2016 Toyota Fortuner – first exterior and interior pics

2016-Toyota-Fortuner-1

The 2016 Toyota Fortuner will be unveiled really soon – July 17, to be exact. But, here it is in full ahead of its planned debut, thanks to a few leaked shots of the new seven-seat SUV’s brochure.

On the outside, these photos just confirm what we’ve already known since March this year: that the Fortuner is going all futuristic this time around. It gets slim head- and taillights, a ‘floating roof’ effect thanks to blacked-out pillars and prominent kick-up rear haunches to make it really stand out.

What is surprising is the interior, fully revealed in these shots. It adopts a completely different dashboard from that of the new Hilux, on which it is based. From the looks of it, it’s a much more premium and upscale affair, lifting it a few rungs ahead of its pick-up cousin. Should finally do the SUV’s more premium price justice, then.

You can expect it to share the same range of engines that are offered on the new Hilux. On the diesel front, the 177 hp/450 Nm 2.8 litre 1GD-FTV and 150 hp/400 Nm 2.4 litre 2GD-FTV from the GD family should take over from the current 2.5 and 3.0 litre options. The 2.7 litre petrol engine, meanwhile, will be a newer 166 hp/245 Nm Dual VVT-i unit.

So, do you think it will be a match for the new Ford Everest?

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Same L0rrrr on Jul 11, 2015 at 11:40 am

I will buy another Lexus next month. Now i have 3 Lexus at home. I will also replace my son saga to Fortuner. I work hard and i can make RM 6k salary per month. Dont be lazy, work hard like me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 151
    • Work hard only get 6K already can lecture others here? LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 42
      • Jimmy on Jul 11, 2015 at 10:18 pm

1. Elizabeth Tan is cantiq.
        2. Tunnel vision.
        3. Long time didn’t see the name Sam Loo. Where is he?
        4. SL0 is a female earning RM6K, his husband is earning 15 times higher, or the other way round.
        5. Or, old second hand Lexus collected over years, traded in at low prices. Salesperson have a lot of this kind of opportunity.
        5. Or, possessed a lot of side incomes, ‘work hard’ for a person can mean have to work 3 hours a day. It is relative. You may think working 3 hours a day is very easy, but to him is hard work. Think of a 75 year-old apek, for instance.
        6. Statistics of UMW sales in EM vs WM, I guess it is 75% vs 25% (or the proportion vs the population); sorry, it is because of the X that you wrote that led me to make such a guess about Infinitee Qx.
        7. 2 + 0 = 198 888 .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
      • Same L0rrrr on Jul 12, 2015 at 4:53 pm

I have 3 Lexus.

1.) First is 1990 Lexus LS400 which I bought for 25k last year. This one is parked at home because I cannot afford to pay road tax ( RM6600 per year) and petrol for this fuel guzzler.

2.) Second is 1998 toyota harrier 3.0 converted to Lexus RX300. I bought it for 32k 2 years ago. Now auto gearbox condemn d. Need to replace at a cost of 23k. So it is parking outside my cheras flat.

3.) Last one is my daily car. A 2nd hand 2003 vios I bought for 21k last month. It comes with White LED Lexus Emblem and TRD bodykit. This is one heck of a car. Sips fuel like motor but powerful like ferrari.

Who says earn 6k cannot own 3 lexus?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 8
        • Seriously dude…. You have money management issues…
          This is the first time I see a person who bought a car and when car condemn, he cannot afford to fix it, so instead, he go buy another car…. And still condemn, cannot afford to fix it… Then finally buy a dugong car…
          You don’t pay your car installment is it? Hahaha

• Rangers on Jul 11, 2015 at 12:47 pm

RM6K per month and 3 lexus? you paying 3 generations loan?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 8
    • That guy on Jul 11, 2015 at 1:53 pm

6k per month with 3 lexuses is just such a BS of the century

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 5
    • HRV Better on Jul 11, 2015 at 1:59 pm

No showroom customer on Saturday. So free?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
    • Rambo on Jul 11, 2015 at 2:11 pm

Setakat gaji 6k mau action ka? Dont talk cock here lah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
    • Nenek Kau on Jul 11, 2015 at 2:41 pm

I wonder how much is your salary now if you are not working hard enough to pay all your cars loan.

