Rate of road accidents in Sarawak still high – report

Crash accident collision

Although the national rate of road accidents has dropped, the rate in Sarawak has not. Sarawak Road Safety Department director Davina Agnes Enteli said the state continues to record an average of one or two fatalities every day, which is not a good record to have, Bernama reports.

“It is best if we can have zero fatality instead of seeing one or two fatalities every day,” she told reporters at a road safety campaign event in Kuching.

She however said it was hard to achieve a zero fatality rate because some road users do not comply with the law.”Therefore, it is important to occasionally hold road safety campaigns to create public awareness about road safety,” she said. The campaign, which will run for the next two weeks, is a yearly programme.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• naChe on Jul 10, 2015 at 2:19 pm

Road condition need to be improved

• Why Sabah Sarawak Roads are Bad on Jul 10, 2015 at 3:59 pm

Malaysia is a super rich country to begin with. In the world, Malaysia is the most resource rich country in the entire world. We have everything, oil, gas, tin, iron, gold, palm, kuprum, coconut, nenas and even some very rare materials that are super high in price.

In all honesty, most of these riches come from Sabah and Sarawak. Unfortunately, Federal Government SONGLAP and leave Sabah and Sarawak with peanuts. Go to Sabah and Sarawak, you will see KL in the 60s. So run down with bad roads. And these roads are the sole and main cause of ALL accidents.

One man can songlap 2.6 billion is just one news we know. What about the other times he songlap that we don’t know about? I think it runs to hundreds of billions.

Taib songlap US$20 billion (RM80 billion) also nothing happen to him. Infact he was rewarded for his songlap and made Governor

what about the songlaps by the other Menteri and Government officials?

It all runs to hundreds of billions per annum the Songlap.

Everything Federal Government and KL cronies sapu from Sabah and Sarawak. And yet the people of Sabah and Sarawak still vote BN

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
  • Sarawakian on Jul 10, 2015 at 2:38 pm

Lousy road conditions even in City center. Enough said

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • Yaa…all is Toyota owner

• Same L0rrrr on Jul 10, 2015 at 5:58 pm

Try Proton cars and see… All KL garages going to open branches there…

• Not Same L0rr on Jul 11, 2015 at 12:41 am

Hilux contribute most of the accident here in Sarawak’s so called highway.

• RavenAii (Member) on Jul 11, 2015 at 11:42 pm

Hilux and Avanza are some of the vehicles that tends to tipped over near junction, bumpy roads or even a small road curve. I’ve seen dozens of Hilux and Avanza rolled over on the so called highway. One Hilux even tipped over when the driver wants to u-turn at the traffic light near my house. But then again people still buy them because they’re cheap to run and maintain.

• driver on Jul 10, 2015 at 2:57 pm

campaign forever… really effective huh?

• AutoZen111 (Member) on Jul 10, 2015 at 3:00 pm

Lousy road conditions may be the main culprit but a lousy driving culture in Sarawak is also to blame for mishaps.

Just the other day a kiasu driver from opposing traffic swerved into a yellow box in front of me. I slammed on the brakes to avoid hitting him. The lady behind me rear ended me as she did not maintain a safe distance behind me.

And this was at a speed of 30km/h. Imagine if the speed was double or triple. It would have been a lot worse than a dented bumper. Lives could have been lost.

When the driving culture changes, so will the statistics. Are Malaysians capable of positive change?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
    • Jabit on Jul 10, 2015 at 3:48 pm

I concur with you AutoZen111 on the lousy driver in Sarawak.

I was based in Sarawak for two years (2-3 years back) and the driving experience there is totally awful. No signalling, driving too slow, parking recklessly, and the best is reversing at the roundabout if they miss the exit (and surprisingly no one honked, just wait for the @xxhole to reverse and go).

I even witnessed at an empty roundabout a car goes around and skid into the drain. And the driver was not even drunk @ palau.

What I can say is if given the chance to drive in Sarawak again, I would prefer to cycle.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
    • Obviously (Member) on Jul 10, 2015 at 3:53 pm

Well said. With good driving practices, the influence of environmental factors ,such as bad roads, can be mitigated. Bad driving practices will cause accidents even when roads are perfect. Reckless drivers, don’t shift the blame onto the road and the govt for something you can make a difference in yourself.

