Report tailgaters to us via photos, JPJ tells road users

highway driving

If you see someone driving too close to another vehicle on the road, snap a picture of the tailgater and send it to the Road Transport Department (JPJ). That’s the call being made by the department in a bid to punish such errant driving behaviour, Astro Awani reports.

Penang JPJ director Datuk Hassan Yaakob advised drivers who came across tailgaters to snap a picture of the offender – with the vehicle number plate being visible – to enable action to be taken by the authorities. The next couple of days may see less of this behaviour, given the heavy traffic conditions on highways reducing movement to a crawl.

Hassan said tailgating, which is one of the seven main road traffic offences being given attention by JPJ, does not only endanger the driver but is also the main cause of road accidents.

He said the other major offences include beating traffic lights, cutting into double lanes, usage of mobile phones while driving, driving on the emergency lane and refusal to use seatbelts and wear helmets.

He said the country’s road fatality record of almost 7,000 deaths yearly was poor compared to a country like England, which recorded a lower death rate despite a high population density. “Our aim is by 2020, we should reduce if possible, out of every 10,000 vehicles, only two accidents and two deaths. That is our plan,” he told reporters.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Bobby (Member) on Jul 15, 2015 at 5:19 pm

What number or web site and how to send the offended picture to Road Transport Department (JPJ)? And what is the penalty of non-action?

As always, just talk and talk, all empty talks. Just like all govt employees, just talk and talk, and some even talk to themselves!! Malaysia boleh!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 168 Thumb down 39
    • TopsyBoXyTurvy on Jul 15, 2015 at 5:30 pm

True. Obvious scene of heavy vehicles emitting thick smoke, dark tinted windows, illegal number plates also they seemed fail to take action. And now want to do this and do that…pleeeaaaseee lah !!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 88 Thumb down 12
      • Don’t forget cars with malfunctioning brake lights & headlights.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 3
        • Areyousure on Jul 15, 2015 at 7:37 pm

I thought playing with phone or cam is prohibited. Betul ke pegawai JPJ ni? Mcm mane kena duit kopi polis nanti.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 15
          • karam singh on Jul 15, 2015 at 8:49 pm

Also, I wanna report a lane hogging people on the road.
            They always insist staying on the right lane even they are very2 slow.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 168 Thumb down 7
          • No lane hoggers no tailgators. Simple right? Jpj, tackle the cause of the problem, not the problem itself

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 2
          • Whathef on Jul 16, 2015 at 11:10 am

Yup,

Hoggers are worst than tailgaters.
            Without roadhoggers, for sure less people will tailgate (to overtake or to move em faster).

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 90 Thumb down 4
    • Same L0rrrr on Jul 15, 2015 at 6:00 pm

When the tailgaters is so close, you can’t see the number plate.

When you can see the number plate, it is not tailgating you. How?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 83 Thumb down 5
      • hailatsamelorrrr on Jul 15, 2015 at 8:15 pm

You asked how? The answer is when they want to trade in their vehicles you can show your best hailat lor

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 17
      • wiwiwiwiw on Jul 15, 2015 at 9:40 pm

How about those road bully big temper small brain idiot drivers if you flash or horn them they will slam their brakes to let you crash the rear of their cars?

The moment everyone installs a dash cam at the front and rear of their car, the road will be a safer place.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 12
    • germs on Jul 15, 2015 at 6:15 pm

I like the picture.. all VW criminal tailgaters!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 4
    • Ijan ithnin on Jul 16, 2015 at 3:06 am

Dear friends ,

Send the photos plus details of the offence such as time date, location , chainage marker, AND your full contact details to [email protected].
      Good luck and drive safe !

• Hmm... More Hmm... on Jul 16, 2015 at 4:57 am

I usually upload my dashcam video into a private youtube account and send the link to them. It never occurred to me that I need to show the location as well, not very familiar with KL road names…

Those wondering it’s G1W bought from aliexpress for $23 inclusive of shipment. Too bad no build in gps…

• May i know how to send the photos and videos to JPJ ?
      i think i got a lot videos can prove those bad behavior’s driver

• ember on Jul 22, 2015 at 3:51 pm

google la, what’s so difficult? it’s 2015. facebook also can, like the page, and send message.

some people exercise little thought before talking. just talk and talk.

