2017 Ford F-150 Raptor – 25% faster than old model

ford-f150-raptor-009

If you ever wanted an ultimate Ford off-roader, it’s just got to be a 2017 Ford F-150 Raptor. Based on Ford’s own tests, the new one is said to be 25% faster than the current truck.

The 2017 F-150 Raptor completed over 1,609 km of desert trail testing in Southwestern United States to replicate the same extreme conditions of the Baja race course in Mexico. It covered the long trail multiple times over a wide range of surfaces that includes fast sandy washes, deep-rutted silt beds, steep climbs in deep sand and slow crawls through tight trenches.

Incredibly, Ford claims the truck topped speeds of 161 km/h in places, while slowing down to 16 km/h in others to record an average speed of approximately 80 km/h. Previously, Ford had confirmed that the 2017 Raptor will get a 450 hp EcoBoost V6 engine paired to a 10-speed automatic gearbox.

ford-f150-raptor-007

Apparently, at the end of each lap, the F-150 Raptor completed a tabletop jump consisting of a steep ramp up a two-foot plateau, then a step-off back to level ground. The vehicles tested were essentially early build prototypes that had a fusion of 2015 F-150 Raptor and 2017 F-150 Raptor components.

Ford’s engineers thoroughly pushed the envelope with the 2017 Raptor in these few days, far exceeding what a normal owner would ever do over the lifetime. Testing of this next generation Raptor will continue till next year, with sales scheduled to begin in 2016. In America, that is.

Anil Prabha

Anil Prabha has always been a petrol head. He also has a strange knack for remembering car models and their respective registration plates. Naturally aspirated engines are always better than turbocharged or supercharged ones, in his opinion. Ultimately, he believes that there is nothing better in life than just going for a drive.

• dewaSemut on Jul 09, 2015 at 4:51 pm

This and Hummer… loved it!

• Pull down the pants and let you shiok shiok….end of the day sorry not for sales outside US.

• ahmed on Jul 09, 2015 at 11:40 pm

It’s will loved hear in Saudi Arabia and not very expensive you can get one with SAR139K and the market is likely to receive the upgrade .

• sepul on Jul 09, 2015 at 5:18 pm

I wonder how the turbos will cope with all the dirt and sands.

• Sam loo love hilux on Jul 09, 2015 at 5:44 pm

Still cannot beat our superior hilux!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 21
  • Wonder why the top speed extremely low compare to local mid size truck. With 140hp,can hit 180km/h.

• superbird #43 on Jul 09, 2015 at 8:28 pm

u mean to say u sleep with ur sister(s) in your superior hilux?

• yoyomandroid on Jul 10, 2015 at 12:57 pm

damn i want thissssssssss!!!