• Dey knew road like shit yet wanna fast & furious blindly and act like Penang kiasu.
      Then when accident blame Gov/ BN/ Taib/ Adenan/ Najib/ Rosmah/ UMNO.
      The real topkek.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
    • Josh Ling on Jul 10, 2015 at 5:56 pm

not all lousy drivers in sarawak are sarawakians, mind you. and many accidents are indeed caused by either poor road surface or design or signage.

• These vip convoys are a pain as well, the other day they suddenly stopped traffic at a high speed roundabout and it almost caused a few accidents, these cronies are not responsible.

• Its not just road conditions but poor enforcement of road rules. I just witnessed a police allowing a car to run a redlight right infront of him. The policeman only stared at the driver and drove off

• Sibu drivers are d worst d the whole sarawak.

Apek bayat

Come from koboi city some more

• Not Same L0rr on Jul 11, 2015 at 12:42 am

Really agree. Most of the cars with Sibu or Sarikei registration plate are reckless drivers.

• superbird #43 on Jul 11, 2015 at 3:13 am

in sibu, we ran over the brainless motorbikers or boy racers with lorries, semi-trailers or 4wds.
      i saw it happened all the time.
      given their attitudes otr, we just dont care.

• Sharon on Jul 11, 2015 at 7:38 am

First, because of very bad road condition. Holes here and there. Rough surface and bouncy road every where. Government please allocate more money for Sarawak!!

Second, driver’s attitudes. Not rational, reckless and un-moral. Come visit Kuching. Please install lots of AES!!!!

Thank you very much.

• heyyo on Jul 11, 2015 at 11:35 am

Already lots of AES in Kuching la. While driving, look up.

• Sharon on Jul 12, 2015 at 5:39 pm

Those are not AES.

• heyyo on Jul 15, 2015 at 1:00 pm

What does AES do? Snap a picture of you when you’re doing illegal traffic movements.

It may not look like the AES that they have in Peninsular, but it serves the same purpose.

Some people already got their summon tickets from that tall camera.

You want AES to capture those who are speeding? Have you seen people speed in Kuching up to 120km/h? Where to speed like that?

• jinggu mao on Jul 11, 2015 at 10:18 am

The Sarawakian must have eaten a lot of nasi lemak…..and come drowsy….and KABOOM!!

• heyyo on Jul 11, 2015 at 11:32 am

If you think about it, the size of Sarawak is slightly larger than Peninsular Msia. It’s unfair to compare Sarawak to other states.

I’m from Kuching & has been working in the Peninsular for 3 years. During the time here, the driving culture is far more dangerous than that in Kuching. In Pantai Timur, even in kampung area the locals would speed 80 km/h. If kids suddenly get onto the road, for sure the kid will be flying.

First week working in Kedah, already got fatal accident in front of my office.

KL is even worse. I don’t think I need to explain. You all know.

In Kuching (I can’t speak for other places in Sarawak), I’ve never encountered as much accident in my 20+ years living there, compared to what I’ve saw in my 3 years in Peninsular.

In Kuching, people drive much more slow, rarely we go near the national speed limit. Normal is about 60-80 km/h. When you exit Kuching airport, even with 3 lanes road, people drive around 70 km/h. So, major accidents are quite rare.

They are people who speed though, but usually the plate number will be from the Peninsular, only sometimes have Kuching plate number.

In Peninsular, when people want to merge into the main road, they just merge without considering how near the oncoming car is. You (in the main road), actually has to slow down. In Kuching, priority is given to vehicles on the main road. Those who want to enter, has to stop first & look for opening.

I’ve been cursing a lot in my car while driving in Peninsular, compared to in Kuching. It’s stressing to drive here in Peninsular, especially when you’re new to the area, and you’re driving slowly searching for some shops, for sure there’s a car behind you that will keep ‘cucuk’ your car.

Just my 2 cents.

• RavenAii (Member) on Jul 11, 2015 at 11:50 pm

I can agree with that. In my opinion drivers in Kuching are way polite than others. Wait till you see some of the drivers from Sibu or Bintulu. You’ll sure think twice to drive here.

• white lily on Jul 22, 2017 at 1:20 am

I cannot understand. In Malaysia, statistical informtion is unavailable on road accident either from the local council or Road safety Dept. What happened ? As a researcher, I tried getting information on this and was asked to refer to Police Department? How can the Road safety Dept monitor road safety without up dated statistical information and based on 3rd party? Has any one notice the same old method in Road Safety campaign? NO one has yet to tell the Road Safety and local council to work hand in hand in junction or intersection improvement, slow speed and huge fines in hospital area, schools, parks, and residential… no wonder people are injuring themselves and dying every week from accidents.