• Bobby… not all govt workers like that… if u said some or most.. i agree… your statement is unfair to the good worker… i’ve met the good and the bad… no place is perfect.. no one is perfect.. not even u and me…

• Eagle I on Jul 22, 2015 at 7:11 pm

Hence it is idea to install eagle i car ( car video recorder ) to capture .

NEVER DRIVE AND USE HP

• Emailkan aduan anda di [email protected] gambar mesti jelas…butiran kesalahan dan lokasi disertakan
      butiran pengadu juga kena ada..nama dan alamat (pengadu dirahsiakan)
      Typical malaysian…semua nak kena bagi depan mata…semua nk kena suapkan

• maraza on Jul 23, 2015 at 8:17 am

Why did you like to mention about government? Look so bias. Are you soo good? Better to use your head than your knee when giving any opinion.

• ben yap on Jul 15, 2015 at 5:27 pm

if i’m alone in the car and i’m driving, how do i snap a picture?

my hands will be off the steering wheel and my eyes off the road. JPJ talk without making sense.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 12
    • Leafable on Jul 15, 2015 at 5:55 pm

Thats a technology call in-dash front & back camera. Numty.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 35
      • Not all ppl can afford for those dashcam.
        u want to sponsor? Nimrod

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 9
        • Darren on Jul 22, 2015 at 11:11 am

Can afford a car,
          Can afford a Korean branded mainstream smartphone,
          Can afford watching blockbuster movies,

But cannot afford a dashcam?
          Dashcam is for your own safety, yet people chose not to buy it.

Who is the stupid one?

• abukik on Jul 16, 2015 at 4:44 pm

It shows how smart that the JPJ in our country. Malaysia Boleh~~!! :))

• tobexbasher on Jul 16, 2015 at 7:30 am

no need picture lor…concentrate on your driving..and try to get away from the vigilante…give them the way…and not forget to PRAY FOR YOUR SAFETY.

• if u r alone… just keep on driving.. eyes on the road.. jpj doesn’t say its a must for u to send them the picture.. ‘if’ u want to do so la u can..

• So if someone tailgates u, while your hands still on the steering wheel trying to control, your third hand should hold still your smartphone and your forth hand needs to click the snap button. I haven’t mentioned about your second head that turns to ensure everything is taken care in order to follow this advice.
    Or, if someone tailgates you, u must let them overtake, tailgate them back as close as possible so that you take clear picture of the car….
    Exactly how we execute this piece of advice? Someone help me please.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 10
  • Ini tidak adil... on Jul 15, 2015 at 5:32 pm

I don’t think this is fair as we have a lot of road hoggers on the road…

Also, how does one snap a picture if one is driving alone without a dash cam?

Another half-baked idea approved by half-baked authorities in our country

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 8
    • youhalfbaked on Jul 15, 2015 at 8:16 pm

And half baked commenters give half baked comments

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 26
    • Givemeachance on Jul 03, 2016 at 1:02 pm

The speed limit on the highways is 110kph. Often I get many cars speeding down the road well in excess of the limit, not giving me a chance to complete the overtaking manuever. They will tailgate and keep flashing.

• I do not agree with tailgating, but I think road hogging is the real cause of tailgating. If you let the faster car to overtake, this issue will not arise, and at the same time prevent unwanted traffic slowdown due to slow vehicles in overtaking lanes.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 13
  • kadajawi (Member) on Jul 15, 2015 at 5:38 pm

That is nonsense. Yes, tailgating is dangerous. But what causes it? Right lane and center lane hogging. Maybe they should check their rule books again? That is also an offense. One that leads to all sorts of dangerous behavior. Left lane overtaking (aka undertaking… love that word as it connects the action with undertakers… death, and deadly it is). Tailgating. Sometimes even making use of the emergency lane. Root out lane hogging, and all the other problems will mostly go away. Those who still undertake and tailgate should be punished. But first, lane hogging needs to go away. And it does not matter how fast you drive. Lane hogging is always illegal. If no car is on the lane left of you, you have to drive there. No matter if other cars are around or not.

