LRT3 route gets flak from Damansara Utama residents

lrt-depot

The proposed realignment of the Bandar Utama-Klang Light Rail Transit 3 (LRT3) line has come into criticism from some 200 residents of Damansara Utama, who fear that the project could disrupt everyday life.

According to The Sun, the homeowners voiced their concerns during a dialogue session with representatives from Prasarana Malaysia, with Damansara Utama Residents and Owners Association president Rajes Patel claiming that they were not consulted before the change of route.

“Indeed, the ones to be most affected would be on Jalan SS21/42A, 21/38, 21/36, and 21/13 since the construction is only a few metres away from their homes,” he said.

LRT3 proposed route map

Other points of contention include anticipated traffic congestion, the availability of parking spaces, security, noise, air pollution and even possible compulsory acquisition of certain houses around the area. “This is for houses along Jalan SS 21/42A which may be deemed to be close to the proposed One Utama Station,” Rajes added.

He pressured Prasarana to review the realignment with more thoroughness and detail, this time with input from Damansara Utama residents. “We are not opposed to the LRT3 project in itself, but many residents here will find their lives more difficult if there are no changes to the plans,” Rajes said.

Director of the LRT3 project Norlia Noah attempted to assuage the concerns of the residents, saying that the project was still in the proposal stage. “Nothing has been decided yet. The period between May and August is Prasarana’s public inspection period where public feedback will enable us to adjust the plans accordingly,” she said.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Inb4
    1)homeowners protests due to too near their homes.
    2)Get their wish LRT3 realigned far far away from any homes.
    3)Homeowners find out stations too far to take trains.
    4)Homeowners protests due to stations not convenient, need to take bus 30mins to arrive, why so stupid, songlap, kroni, Gov bodoh, menteri tahap tadika, ini semua salah Gov/ MRT/ Najib/ Rosmah/ BN/ UMNO!
    5)LRT4 align close by.
    6)Homeowners protests
    7)Rinse repeat.

In the end. Gov lose. Ini semua salah Gov.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 119 Thumb down 15
    • Jimmy on Jul 07, 2015 at 1:33 pm

In general, I repeat, in general.

Do not build public transport in high-end luxurious residential areas. You are not needed. Don’t come to disturb.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 35
      • BrianXYZ on Jul 07, 2015 at 2:06 pm

These ppl in Damansara think theirs are high-class and high-end township. NIMBYs

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 6
      • I assume you are one of the residents. Thanks for letting us know just how arrogant you lot are.

• How can the line be realigned?

Anywhere they realign it, people nearby will make noise.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • Kancil Hybrid on Jul 07, 2015 at 11:54 am

Please la.. When traffic jam kaw2 u blame gov. No public transport la, road not big enough la, too much cars etc. Now when gov. want to help u, they ask u to sacrifice a bit of your space (and it’s not even in your own compound pun..), u talk so much. This is the reality of living in a crowded place, development can happen anywhere near to your house and u must accept it.

If your heart so kawdu, just remember that if u help others, god will help u. Masuk syurga ma..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 8
  • lewis on Jul 07, 2015 at 11:55 am

selfish. snobbish. spolied.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 6
    • faggio on Jul 07, 2015 at 1:06 pm

Well, i guess the “not in my backyard” thing comes into play

• When u build something on the most kiasu neighborhood in the city, protest is norm. Same story as kidex n mrt. Ironically, the population there which many would assume to be educated and cultured is ultimately the most selfish.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 6
  • shawal on Jul 07, 2015 at 12:01 pm

200 does not represent the needs of the many
    They will be affected for awhile but once it is completed it will benefit many, and traffic will improve even more

I stay in the heart of KL , and all these year long and more constructions is affecting my route to my fav movie joints ,but I just bear with it since the long term effect would be benificial…

all these folks are frikkin selfish….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 3
  • tokmoh. on Jul 07, 2015 at 12:11 pm

Selfish pricks. Tak suka, gi duduk hutan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 6
  • jinggo on Jul 07, 2015 at 12:31 pm

Dia dudok damansara, dia rasa dia kaya…
    Lu dudok nun jaoh disana.. dia rasa lu golongan kureng berada..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 5
  • Colin Wong on Jul 07, 2015 at 12:35 pm

It is never easy to build rail transit systems. They are meant to serve densely populated area. Some people will be affected. If there are no elements of victimisation and purposely targetting certain areas, I would say, compensate the people well and move ahead.

• Anti-pati on Jul 07, 2015 at 12:40 pm

These people are representative of the ills facing M’sia today – self-centered, selfish pricks not budging for the greater good. Curse them all for their uselessness!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 5
  • therealmaserati on Jul 07, 2015 at 1:05 pm

Thats y it always good to build the mrt b4 building housing areas

• heybadigol (Member) on Jul 07, 2015 at 1:31 pm

I thought the line is currently being built – a bit too late to complaint? And its right on top of Jalan Damansara (or whatever its called now). Its neither on Damansara Utama nor is it on Taman Tun (the other side).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
    • Dude,
      You need to read more. The one that you mentioned is the MRT1 project. Already near 60% completion.

This is LRT3 project; from BU to Shah Alam / Klang. Still in discussion laaaaaa

• Kramer on Jul 07, 2015 at 1:39 pm

They have a right to protest. If we stop protesting politicians will continue to screw u and ur kids.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 35
    • I dont agree. However, they have the right to share opinions and suggestions.

