:46 am

Maybe his two children excelled at their studies and were rewarded with scholarships.

• Taxi driver on Jul 06, 2015 at 5:33 pm

Don’t blame others but yourself. You can make a difference.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 3
    • Charged RM100 Brickfields to Pantai Hospital on Jul 07, 2015 at 9:42 am

I work in Brickfields. Non peak hour, 2pm, my wife admitted to Pantai Hospital in Pantai Bangsar about to give birth. I tried to catch teksi, dishonest teksi dude said RM100 from Brickfields to Pantai Hospital. No choice I took it.

I think so near I can walk 30 minutes.

• Yes its not your fault. Ini semua salah gomen/ SPAD/ Najib/ Rosmah/ BN/ UMNO.
    Since u r also against Gov, please work with ur nearest ex-PR / PR Baru / PR masih sedia ada/ PR whatever politicians. Im sure u will get full suppork cuz its another bullet against Gov.
    Dun care its right or wrong as long as Mesti Lawan!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 59
    • IrizX on Jul 06, 2015 at 5:50 pm

BN cybertrooper hard at work. Attacking PR when nobody attack them. Siege mentality.

Taxi driver issues suddenly became salah LGE.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 19
      • Bangsa Sendiri Tertipu on Jul 07, 2015 at 11:44 am

Typical UMNO cybertrooper. No brains and cheating their own bangsa.

• Agent Simth/John on Jul 06, 2015 at 7:33 pm

Agent Simth/ John, your statement makes no sense, just as the headline by those taxis driver, ie admitted ” yeah we’re the worst cab drivers, but it’s not our fault”!?…..1) you, cab driver, 2) bad cab driver or bad service. Still equal to the driver, no one else. Sooooooo! Who else fault is it, someone else in the car beside you n the victims who gotten into your cab?
      Bad cab driver = bad cab driver, where in the world does political parties or ideologies comes into it, or make the driver become bad driver.
      Make no sense.

• Low Budget on Jul 06, 2015 at 8:24 pm

What the F is this? Why can’t they (the Authorities in power) lower their ego and go to the little red dot down south to learn from their taxi operators such as NTUC?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 8
      • Albar Wife on Jul 07, 2015 at 12:15 pm

Cause In SG, SG minister got no stake in cabby firm. In Malaysia, cabinet minister and albar himself got stake in cabby firm. I hear Albar wife also got few cabby firms

• why worship SG on Jul 23, 2015 at 11:47 am

Did u know that
          LHL (singapore PM)’s wife, ho ching is the chairman of temasek holding, eq to our khazanah,
          u bother to look on who holds top position in their LTA?

• isuzuki on Jul 06, 2015 at 5:48 pm

Mind telling me whose fault that made you worst in the world?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 0
  • panjang on Jul 06, 2015 at 5:51 pm

Its never our own fault.its always another person fault.
    Taxi driver in Malaysia are a divine bunch,they are descendent of angle.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • Gua sudah tension sama pemandu teksi penipu!
    Say YES to GRABCAR,UBER and BLACKLANE for consumers sake!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 3
  • tan seng kuan on Jul 06, 2015 at 6:01 pm

Please wake up and improve. What are we going to do? Just blame others and expect thing to get better?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • not your fault?
    HAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA

oops. batal puasa

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 1
  • Zamani on Jul 06, 2015 at 6:15 pm

Gov hav to stop sucking taxi driver blood!.force to use rubbish car, force to use other people permit, gov are the start of the problem. Burn in hell

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 6
    • Low Budget on Jul 06, 2015 at 8:32 pm

Agree, not only taxi drivers, our blood got sucked too, imagine to pay 7-9 years for your car hire purchase, which is really not necessary if they just lower the tax.

• Correct Correct Correct! Its always Gov / SPAD/ Najib/ Rosmah/ BN/ UMNO fault!

But dun worry! The PR will always support those who against Gov. You hav our backing as long as its against Gov.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 17
      • IrizX on Jul 07, 2015 at 9:39 am

Wow…UMNO trooper..just cut and paste and repeat same thing over and over.

I will report you to bijan for sleeping on the job.

• Repot lah! I dun answer to u BN macais. I onli listen to the gospels of my dear leader currently in jail due to some wild allegations.
          Dun play play I will send my RBA at you, u BN lapdog!

• Celaka yang buat malu, tidak tahu malu, sekiannya, maruah dan buang habis habisan.

• lokcy on Jul 06, 2015 at 6:37 pm

We can’t blaim taxi driver when our PM also same attitude. He close his ears to what ever.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 4
  • Jeffrey Tanggau on Jul 06, 2015 at 6:46 pm

The taxi drivers are the worst. Granted I have had some good ones but at the moment ALOT of the Taxi Drivers are so terrible.

