Proton celebrates 30th anniversary with special deals

Proton_Iriz_Review_ 003

Yes, Proton’s 30th anniversary is finally here, and to celebrate the milestone, the national carmaker is giving away special deals and rebates, one of which will be of particular interest to current Proton owners.

From now until September 30, customers who turn 30 this year (born in 1985) will be eligible for a RM3,000 rebate on all models. Existing Proton owners who trade in their cars will also receive a RM100 for each year of their vehicle’s age, under the company’s Loyalty Programme.

Additionally, the “lowest range” of the Proton Saga – likely the Saga SV 1.3 M/T – will be priced at RM30,000 on-the-road inclusive of insurance, which would be a RM3,242 saving over the retail price of the SV manual.

Proton_Saga_SV_0021

“With all these promotions, there will also be a special fund which we have set up, to put in RM30 for every Proton car sold as we would like to share the significant moment with those unfortunate,” said CEO Datuk Abdul Harith Abdullah. “We shall look at three charitable bodies which will be the recipient of the fund towards the end of this year.

“This is a special year for us, as we celebrate our 30th anniversary. Throughout the years you’ve been with us and you know the meaning and significance of having a home-grown car manufacturer, its contribution to the society and development of the country. Proton will always remain responsive to the needs of our customers and will adhere to the highest standards of quality and safety.”

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Ant Man on Jul 09, 2015 at 12:07 am

The only deal rakyat want is Proton to close shop

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 93 Thumb down 84
    • Menyusahkan Rakyat on Jul 09, 2015 at 8:02 am

Don’t worry if rakyat suffer high living cost and crazy car prices taxes.

Proton also suffer gigantic loss and plunge in sales market share.

MITI also suffer a failed NAP EEV policy like headless chicken direction.

So everybody suffer in this tough times. Suffer together, cry together.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
      • Close Down Proton on Jul 09, 2015 at 11:21 am

It is solely because of Proton and Tun M that 30 million people in Malaysia suffer. Everybody’s biggest payment per month is their cars as we are paying overpriced cars. 30 years, Proton rogol all of us.

You see, in the 80s or even in the early 90s, you can get a brand new Nissan 130Y or a Toyota Corolla for RM20,000. Now, the same car is RM139,000.

In truth, the past 30 years, car prices have come down a lot globally and have NOT gone up due to inflation. It has come down due to economies of scale achieved by car companies. This is proven by the fact that you can get a brand new purely Japan made top spec 10 airbag Toyota Camry 2.5 in the US for US$22,000. That is about RM60,000. The normal B segment car like the Almera is sold in the US for US$9,999. (RM30,000). Mind you, this is after Toyota and Nissan of the US has made their margin and profits and the US government has collected taxes and duties from Nissan and Toyota. The direct from factory prices is far cheaper. UMW will get the above 2.5 Camry for US$15,000 from their principal in Japan. As our Camry is CKD, the price is even lower than that.

Our cars compared to global cars are completely stripped down. Even basic car in the US got about 20 safety features that the same car in Malaysia does not have. Purposely taken out to cut cost even further and untung more profit.

So, in actual fact, most Malaysians can enjoy cheap and reasonable cars but because of Proton, all the other car prices have been raised up tremendously to protect Proton. Malaysians have already suffered so much. For 30 years, 30 million people suffer so much. We struggle paying for our high car prices all because of one man’s dream of benefiting his friends and relatives and forcing the dying Proton to live with billions of our LHDN money, money which could be used to build more schools and hospitals.

If we did not have Proton sucking money from LHDN, each state can have an addition 10 fully fledged government hospitals and 10 fully fledged government schools every 10 years being built. But all our LHDN money go to the failing Proton. Every year government gives hundreds of million to Proton as form of grants. Every other year, Proton ask RM billions in help. Recently, even under private hands also (DRB) Proton asked the government to give them free few RM billions from LHDN.

Proton also cost us hundreds of billions in ringgit in investments from car companies who moved to Thailand and Indonesia. Car companies got fed up with Malaysia’s MITI for protecting Proton and telling other companies what to price their cars. They got sick and tired of the AP system and how genuine brands cannot get enough APs to import their cars in (like Mercedes, BMW and Honda).

