Honda CEO carless while waiting for the Civic Type R

Civic Type R Pan-European launch

When it comes to publicity stunts, you’ve got to take your hats off to Honda’s new Chief Executive Officer, Takahiro Hachigo. “Unfortunately, I don’t have a car now,” Hachigo-san said to journalists during a round table discussion in Tokyo. “There is a model I want, which will, as I have told you, be launched in the Autumn, I want to buy the Civic Type R.”

Call it whatever you want, be it a masterstroke, shameless self promotion or just flat-out hard-sell marketing, there is one thing undeniable about this car and the trajectory of this brand once this car hits the market. It’s a rocket ship that’s going to elevate the Honda brand to new heights. Hachigo-san wants this car for himself, more than anything else the company makes, and this is just pure brilliance in terms of marketing for the car and the brand.

The Civic Type R is going to be the hot hatch that will probably become a real icon for the brand. It’s going to be produced in the UK, and it’ll be powered by a 2.0 litre turbo four pumping out around 310 hp. The pre-production mule lapped the Nurburgring in 7:50.63, and pretty much owns the record for the fastest front-wheel drive car to ever go round the Green Hell.

It’s probably going to be the best thing that has come out from Honda in years, and we can’t wait.

Anil Prabha

Anil Prabha has always been a petrol head. He also has a strange knack for remembering car models and their respective registration plates. Naturally aspirated engines are always better than turbocharged or supercharged ones, in his opinion. Ultimately, he believes that there is nothing better in life than just going for a drive.

• Mr,Sali on Jul 15, 2015 at 11:41 am

Truly a work of art. Can’t wait for this and the NSX Acura. Fulll props to Honda. Meanwhile at toyota….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
    • Ah Beng’s Art.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 13
      • donkey J on Jul 15, 2015 at 2:16 pm

Once ago Civic R is my dream car, it so JDM stylish and potential custom development but sad to admit honda went the design to ‘Ah beng’ coming predecessor civic R especially rear diffuser and two tones bodykit, hope to integration in whole piece >.<

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 18
        • Your English is of Donkey standard . What are u trying to say ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 9
          • Donkey J on Jul 15, 2015 at 8:10 pm

Probably it time u return to Donkey class to re·learn ur human communication.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
          • uglycivic on Jul 15, 2015 at 11:50 pm

It’s not that difficult to understand his meaning. He said that it is ugly.

You know what is ugly?
            Like this : 3 wheels 1948 davis.
            Go google.

• Even Honda CEO drives a Honda, how about the founder of Proton?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 4
  • justsomedude on Jul 15, 2015 at 11:57 am

Here is a real CEO, can the chairman of proton go “carless” while waiting for the next model from proton to be released? Ha!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
    • tinmilo on Jul 15, 2015 at 12:27 pm

Easy, they will just take this and slap a Proton badge on it and drive…
      Just like the Accord…

• p2tinmilo on Jul 15, 2015 at 11:58 pm

Atleast the safety level of the car doesn’t get ditched until reaches monkey level in some tin milo p2 cars

• stienthusiast on Jul 15, 2015 at 1:09 pm

New civic type-r have launched in UK.£29000 for a standard type-r and £31xxx for gt pack.I wonder what is the price in Malaysia when the official launch,most probably will be RM300k+.

• Poor&Furious on Jul 15, 2015 at 1:22 pm

300K+ might as well as get A45

I hope Honda will put the price at a competitive price market

• DPCraft on Jul 15, 2015 at 7:53 pm

Maybe around 230k-270k can’t go higher then that ??

• Allroadquattro on Jul 15, 2015 at 10:06 pm

RM300K is ridiculous. you can buy a Mk7 Golf R or a recond Mk3 S3 Sportback.

• vwsasamlor on Jul 16, 2015 at 5:33 am

Audi or VW dun have that realibility, new one should be around RM100k only before shown hailat during trade in session. In other words they are cheapo junk cars.

• Honda CEO wants to buy Civic Type R, Toyota CEO drift the FT86. How about Proton and Perodua CEO? probably just looking at the sales figure while sitting behind some imported luxury

• Poor&Furious on Jul 15, 2015 at 1:25 pm

P1 CEO probably instead of buy rather rent it by paying high price than owning it :P

just my two cents

• Teamsleepnine on Jul 15, 2015 at 1:27 pm

I don’t want to be seen in this car(or mx5)

• taknakToyota on Jul 16, 2015 at 5:35 am

I don’t want to be seen in any Toyota

ABT – Asal Bukan Toyota

• whatever on Jul 15, 2015 at 1:45 pm

Whatever kind of bash you go after it(ahbeng ahseng ahheng). This is still the vy good work from honda to hv this so powerful fwd car.

• Can’t wait for the hedious car ever by honda. The engine might be great but oh my the design..hurts my eyes

• Fastet fwd car to go around nurburgring?yeahh..but not the production one laa..dat one got rollcage inside~

• I waiting proton rebadge this ctr

• nighttrain on Jul 15, 2015 at 4:13 pm

2.0 310hp is the same category as Evo X eh?

• power on Jul 15, 2015 at 10:02 pm

yes, their output around that figure depends on market. but i believe honda’s handling/suspension team went through really challenging job when they put so high output to only front wheel.

• Insider info. Proton founder and adviser is waiting for Satria Neo R3 GTI.
    In the meantime, had to make do with Suprima S

• bencys on Jul 15, 2015 at 6:19 pm

Does anyone here have info on whether Honda M’sia is bringing in this type R? If they are, I’ll probably be carless also.. Will get rid of my Megane RS for this Jap hottie..

• japssucky on Jul 16, 2015 at 12:03 am

Why don’t you say : I will get rid my GTR, Lambo SV, La Ferrari and MP4 12c for this Jap hottie.

• DPCraft on Jul 15, 2015 at 7:57 pm

Whats wrong with the design ?? I think it looks good for a hatch.

• benzs on Jul 15, 2015 at 9:09 pm

I like the way Japanese do things. They support very much of their own product even by CEO. In order to prove your car is good, 1 must do is own by the leader 1st. This proved that Honda CEO is among the most supportive of its own brand and product. This kind of mentality is only available by Jap and Korean. Most of the citizens from this country very supportive of their own and due to ensuring their own country made car shine. They always accept and give support. However, Malaysian was very supportive in the past. Car manufacture failed them and responded very badly with their words when car is having problem. That why mostly Malaysian is scare to own P1 but some still buy due to cheaper price tag. No one to blame if you bought a P1, but it’s depend on luck. Sometime u get good but sometime did not.

• seancorr (Member) on Jul 15, 2015 at 9:48 pm

This is one fast Honda = o-100kmh in 5.7 secs and a top speed of 268kmh but the interior is typical Type R design and it won’t come cheap too judging by the UK price list.

• azrai on Jul 16, 2015 at 8:06 am

Malaysian situtation, ” “Unfortunately,that’s why I don’t have any car now. There is a model I want, which will, I’m waiting for the upcoming better Proton. And after 30 years this year, I’m still waiting for the car that I want.” :-(