No controversy over PATRIOT rego plate series – Liow

PATRIOT 1

The controversy over the PATRIOT registration plate series continues. According to news reports, DAP recently lodging a report with the Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission against JPJ and the Transport Ministry over the matter, contending that there were issues in the approval of the plate series in the absence of an open tender process.

Transport Minister Datuk Seri Liow Tiong Lai has however denied that there was abuse of power in him awarding Yayasan Patriot Negara (YPN) the exclusive rights to sell the PATRIOT plate series. The foundation says that the activity is part of its fund-raising drive to promote moderation.

The foundation had bought the rights to it for RM1 million, and is currently in the midst of auctioning off the plate series, which numbers 1 to 9999. It was reported that YPN’s deputy chairman Nadzim Johan had said earlier this week that the foundation could make RM10 million by auctioning off the numbers.

patriot plate july 10

The Road Transport Department (JPJ) had granted the foundation permission to auction the numbers in the series, and Liow said that approval was given after all the necessary procedures set by JPJ was announced.

“I approved the sale of the numbers. The approval was carried out according to the necessary procedure. JPJ has made it clear, and the procedure was announced as well, so I don’t see any wrongdoing in the matter,” he told reporters. “If there is any wrong doing, we welcome an investigation,” he added.

When asked by reporters if anyone can apply for the rights to sell registration number plates, Liow replied by saying that it is possible but certain requirements will have to be fulfilled. “One of them is that the party concerned must have national interest,” he said, without elaborating on the statement.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Failed State Citizen on Jul 10, 2015 at 10:31 am

RM 1.3 million for a plastic number plate?
    U cant be any more stupid than this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 0
    • So cheap for UMNO members on Jul 10, 2015 at 11:04 am

If people can buy Birkin handbags for RM500,000 each and have about 30 Birkin handbags, what is RM1 million for a number plate?

With RM2.6 billion, you can buy so many RM1 million number plates la. 2600 number plates at RM1 million each

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 1
      • Najib on Jul 10, 2015 at 11:37 am

No controversy when 1MDB give me RM700 million. Just like how Proton give Tun M every year

• Mari Mari Songlap on Jul 10, 2015 at 11:17 am

Small change if you kaki Songlap.

One man can songlap 2.6 billion is just one news we know. What about the other times he songlap that we don’t know about? I think it runs to hundreds of billions.

Taib songlap US$20 billion (RM80 billion) also nothing happen to him. Infact he was rewarded for his songlap and made Governor

what about the songlaps by the other Menteri and Government officials?

It all runs to hundreds of billions per annum the Songlap.

This RM1 million is peanuts la. It is small money compared to what is stolen on a daily basis

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
    • Jimmy on Jul 10, 2015 at 12:54 pm

Luxurious goods for rich people, don’t be jealous. Does trading of these nameplates makan our money?

Semua orang yang mahu kuasa akan makan, once his intended price is offered.

2 million out of 40 million, if that’s only, and is not openly done, I think is okay. Definitely tidak boleh 80% dimakan, iaitu 32 million and 20% diguna untuk pembanguan.

Do you know that a 40 million property to be sold can finally be sold at 50 million because of orang tengah?

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jul 25, 2015 at 11:20 am

Maybe they should start auctioning a new no. plates starting with “1MDB ABCD”

I am sure Arul Kanda will be given a special no. free off charge “1MDB 42”

• Bulan Puasa Moderation on Jul 10, 2015 at 10:39 am

What a big joke. Bulan Puasa do something like this to promote moderation. Is this how you promote moderation?

Government has told us to tighten our belts, buy RM1 chicken and tanam jagung and kangkung but here, the Government is encouraging people to spend RM1 million on number plates.

Anyone who works hard for their money, no matter how rich they are, will never spend RM1 million on a number plate even if it was for charity.

Those who get easy money or under the table money would not hesitate to spend RM1 mil on a car, and even another RM1 mil on a mere number plate

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 2
    • Jimmy on Jul 10, 2015 at 12:58 pm

Who said?

Open your eyes.

Do you have rich friends who do proper businesses?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
  • In other words... on Jul 10, 2015 at 11:07 am

“One of them is that the party concerned must have national interest,”

He meant that as long as your CABLE is stronk or you’re a crony, you can also get the right, amirite?

• patriotism on Jul 10, 2015 at 11:42 am

Bodoh totok la kalau sapa beli. Patut buat plate saya sokong PM lagi bagus. Owning it doesn’t make you more patriotic. Give the money to the needy is better la.

• Jimmy on Jul 10, 2015 at 1:00 pm

This is their money, not yours.

How do you know that they didn’t do charity nor donate; btw, many of them donated money more than your whole-life salary.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
  • Let’s get all paultan.org readers and submit application for KANGKUNG series of number plates, for national interest. Proceeds will be used to buy kangkung for every Malaysian and ministers.

KANGKUNG 4444 we give free to the PM.

• Purchase the right @ RM 1M …can generate RM 10M. Really something very wrong here!!!

• C.P. MOHAN on Jul 10, 2015 at 1:06 pm

Patroism reflected in number plate is the same when someone buy titles to reflect, I presume, success. So a person who has a title and a patriot number plate is WHAT!.

• Jimmy on Jul 10, 2015 at 1:06 pm

Why do we create first class flight seats?
    Why do people spend > one Mercedes on travelling every year?

It is not your money. And selling number plates is not eating your money.

Why do you want to interfere with other people’s friendships or relationships if that particular case is not eating your money? You are jealous, you did not get the cakes.

• potato on Jul 11, 2015 at 9:30 pm

the issue comes where it’s obvious JPJ can make much more money selling the plates themselves which in turn money back to the government & used on the country, instead of selling it for 10% of the potential return to a foundation who bears “National Interest”.

Easy rm10million for this Yayasan just for “reselling” Patriot series license plate. And rm10mil loss for Malaysia & it’s people.

• up to the person okay…as long as not using your money or your hard earn money (tax).

how your tax money is being songlap or misused in other way is more of a concern. those does not pay tax of course no concern.

• the issue comes where it’s obvious JPJ CAN MAKE MUCH MORE MONEY BY SELLING THE PLATES THEMSELVES which in turn money BACK TO THE GOVERNMENT & USED ON THE COUNTRY, instead of selling it for 10% of the potential return to a foundation who bears “National Interest”.

Easy rm10million for this Yayasan just for “reselling” Patriot series license plate. And rm10mil loss for Malaysia & it’s people.
      CnP: please read.

• josep on Jul 10, 2015 at 3:35 pm

This is the best number plate so far compare previous other special number.. Dont angry if other people willing to pay for this plate.. they dont force u to buy.

• money minded on Jul 10, 2015 at 5:49 pm

Yayasan Patriot Negara will be 10 million richer. You better pray they dont misuse the money!