Increase minimum age for motorcycle licence to 21 to improve safety, consumer group asks government

saigon-motorbike

The Consumers Association of Penang (CAP) is asking the government to raise the minimum age limit for Malaysians to obtain a motorcycle licence to 21, Bernama reports. Currently, the age limit to be able to apply for a motorbike licence is 16.

The association’s president, SM Mohamed Idris, said the reasoning behind the request was because motorcyclists were the most vulnerable road users, and stricter training was needed before students can obtain a licence. Raising the age limit would also help curb the exuberance of youth.

He said that motorcycles are killer machines and that its riders are 17 times more vulnerable to accidents than cars because of their two-wheel design. He added that apathy was also an issue, with parents allowing their children to ride motorcycles without a licence.

“Each year, there are an average of 465,000 road accidents resulting in nearly 7,000 deaths, and 60% or 4,200 of the deaths are contributed by motorcyclists, with 40% of them between 16 and 25 years of age,” he told reporters at a briefing on the matter.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• sepul on Jul 10, 2015 at 9:58 am

Age doesn’t matter, but the awareness is. Some (or many) aged well over 40 also have no safety consciousness when riding or driving on the road.

Improve awareness on safety from early childhood, and from educational level. It should have been part of the curriculum. And mandatory to pass.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • msian driver is uselss on Jul 10, 2015 at 7:40 pm

It not about awareness, but it’s our road behaviour and altitude.

Just compare how we drive and behave compare to a first world country like Japan or Europe.

Not using indicator, seat belt not fasten, beat red lamp, not tolerate to give way, road hogger, jump queue, speeding recklessly in busy street and etc.

• piupiupiu on Jul 10, 2015 at 10:00 am

Harga kereta mahal, tol mahal, bus rapid not efficient.. end up ramai naik motor..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • Obviously (Member) on Jul 10, 2015 at 10:01 am

Ok, all well and good but how about enforcement? I am not sure about you, but I have rarely seen motorcycles being pulled over at roadblocks. Rules and regulations are useless without proper enforcement.

I agree with the motion to increase the minimum age of motorcycle riding, however. The scenes of reckless teen riders performing wheelies all of a sudden to show off, whether when riding as a pack or riding solo (and sometimes without helmets), is fresh on my mind. Needless to say, I am not impressed by their antics.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
    • shaunD on Jul 10, 2015 at 5:55 pm

not sure which road you take, but motorcycle roadblocks are quite common actually, especially at cycle lanes (federal always) and tolls.

i’m a motorcyclist without a proper licence (only got car driving licence), and i ride in fear everyday, except during rush hour, peak traffic.

so i assume by rare you mean during the peak traffic hours.

• Please do so quickly to protect the motor rider.
    I work in KL every day…and the way the motor rider behave is suicidal….I believe among them there are some good, well behave rider but the amount of suicidal rider is too high. I. myself ride an Honda E5 for 8 yrs before moving to a car…I never 1. Jump the red light 2. Weaving in and out of traffic lane, 3. Do illegal turn, u turn and whatever u can think off…4. Honk and force car to move a side for me to pass….and lastly not to mention ignoring all other traffic and behaving as if motor rider own the road.

• Think about all the MAT REMPIT….just yesterday a POS LAJU motor die die wanna squeeze past between my car and the other car….his tail box hit the door of my car and the other car, leaving big scratches on both….my heart bleed….

Only motor rider have the right of road?
    Other road user have no right?
    To those rider who behave like thugs…who protect the right of car driver?

We always claim the fault is in the car driver when an accident involve a car + a bike..it this reality? no responsibility on motor rider who think they are super rider in GP riding in a suicidal way?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • Chris (Member) on Jul 10, 2015 at 10:07 am

That’s not going to be much help. I’ve seen 16 year olds who’s more matured than 26 year olds.

I say that our motorcycle licensing law seems ancient, compare to some other countries. Why not have:
    1. Better tiered licensing, like UK’s AM/A1/A2/A license.
    2. Stricter training, harder to get license. Not just spin around in circles.
    3. Strict control over purchasing of motorcycle. I see all these motorcylce ads saying RM1 downpayment, black listed also can loan, no license also can buy, no money just bring friends to buy together and get your bike cheaper etc. Isn’t this a problem as well?

• Namasayarain on Jul 10, 2015 at 10:19 am

Agree..pls raise the min age to 21. Or just stop selling motorcycle with 250cc and below..less flies on the road!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
    • idiot at above on Jul 10, 2015 at 7:41 pm

yeah banned motorcycle, can’t wait to see the traffic in busy city increase by 30% in fortnightly.

• marian on Jul 19, 2015 at 11:30 pm

it is true the teenagers are simply not mature enouugh to cope with skills required to ride motorcycle?
      can someone explain?

• 1 Million No Licence on Jul 10, 2015 at 10:20 am

No need all this age limit. Statistics have shown there are over 1 million no licence drivers and riders. Yes, this is so true. Shocking BUT true. I too could not believe this figure.

But somehow, all the road blocks and catching of drivers and especially motorcycles end up as duit raya for the polis personnel.

