Volkswagen Golf race car concept debuts with 330 hp

It looks absolutely mean, and yet totally breathtaking. This is the Volkswagen Golf race car concept – part of VW Motorsport’s “evaluation of a potential customer racing programme.”

An aggressive front splitter and larger air intakes dominate the front end, while the side skirts are noticably different too, with extended wheel arches. A carbon-fibre rear wing, rear diffuser, dual exhaust system and 18-inch racing wheels complete the package.

The interior has been stripped of all non-essential equipment, leaving a racing seat, roll cage and an Alcantara-wrapped steering wheel as the main interior highlights.

Powered by a turbocharged 2.0 litre four-cylinder engine that develops 330 hp and 410 Nm of torque (upturned from the Golf R), it should be absolutely manic when paid to a six-speed DSG transmission with steering wheel-mounted paddle shifters.

Volkswagen Motorsport Director Jost Capito elaborated that the TCR category provides a promising platform for customer racing, on a national and international level that has exciting races, production-based technology and reasonable costs, thereby offering a new outlook for private racing teams.”

Anil Prabha

Anil Prabha has always been a petrol head. He also has a strange knack for remembering car models and their respective registration plates. Naturally aspirated engines are always better than turbocharged or supercharged ones, in his opinion. Ultimately, he believes that there is nothing better in life than just going for a drive.

• DSG Sure Rosak on Jul 10, 2015 at 11:02 am

330 bhp is nothing when you have to wait for the tow truck to pick you up when the DSG fails. Yes, this car good only for cold countries, in Malaysia, the DSG is confirmed by VW AG to fail in our heat and jams.

Most VW drivers have sat with the tow truck driver in their tow truck listening to Chinese music and drinking the Tarik.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
    • FlamingFox88 on Jul 10, 2015 at 11:26 am

I’m a little confused now, are all DSGs problematic or only the dry clutch ones?

• nope. my Polo DSG still running strong after almost 3 years. no problem at all. probably this fella is toyota salesman or just cant afford to buy VW.

• Corrected on Jul 10, 2015 at 2:51 pm

it depends, not all DSG are problematic but if you’re unlucky, all DSG are problematic. mostly all of them are unlucky i would say.

• Allroadquattro on Jul 10, 2015 at 4:20 pm

check the gear ratios. 7-speed DSG will surely fail. but 6-speeder won’t break down. so no worries if you want to buy Beetle 2.0 TSI, Golf GTI/R, CC, Scirocco R, Sharan, Tiguan, Touareg.

• Essan on Jul 13, 2015 at 11:47 am

walau! lucky my Jetta is not fail yet as what you commented! Correct me if I am wrong, my Jetta is 7-speed DSG right? Anyway I got my Jetta at early last year, 2014. So far I never encounter any breakdown – someone told beware of 30,000KM, then 60,000KM the 90,000KM and so on for sure it will break down! I pass through 30,000KM already, now going to 60,000KM. but no break down still :)
          well, DSG break down had been solved by VGM, they had changed to mineral oil plus some setting for the car. DSG is no longer occur la!

• Allroadquattro on Jul 10, 2015 at 3:55 pm

your sarcasm is stale. pls try harder next time.

• juha bach on Jul 11, 2015 at 9:44 am

yeah, DSG is terrible technology.. why dont they put EX-5 ‘box which smoother and quicker..?

• positive on Jul 13, 2015 at 11:55 am

You are totally wrong la! DUDE!
      VW had admit they are using the wrong synthetic oil for their car. VW start recalling all car that installed with synthetic oil to replace with mineral oil for the gearbox! compare those cold country and our hot country, synthetic oil wouldn’t heat up so easily. But after recall, I seldom heard about DSG issued, even I myself is driving a POLO 1.2 Tsi for almost 2 year my car also got no problem. I yet to have chance to sit with the tow truck driver in their tow truck listening to Chinese music and drinking the Tarik. :)
      Bro, dun curse me like that! It is bad!

• gaviny on Jul 10, 2015 at 11:10 am

Breathtaking ?

seriously guys, are you really that fascinated with Volkswagen?

• positive on Jul 13, 2015 at 11:57 am

Just imaging, you drive a 1.2 engine and it is faster than 1.6L engine car anytime! That the feeling I enjoy with my POLO. Anyway I am really fascinated with VW performance.

• gaviny on Jul 10, 2015 at 11:10 am

breathtaking ?

• Das Autar on Jul 10, 2015 at 4:54 pm

Yeah, you’re right! Totally breathtaking when you visit their Service Center! Always took your breath away. Better saves some breath, can live longer.

• vincent on Jul 13, 2015 at 12:02 pm

Das Autar.. have you visit service centre which have take away your breath? and which servicce centre you visit?
      anyway visited VW service centre since day one until now for almost 3 year. WHat I can see, is the effort these people make. From bad to good, from good to excellent.
      Somehow I have no complain VW service centre now!