In Germany, which is about as safe if not safer than England (and yes, that is despite the much higher speeds Germans drive at), lane hogging is a serious offense and the police issues fines for them… even letting go of people who undertake, because the lane hogger made them do it. And undertaking is highly illegal, because of hoe dangerous it is. If you do it you can easily lose your driving license.

Snapping a photo of a lane hogger is also less dangerous and easier to judge than tailgating… how can you take a photo of someone tailgating you? depending on the lens the distance to the car behind you can be very far or close, and you can’t see the numberplate. So you can only report if someone else is being tailgated. But again, the choice of lens can make a difference. Lane hoggers are much easier to capture. You can see someone stick to the right lane, while no one is on the left? That’s it.

I applaud JPJ for making a move in the right direction… if the cops aren’t doing their job, people will have to (in a legal way, i.e. not by lane hogging). However they have found the wrong target. Often people tailgate because others block the road (they can also cause traffic jams, and worst of all they think they are right).

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 90 Thumb down 6
    • What you are saying is spot on. However i dont think they will impose the law of punishing those driving slow. BTW most of them are taxi drivers in their protons ( I SUPPORT UBER).

• kadajawi (Member) on Jul 15, 2015 at 9:04 pm

They are allowed to drive slow (though there should also be a minimum speed at the highway, to make it less dangerous, i.e. 70 for example). But please do it in the appropriate lane.

It is really simple, drive on the left most lane unless overtaking. And overtaking means overtaking, not driving parallel (traffic jams are exempted of course). If it takes more than say 20 seconds to pass the other car, don’t do it.

Otherwise after overtaking a vehicle in the center 2 cars may both try to merge onto the same lane, one from the left and one from the right (blind spots). Or the faster cars are driving on the left, where people try to enter the highway, thus making it harder to merge in, and possibly leading to a crash if the one entering doesn’t pay enough attention.

It is the most serious problem on Malaysian roads, the root of all problems. It also shows the selfish nature of Malaysian drivers, that lead to all sorts of strange, terrible and unsafe behavior.

• Arun 12B on Jul 15, 2015 at 5:41 pm

why in the pic all dsg issue cars.. showing some dangerous sign ?? :p

• speedfire on Jul 15, 2015 at 5:47 pm

Total nut. Contributing to more accident … (using camera while driving).

• Faizal Misman on Jul 15, 2015 at 6:24 pm

Just give a signal, wait & overtake. No need tailgating. It’s become Malaysian habits since 10years ago.

• Givemeachance on Jul 03, 2016 at 1:10 pm

You are right Faizal. Tailgating is more of an impatient behavior. The habit is getting more rampant these days. Many of these tailgaters do not give others a chance to complete the overtaking manuever. Often it is not that the vehicle in front is slow. These tailgaters often dive in speeds in excess of 120kmph. All it needs is a little more patience and awareness that it is dangerous to tailgate.

• medic on Jul 15, 2015 at 6:33 pm

Send it to which address? Sarawak report is it?

• Running redlight and stopping in yellow box & obstructing traffic is very common sight nowadays. Where is the enforcement?

• Michael on Jul 15, 2015 at 6:53 pm

Ridiculous, are they encouraging us to use your smartphones to take photos while driving? At that kind of speed when someone is being tail gated? Seriously?

And also how creditable can the photo be? I can just take a photo of 2 cars driving close to each other as I like, and expect the latter to get a summon? What if someone abuses this and accuses you just for fun, for nothing you get a summon. Genius indeed. So desperate for money?

• dzulcar9 on Jul 15, 2015 at 6:55 pm

Why not punish the road hogger as well, that is the main reason why the highway congested.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
  • KabukiMask on Jul 15, 2015 at 6:55 pm

morons…absolute morons…especially from the JPJ Director. Break the law to catch a lawbreaker…FUNNY!!

• sadiqutp on Jul 15, 2015 at 7:01 pm

Please tell me this is a joke?

1- Leaving matters to public is only permitting them to be abusive for others
    2- So, I leave driving and start taking photos instead, that’s just safer, right?

• can we get commission from JPJ? we cant simply to give it to them for free

• In Germany is quite common for the public to notify the authorities (either inform, or take pictures, etc) on rule-breakers.