Logically speaking, any road block can catch thousands of no licence offenders per day because there is a whopping 1 million over no licence offenders. If everone was given legitimate samans, the Government would be super rich with BIllions.

Unfortunately 9 out of 10 offenders give duit raya or duit kopi to escape. So, the offender goes scot free and repeats the same offence again which is driving or riding without a formal licence which endangers the rakyat.

In Malaysia, Songlap is the cause of all our problems. When Trafik is concerned, Songlap is the MAIN cause of ALL accidents because these riders and drivers have no qualification or experience to use our roads.

Until DBKL, JPJ and Polis Trafik stop this songlap practice, there will be more accidents happening. Remember 1 million no licence drivers and riders!

• vivavi on Jul 10, 2015 at 10:29 am

revise your motorcycle curiculum at jpj school first. then we talk. sikit2 rakyat salah.

• PDRM Bola Tada - Red Light Buat Apa? on Jul 10, 2015 at 10:31 am

Why go after the age issue. Daily hundreds of motorbikes beat the red light, polis takut tak ada bola mau kejar or saman. There can even be 4 or 5 officers manning the junction, they just look at the motorbike beating the lights and smile.

These are worse than age limit. It can result in violent major accidents. But our PDRM Trafik all got no bola. Even the polis standing at trafik light also just keep quiet. Next thing, all the bikes just beat the lights following the first offender who beat the light.

PDRM Trafik, pls lah have bola a bit. In Singapore nobody DARE the beat the lights. Even the motorbike takut to beat the lights.

In Malaysia, daily, thousands of motorcycles beat the lights. We all see it. Everyone of us see it.

• Chris (Member) on Jul 10, 2015 at 1:04 pm

This.

Age really doesn’t matter. Just the other day I’m turning right at a crossroad with traffic light. Green for me obviously, but there’s about a five second gap between me and the car in front. Guess who decide to run a red light between the two cars from the opposite side?

Is it a 19 year old rempit on a two stroke? Nope, and old beat up cub and that uncle looks like he could be 50. Took his sweet time too, I had to do an emergency brake in the middle of the cross road so he could pass. Luckily no cars behind me.

Again. Age does not matter.

• Sorry to blow ur dream bubble but in SG its now legal to cross red lights as long as no cars at the right of way. Some junctions even have boxes after the traffic light for this activity.
      Shocked me too when I first drove in SG that they hon me to jalan.

• Peeved on Jul 10, 2015 at 10:33 am

Super Bikers(more dangerous cos they are damn powerful) and sometimes ordinary bikers – Riding at high speed between cars in a traffic congestion. Traffic is in a crawl and obviously cars changing lanes will be slow. Multiple times I’ve seen super bikers making an emergency brake because they were riding between lanes too fast(at full speed) and that’s not it, they have the audacity to stare or glare at the car drivers for blocking their path.

Motorcyclist riding side by side and talking, road hogging the entire road. Honking them will earn you a middle finger and stares.

Motorcyclist’s kids taking their parents(they need parenting classes) motorbike for a ride. Not wearing helmets. Riding in the middle of the lane slowly. Riding in the opposite direction at high speeds. Cornering dangerously into the main road. Honking them will make them go slower and hog your path even more, and they show you their “I don’t Care” face when you look at them.

Sometimes while driving, I tend to drive closer to the right so to leave a space on my left for motorcyclist to pass (Empathize them riding in the hot sun). What do I get? Honks and stares from motorcyclist riding on the middle of the lane. Do good also is wrong in the eyes of motorcyclist.

Driving in Malaysia and dealing with motorcyclist is bullshit. Earning middle fingers and stares all over the place.

• alldisc on Jul 10, 2015 at 10:35 am

i remember some 20 years ago there was a category known as B3 motorcycle license which allows riders to ride up to 90cc bikes.

i think it is good to bring back this license since we need to understand the kampung community in remote areas whom only a small percentage are capable to buy cars (plus maintaining them).

i suggest limit the bikes the youngsters can ride until they are 21 or have at least 3 years riding experience before allowing upgrade to B2.

the government authorities need to apply the term considerate in whatever decisions they are making.

the same goes to young car drivers 18-20 years of age but already driving a BMW 316i or the 150hp civic 2.0. they are lacking in experience in handling so much power on our jam-packed roads.

• kapcai 100cc rider on Jul 10, 2015 at 3:14 pm

Yes, we can bring back the B3 but it should be updated to today’s standards, there’s none 90cc bike available anymore. Most kapcais are now mininum 100cc to 125cc.

Furthermore, most of us can’t afford cars and have to work after Form 5, so we really need a bike since public transport sucks.

• shaunD on Jul 10, 2015 at 5:45 pm

for a form 5 school leaver who can’t afford a car (yet), your english is pretty good.

• AgeDoesNotMatter on Jul 11, 2015 at 7:36 pm

Age does not matter no matter how powerful the vehicle you drive. It’s the Attitude and Mentality that counts. Experience do help, but I see people who supposed to have experience showing off and end up in shame. Not to show off but I’m 19 and I drive a car above 160HP and ride a 150cc bike but I always learn to be patient no matter how sometimes it can be intimidating to smoke all the vioses, myvis, EX5s who like to show off. It’s hard to control the need for speed in us sometimes but we must not be selfish but learn to think of others as well.

