2016 Toyota Fortuner leaked again with first specs

all-new-fortuner-2015-001

Images and details of the new 2016 Toyota Fortuner have been flowing out onto the Internet like a leaky faucet ahead of its debut just three days from now, and that doesn’t seem to be stopping anytime soon – the All-New Fortuner Club in Thailand has photos of an undisguised white example sitting on a petrol station forecourt, as well as a grey one on the road.

We’ve known what the Hilux-based SUV would look like since March this year, but these photos reinforce just how handsome this truck is, showing off its chiselled visage, slim head- and tail lights, strong, prominent haunches and blacked-out pillars that lend a “floating roof” look.

all-new-fortuner-2015-002

The interior is shown here as well; in place the new Hilux Revo’s swooping dashboard sits an upright unit that seems to take its cues from the GT86 sports car. It looks very premium, too, with a stitched dashboard, classy brown leather upholstery, a large central touchscreen, digital climate controls and a Camry-style instrument cluster with a large colour multi-info display.

Also revealed is the launch lineup in Thailand, which as expected includes the 177 hp/450 Nm 2.8 litre 1GD-FTV and 150 hp/400 Nm 2.4 litre 2GD-FTV engines from the GD family that take over from the current 2.5 and 3.0 litre options, as well as a newer 166 hp/245 Nm 2.7 litre Dual VVT-i petrol mill.

Only the base 2.4G gets a six-speed manual; the 2.4V, 2.7G and 2.8G receive the new six-speed automatic as standard, with only the 2.8 litre oil burner getting the option of four-wheel drive. We expect both the automatic gearbox and 4WD to be standard on our cars.

We also get a look at the equipment list – surprisingly, the standard kit list is vast and includes 18-inch wheels, keyless entry, push-button start, three airbags (including one for the driver’s knee), VSC (!), traction control and hill-start assist. Only a powered tailgate and side and curtain airbags (raising the count to seven airbags) are reserved for the V variants. So, what do you think of this new Ford Everest rival?

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Still not good enough with just 3 air-bags. It should be 7 air-bags as standard for all variant! I mean even most car manufacturers are now aiming to include driver assistances such as Lane Departure Warning Alert/Warning, Crash Avoidance Braking and Blind Spot Sensor. I guess it would be another 10 years from now for it to be 7 air-bags as standard for all UMW Toyota vehicles.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 43
    • Areyousure on Jul 14, 2015 at 2:46 pm

Profitability first. Safety next.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 26
      • Blood on Grill on Jul 14, 2015 at 4:32 pm

You see the red on the grill? That is actually dried blood because the car skidded and knocked a pedestrian down (because no VSC)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 29
    • alldisc on Jul 14, 2015 at 4:21 pm

corolla altis – 7 airbags available on 2.0V
      camry – 7 airbags available on 2.5 hybrid
      this new fortuner – 7 airbags on the Vanguard variants as well.

while most of Lexus cars right down to entry level IS250 and Ct200h has 8 airbags minimum.

as for other safety features, check out Lexus malaysia website and you will be much surprised. Lexus has many more than you can list here. dont forget, Camry Hybrid has a lot of safety features as well.

I am not Toyota salesman just another motor enthusiast but i believe we need to fair in making comments.

what are you trying to proof here? UMW has already learnt its lessons. Toyota Malaysia today is different from 2-3 years back.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 17
      • Fahmi on Jul 15, 2015 at 2:41 am

Well…

Vios – 2 airbags (only) and no ESP
        Avanza – 2 airbags (only) and no ESP
        Rush – 2 airbags (only) and no ESP
        Innova – 2 airbags (only) and no ESP
        altis – 2 airbags (only) and no ESP (except 2.0V only)

• jeffwhlim (Member) on Jul 14, 2015 at 10:36 am

UMW Toyota, Please don’t TAKE out the VSC again for the NEW Fortuner. Anyway, noticed Jonathan Lee put “(!)” behind the VSC.

Any reason behind?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
    • Fortuner Moving Coffin on Jul 14, 2015 at 11:28 am

In overseas, Toyota is highly respected. But in Malaysia, Toyota now has become a laughing stock. If you buy one, people secretly laugh at you thinking you are the dumbest person in town cause the Toyota is heavily stripped of its safety features. Now somemore, Picanto, comes with 6 airbags and can be safer than a Camry!

This Fortuner, as was the last will have ZERO sales to the public. 99% of all Fortuner on the road is bought by the Government (crony) to help another crony (UMW). Government will buy thousands of units for all their departments, especially for JKR and Jabatan Pengairain.

Malaysians already now know how Toyota has been cheating people. Until today, even RM150k Camry got no VSC and only 2 airbags. Paultan already wrote long article how vital VSC is 3 years ago and yet UMW don’t care a damn for our lives.

Global price of Camry with 10 airbags and VSC is US$22,000. Besides VSC and 10 airbags, the global Camry has about 20 other safety features that is NOT in our Camry. These features are standard and free on the global Camry.

UMW don’t care about your life. you die or vegetable, they don’t care, janji untung lebih. they take out safety features to save cost. Yet, they charge us 3x the global price of US$22k. We buy for RM180k a heavily stripped down car. Same with Altis. Same with Vios.

Worse still, it is CKD and Made in Malaysia. The price is even cheaper. If US Toyota is sold at US22k and still make a profit, you can bet that UMW will get this car at country distributor price of US15k. CKD it, it will be US$12k (about RM40k). But they sell to Malaysians for RM180k.