They thought that if they set up their brands and plants in Malaysia, they knew they had to give 30% of their hard earned company free away as well as being told by MITI what to price their cars. They all moved their operations to Thailand making it the AutoCity of the world.

Recently GM announced that they rolled out already 1 million cars from Thailand. Imagine if GM was in Malaysia and we taxed GM RM10,000 per car. Calculate that with 1 million cars. Just from GM alone, we lost Billions in USD. Imagine what will the amount be from other car companies if they had set up in Malaysia?

Because of Proton, we lost hundreds of billion of ringgit in investment and trillions of ringgit from jobs lost. If Malaysia was the autocity of Asia, hundreds of thousands of jobs would have been created for Malaysians. We lost all that. Trillions of Ringgit and hundreds of thousands of jobs. Now, Thailand is benefiting from this trillions lost.

Car companies are flocking to invest hundreds of billions in Thailand despite Thailand being an unstable government, unstable economy and full of bomb blastings and terror.

Yet, global car companies still prefer Thailand. This is another rape like when Mitsubishi raped us for 20 years with low quality engines and parts. If Proton was not in Malaysia in the first place, you will have a few hundred thousand ringgit extra in your pocket!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 10
        • Proton Supporter on Jul 13, 2015 at 9:22 am

Almera USD 9,999 “” = RM 30000
          i believe u are talking out of your ass.
          now is RM 40000 due to ringgit loss.
          make it rm 50000 thousand. So, its not a big deal since the almera still in the range of 50K.

• Like a stupid retard statement. You can’t compare the value of RM20,000 in the 80s. Also please revisit what accessories they have at that time and the currency exchange with Yen those days. Also, simply look at the wheels as standard. Look at an 80s Sunny if you have forgotten.

• George Abdul on Jul 09, 2015 at 9:08 am

With this please don’t ask any R&D from Government.

30 years old please pay your own expenses OR ask R&D from your founder Tun DrM. Country soon going to bankrupt if Govt keep feeding the cronies…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
      • Old Crony Suppliers- Low Quality Again! on Jul 09, 2015 at 11:43 am

You see Proton is actually a good concept. But when Mahathir created Proton, he made sure every single part of the Proton car is supplied by his crony buddies. Now Suzuki will be the same.

And these crony buddies overcharge Proton by ten times whilst giving poor and inferior parts. That is why your Proton always falls apart and everybody blames quality control. That is the reason also why Proton makes only RM500 per car that they sell. It is solely because of the crony vendors who are overcharging Proton. For example, per car Mat is sold to Proton for RM100 whilst you can buy the same car mat from brothers for RM10.

So, Mahathir can say all he wants about quality being raised and his sarcasm but until ALL Proton’s vendors are changed, how can the quality go up?

Mahathir won’t do this. All his buddies have got the contract to be vendors to Proton. Mahathir will just ensure that all the vendors for Proton remain the same. All his buddies and relatives, so why upset his relatives when he can continue his past misgivings?

Proton will still get the same low inferior quality parts it has been getting for the past 30 years and it will still be overcharged by 10 times for each part the vendors supply.

Malaysians have already suffered so much. For 30 years, 30 million people suffer so much. We struggle paying for our high car prices all because of one man’s dream of benefitting his buddies and friends. Until Proton changes ALL their vendors, Proton will be a loss making organisation because it produces super low quality cars due to its vendors supplying Proton Super low Quality parts.

This Suzuki scandal will be the same as Mitsubishi scandal. Until vendors change, tie up with Suzuki will be low in quality as previous Protons.

• Let Us Subsidise Rich Arabs on Jul 09, 2015 at 11:59 am

Malaysians kena tipu big time. Every single model in the Proton line is sold for half the price in Saudi countries.

We Malaysians are subsidising rich Arabs. When we pay RM60,000 for a Waja for example, the super rich Arab pays RM30,000 for the same car but with higher spec, more airbags and more safety features.

Why is a Malaysian Made car, Made for the people of Malaysia, being sold so high in Malaysia?

The whole purpose Mahathir gave birth to Proton in 1985 was to give an affordable car to fellow Malaysians. Proton cannot hide by the fact that taxes are high.

The spirit Proton was created was to help Malaysians. That is the whole reason of its inception. But it is not helping Malaysians. Because of Proton, all other car brands have artificially been going higher for the past 30 years. They have been strictly told to do so.