In Malaysia, the rakyat solely puts that responsibility to the authorities, yet mistrust them to carry out their jobs and when they do, denigrate their efforts. This is Malaysians for you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • Sam Sidhu on Jul 15, 2015 at 7:44 pm

To avoid tailgating simply don’t road hog!What’s so difficult? I see that JPJ has got its priorities wrong as usual

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
  • Chris Ch on Jul 15, 2015 at 7:50 pm

How about the following dangerous situations :
    1) vehicles with glaring headlights (adjusted/angled too high, too bright) that dazzle other road users
    2) vehicles that are too loud (modified exhaust or lack thereof)

Can we report those too? These situations can be very distressing, dangerous and can certainly cause a lot of harm to anyone around these vehicles.

• What’s with the VW bangsat….

• wee fuk yew on Jul 15, 2015 at 8:46 pm

as usual with authorities in bolehland is to shoot the messengers first. Road hogs causes tail gating. Get rid of the hogs id ten t.

• Wheres bolehland? i would hazard a guess its somewhere between Greenland, Iceland, and Newfoundland.

• How about take pictures of those blocking on the overtake lane or middle lane on highway? They are simply too many. Drivers should keep to the left most lane whenever they are empty!

• Sam VHL Loo on Jul 16, 2015 at 12:29 pm

Nowadays, even middle lane hogger also i would flash high beam (if i flashed one time only to them i am very considerate already, but usually would do 3 – 4 times in a row) as well. Those overtaking lane hogger, would do both (high beam and super loud air horn).

Honestly, most blardy idiot drivers in Malaysia need to be thrown inside Simpang Renggam or Kamunting detention centre for infinite period and have their vehicle confiscated instead of driving on the road.

• mason_ on Jul 15, 2015 at 10:39 pm

Is JPJ encourage driver to use phone while driving?!..how to define close?stupid idea…want to deter accident is from the school day..make it permanent to study at school or in pendidikan moral,make the driving part more visible..

• jasjos on Jul 16, 2015 at 1:00 am

As if texting and talking on the phone while driving is not bad enough. This is crazy.

• rizal on Jul 16, 2015 at 4:22 am

what a stupid suggestion. How could they ask driver to snap pictures while driving? That is more dangerous than tail gater! one hand off the wheel and both eyes on d camera? whos watching d road?

• Hey. Nowadays if u report, not the offender will be investigated. They will investigate u instead. How you can get the pic.How you can snap the pic..

Dare to send kaa?

• Backseat driver on Jul 16, 2015 at 6:20 am

Oooh that car is tailgating… Looks like I have to whip out my hp and drive really close to his car for a good snapshot!

Not a very wise statement to make, JPJ. Why can’t you just tell ppl to drive safe instead of giving them false hope. I doubt the police will even assist JPJ if you do get a snapshot.

• xbasher on Jul 16, 2015 at 7:25 am

no need to snap photo lor…just everyone behave yourself while on the road..kan senang…don’t put yourself and others in jeopardy by driving recklessly…PLEASE BEHAVE..SEEK FORGIVENESS FROM HIM…AND REMEMBER YOUR LOVE ONE

• Sepetang on Jul 16, 2015 at 9:05 am

“Our aim is by 2020, we should reduce if possible, out of every 10,000 vehicles, only two accidents and two deaths. That is our plan,”

It is easier said then done.
    Malaysians are good to have many aspirations and plans. The point is that we don’t have a leader who has the will and courage to carry out all these plans.

Lots of hot air and no action serves no purpose.

• Aniki on Jul 16, 2015 at 9:30 am

so how are we going to snap photo while driving alone and also how to snap a proper clear photo if the car is tailgating at a high speed? you don’t tell me to snap tailgating while jam. Even so the offender will deny the claim as photo can’t become the proof as they might say the situation is shot under traffic jam, unless we can submit video which is too large and unable to upload to JPJ. End of story~

• palehotak on Jul 16, 2015 at 9:35 am

i prefer to upload it to social media than send to jpj, more effective lor. if send to jpj…dah mati pun belum tentu ada tindakan from them

• I wonder how to snap photo of the car when car tailgating you while you are driving. Is it a bit nonsense and even this can endanger your own life which has divert the attention from driving and hands are off the steering wheel at first place! Please think twice of the drivers safety before implement the law.