• 6k per month can buy 3 Lexus? Lexus toy car? wish u r right

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
    • karam singh on Jul 11, 2015 at 2:47 pm

Yet, another Fortuner with rubbish underpowered engine…
      Go for turbo petrol laaa Toyota… less cc,bigger power
      2.7l only making 166hp while 2.5 only making 150hp?
      then speedcut 160kmh only …
      Kia 2.0 already making 155-160hp… shame on the Japan’s name.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 18
      • show me Ford Everest figure.

• tiffany on Jul 11, 2015 at 5:05 pm

karam singh the joker here.

most people dont want a petrol engine on such Bossy car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
        • karam singh on Jul 12, 2015 at 3:29 am

So , Bossy car love diesel engine rattling ?
          Go for direct injected turbocharged petrol,
          more torque,power and yet efficient.
          166hp 245Nm 2.7l engine , thats 61hp/l
          why not putting the new Lexus Engine,
          the 2.0l 245hp 250Nm. The Fuel Consumption about the same.
          Roadtax only RM380 per year,rather than 2.7l RM1380 per year.

Diesel engine is that good for this car, but our Malaysian’s diesel quality still not that good.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
          • why bully a girl.

Her definition of Bossy car = OFFRoad Capbility SUV.

not like any other Tarmac SUV.

• karam singh on Jul 12, 2015 at 6:15 pm

But hardly see Fortuner offroading,
            Land cruiser, yes.
            Hilux, yes.
            But mostly sold Fortuner here are the 2.7l version, including the JPJ’s.

• Pakcik Ishak on Jul 12, 2015 at 8:31 pm

Greetings from Pakcik. I work in Thailand.
            Fortuner couldn’t fit a 8AR-FTS as you expect like on Lexus NX200t. It designed for FWD purpose.
            As an alternative, you can do some upgrades on ECU. Thailand already got Diesel Monster ECU kit for 1GD & 2GD engine, on sale for RM5000. You can easily get 245 hp & 550 Nm.

• is200t on Jul 12, 2015 at 8:51 pm

actually the engine already announced for IS 200t in rear wheel drive

• Sam "Hailat" Loo on Jul 11, 2015 at 2:58 pm

Can I be your god-son…? Then you can buy a Lexus RX for me…

Deal…?

• Concerned citizen on Jul 11, 2015 at 4:13 pm

6k salary can buy lexus ah?

• Lol…I take home more than 6k/month but only effort Lexus biscuit!! The 3 Lexus you owned must be Takara Tomy model toys

• Jonn Dol on Jul 12, 2015 at 1:16 am

These type of vehicles (SUV, Pick Ups) belong to the jungles, hills and treacherous roads.

• susan nacua on Jul 13, 2015 at 10:25 am

Change your LEXUS buy Mercedes Benz from Germany

• TrollsFan on Nov 07, 2015 at 1:24 am

wah so clever lah .. start a trolling topic..
      and now lots of monkeys poking each other.. ahaha

• bunny on Jul 11, 2015 at 11:50 am

<3 it!!!!! Wonder how it fares to the pajero sport though. 10/10 would buy this over Mu-X

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 7
  • Ongtk on Jul 11, 2015 at 12:04 pm

Wow, looks good. Hope it’s price right too. Just checked out the latest Harrier SUV and in my personal opinion, this looks better.

• Michael on Jul 11, 2015 at 12:07 pm

It’s a boat on wheels

• seancorr (Member) on Jul 11, 2015 at 12:12 pm

It’s good as crap if it didn’t come with VSC nor the proper airbags

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
  • Maybe they’ll finally add side airbags and VSC as standard?