And parallel, the Proton car price also have been going higher as well to follow suit the other brands who have been strictly directed to sell at a high price.

So, what is the purpose of Proton’s inception in 1985? It is not helping the rakyat at all because, as we know, globally, car prices are so low and cheap.

It is high time we question, whether Proton needs to close down or not. Proton defeats its purpose of birth. In 1985, Mahathir promised everyone that the car would be cheap and affordable to everyone.

Well, the car is cheap in Saudi, at 50% the price. Why can’t we benefit from this price?

• frossonice on Jul 09, 2015 at 9:41 am

Then what? You expect price will go down after that?

Fat chance! The gomen will still impose heavy taxes on all vehicle. They will still use AP to let cronies to imported vehicle and sell it at a million % profit.

Ask the gomen to reduce taxes and abolish AP then we’ll see whether Proton or Perodua can survive or not.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
      • Proton Cronies on Jul 09, 2015 at 12:27 pm

Thank you for your support throughout the years. Without your support, we will not be driving imported cars

• AdeAkuKesah on Jul 09, 2015 at 9:49 am

To add in, please close both Perodua and Proton. So rakyat will cheaper foreign card with good quality!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
      • KauPatutKisah on Aug 01, 2015 at 6:23 pm

rakyat will cheaper? Bro..if u pay more attention during school maybe u will get better degree and get better job..play too much now can only buy proton..padan muka

• Nujum on Jul 09, 2015 at 10:34 am

Car sales: (Jan-May 2014) vs. (Jan-May 2015)
      Proton sales: (52,980 units) vs. (40,939 units)… -22.7% …. Proton targeting 130k cars for 2015, behind half target…
      Perodua sales: (77,666 units) vs. (92,027 units)… +18.5% …. Perodua targeting 203k cars for 2015, hit half target…

• Protonfetish on Jul 09, 2015 at 12:09 am

Happy Birthday Proton! Stay awesome! :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 31
    • Menyusahkan Rakyat on Jul 09, 2015 at 8:05 am

Yes stay on making losses and rakyat also stay on suffer 9 yrs car loan paying high double taxes.

We suffer together, cry together in this tough times.

• KauPatutKisah on Aug 01, 2015 at 6:36 pm

jealous much? I am also a rakyat u know and would like to see proton be a success unlike some people who bash them all the time..easier to blame all the problem in the world on proton and the government than on ourselves is it?

• "Awesome" Quality frm Proton! on Jul 09, 2015 at 9:16 am

Happy Birthday Proton :)

Pls maintain your “AWESOME” quality, so that every Proton customer will have a taste of your “awe”some ownership experience.

The more customer buy new Proton, more Malaysian will shun Proton, that is the way to make Proton close shop. Pls, use your marketing gimmick to lure more people to experience your lousy car, so that they will never buy Proton again! Soon, your TIV will drop below 10%.

Happy Birthday Proton, may you rot in hell with your crony vendors :) Stay “AWE”some!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
    • After 30 years of development, look the the product line up we had. Embarrassing…Proton really need to speed up and stop the relek working culture…

• Aero (Member) on Jul 09, 2015 at 12:27 am

Happy 30th Birthday, Proton. Personally, I’ve always counted Proton’s age from their founding in 1983 and not 1985… but never mind, anyway. I’m glad they’re having this cash-back promotion, it bodes well with their limited-time 7-year warranty. I wonder where they’re getting the funds from… but that’s really not the concern of the buying public.

The market value of the Saga Megavalve, older Iswaras and Wiras are only a few thousand ringgit. Some models can be had for less than RM3k. This cash-back promotion will likely raise the resale value of the older Protons considerably.

Dr. M also made mention on efforts to establish a reconditioned, grey export market for older Proton cars. Basically what Japan has been doing for decades with their used JDM exports to Africa, South Asia, Russia, New Zealand etc.. Proton could very much do the same thing, but on a lower, more affordable level. Proton actually wanted to do this A LONG TIME AGO, but it never happened. As far as I can tell, this cash-back promotion might have something to do with this initiative, so it’s a win-win for everyone involved.

Times are tough these days not just for Proton, but Malaysia in general. Stay strong, time is a healer. Adversity is the precedent to strength.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 12
    • Menyusahkan Rakyat on Jul 09, 2015 at 7:55 am

Thanks to Proton for screwing us rakyat and car market prices.