• VW advertisement? How they judge tailgate? If the driver kena summon from different angle of photo snap then is victim lo….

• Well, do they know how many accident caused by not paying attention while driving? Just like playing mobile phone, taking others pic, online surfing.

Yet, they must be not sure how many driver are not wearing the seat belt while driving.

Traffic condition is the main factor. The authority should keep the traffic flows smooth. Perhaps not setting up road blocks or lowering the speed limits. Haha!

• apakenaMalaysiakini on Jul 17, 2015 at 1:41 pm

Always lah this JPJ department… tonto yang ikut kenderaan penguat kuasa sendiri pon tak boleh settle.
    Baik diam dari tujuk kelemaham JAbatan sendiri. MALU lah wehhh

• G, show your support! on Jul 19, 2015 at 7:23 am

I’m a little late to comment here. The G (include JPJ) is less educate. Know how to talk but empty minded. If you can force the car seller to include the dvr camera (front and rear) during purchase, the process of fine the traffic offenders will be faster and the accident will reduce drastically. Rather than install an expensive AES in selected Highway, the dvr cover almost all type of road in Malaysia. Why don’t G give subsidize this device to all new and current car owner. In Malaysia market, the device such as Transcend, papago & garmin have the front camera only. To get the all-in-one front & rear camera need to get it from china or america through Aliexpress, Alibaba or Amazon.com which unsure on quality etc upon receive. Plus, the GST and other tax from G, nobody is afford to get a perfect device, so risky & expensive.

• I don’t think that’s work cos in bolehland, the person who complain and provide the proof will be locked up at the end.

• kemal on Jul 22, 2015 at 11:53 am

demn i was thinking they would suggest taking photo of those who are using the emergency lane..just reach out your arm out of window car and snap the oncoming car in the emergency lane..but this just about tailgaters…mehhh..

• subaru on Jul 22, 2015 at 4:41 pm

got commission taken???

• I often see police drivers in their patrol car not wearing seat belts. This snap-a-pic thing should work too right

• Catherine Leyow on Jul 22, 2015 at 6:34 pm

I would love to photograph tailgaters but this request is a bit contradictory as use of mobile phone while driving is also (quite rightly) listed as a major hazard. If I have a passenger, I will encourage them to be ready to photograph. It would help a lot if patrolling police cars would pull the tailgaters over. In 9 years, I have never seen that happen; in fact, the last tailgater I noticed was a police car!

• Catherine Leyow on Jul 22, 2015 at 6:39 pm

The police should also be pulling over those cars that have kids bouncing around inside without seatbelts. Some public education would be good too – tv commercials showing what happens in a tailgating crash, and what happens to kids not wearing seatbelts in a crash (thrown through windscreens etc).

• Useless news… why needed to summon the tailgaters when those motorcycles or slow drivers are moving to the right side of the land? isn’t they are the one to be summon instead? *slowing down other vehicles which driving on the speed land

• What about those who drive at emergency lane?

• im not stupid on Jul 22, 2015 at 10:33 pm

Once u send, both sender & tailgater also kena saman.

Why? cuz playin hp is an offence, tailgater also kena saman. Jpj & gomen sure get fat cheques

Im not gonna fall 4 tat scheme

Wakakaka

• Leonardo on Jul 22, 2015 at 11:08 pm

Can JPJ take action against Singaporean cars? They drive fast and always hog the right lane. Very Kiasu attitude. Our RM 300.00 Saman is nothing to them.

• give me the email add and fon no towhatssup

• danny on Jul 23, 2015 at 6:33 am

Hahahahaahhah.. Jpj ask u snap pix…then traffic police will c u using the HP while driving.. Ahahhahahaah.. Mangkok. U wan kenakan others sendiri kena. Don’t be a.kroni..just be urself.unless its really bad that someone did do really offensive things then ok.LA.. But I rather just drive and enjoy with my family and fndz ..tc. And don’t be fool

• Hilmi on Jul 23, 2015 at 9:47 am

Many of commenters here seems like those people who drives 160km/h who would tailgate, flash & horn cars blocking their ways. Then they blame the “road hoggers” who already drive 120km/h for driving “too slow” and causing road accidents.

