Volvo Cars buys Polestar’s performance division

polestar 1

Volvo Cars has announced that it has fully acquired Swedish car tuning company Polestar. The purchase involves Polestar Performance, which produces special Volvo performance models and offers performance-related tuning solutions for Volvos, as well as Polestar Holding, which is the owner of the trademarks.

The deal does not include the racing division. Polestar Racing – which is set to be renamed – will remain under the control of Christian Dahl, the former owner of Polestar. No financial details of the deal have been disclosed, and existing Polestar Performance employees will become Volvo employees.

The Swedish automaker said that Polestar will now be used as the model name for special high-performance Volvos. The new acquisition will also in future utilise Volvo’s twin-engine electrification technology to develop next generation performance cars.

polestar 2

The two companies have been working in motorsport since 1996, and in recent years signed a cooperation agreement to jointly develop Polestar performance versions of Volvo models, notably the Volvo S60 and V60 Polestar, each with 345 hp and 500 Nm of torque, a 100 km/h time of under five seconds and an electronically-limited top speed of 250 km/h.

This year, Volvo says it expects to sell 750 Polestar versions of the V60 and S60 globally, and added that it is forecasting the numbers to increase to between 1,000 and 1,500 cars a year in the medium term under Volvo’s ownership.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• DPCraft on Jul 14, 2015 at 8:41 pm

s60 looks so good :D

• kington on Jul 14, 2015 at 10:49 pm

Sat in the current S60 T6 once. Absolute bruising cruiser.

• Kancil Hybrid on Jul 14, 2015 at 11:23 pm

I don’t need Ferrari or Lamborghini. That blue S60 will be enough for me.

• Missed my old S60 T5. Hope the current crop of volvo will not have problems with auto tranny like mine.

• i like volvo but the reliability scares me..care to share detail of your issue..would like to know..thanks

• tokmoh. on Jul 15, 2015 at 5:13 pm

Volvo is possibly the most reliable Conti here. Of course there could be lemon like Emil’s, but which car brand doesn’t?

There are quite a number of owners, u can find owner’s pages on fb to get better advice, and know better average running cost. Parts not that difficult, some even do business online.

If that still doesn’t convince you, you probably better stay away from any Conti car.

• apamau on Jul 15, 2015 at 10:55 am

today, i just came across news that europe best selling premium compact SUV is XC60.. err…It seems european buying pattern is completely different from us here, XC60 will never have a single chance to be in top 10 list if it come to Asia.. any comment or take on this, and not just this years, seems last year also they are doing quite well. Quite a surprise.

2015 Q1..
    1. Volvo XC60 – 18,173
    2. Range Rover Evoque – 16,135
    3. Audi Q5 – 15,854
    4. BMW X3 – 10,828
    5. Mercedes-Benz GLK – 6,562
    6. BMW X4 – 6,108
    7. Land Rover Discovery Sport – 5,803
    8. Porsche Macan – 5,733
    9. Lexus NX – 3,764 (est.)

• apamau on Jul 15, 2015 at 10:57 am

To add on, in 2014. XC60 still best selling in 2014, actually i am not sure if this news cover which europe ? whole europe, or only scandinavian country. it can’t be xc is selling so well compared to the rest. or is it very cheap there ?

In 2014, the segment grew thanks to the addition of the Porsche Macan, Lexus NX and BMW X4, but that did very little to stop the XC60 from becoming Europe’s best selling model in this class. Volvo managed to sell 62,845 units, whereas Audi sold 60,679 Q5’s, Land Rover 50,838 RR Evoques and BMW sold 48,229 X3s.