VIDEO: Proton Iriz product film takes us on a ride

Your life is packed with activities. Proton Iriz is designed to fit beautifully around it. Don’t settle when you can have it all with Proton IRIZ! Visit the nearest Proton showroom to test drive one today.

Posted by Proton Holdings Berhad on Sunday, July 12, 2015

Proton has posted a new product video about its latest car, the Proton Iriz, on its Facebook page, highlighting the new B-segment hatchback and its various features and equipment.

As we’ve pointed out in the past, the Iriz is very well-equipped – at least in its highest 1.6 Premium spec – in terms of convenience (auto headlights, LED daytime running lights, keyless entry, push button start), entertainment (6.2-inch touchscreen Android-based infotainment system) and safety (six airbags, standard-fit stability control), all of which the film showcases to full effect.

Proton is currently on a bit of a rise right now – it clawed its way back into second spot in the sales charts in May this year after slipping to fourth place in April. It sold 8,285 units, a 66.7% increase compared to the previous month; while it’s unsure how much of that can be attributed to the Iriz, it probably accounts for quite a bit – we’ve seen quite a number of them on the road in recent months.

So, dear readers, what do you think of this new video, and has the Proton Iriz met your expectations of a Perodua Myvi fighter so far?

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• wiizau on Jul 13, 2015 at 2:00 pm

this is way better ads than the suprima..spot on

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 3
    • Iriz better than myvi in so many ways

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 16
      • Same L0rrrr on Jul 13, 2015 at 6:02 pm

Yea, they used to say the same on Proton Savvy 10 years ago compared to Myvi. Good luck for the Iriz owner.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 62
        • karam singh on Jul 13, 2015 at 9:20 pm

yeah, Iriz handles better also more safer than Myvi.
          Its sound system way way way better that Myvi.
          Myvi only win on the technical department.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 29
      • global on Jul 13, 2015 at 6:09 pm

How to be global when you always compare only with Myvi?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 6
      • player on Jul 13, 2015 at 6:19 pm

How to be global when you always only compare with Myvi?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
    • Spot on… Proton has taken Malaysians for a ride for 30 years

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 10
    • Kroni Kroni Dr M on Jul 13, 2015 at 5:07 pm

You see Proton is actually a good concept. But when Mahathir created Proton, he made sure every single part of the Proton car is supplied by his crony buddies. Now Suzuki will be the same.

And these crony buddies overcharge Proton by ten times whilst giving poor and inferior parts. That is why your Proton always falls apart and everybody blames quality control. That is the reason also why Proton makes only RM500 per car that they sell. It is solely because of the crony vendors who are overcharging Proton. For example, per car Mat is sold to Proton for RM100 whilst you can buy the same car mat from brothers for RM10.

So, Mahathir can say all he wants about quality being raised and his sarcasm but until ALL Proton’s vendors are changed, how can the quality go up?

Mahathir won’t do this. All his buddies have got the contract to be vendors to Proton. Mahathir will just ensure that all the vendors for Proton remain the same. All his buddies and relatives, so why upset his relatives when he can continue his past misgivings?

Proton will still get the same low inferior quality parts it has been getting for the past 30 years and it will still be overcharged by 10 times for each part the vendors supply.

Malaysians have already suffered so much. For 30 years, 30 million people suffer so much. We struggle paying for our high car prices all because of one man’s dream of benefitting his buddies and friends. Until Proton changes ALL their vendors, Proton will be a loss making organisation because it produces super low quality cars due to its vendors supplying Proton Super low Quality parts.

This Suzuki scandal will be the same as Mitsubishi scandal. Until vendors change, tie up with Suzuki will be low in quality as previous Protons

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 45
      • Wow. Surprised to see people like you does exist now. The typical 3rd world kind of mentality, always try to bring up politics. People like you are actually the reason why we are not as good as sushi nowadays

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 19
        • Diss-illusions on Jul 13, 2015 at 11:26 pm

Wake up and smell the coffee dude. It’s not about politics but there is some truth in what he/she says. Go ask a middle-management Proton staffer on how tough it was for DSZ to trim down the number of vendors that Proton source its parts from.

A lot has change no doubt and Proton can now source considerable parts from outside but still, there are a lot of restrictions in the name of supporting the local auto industry ecosystem. If Proton had it their way, I’m pretty sure they can go to Thailand where the Detroit of the East is to source for much cheaper and better quality parts.

The sooner Tun let’s go of his pipe dream and face the reality, the better the odds is for Proton to survive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 13
      • hadi75 on Jul 14, 2015 at 10:05 am

Agreed with some…disagreed with some…

• kennyjay on Jul 13, 2015 at 2:10 pm

if the car laku, people will know, no need to promote here and there. tak laku then want to die die promote, what is the point?

top LOL Potong

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 91
  • Bagus proton.. saya pasti beli.. terima kasih proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 12
  • More like Proton will take you for a ride when you complaint about your car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 11
  • No one.. on Jul 13, 2015 at 2:21 pm

Good car..but rear design???failed..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 56
  • Guan Yin Maa on Jul 13, 2015 at 2:28 pm

30 years of economics protection, this is what you can make ? a joker car ? HAHAHA. Go and see KIA and HYUNDAI, both around the same age as proton, and where they stand right now, in terms of quality, technology, and price. Pls, shut down proton, DR M, stop dreaming , PROTON WILL NEVER SUCCESS globally if you keep spoon feeding them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 69
    • dante on Jul 13, 2015 at 3:35 pm

Same age? haha..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 9
    • qwerty on Jul 14, 2015 at 7:57 am

“around the same age”? You do indeed have a wideeeee range for the term “around”.