• Pr1ma on Jul 07, 2015 at 2:08 pm

more noise & congestion will make Damansara Utama houses more affordable

• DamansaraKiasuPeople on Jul 07, 2015 at 2:47 pm

All this Damansara people really perasan rich! everything want to protest.., i remember – the MRT alignment also.. the damansara part laa make the most noise! especially the TTDI area.. anywhere as long as not in my backyard.

Allo Auntie.., Unker.., you think when putra LRT line 1st propose.. all these people in paramount garden , taman cahaya.. all very happy aa? yes.. it’s an temporary inconvenience to them.., but look at the place now., the real estate property value has went up..! you already rich.. don’t want more rich meh?

I think, those supporter of this new LRT line from neighboring taman should come and oppose them! then only they know.. their 200+ voice is only a small voices compared to bigger good.. it does to densely packed area.

Be grateful.. will ya.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
  • Damansara Utama folks don’t want LRT3, please realign to Kota Damansara and run along NKVE.

https://www.facebook.com/PTLMalaysia/photos/a.747304551954990.1073741827.747133721972073/1022460174439425/?type=1&theater

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
    • Veri smart. How u noe KD people oso dun wan. Then need to realign further up to Sg Buloh.
      But wait, SB alredi has MRT so dun wan more.
      So need realign further up north to Kuala Selangor.
      Eh but they oso protest so go more north to Rawang, but Rawang pipu dun wan.
      So more north, but Bkt Beruntung pipu demo, so up again until reach Tanjung Malim. By then, dunno how alignment look like but by then all Malaysia will protest.

• IDon'tUnderstand on Jul 07, 2015 at 4:43 pm

I really don’t understand. There are new townships using the walking distance MRT/LRT stations as the selling point, such as Sunway Velocity, D’Sara Central, Nu Central etc. All these are luxury/high end developments.

On the other hand, some people are not happy that the MRT station is next step to his house. To me, i would be happy if the mrt station is just walking distance to my house. Convenience, appreciation etc etc..

• Is Malaysia out of land to be developed? Why everything has to be built in Klang Valley? So many malls, offices & houses there, that’s why there’s traffic problem. You can build LRT20, and still won’t solve the traffic issue.

All the profit from the country’s natural resources being spend on building everything inside the small area, that is Klang Valley.

There’s a lot of hutan just outside of Klang Valley. Go develop that. Not everything has to be near KLCC.

Poor development planning.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • MrJack on Jul 08, 2015 at 8:21 am

Orang kaya tolak LRT… kita orang miskin nak LRT…
    let’s share opinions through surveys feedback via lrt3.com.my

#weWantLRT3

• U so Stupid on Jul 08, 2015 at 8:42 am

These ppl in Damansara especially Bodoh and think theirs are high-class and high-end township.

200 ppl protes but 1 Mil ppl agreed..so pls continue the project maa…..save money to buy car, parking and also Toll.

• Rangers on Jul 08, 2015 at 10:27 am

Just build on top of the LDP and stop from 1U, DU, SS2, Taman Megah, Motorola (used to be).

Then build 1 along federal highway from Shah Alam, Batu3, Subang, GAB, Motorola (used to be) interchange, and then to 222, PJ Hilton, MV stop.

All stop is not mean for house hold but DESTINATION where people want to go work or leisure (shopping mall)

• kevlos on Jul 10, 2015 at 4:36 pm

Heated comments and heavy bashing going on.

I am an affected resident of Damansara Utama. I do not think I am rich nor privileged nor that LRT is not good nor that it will not benefit me. I believe that rail public transportation is very beneficial and we are way way behind other economies in this regard. It is thrilling to have this mode of public transportation being developed more rapidly now. However, some issues about LRT3 bother me.

What perplexes me most about LRT 3 is the logic of linking Klang to Bandar Utama. I understand the intention to connect to the MRT line due to the near-capacity LRT lines. But what benefit will there be for Klang folk to link to Bandar Utama? Wouldn’t it benefit us all more to have the connection to Kota Damansara where there is much more economic activities and jobs for them? Shouldn’t there be efforts to link up to Damansara Perdana which has massive hospitality, residential, commercial and entertainment projects being constructed? It seems logical to me to link up the outskirts to areas where there are economic opportunities rather than convenient connection to an MRT station.

Secondly, the alignment is proposed to be constructed over Sungai Kayu Ara which cuts through, separating DU from BU and Kg Sungai Kayu Ara. When it rains, the roads here flood. The residents’ concern is that the LRT track will exacerbate this situation.

Thirdly, the current alignment will construct the LRT station in Bandar Utama at a distance of approx 250-300m from the MRT station whereas the original alignment had the station just next to the MRT station. Why was this changed?

Fourthly, Damansara Utama is largely a landed home neighbourhood with low density, aside from Uptown Damansara. For purposes of rail transportation, the MRT station at Bandar Utama suffices for this area as it is close enough. It is strange to provide an additional LRT connection in this low-density neighbourhood when others in the vicinity need it more. What are the projected ridership numbers like? Do they really support the need for a station and line running here?

At surface level, it may seem selfish but on closer scrutiny, there are valid reasons for the concern. Personally, my main objection is that this is not a commercial area that requires connection to Klang, nor anywhere along the route there. I strongly believe the connection should be to either Kota Damansara or The Curve areas which offer job opportunities. Ideally, it should link to Damansara Perdana to cater to the gargantuan Empire City and Empire Damansara sites which are almost entirely highrise strata developments.

Please let’s engage in constructive criticism without reverting to bashing.

• Build a road first then business will bloom. So i think anywhere there’s reliable and good mode of transportation is beneficial regardless its already a booming location or not.