SPYSHOTS: 2016 Toyota Fortuner caught on trailer

fortuner-spy-0004

It appears that the upcoming 2016 Toyota Fortuner will finally be unveiled very soon indeed – the second-generation Hilux-based SUV has been caught on a trailer in these photos from a Thailand Toyota Fortuner Facebook group, wrapped up like a present waiting to be opened; invitations to the unveiling shared with the group have also intimated a July 17 launch date, just a week away!

We already know what the futuristic new Fortuner will look like, thanks to some leaked photos that have surfaced on the Internet earlier this year, but the exposed wheels do give further credence to those earlier pictures, even though not much else can be discerned from these shots.

You can expect it to share the same range of new engines that are offered on the new Hilux. On the diesel front, the 177 hp/450 Nm 2.8 litre 1GD-FTV and 150 hp/400 Nm 2.4 litre 2GD-FTV from the GD family should take over from the current 2.5 and 3.0 litre options. The 2.7 litre petrol engine, meanwhile, will be a newer 166 hp/245 Nm Dual VVT-i unit.

fortuner-spy-0003

Gone, too, will be the four-speed automatic transmission, replaced by a brand new six-speed auto’box. A six-speed manual option (iMT6 with rev-match function, no less) should be available as well, but don’t count on it being offered here in Malaysia.

Inside, the next-gen Fortuner is expected to mirror the new Hilux rather closely, with a much more car-like dashboard and interior amenities thrown in. The pick-up truck already boasts much improved interior space and refinement, which will be put to good use by its passenger-oriented SUV cousin.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• alldisc on Jul 10, 2015 at 10:26 am

good advancement steps made on technical aspects – hope the same will happen on the safety department or else bashers will continue to call Toyota “the moving coffin”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
    • Keranda Bergerak for Government on Jul 10, 2015 at 11:23 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 125
      • Boleh! on Jul 10, 2015 at 12:48 pm

Picanto safer than a Camry ? really ar? Hahahahahaha!
        Direct head on collision see who wins…?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 12
  • Head Hunter on Jul 10, 2015 at 1:19 pm

Excited about this model, next one Pajero Sport.

• 4 wheel disc on Jul 10, 2015 at 1:45 pm

I thought the new Fortuner will have rear disc brakes? In this photo I dont see any. I hope I am wrong.

• Carboy on Jul 11, 2015 at 11:15 am

Yeah I think so there is rear disc brakes. Toyota Fortuner is notorious for never having rear disc brakes, despite its competitors already having them.

• Jonas on Jul 17, 2015 at 11:51 am

Yes rear disc brakes! Finally Toyota is taking the Fortuner seriously. Maybe because it is going to be sold in Australia? If not for Australia, then they will still put drum brakes and I will burn Toyota dealers down and massacre the CEO

• Blegh on Jul 10, 2015 at 1:55 pm

Hope it takes after the new Harrier in the styling department. Sick of all the new hailat-looking Toyotas with their fugly/angry lines and TRD bodykits.

• Yeah keep it covered and straight to nearby dumpsite/ landfill and bury it tq

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jul 10, 2015 at 5:50 pm

PLease head to Kia or Hyundai showrooms instead.

Need more sorhai tai lan ngongs to buy kimchis

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 9
  • Nathan Ferdinand on Jul 11, 2015 at 6:04 am

I got some info from UMW internals when I serviced my grandma’s Unser for Raya:
    1. We got new engines & new transmission
    2. Trust me, designs really borrowed from Harrier
    3. Interior a bit different from Hilux; no wood on it, instead they use leathers
    4. Standards in range-topper: TCS, HAC, HDC, 7 airbags, electric seats
    5. LED projector headlamp, LED DRL, ABS, EBD, BA, 5 airbags, VSC is standard across the range

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
    • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jul 11, 2015 at 7:24 am

Exactly. Since it is such an old design, head to the nearest KIA or Hyundai showroom and get yourself a K5, Sonata or Elantra.

I need more and more sorhai tai lan ngongs to prime the used kimchi market for 12 month old models

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5