UBER ALL THE WAY. They have a reliable service that offers passengers and drivers alike with fair treatment. Also, there is a very good & up to date review system that is in sync with the app that is already being used.

Plus Uber is cashless, hence it is not ‘illegal’. Like they always say, Uber is our our private driver.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Jul 06, 2015 at 8:44 pm

look at them i also don dare sit the taxi….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
    • IrizX on Jul 07, 2015 at 9:40 am

Semi Value also takut…i lagi takut mang…see the taxi drivers coming, quickly jump into a bus!!! LOL.

• Francis on Jul 06, 2015 at 8:46 pm

not your fault, then who?

• Ini semua salah gomen/ SPAD/ Najib/ Rosmah/ BN/ UMNO! Its never the poor innocent downtrodden kind generous teksimen.
      Its only cuz they dun follow Gov rules that they r being discriminated by the Gov. But dun worry PR will help these poor fellow rakyat

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 14
  • Superglue on Jul 06, 2015 at 8:57 pm

Yah, these shameless taxi drivers, everything blame others…

You tak cukup makan? Blame others…
    Gaji tak cukup? Blame others….
    Teksi driver no customers? Blame others…

Next time, if your wife cannot give birth, oso blame others….

Next time, when taxi drivers cannot take a dump, oso blame others…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • Lance on Jul 06, 2015 at 8:58 pm

Main culprit no doubt are those UMNO cronies that squeeze everything from the taxi driver. In order to cover their cost, taxi drivers will find all kinds of way to cover and have a little more as their income.

• 4G63T DSM on Jul 06, 2015 at 10:48 pm

yeah yeah yeah…i’ve heard it all before.

If its so hard to cari makan, why are there so many taxi drivers drinking kopi all day at the shade tree mamak instead of looking for customers?

Crony problem yes. Driver problem also.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
    • IrizX on Jul 07, 2015 at 9:38 am

This is true…the taxi companies all UMNO kronies….they squeeze the taxi drivers kaw-kaw.

• Should do Singapore system . u pay rent only for taxi. Maintenance n everything else taxi comp cover. Even ur taxi breakdown u can get another to drive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • In sg . every taxi driver can earn a decent living ,comparable to engineer pay. its a good system that benefits everyone , passenger won’t get scammed, driver earn good living , taxi comp makes money.

• tinmilo on Jul 06, 2015 at 9:10 pm

Gee… they make it sound like is my fault now . ..

• applegreen on Jul 06, 2015 at 9:38 pm

i dont like our taxis have many stickers and adverts. Looks horrible

• Would like to share my experience here. Took a cab from Puchong to balakong cost me rm35. Not complaining about the price, but rode in a smelly cab, warm Aircond and dirty seat. Cmon, upgrade or refurbish your comfort level for your customer if not change to newer taxi.
    But again, with the cost of our vehicle in our homeland, how frequent the taxi driver could change their ride? With the rising living cost, hardly they could find extra.
    Sometimes I m very sympathy to those as well. Can anyone tell how many taxi driver actually own the taxi themselves rather than rent from ‘kron’pany?

• hondaman on Jul 07, 2015 at 12:43 am

actually 40% of taxis in malaysia is owned by individuals (u can google article by ys chan). it used to be higher, but they can’t afford to maintain their cab due to several factors, such as not eligible for car loan due to old age. BTW if u go to KTM komuter station in subang, 80% of the taxis are individually own but they don’t use the meter… it is all about attitude. FYI all taxis in singapore are company owned & the drivers have to pay daily rental but no problem for them to live comfortably because they are not lazy like most malaysian taxi drivers.

• Nasi padang on Jul 07, 2015 at 9:13 am

This is their problem. Who ask them dun study hard during school time. Get this kinda job suit them better .
      Or apply for waste management buang sampah! Rubbish

• iiAMGPackage on Jul 06, 2015 at 11:17 pm

If they keep doing ridiculous act, I’ll consider not taking the taxis and might as well pay higher for something worth paying for the cleanliness, reliability, comfort, not to mention a civilized driver like Uber.

• seancorr (Member) on Jul 06, 2015 at 11:22 pm

Won’t be surprised if they blame it on the Jews >.>

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
  • Josh Ling on Jul 07, 2015 at 12:32 am

of course not your fault lah, it’s the ones who rated it made some serious mistakes by taking the wrong cab. they should have phoned the president of the association first before they wanna take any cab in the future, so they can be ferried by the right kind of driver, in a right kind of cab, even the president himself can ferry them.

So, ya it’s the ones who rated the cab making some unpardonable mistakes……all cab drivers are innocent in this case.

• Sam "Hailat" Loo on Jul 07, 2015 at 1:56 am

Let Them Die…!