• Peeved on Jul 10, 2015 at 10:36 am

All the neccassary laws and regulations are in place, its the mentality of the motorcyclist which needs changing.

Super Bikers(more dangerous cos they are damn powerful) and sometimes ordinary bikers – Riding at high speed between cars in a traffic congestion. Traffic is in a crawl and obviously cars changing lanes will be slow. Multiple times I’ve seen super bikers making an emergency brake because they were riding between lanes too fast(at full speed) and that’s not it, they have the audacity to stare or glare at the car drivers for blocking their path.

Motorcyclist riding side by side and talking, road hogging the entire road. Honking them will earn you a middle finger and stares.

Motorcyclist’s kids taking their parents(they need parenting classes) motorbike for a ride. Not wearing helmets. Riding in the middle of the lane slowly. Riding in the opposite direction at high speeds. Cornering dangerously into the main road. Honking them will make them go slower and hog your path even more, and they show you their “I don’t Care” face when you look at them.

Sometimes while driving, I tend to drive closer to the right so to leave a space on my left for motorcyclist to pass (Empathize them riding in the hot sun). What do I get? Honks and stares from motorcyclist riding on the middle of the lane. Do good also is wrong in the eyes of motorcyclist.

Driving in Malaysia and dealing with motorcyclist is bullshit. Earning middle fingers and stares all over the place.

• Theven on Jul 10, 2015 at 11:02 am

What you’re saying is probably half true. I’m assuming that you’re a car driver only(plz correct me if I’m wrong). So you’re only seeing your side of story. I have both motorbike and car license as well and and ride both regularly and in much better positioned to explain.

Yes SOME motorcyclists are really rude, even to us fellow motorists. usually when I ride I’ll try not to block the vehicle behind me. As for riding between cars during heavy traffic, that’s the advantage of two wheelers. Car owners usually don’t use their signal lights when turning/changing lane. Even for those who use signal, they will change lane/turn instantly. That is not enough time for motorcyclists to stop. Hence the emergency brakes, which is not safe either since can easily skid and hit another car.

When I’m driving a car I’ll try to give postion to motorcyclists first. Remember no matter which person is at fault, motorcyclists are the one going to get the worst accident.

So instead of trying to blame each other, be patient when driving /riding. Thats my opinion.

• Peeved on Jul 10, 2015 at 2:08 pm

You are right I am not a motorcyclist :P
        Just tone down on the speed I would say. My experiences is, during jams and traffic congestion, just slow down, don’t swerve between cars so fast. I have given way to a motorcyclist to make a turning during a slow crawl, he even waved to me to show his gratitude only to be knocked down by another motorcyclist(riding at full speed between cars) a second later. In another scenario a family with two kids were knocked down in similar fashion. This are unforeseen circumstances but could have been easily avoided if they did not speed between cars, its only logical.

• Peeved on Jul 10, 2015 at 10:40 am

All the necessary laws and regulations are in place, its the mentality of the motorcyclist which needs changing.

• calcutta on Jul 10, 2015 at 10:44 am

highly support this regulation movement
    but i think 21 went a bit too far.18-19 should do the tricks.
    many teenage like me needed the motorcycle badly in university years

• Josh Ling on Jul 10, 2015 at 11:08 am

age is not an issue. proper enforcement is. and build more proper facilities to let these youngsters do something they like, like mini race track or go-kart race track or something, and promote and even give more incentives for people to join this kind of sports or race in this kind of environment.

• Aniki on Jul 10, 2015 at 1:17 pm

no use one, small kids still driving motorcycle around unless they can control the sales of motorcycle and ban entry to city and highway

• ban entry to city and highway? Then where could you ride a bike? Inside your house? lol

• gberd on Jul 10, 2015 at 1:54 pm

it might help ,i get my car license at 17 and motorbike license at 24, normally people who drive car and ride motorbike are better road user, because most of them known how to take care each other. I really sick of those MF who always look down on people who ride motorbike, we ride motorbike because it is the most efficient way to travel in city.Everyday stuck in traffic jam is very stupid.

• I disagree with those who say age is not an issue. It just not a big issue. Can’t you see 40% of the deaths are from 16-25? If they raise it to 21, it would reduce a certain percentage for sure. And I don’t think the mentality of a 16 years old person is mature enough to use a vehicle. Yes, you may see some of them are more matured than adults. But maybe there are just 2 out of 10. Other than that, I think enforcement is a very important role in this. Let’s just forget about those kids that probably under 16 and yet riding a bike around without license and helmet in kampung.

• Yeah if car driver don’t drive over 80 on road and don’t potong each other. You guys can reduce the accidents and deaths.

• Diesel Power!!! on Jul 10, 2015 at 5:51 pm

Truely agreed with the idea.!!And plz educate them more on the road behavior. And make sure the enforcement really works!!!