Oh wait, this is UMW. We’ll get lucky if the lower variants even come with seatbelts.

• shawal on Jul 11, 2015 at 12:25 pm

It depends on the spec sheet really , of course UMW will manage to shift few units through government procurement , but the public should know better….

SDAC has a knack of speccing their cars well to gain sales , hopefully its the same case with the everest…

ya’ll must do a new driven shootout ,and then compare the ride quality with a used toyota harrier (the previous gen) , and your own santa fe for comparison…shubbe very interesting

• greytiger on Jul 11, 2015 at 12:29 pm

At least this one doesn’t has the Hi-Lux’s front

• applegreen on Jul 11, 2015 at 12:30 pm

later on paultan can make new video; fortuner vs everest

• Jaguar on Jul 11, 2015 at 1:29 pm

RM6k salary per month can buy Lexus. That’s wonderful.

• Look-wise.. Exterior and interior are far ahead of current fortuner and definitely much better looking.
    One word of advise though to UMW – please don’t skimp on the safety features. That’s the reason why we see less and less Toyota on the road today

• 6k salary can afford 3 lexus? Something is not right… Anti rasuah,pls check on his account!!!

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jul 11, 2015 at 2:03 pm

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 8
  • cendol (Member) on Jul 11, 2015 at 2:22 pm

Toyota Fortuner is a glorified Hilux with back cover but with expensive price tag.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 18
  • huehuehue on Jul 11, 2015 at 2:25 pm

2 airbags and no vsc..

• Josh Ling on Jul 11, 2015 at 2:38 pm

just find it rather amusing the site that put this pics online is called “allnewPAJEROclub.com”.

• notobn on Jul 11, 2015 at 3:04 pm

Sam Lorr, how can you afford 3 Lexuses when your salary is just rm6K (is it rm60k)??? I earn 7k/month but can’t even afford a Lexus ?

• BOYRACER on Jul 11, 2015 at 6:03 pm

I think he eat roti canai everyday.And maybe his Lexus are used not brand new ones.Or maybe he only got 3 Vios and replace the Toyota badges with Lexus badges.

• SamLoo workmate on Jul 11, 2015 at 9:00 pm

Talk cock lah, I left the branch and Sam cock used to be my senior, I work so hard like shit and as a sales man, we are lucky to get more than average of RM6k per month. He does nothing better than me last time.

• #mindyourmanners on Jul 12, 2015 at 9:40 am

Most likely he BS and own a Toyata KE 30 with a rebadge Lexus badge and suspected he is on drug ‘ Halucination Drug’.Use your brain before you pen down.RM6k and glorify it and huge ego.To me you are like a dog barking the hill.Cheap publicity here is a no-no.

• Mind reader on Jul 11, 2015 at 3:26 pm

Looks like new, but underneath the car, everything is old technology….Low class safety feature, minimum accessories.

Nobody is gonna touch this car.

Sam Lorrr is just drumming up the sales figure of toyota, etc…..but actually his sales is near zero.
    Poor Sam, he is now behaving like a cornered animal…desperate to do anything…

karma i guess…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
    • every single new Toyota = reliable.
      and people who butthurt = say it is old.

because, we know that.
      every single new engine by other carmakers.
      are not proven… must wait and see whether if it is reliable.

• Wake up Muya on Jul 12, 2015 at 10:28 am

Every single new Toyota is reliable = delusional, what year you’re living in?
        Every single one who butthurt said its old = are people who is probably really richer and prefer buying “real” luxurious cars and doesn’t even bother about RV, or maintenance cost.

• Hahaha on Jul 11, 2015 at 3:45 pm

Hyundai santa fe 2.2 crdi anytime.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
    • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jul 12, 2015 at 6:29 pm

pls head to the nearest sd showroom and book a Sante fe immediately

• meanwhile.
    Ford Everest and Ford Ranger got the same face.
    Isuzu Dmax and MuX got the same face.