Now rakyat screwing back Proton by no longer buying it much and probably total sales this year 2015 may not reach 100k units.

Yes times are tough so let’s suffer together, fair enough. Rakyat suffer high living cost, Proton suffer prolonged mega losses dwindling sales.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
    • mnoory on Jul 09, 2015 at 9:33 am

Aero,

Thanks for the refreshing comments! Keep them coming.

There are a lot of unhappy people here so your comments are a welcome change!

Thanks again Bro!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
      • Aero (Member) on Jul 10, 2015 at 2:06 pm

Thank you mnoory, I appreciate your kind words. I’m just sharing my thoughts and adding context… I don’t expect others to agree with what I write (but I do appreciate the support nonetheless). After all, everyone has their opinions, right ? :]

• Khairul on Jul 09, 2015 at 10:51 pm

30 years and this is the only best deal you can offer? Alamak…. malu la. Bagi la hadiah 30 proton percuma; thru competition pun ok. Baru la ada kick.

• tiffany on Jul 09, 2015 at 12:30 am

one shot 30% discount for all Proton homegrown vehicle, to clear all Proton Homegrown car.

so, in 2016:
    Proton can start to sell only:
    1. Suzuki A/B segment – either Alto/Celerio/Ertiga/Vitara
    2. Mitsubishi C segment – Inspira
    3. Honda D segment -Accordana

a series of rebadged car from multiple japanese brand.
    #MahathirLookEastPolicy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 15
  • Steve Kok on Jul 09, 2015 at 12:32 am

Proton pls close shop.
    Rakyat have to buy expensive car because of Proton.
    30 years already.. still needs protection.
    Shame on you Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 37
    • DPCraft on Jul 09, 2015 at 8:06 am

If no “protection” then Proton will be very “rare” on the road, Honda and Toyota will be flooding everywhere. But the protection is too much, now all cars is extremely overprice.

• labix7 on Jul 09, 2015 at 9:26 am

stop dreaming la..
      even without proton, other car price won’t be cheaper too.
      Just like our goods price vs oil price.
      Without competition, non-national car maker can easily put a higher price for their car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
      • nabil on Jul 09, 2015 at 12:44 pm

BS. What competition? The only reason for high price in non-national cars is NAP, which is to protect Proton

• In b4 Proton should have closed 31 years ago.
    There I said it. Now all bashers can go die.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 24
  • meng meng on Jul 09, 2015 at 1:06 am

Wa… so cheap arh.
    Buy le buy leh.

• Lol, RM1700 for my 17-year-old Saga? A dilemma. Too worthless to sell and not at all cheap or reliable enough to keep around either.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
    • kadajawee on Jul 09, 2015 at 11:38 am

Saga maybe around 800kg of steel parts.

How much scrap iron shop pay you?

• sudonano (Member) on Jul 09, 2015 at 1:30 am

Ah looks like the 26999 Proton returns with the Saga SV Manual…

My biggest thing against Proton is their build quality. While checking out their cars at the COE recently, each and every one of them (I kid you not), had squeaky or hard to open doors. Not to mention, misaligned panels etc.

Cars like the Saga are really due for replacement, you can definitely feel the age in the BLM already, they really stepped up in the ergonomics for the most part though, thank goodness, but this is what makes the Saga show its age.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 9
    • movingcoffin on Jul 09, 2015 at 1:33 pm

Did you know that Saga has the highest car accident rate due to lack of VSC for the past 30 years? Proton days are numbered for causing the deaths of many

• jji22 on Jul 09, 2015 at 3:29 pm

Huh? Iriz ady got VDC, Vios dun have since ages, why dun ask Toyota? Buttlicker foreign brand kah?

• Same L0rrrr on Jul 09, 2015 at 1:48 am

In another words:
    Proton celebrate 30th anniversary forcing Malaysian to either pay for world 2nd most expensive cars (after Singapore) or rubbish Proton, now with special trap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 21
  • Josh Ling on Jul 09, 2015 at 1:49 am

Only RM30 per car sold to the charity?? wow…..