• Wee fuk yew on Jul 07, 2015 at 3:36 am

Its nothing like opening up the market to competition that would send these leeches to their rightful place. Bring in uber and other consumer oriented services to weed out the lazy good for nothing bullies claiming to be decent taxi drivers

• Leonardo on Jul 07, 2015 at 8:50 am

Competition is good, so that taxi owners and drivers will improve their services. To be fair most of them are just working to earn an honest living. But it also cannot be denied that there are some Black Sheeps amongst them. They are the ones who gave outsiders the negative perception of Malaysian taxi drivers.
    However, if there is one thing that I want to highlight about taxi drivers is their rackless and care less driving. Specific examples – stopping suddenly without warning to pick/drop passangers, parking at no parking ares, queue cutting, driving with handphones, illegal u-turns, speeding, sudden lane cutting, and many others. I am sure everyone here would have also experienced or seen the same things i have mentioned above.
    I suggest SPAD come up with a standard ‘Taxi Driver’s Charter’ module which they must pass before they get their licences. This includes the current batch of taxi drivers too.
    Enforcement must also been seen and conducted on a regular basis. Especially at busy areas such as taxi/bus stands, shopping complexs, high tourist spot areas, etc.

• nasi padang on Jul 07, 2015 at 8:57 am

most ppl dunt take taxi in msia is due to the driver attitude. very rude. like we owe them thousand bucks.
    dun blame others. BLAME URSELF. It’s your problem. Not our problem. Dun like drive taxi. go drive bus or lorry.

• Lucky am not a wandering tourist in my own country, I can practically drive anywhere I want to go.

These penyalak teksi demonstrate for sake of demonstrating. last time I checked, nobody forced them to be a taxi driver. pergilah jadi cleaner shopping complex if the nett income is better!

• Samseng Jalanan on Jul 07, 2015 at 10:45 am

I don’t get it.. these taxi drivers always make themselves look very pity, low income la, gov policy fault la, hard to earn money la, etc. They never blame themselves.

The fact is.. the other day I had a chat with a taxi driver, he told me as long as you use the metre, work from 8am to about 6pm (with meal breaks of course), you can easily earn about 100 – 150 per day (net profit including minus all cost). That translates to about 3000 per day. He told me that if you work slightly harder, such as longer hours, or going to the city centre, work even on peak hours, no problem getting 4k to 5k per month.

• paulz on Jul 07, 2015 at 11:19 am

I believe most of us are very pissed off with taxi drivers attitude and morale, to teach them a lesson…its time for government to prepare more public transportation like LRT, MRT and feeder buses around the cities to commute more passengers everyday. You gotta understand everyone is vying to survive for better living but not in this dirty methods, it could turned out worst sooner.

• Uols commenters above dun wanna listen, ah. Its not their fault at all. They r just poor discriminated downtrodden good and honest people.

Its all salah of Gov/ SPAD/ Najib/ Rosmah/ BN/ UMNO! Its all becoz of above the poor teksimen are forced to cheat the customers. Its becoz of the regulations they r forced to keep prices low and thats why they dun use meter.

They should have the human rights to charge as they see fit, such as RM6 at flag off and meters running like crazy, taking the long routes or highway routes just like other countries counterparts.

After all, in a fair and free market, its all about supply and demand. The customers can choose which taxi they want to use, although no guarantee any of them r honest. Most importantly must follow regulations. Uber can go ban like in korea, germany, or get upcar like in france.

• sepul on Jul 07, 2015 at 12:15 pm

One fact that I know of, since one of my uncle (well, former uncle since he divorced with my aunt) is a cab driver (or rather, kereta sewa).

An individual applied for taxi permit and granted the permit. However, instead of becoming a taxi driver himself, he rents the permit to anyone else and earn lots from it.

Not sure if this is true but anyone notice some private taxis got names on them but the driver is unlikely to be that namesake? Example, the driver is an Indian but the taxi has Malay name on it.

I wonder.

• shame on you on Jul 07, 2015 at 12:17 pm

there’s an old school saying:

when you put your finger out to point at others, the remaining four fingers will point back to yourselves.

try and see.

• albag on Jul 07, 2015 at 2:47 pm

they’re the worst taxi drivers and they’re proud of it

• ben yap on Jul 07, 2015 at 6:00 pm

Kuala Lumpur Sentral Taxi Drivers Association is like saying we’re murderers but it’s not our fault to kill. Knives are sold openly.

• altimatesss on Jul 07, 2015 at 6:38 pm

There is no training for being honest and sincere in your job !.. those things alone will make a big difference

• Mek Dee on Jul 07, 2015 at 6:44 pm

These taxi drivers will get bad karma very very soon……..

• Dixon on Jul 08, 2015 at 9:42 am

What’s up with “even ex-convicts”? They are human too, no?
    The only I hate taxi drivers is when they drive like a lunatic on the road, no F*** is given. Hogging the road, overtaking recklessly