Peugeot 308 GTi is not coming to Malaysia after all

peugeot_308gti_1506js_40

Well, this is really, really depressing. It seems like the much-awaited Peugeot 308 GTi, the one that we featured earlier today, will not be making its way to Malaysian shores. Nasim, the official distributor of Peugeot vehicles in Malaysia, has just told paultan.org as such.

Why not? Nasim cites fuel compatibility issues with the hot hatch’s engine. The highly-tuned 1.6 litre turbocharged engine makes 250 hp and 330 Nm of torque in base trim, and up to 270 hp for the top variant. With such high numbers from a small motor, it will require RON 98 fuel, which we don’t get, claims Nasim. The RCZ R, running the same engine tune, is not available here for the same reason too.

Another factor is the relatively small demand for such a car. Yes, you and I might jump at the thought of a 250/270 hp hot hatch with a six-speed manual gearbox, but the numbers will remain too small to justify a market introduction, says Nasim. Looks like we’ll have to be content with the standard 150 hp 308 THP and the 200 hp 208 GTi.

Graham Chin

Having spent a number of years as a journalist for a local paper, a marketing executive for a popular German automotive brand and a copywriter, Graham, a true-blue Sarawakian, knew he had to take the leap back into the motoring scene - and so he did. To him, nothing’s better than cruising for hours along a scenic route, in a car that’s designed and built for that purpose.

• sudonano (Member) on Jul 09, 2015 at 6:45 pm

It’s a pity though…

But don’t be surprised if Peugeot actually does a retuned (read down-tuned) version for our lower RON fuel markets, cause there are some markets where even RON 98 isn’t easy to get.

Then again, that would be wishful thinking.

• therealmaserati on Jul 09, 2015 at 6:53 pm

NASIM BRINGS this in and nobody buys it, whats the point?

Its gonna be expensive and unreliable anyway. Y bother?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
    • ahmadjohnson97 on Jul 09, 2015 at 9:46 pm

If RON 98 is available here, why not? I saw people driving Megane Rs, Focus ST, Mazda 3 MPS on Malaysian roads more than a few times and lots of civic type r, so why not 308 GTi.
      Unreliable? People had issue with Golf GTi dry clutch DSG gearbox but they buy it anyway.
      Expensive? You forgot that NASIM sell Ferrari and Maserati too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 12
  • ahmadjohnson97 on Jul 09, 2015 at 7:13 pm

Booo….

How about 308 GT petrol?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
    • kzm (Member) on Jul 09, 2015 at 7:25 pm

above 308 GTi is petrol but in boleh no RON98 petrol. we oni have RON95 n RON97..

• ahmadjohnson97 on Jul 09, 2015 at 8:08 pm

The minimum RON rating for Australian spec Peugeot 308 GT (not GTi) is RON 95. It will be nice if Nasim bring that one in.

• kennyjay on Jul 09, 2015 at 8:34 pm

Malaysia, one of the top oil producing countries in the world, and yet cannot provide suitable fuel for performance car.

clap clap clap!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 6
    • kzm (Member) on Jul 09, 2015 at 10:00 pm

u will shock if i say Saudi Arabia dont even have RON97 in their market..it either RON91 or RON95..clap clap clap

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 9
      • samloo original on Jul 09, 2015 at 10:16 pm

you will be even shocker if i say fuel in Saudi Arabia is cheaper than our Tesco bottled drinking water.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 12
        • Samlose on Jul 09, 2015 at 11:14 pm

And you will be even shocker if i say fuel reserves in Saudi Arabia is 45 times higher than Malaysia while malaysia total population is slightly higher than Saudi Arabia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
          • Megane on Jul 10, 2015 at 6:06 am

Both of you are idiots linguistically. The correct phrase is ‘be more shocked ‘ not shocker. Ckp English mcm tak sekolah.

• kzm (Member) on Jul 10, 2015 at 1:29 am

Saudi govt actually can give their pipu petrol for free..their production is much much much higher against consumption. Boleh in other hand almost same production n consumption..Saudi production is ~11 million bbl/day (2013), consumption of about ~3 million bbl/day (2013) n export about ~7 million bbl/day (2011)..boleh produce ~650k bbl/day (2013), consumption of ~620k bbl/day (2013) n export ~270k bbl/day (2012)…

• ajdar on Sep 24, 2015 at 10:08 am

All of you cant speak English well… ” be more surprised” is the best choice of word to use

• Pity. But at least Nasim should bring the 200HP ‘GT’ model since its the same engine found in the 208 GTi

• Gaviny on Jul 09, 2015 at 9:39 pm

Lol cover line for nobody want to buy lah

• Yawnz on Jul 09, 2015 at 10:20 pm

Who cares….

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jul 09, 2015 at 10:36 pm

i call this kerbau. im sure its cos of poor sales of 208 gti rather than anything. just proves how sad this malaysian market is where nobody wants a manual car.

• kobelaex on Jul 09, 2015 at 11:30 pm

Its more of an affordability issue in Malaysia really. At that price, an enthusiast can get a used Type R, DC5, STI and etc which at the end of the day has more bang (performance and space) for the money.

Great lil cars like the 208gti, Fiesta ST, Clio RS is still not worthwhile here in our shores. Imagine the monthly repayment and the tenure. Just how many people can actually enjoy it…

• intermilan on Jul 09, 2015 at 11:07 pm

For them to told you guys this earlier means there are lot of interest for it. Nasim really shouldnt be too hasty with their decision on this one.

If Tan Chong can sell the megane rs, in quite a number, for sure 308gti could find some buyers too.. me for a start.

• Golfer on Jul 09, 2015 at 11:23 pm

Its okay. No big loss. Probably wont sell anyway. Buy for RM200k then sell for RM50k in 2 years time not to mention all the problems and headaches within the first 2 years of ownership.

• koochai on Jul 09, 2015 at 11:31 pm

shell still sells vpower racing? ron99?

• ben yap on Jul 10, 2015 at 9:03 am

nevermind, can still buy Golf Gti.

no sweat….

• Nasi Padang on Jul 10, 2015 at 9:05 am

The current 308 oso hard to see on the road. Road are packed by Hondas. Accord,city,jazz,crv….

Dear Sam,
    Whrs ur Camry hybrid?
    Nobody wants it lar pls

• rchoo on Jul 10, 2015 at 1:00 pm

No bring no buy loh, save money, that’s fine with me.

• Mailinator on Jul 11, 2015 at 7:43 pm

It is fine to me. No afford to buy also

• intermilan on Jan 04, 2016 at 8:09 pm

This id an old post but feel like it deserve an update.

Based on recent info found in the net, the 308 gti can use ron95… not necessarily ron98.

Therefore our euro4 ron97 should be adequate.

But Nasim won’t being it here not due this issue. Its a manual-only car and they are so allergic trying to sell manual car. We all know why. IMO, its quite a pity.