• Givemeachance on Jul 03, 2016 at 1:15 pm

You are absolutely right, Hilmi. These speedsters think they have the sole right to the right lane. They don’t give others a chance to overtake as well. They expect others to move out of the way when others are overtaking also. Very impatient and inconsiderate.

• Haha… by taking a picture of the tailgaters, you only break the law. How to take picture while driving? No hands on the steering? Or every where you go, you need a passenger?

• concerned on Jul 23, 2015 at 12:16 pm

I am going to start a file of bl**dy lane hoggers and send it to them at the end of each month. Extremely st**pd and irritating , drivers who should not be given their driving license!!!! RTM used to air all those driving tips on national TV aeons ago. They should start them again. When NOT overtaking drive on the LEFT lane. NO motorcycles on FEDERAL HIGHWAY if the motor lanes are available. Etcetera etc…

• Bus Driver on Jul 25, 2015 at 7:16 am

I totally agree! Like all other things here in Bolehland, they fail to realise the root cause. Road hoggers! !! People who don’t overtake but stay on the fast lane because they think it’s their God given right just because they’re driving at 110kmh. The RTD should reeducate these selfish drivers.

• fairuz on Jul 23, 2015 at 2:17 pm

Hai paul tan

I think maybe we can suggest to road user…or maybe we can ask the government to make sure all carmaker to install the car blackbox system…dv cam…for all new selling car.

Im not sure the habits of capturing the picture is good or practically can proof the wrong doing of road user…because the car is not moving…any vehicle is not moving unless we record the video by using mounted dv cam.

And it is wrong to busy capturing the picture or video while driving…the driver should focus on driving…not capturing video or picture instead.

The passenger also should not distract the driver while driving by capturing the video or picture. Sometimes im also distracted when my friend shows something outside of the car…do you know what i mean?

With mounted video recording…we can know wether the car are tailgating or not…u know what i mean?maybe the car is just queing…because the picture dont show the movement of the vehicle. What do you think paul tan?

And the main issue is the driver should focus on driving…and the passenger should not distract the driver…

• Valter on Jul 23, 2015 at 4:00 pm

Wanna save lives? Reinstate points system for all kind of driving license. Suspend or withdraw those of habitual offenders. Change the driving license system introducing the psycho-aptitude test and more challenging driving test on the road (stop that bs of jalan 1,2,3. Make it random introducing reverse parking). Compulsory Medical and psychological checks every 5 years @ JPJ. Age limit to 75 yo. Be very strict with motorcyclist, no more condoning driving in between the lanes and immediate suspension of the license for reckless driving. More CCTV at crossroads, traffic lights and one way road entrance. Better patrolling in the highways and expressway. Black box for buses, lorries, trucks and no more than 5 hours continuous driving without at least one hour rest. Road education starting from primary school.
    This are the basics, we motorists cannot replace the authorities.

• Ken Lau on Jul 23, 2015 at 11:20 pm

Let’s report this 1st:

http://www.theantdaily.com/Main/Licence-plate-crackdown-turns-into-PR-nightmare-for-JPJ

• Rod Ritchie on Jul 24, 2015 at 2:35 pm

I’m from Australia and have lived in Malaysia for nearly 1 year and I have to say the driving skills of many Malaysians is horrendous. I am regularly tailgated, overtaken on corners, overtake cars behind me then cut me off to get in front of me, don’t use their indicators, turn right from a left- hand lane or vice versa and the list goes on. I have lived in 3 Asian countries, but Malaysians are by far the most dangerous, arrogant and careless drivers I have come across. Sorry if you find my comment offensive.

• Raymond Chiew on Sep 08, 2015 at 5:43 pm

Which city do you live in?

• Givemeachance on Jul 03, 2016 at 1:26 pm

You are right Rod. Malaysian driving skills are indeed horrendous. One of the reasons behind it is the poor standard of driving schools and the corruption that exist in the Road Transport Department. Many drivers are not qualified to be on the road. Their licenses are often “bought”. Divers often lack safety awareness and are impatient, often aggressive.