Top Gear trio banned from British TV until 2017

jeremy-clarkson-richard-hammond-james-may-top-gear

We all knew this was never going to end well, and right on cue, the BBC has announced that it will enforce a contractual binding to prevent the former presenters of Top Gear from working for ITV till 2017. Therefore, the possibility of them signing with an internet-based network, such as Netflix or Amazon Prime seems to be even more likely now.

Just to put things into perspective, after 22 seasons, the last episode of Top Gear that aired on BBC2 was viewed by nearly six million people, so the BBC knows that it needs to keep Clarkson, Hammond and May at bay. The last show appeared a few months after Clarkson’s sacking by the BBC after 13 years, due to a ‘fracas’ with a producer in March. Hammond and May soon departed in a mark of solidarity too.

The trio are currently about to embark on a string of live Australian shows under the Clarkson, Hammond and May Live‘ banner. Hammond says that the live show will have a cricket theme, featuring an Australian vs England battle. Features such as ‘Sidecar Polo, Car Rugby and V8 Cricket’ are also on the cards. This should promise great entertainment all round.

Meanwhile, British TV host and radio presenter Chris Evans has recently signed a three-year deal to replace Clarkson on BBC’s Top Gear, and the new co-hosts are yet to be confirmed as a global audition process is still ongoing.

Anil Prabha

Anil Prabha has always been a petrol head. He also has a strange knack for remembering car models and their respective registration plates. Naturally aspirated engines are always better than turbocharged or supercharged ones, in his opinion. Ultimately, he believes that there is nothing better in life than just going for a drive.

• 3 stooges! hahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
  • Jarhead on Jul 09, 2015 at 11:07 am

There goes Top Gear’s viewership

• kadajawi (Member) on Jul 09, 2015 at 11:12 am

Oh BBC… great way to be more popular with British people. If people hate you now, for your high fees they have to pay, especially since you stopped producing what they want to watch, how will they react to this news?

The BBC is really great at digging their own grave.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
  • They do youtube show like CNET on Cars also can be successful lah.

• Come to Malaysia and test our ‘awesome’ Proton lah

• Jarhead on Jul 09, 2015 at 6:54 pm

Actually, they tested the Satria Neo and Myvi in the financial heart of London during the economic downturn.

I believe Jezza also tested (and smashed) a Kelisa (Check me up On this).

• Jabba on Jul 09, 2015 at 9:30 pm

Spot on kadajawi it really was the only thing I used to watch TV for. I now mainly watch YouTube, so I am definitely going to be reviewing my thoughts on the licence that I am getting no value for now. May even not bother. I don’t even listen to radio.

Thumbs up BBC (NOT)

• Keris Jawa on Jul 19, 2015 at 12:50 am

Chris Evans? Are they serious?