Btw, part of the reason why Hyundai is so big now is because it has its own supply chain under the same umbrella. Hyundai Heavy Industry is a huge conglomerate. Too bad, don’t mention Proton, Malaysia, as a whole, just doesn’t have that kind of resources.

• say something on Jul 13, 2015 at 2:33 pm

Iriz memang a decent car, and big big leap of local automotive brand, and highly comparable to Japanese car.
    Just the gearbox spoilt the whole car.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 3
    • Albert on Jul 13, 2015 at 7:18 pm

Why is Proton reluctant to replace the ”MUCH CONDEMNED” Punch gearbox from China(alto Belgium in origin)? Paul Tan himself said it is noisy,vibrates too much.
      Why is proton not sourcing from Aisin, a Japanese gear box world renowned supplier?
      The answer is ….CRONYism IN the supply chain.Cronies marah.What about kickbacks? Sounds familiar?
      Proton fanboys can khayal for another 10 years,DRB will still be doing compulsory national service cos of ailing stepson Lotus.Any sensible businessman would have sold off Lotus donkey years ago.Why are they spoonfeeding cancer stricken Lotus? CRONYISM .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
      • rdino on Jul 15, 2015 at 1:31 am

Not quite. There are only so many gearbox manufacturer in the world. With the annual volume that proton is producing it is not feasible for them to supply proton, not to mentioned the development cost as well.

• cendol (Member) on Jul 13, 2015 at 2:43 pm

We have all been taken for a ride by Proton for past 30 years.
    Been fooling us long enough in the name of national protection but actually is plundering our hard earned money.
    So ya, you can say Proton is taking us for a ride

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 28
  • I think they should feature their cars in a movie, just like the Italian Job or Fast and Furious or some other movie like them. That will up the popularity of the car…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
    • cendol (Member) on Jul 13, 2015 at 6:46 pm

Proton is featured in NameWee’s movies.
      Power window spoilt, air con too cold, battery died early.
      And door handle fell off

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 11
    • Should let Clarkson review while he was in Top Gear

• Not as good as the Perodua Axia feature video

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 39
  • Wee fuk yew on Jul 13, 2015 at 3:07 pm

looks like Darth Vader’s car to me. May the force be with you!

• this video is acceptable to highlight its features but it get better if hiring more professional team as this video looks like low budget… anyways Iriz is still a awesome car!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • alldisc on Jul 13, 2015 at 3:36 pm

i admit iriz is a realtively good car – now let it compete head-to-head with other B segment hatches on level ground ye?

calling Mazda 2, Fiesta, Kia Picanto, VW Polo, Chevrolet Sonic, Mitsubishi Mirage, Honda Jazz – all great cars!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • rosesally on Jul 13, 2015 at 3:40 pm

Iriz use la suzuki engine then only can laku like goreng pisang panas.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
  • cendol (Member) on Jul 13, 2015 at 6:47 pm

Malaysia sells more Mercedes Benz C-Class compared to Proton Iriz.
    It shows how good Iriz is.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 19
  • nabill (Member) on Jul 13, 2015 at 7:14 pm

i do get the feeling p1 is really proud of the iriz more than any other models they make ,maybe internally it was a do or die model , so they did actually spend considerable effort to make a genuine solid product..no hanky panky…slowly bt sure i see iriz(mostly the 1.3 ) filling up the car parks…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
    • driver on Jul 14, 2015 at 9:51 am

yup, i’ve started to hear good reviews from my circle.. well done p1. now go overseas.

• think on Jul 13, 2015 at 10:29 pm

the iriz is really a good car..the design is really good which distinguishes from the majority with european look..but while I test drove the car, the only drawback that i could see is its drivetrain, which really need to be rectified followed by noise insulation. other than that while you close the doors it’s still not smooth and makes a rough noise. If the following issues can be rectified it could be a all rounder that can easily defeat the ford fiesta.
    think

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
  • Tailong on Jul 14, 2015 at 12:53 am

REMEMBER WHAT NAJIB SAID… ITS ALL ABOUT PROXY.. TUN M PROXY… PROTON WILL BE THE SAME…

• BodohIriz on Jul 14, 2015 at 6:29 am

Alah… Tak laku la.. Jika laku, nape foreigh masih ade tax? Jika foreign cars takde tax, Proton and Perodua boleh tutup kedai. Tak erti malu… Hanya tau hisap duet rakyat.. Takde pendirian langsung.. Proven nasi lemak management!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
  • huehuehue on Jul 14, 2015 at 10:36 am

from someone who never even look at proton as a desirable choice. i can say indeed exterior wise proton has improved drastically.. the iriz do really look quite nice if you ask me.. my argue would be about the interior. i have seen this car in roadshows and whatnot the interior still looks outdated and somewhat “empty”. interiorwise it still fails in that particular department for me la.. overall its quite good and i really think that this would be the so called myvi killer..

• kim jon eh on Jul 14, 2015 at 6:12 pm

fugly rear design. butt look big but so small inside howcome?very not comfy inside.

• stupid ads, why use mat saleh. Its can be better if local people like abdul rani kulop or karam sigh walia.

• I bought an Iriz 1.3MT Standard 2 months ago. I realize it’s not fashionable to say things like this around here but I do have to say that the little beast exceeded all my expectations.

Smooth as silk and drives really well. The interior space is bigger than it looks. Really nice seats. Such a fun car to drive. No glaring flaws to report. I prefer manual cars so the CVT thing doesn’t affect me.

If you are looking for a cheapish hatchback, keep an open mind and test drive it. It might surprise you.

• CyberPatrol on Jul 18, 2015 at 2:46 pm

Still PUNCH gearbox issues not address, and is not going to happen though. Go for the manual model instead.