Toyota recalls another 29,985 vehicles in Malaysia over Takata airbags – Vios, Corolla Altis and Yaris affected

Toyota-logo

Following on the recall issued in May for 97,000 vehicles over faulty Takata airbags, UMW Toyota has announced that Toyota Motor Corporation (TMC) has expanded the coverage with another recall, this time involving nearly 30,000 vehicles.

UMW Toyota says it has received confirmation from TMC that 29,985 units of the Toyota Vios, Corolla Altis and Yaris have been identified as having faulty passenger side airbag inflators. The vehicles involved in this recall exercise were manufactured from April 2007 to December 2008.

toyota recall july 2015a

The company says it will contact all customers to carry out the necessary corrective measures on the affected vehicles, and on these cars the inflator will be replaced with a newly-manufactured one at no cost to the owner.

UMW Toyota adds that no other Toyota models sold by it produced after December 2008 are affected by the recall or involved in this campaign. Customers wishing to find out more may call Toyota Malaysia at 1800-8-869682.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• borhan on Jul 07, 2015 at 5:37 pm

this car already sold. now at second hand dealer. lucky sold fast, if not value ma.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
    • movingcoffin on Jul 07, 2015 at 7:25 pm

Buy this moving coffins. Dun buy p1 bcoz it wastes taxpayers money and no class at all. Dying in toyoda is much more respectable than in p1!!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 15
      • This is problem of Malaysian way of thinking.

• karam singh on Jul 08, 2015 at 6:31 am

the famous hearse in Malaysia also Toyota..
        Either Alphard or Estima …. hahaha
        They already moving coffin around since..

• PHILIP LOH on Jul 08, 2015 at 3:26 pm

My VIOS being in the 13th May, 2015 have yet to received any letter of notification from UMW.

So you guys whoever you are pretending to be, are definitely NOT a Toyota owner.

Shut up your mouth, don’t flame real Toyota car owners.

Don’t you guys ever feel shameful ?

• fariz01 on Jul 07, 2015 at 6:15 pm

Mana si pussy Sam loo?

• benchot on Jul 07, 2015 at 6:23 pm

aiyak..honda lagi banyak recal lo..

• karam singh on Jul 08, 2015 at 6:37 am

because more airbags in Honda than in Toyota…
      Toyota least airbags fitted on their car.
      thats why, greedy selfish UMW Toyota

If Stability control got recall, Honda also > than Toyota.
      because Toyota cars mostly dont have Stability control.
      Most Honda got stability control.

Do you get it ?

• Mc Kangkung on Jul 07, 2015 at 6:24 pm

Toyota cars are oredi coffin-on-wheels in Malaysia, now the airbags got problem…….

I pity the poor toyota owners…..paying so much money for an already low safety, low spec car, and now…..safety problem of airbag…

I think this is bad KARMA for Toyota cheating the whole world.

Sam Loo and the salesperson gang will likely to suffer their bad karma too….becoz they cheat so many customers…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 9
    • kington on Jul 07, 2015 at 7:26 pm

Dude, this affects cars of other makes. Read up, please.

• No matter how, is equipped in Toyota car. So is Toyota fault

• kington on Jul 08, 2015 at 12:27 am

No doubt, it is Toyota’s responsibility to replace these airbags and whatever parts necessary.

So are you saying it is Nissan, Honda, Toyota, Ford and etc which are at fault for using Takata airbags in the first place?

• High integrity on Jul 07, 2015 at 7:42 pm

At least the Toyota representative in Malaysia is responsible enough to recall manufactured way back to 2003. This is a respectable act. The govt didn’t enforce any safety rules on cars in Malaysia during that time. City and Vios were the B segment cars that wise people chose instead of Wira or Waja at that time. You pay slightly more with better built.

• Mamamia on Jul 07, 2015 at 6:31 pm

They should recall all Toyota car made by UMW for lack of airbags and no ESC. Seriously ESC should be available even for the basis model. Even the overprice Atlis and Camry lack of ESC.

• man poo on Jul 07, 2015 at 6:40 pm

expected response from our dear friend that we all know very well

if no recall
    “see toyota very good. no recall. RV very high. Proton, kimchi recall all the time, no RV”

when got recall
    “see toyota very good. very caring of its buyer. RV sure high. Proton, kimchi don’t care its buyer, no RV”

• The formula to process in thousand millions brain cell got error. I think using old OS and not compatible software. Some more insert virus without AVG protection.

• macha on Jul 07, 2015 at 6:52 pm

Sam Loo sold me a lemon toyota

• Lolol on Jul 07, 2015 at 7:14 pm

Easy job for Toyota la. So little airbag per car. Lol
    No big deal.

• Sharon on Jul 07, 2015 at 7:17 pm

Wondering whether the current Toyata cars have same issue and only recall it 5 years later or so. Not the bashing, but will car companies retest Takata supplied airbags?

This include other airbag manufacturers, don’t you think?

• sudonano (Member) on Jul 07, 2015 at 10:58 pm

Eh hello Toyota. Can you guys like for once finally tell us which cars are affected and which aren’t? It seems like you guys just keep adding and adding – even I would be worried about buying a used one now.

• Why need recall? Close shop lah…can save more ppls

• Bristol on Jul 07, 2015 at 11:05 pm

Lousy Toyota, never n ever buy this brand.

• Bruise on Jul 07, 2015 at 11:10 pm

20% ppl already move to coffin, now only recall. Too late response. Such big company still want to cheat consumer.

• If this was P1, u can bet the “rakyat” will demand to close shop and all the workers must harakiri themselves.

• frossonice on Jul 08, 2015 at 8:45 am

Well, if this is P1, you will see Sam Loo, ioma and the whole bashers having field day bashing P1 like there is no tomorrow here.

Seeing this is from god car company, nobody give a shit and still buy them.

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jul 08, 2015 at 1:21 pm

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV

If its not a K5, Sonata or Elantra, start writing a will

• Toyol-my-ass on Jul 11, 2015 at 10:13 pm

They recall since May, but till now still no stock to replace! WTF!

• Vincent on Oct 26, 2016 at 1:23 pm

Toyota provide replacement with charges of RM49 for chemical to input after replacement of airbag inflator. I checked with Honda, they do not have this type of additional charges.