Camry Hybrid even better. US$26k with full spec. Come to Malaysia no tax. But somehow, it is sold for RM175k despite it even being CKD.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 126
    • 150k Camry also no VSC and 2 airbag on Jul 14, 2015 at 11:38 am

Sure VSC will be taken out. RM150k Camry also, which is UMW top model also got no VSC and 2 airbag, you expect the low down Fortuner to have VSC and 6 airbags??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 8
  • xxxxxXxxxxx on Jul 14, 2015 at 10:37 am

Fugly

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
  • Jarred on Jul 14, 2015 at 10:42 am

Quite a looker!! But… It’s a Toyota…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
  • ak1106 on Jul 14, 2015 at 10:42 am

from the back looks like pajero sport is it….

• This looks promising.
    Keyboard warrior gonna bash it anyways, but dont forget every1 has their likes and dislikes.. i give a like for this 1.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 8
  • sudonano (Member) on Jul 14, 2015 at 10:50 am

It’s funny, I have grown to like the front. There is a hint of GT86 in the slim lights too…

For me, it is a better looker than the more boxy Everest. However, for Toyota in Malaysia to sell this successfully, UMW cannot screw up the specs. 7 airbags, AWD and VSC must be standard. If not, fly kites la.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
    • Toyota dont aim for No.1 Global Best Volume, anymore.

some ppl want this and that from Proton..
      Then, Proton make negative profit, Proton is dieing.

what’s the point.

Consumer killing Producer?
      if a Producer make negative profit, how to make sure the car produced is of consistent good quality?

• Throwing in more safety features doesn’t make a manufacturer lose money. Mismanagement does, which is what Proton suffers from.

UMW knows they can get away with giving their customers the bare minimum in safety because they have a solid reputation.

When people think of a Camry they think of prestige. The 2.0E has the same safety features as a Myvi, but people still buy the Camry because, well, it’s a Camry.

Smarter consumers who know the importance of safety would obviously reconsider their options, but how many people out there actually care about safety?

• Smart People = Will Appreciate other’s effort in building a product.

Thus, at the same time of appreciating what the Producer able to deliver, will also pay higher for the great safety features they wanted.

Kedekut people = people who want every thing at low price.

Some people will say:
          Smart people will just go buy the Pirated Windows for PC.

Is this Smart?
          I call it kedekut, do not appreciate other’s effort.

• Ah San on Jul 14, 2015 at 11:11 am

Omg! Garang gile.

• Hmm..the tail lights remind me of a certain Kimchi brand….Tusc..

• jubjub on Jul 14, 2015 at 11:48 am

3 airbags?? DUH!!!!!

• No interested

• sam fool on Jul 14, 2015 at 12:42 pm

trying to ripoff lexus much

• seancorr (Member) on Jul 14, 2015 at 12:48 pm

Damn…Toyota seems to think the driver’s knee is more important than the rear passengers.

• syukiro on Jul 14, 2015 at 1:26 pm

i prefer the new everest, when will it be out?

• Albert on Jul 14, 2015 at 1:37 pm

Today,I saw 3 road blocks and as usual speeding vehicles are directed to the emergency lanes and ‘conversations ‘ are going on at a prolific pace.
    Why do they need to talk so much to the offenders? Just issue a ticket for speeding and f..them off.
    Why do we see so much talking at the roadblocks?
    With modern speed cameras,there is no need for road blocks which are worsening the daily jams.
    Just mail the bladdy summons to the speeding demons.

• applegreen on Jul 14, 2015 at 1:45 pm

Wonder how it will look like with sportivo bodykit

• Albert on Jul 14, 2015 at 1:47 pm

People buy Toyota cos they perceive it to be a superior brand package.They are not bothered about VSCs.(of course people are glad if they get VSCs)
    Protong has so many airbags and extras safety features.Why they cant fix their declining sales?
    It all boils down to PERCEPTION.You cant change perception just by incorporating extras.
    Honda HRV may only have a 3 star rating,but people are waiting 6 months to drive this blockbuster crazy vehicle. Why? PERCEPTION again.
    Perception on sushi cars …due to their painstaking efforts in minimising defects.OUr Tun says Protong only test 1 in 40 cars previously.
    You see perception again is involved.

• shawal on Jul 14, 2015 at 1:59 pm

interior looks very harrier-esque….
    UMW ! dont downgrade the diesel model to fabric
    grade V shubbe available in both petrol and diesel….
    with 7 airbags….

• RavenAii (Member) on Jul 14, 2015 at 3:06 pm

I like the design from the A-pillar all the way to the rear of the car. I’m not quite sure why they design the front fascia to look a bit like the pre-facelift Volkswagen Tuoareg. It makes the car looks old, just like what they did to the current Camry when it first came out.

• drrif on Jul 14, 2015 at 6:28 pm

It doesn’t matter how it looks, I used to own a Fortuner, feels like driving a truck from 1950. Ride, handling and breaking terrible. Don’t buy, you will regret it.

• Azizuddin Ayeop on Jul 14, 2015 at 6:36 pm

Ford so Kiasu! Serve them right now that Toyota is going to launch it first

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jul 14, 2015 at 6:59 pm

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV

• Fugly dashboard again!

• mcaid on Jul 14, 2015 at 10:54 pm

Face like Tiguan

• Mek Dee on Jul 14, 2015 at 11:20 pm

yucks, yucks and more yucks from Toyota….

• money_talks on Jul 14, 2015 at 11:57 pm

Looks like JDM Toyota Harrier that is flooding our market by grey importers.