• FlamingFox (Member) on Jul 09, 2015 at 2:50 am

RM3k not enough!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • Same Lorr on Jul 09, 2015 at 4:43 am

Enough said, proton no RV!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 16
  • HAMEED KOYAKUTTY on Jul 09, 2015 at 4:56 am

The less unfortunate is actually the buyer of your car!!!!

Countermeasure: sell off your Proton, buy other more reliable car. Now my life if much more cheerful.
    Other Malaysians should try this also.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 14
  • butthurtbasher on Jul 09, 2015 at 5:24 am

Tak laku lettew

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 17
  • tunmsonglap on Jul 09, 2015 at 6:27 am

Useless product by the old man

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 17
  • DPCraft on Jul 09, 2015 at 8:00 am

Proton should celebrate by making all carmakers(including Proton) in malaysia cheaper. Everyone will be happy :)

• VHL Loo on Jul 09, 2015 at 9:42 pm

Another way to celebrate is to offer Preve/Suprima or even Iriz CFE with manual gearbox at reasonable price while maintaining safety counts (CVT is a big no-no for me as it needs to be very ‘manja’ and less durable – ability to withstand abuse is very low compared with manual or even conventional auto given same torque figure)

• DPCraft on Jul 09, 2015 at 8:02 am

Ok it’s already 30 years, more then enough… in other words 30 years of failure(no offence). Hope Proton will really change in 2016 with their incoming models.

• Proton achieving 15% TIV in 2015 on Jul 09, 2015 at 8:06 am

After creating countless misery, pain and suffering for Malaysian car owners’ experience for the past 30 years, Please, Proton, Please, we beg you to do another good deeds for the sake of the nation:

JUST CLOSE SHOP

That is the greatest contribution Proton can do for Malaysia. CLOSE SHOP, JUST CLOSE SHOP. We Malaysian will be so grateful and full of tears of joy when you CLOSE SHOP.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • ss427 on Jul 09, 2015 at 9:28 am

30 yrs later Potong is still rebadging Mitsubishi LOL tsk tsk and some serious gas guzzling Campro thingy

I bet SG$100 to everyone that Potong will continue rebadging cars in 2045.

By then perhaps Africa may be a automotive giant with their own world class brands.

And perhaps Kim Jong Un automotive industries may have overtaken Proton too

• Like that you also can bet SG$1000000 because you are ady dead or go senile in 2045!

• BeemerFreak on Jul 09, 2015 at 9:44 am

Happy birthday proton, you are 30 and see where you are compared to Kia which is 29 (for car manufacturing) this year.

• Nujum on Jul 09, 2015 at 10:37 am

After 30 years,

Hyundai, Kia annual total sales = over 6 million cars

Proton annual total sales = over 100k cars

• Curi Curi Malaysia on Jul 09, 2015 at 11:58 am

that also after Malaysians kena force to buy and Government got contract to be supplied Protons. I think 70% of Proton sales got to Government. Spanco buys tens of thousands of Protons per year for the Government and Government gives them free RM221 million per annum. Contract is 30 years. 30 years x RM221 million per year

• Anti-Pati on Jul 09, 2015 at 11:34 am

Kia car manufacturing started in 1974. They had a brief hiatus due to government intervention & restarted again in 1986. Technically, they’re 41 years old. Plus Kia has the manufacturing expertise from its other manufacturing endeavours

Proton started from scratch & even from the beginning there’s no drive to make it work. Simply because Malaysians worship foreigners.

• BeemerFreak on Jul 09, 2015 at 12:20 pm

They started from scratch, yeah, with no help, yeah. Mitsubishi not around to help, yeah.

• “Proton celebrates 30th anniversary with special deals”

What special deal is that? It is closing down?

• Proton and Tun M can mampu skali…

• Proton – A sad story! A great vision executed badly. in 30 years there is nothing for Proton to triumph on. Still a re-badge institution.

The bare truth is that Proton achieved nothing, neither in the local nor Globally. A list of failures at the expense of a generation of this nation.

Sad.. Sad … s a d ….

• Phyuck Yiu on Jul 09, 2015 at 6:56 pm

Like the saying goes, anything that UMNO touches will turn to shit even the golden goose will crap out.

• leo galante on Jul 09, 2015 at 1:05 pm

Phew all this while I expecting that the 30th anniversary, proton will be launching “saga 30th anniversary edition” which is a new model and design to replace the aging saga flx….plus at a cheaper price and better quality..