Toyota Fortuner and Mitsubishi Pajero Sport.
    Made it different compared to Hilux and Triton.

• Blegh on Jul 11, 2015 at 5:46 pm

Looks okay; not as hailat-looking as the current one. Then again, haven’t seen the body kits yet. I’d never buy one, of course. Just sick of having to look at fugly Toyotas bought by people who only buy them because Toyota = God car.

• geforce1982 on Jul 11, 2015 at 6:30 pm

New Toyota Fortuner spyshot

http://s85.photobucket.com/user/chan1982/library/New%20Toyota%20Fortuner

• geforce1982 on Jul 11, 2015 at 6:34 pm

New Toyota Fortuner

http://i85.photobucket.com/albums/k78/chan1982/New%20Toyota%20Fortuner/620x0_0_2015071108251307267.jpg

http://i85.photobucket.com/albums/k78/chan1982/New%20Toyota%20Fortuner/620x0_0_2015071108251015299.jpg

http://i85.photobucket.com/albums/k78/chan1982/New%20Toyota%20Fortuner/620x0_0_2015071108251165067.jpg

• Joejambol on Jul 11, 2015 at 6:58 pm

Thanks for the photos.rear n side view is acceptable. Front design…hmm need time to accept

• Jonn Dol on Jul 12, 2015 at 1:18 am

These type of vehicles (SUV, Pick Ups) belong to the jungles, hills and treacherous roads.

• Same L0rrrr on Jul 11, 2015 at 6:42 pm

Yes, 6k. I receive my salary in USD. Will consider Fortuner for my son when it comes out.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 12
    • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jul 11, 2015 at 8:36 pm

Stay away from T&H

Buy K5, Sonata or Elantra

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
    • Usd6k is still not enough for 3 lexus. Gbp6k, maybe.

• Same L0rrrr on Jul 12, 2015 at 6:38 pm

USD6k is enough because I live in cheras flat.

• Now I read back I finally can confirm that this Sam Loo guy is a fraud…. If you look back his first post, he obviously stated his salary of 6K is in RM.. Now here he say USD. I have no idea which world he is living in

• Oh…… No wonder la.. You can only afford Lexus.. Not Mercs, Audi, Porsche etc~

Same Lorr, you think people here earn lesser than you har? Haha

• Audi starting price below RM200k
        BMW starting price below RM200k.
        BEnz starting price RM200k.
        Porsche starting price RM4xx.

a LEXUS RX is RM400k easily.
        the highest amount of Lexus found on the road = Lexus RX.

• You take Audi A series compare with Lexus RX, you mad?
          Compare Apple to apple la
          Why not compare with Audi Q7, BMW X5, Merc M class etc???
          Unless you say buy Lexus LFA, then different story la

• the fact that many buy LEXUS RX RM400k is fantastic.

• das auto on Jul 12, 2015 at 10:56 pm

Nonsense. Lexus CT and IS are 200k range

• ben yap on Jul 11, 2015 at 8:50 pm

as long as it is a toyota, it’ll beat Ford or any other brand especially malaysians are sucker for the day-light robbery brand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
  • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jul 12, 2015 at 9:02 am

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV

If its not a K5, Sonata or Elantra, start writing a will

• I have nothing against Toyota..they produced good, reliable but not necessarily affordable cars for many years..but they are sure lacking in design department. Look at this latest Fortunar…looks like old SSyangYong.

• syafiq on Jul 14, 2015 at 12:15 pm

hahahahaah. i earn more than rm150k a month still cant afford to spend my money for rubbish…that not worth for my hard earn money as drilling engineer. i prefer invest my cash buy shop lot and land.

i still driving my 19 years mitsubishi pajero.

same lorr please dont show us that u are s2pid. we r not interested.