VIDEO: What not to do during balik kampung journeys

We take a look at all the major bad habits of Malaysian drivers. Remember, being safe on the road begins with you!

Posted by Paul Tan's Automotive News on Wednesday, July 15, 2015

It’s that time of the year again, and we’re all going to be heading back for our family reunions during the Hari Raya celebrations. So we decided it was time to come up with a Public Service Announcement (PSA) video for your viewing pleasure.

But instead of doing the clichéd thing – telling everyone what to do, i.e. follow the speed limit, pay attention behind the wheel, check your tyre pressures, etc. – we’re showing you the direct opposite. Everyone, here’s what you shouldn’t do during balik kampung journeys.

All the major bad driving habits are depicted here. At the very start we have our own Danny Tan in his Honda CR-Z, being a typical lane hogger. Tailgating him is Harvinder Singh and Paul Tan in a Jaguar F-Type R, followed by a very, very, very angry driver in a Ford Ranger.

Just to include the whole nine yards, we then have a typical Sunday driver in a Hyundai Santa Fe, oblivious to those around him, including the importance of child seats. Just as ignorant is Jonathan Lee in his lime green Kia Picanto, driving next to Graham Chin, who then tries to educate him on the matter by shoving a tablet in his face.

Lastly we have Hafriz Shah and yours truly, Anil Prabha, trying to be an emergency lane hero in a Peugeot 208 GTi. You can guess where this is going.

This video aims to recreate snippets of driving experiences that we all have encountered and probably done ourselves at some point. The point is, just because the other driver may be in the wrong, it doesn’t always mean you are in the right.

Being safe on the road does indeed begin with you, so always follow the rules, drive ethically with the right attitude and stay safe, everyone! Selamat Hari Raya and safe travels from all us at paultan.org

Anil Prabha

Anil Prabha has always been a petrol head. He also has a strange knack for remembering car models and their respective registration plates. Naturally aspirated engines are always better than turbocharged or supercharged ones, in his opinion. Ultimately, he believes that there is nothing better in life than just going for a drive.

• cendol (Member) on Jul 15, 2015 at 6:55 pm

Every year the Raya must claim few lives from the road to appease it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
    • thepolygonal on Jul 16, 2015 at 9:35 am

A disturbing comment but sadly very true. :(

• Same L0rrrr on Jul 17, 2015 at 1:40 am

It is either reckless driver causing accident killing people, or the break down Proton blocking the whole road.

• alldisc on Jul 16, 2015 at 11:15 am

one thing many ppl didnt realise… the numbers of fatalities during festival season and normal days are more or less the same.

example average daily deaths because of motor vehicle colission is 8. on festive season the average is something like 11. the increase is not much so the most important question is – what do we do to reduce number of accident deaths on every other day?

• Wheres Sam Loo still trying to hard sell his Toyotas? He will follow u and try to convince u until ur kampung doorsteps. Thats how desperate he is! :-)

• sudonano (Member) on Jul 15, 2015 at 7:04 pm

Sam Loo should drive his Vios TRD, only then can go fast what!

Also, don’t forget that Need For Speed driver doing 170kmh on a 90 kmh road…

• Lorat on Jul 15, 2015 at 7:05 pm

Nice PSA! Thank you! Shared!

• Gargantia on Jul 15, 2015 at 7:11 pm

Selamat Hari Raya to all Malaysian !!!

We need Govt to enforce more safety equip on daily car use… and abolish AP system and hybrid tax !!!

• Aero (Member) on Jul 15, 2015 at 7:13 pm

I just want to say that you guys really did a fantastic job encapsulating the public service announcement in this short and funny video ! It’s so much more effective at getting the message across than the usual ‘don’t do this, don’t do that’ articles that we’re used to.

Also, nice to see new faces in the paultan.org team; welcome and congratulations to Anil Prabha and Graham Chin !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
  • brazbuz on Jul 15, 2015 at 8:10 pm

Nice vid… Thumbs up

• Its a basic thing la… No need a video to inform drivers… Its just particular that ignorant and dont care. This video not gonna benefit anyonr… The idiots still gonna do the same no matter wat. Responsible drivers still will be responsibe with or without this video.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 28
    • bohchap on Jul 16, 2015 at 11:30 am

It’s not reaching out to the responsible ones that’s critical here but the irresponsible/clueless ones. Hopefully they “open” their eyes and be more conscious of what they do on the roads on daily basis.

• tokmoh. on Jul 15, 2015 at 8:49 pm

Eh, Jonathan Lee, that Picanto is yours? Well done for driving 3 pedals *brofist*

This video tell people what not to do.

To know what to do, watch Volvo’s balik kmpung video. Of course, when our comes to safety, Volvo knows best #banggala

• Jonathan Lee (Member) on Jul 15, 2015 at 9:31 pm

Indeed, it is, but don’t forget that out of the seven cars that were shown here, four had stick shifts! ;)

(Three if you don’t count the “broken down” E30 at the end)

• Holofanboi on Jul 15, 2015 at 9:55 pm

Jangan berlagak, aku kasi baling batu kat u punya cermin baru tau >:(

In anycase, hail mah korean brother!

• tokmoh. on Jul 16, 2015 at 12:04 am

You’ll need a Nokia 3310 to break a Volvo hohoho #lame

In any case Jonathan, good to see u now have a manual daily driver. Now you’re no longer the odd guy without one.

• sudonano (Member) on Jul 16, 2015 at 9:33 am

How is the manual with the 1.2 litre engine eh? I have the sister car, the little i10, and I just find it hopeless without the 5th gear on the highway, in the city it is fine though, very rarely you catch it in the wrong gear – except in the steep hills in Bangsar or Damansara…

Not sure if it is caused by the auto, but the fuel consumption is pretty bad for me…

• holofanboi on Jul 16, 2015 at 1:11 pm

Well if you’re coming from a much higher powered car almost everything below it will feel underpowered eventually..

I -kinda- regret test driving my friend’s 125i around the Bangsar library, now I can’t look at my car’s odometer the same anymore! ;_;

• tokmoh. on Jul 16, 2015 at 2:16 pm

Yes, it is the auto’s fault.

Take control, and drive stick. Now offer Picanto 2015 RM42k, buy buy buy.

• tokmoh. on Jul 15, 2015 at 8:58 pm

The amount of burn in this video is too damn high…

• wiwiwiwiw on Jul 15, 2015 at 9:02 pm

You forgot those idiot drivers if you flash or horn them they will slam their brakes to let you crash their cars.

The moment everyone installs a dash cam at the front and rear of their car, the road will be a safer place.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
    • sudonano (Member) on Jul 15, 2015 at 9:30 pm

I agree. Those brake-check idiots really should get a reserved bay in hell. With flashing lights and a welcoming committee.

Hantu betul.

• Henry on Jul 15, 2015 at 9:05 pm

A very cool video. Good job.

• Jay Law on Jul 15, 2015 at 11:05 pm

As always, its the road hoggers.

• Syabas la….

• Ah Beng TRD Vios godcar on Jul 16, 2015 at 12:45 am

None of this would have happened if all road hoggers are dead

• That exhaust note though

• Yeahh road hoggers,hate those but now theres a new threat..the non stop watapping drivers..

• alldisc on Jul 16, 2015 at 11:20 am

a scenario that you guys forgot is becoming more and more familiar to us as u approached the so-called road hogger on the right lane doing 120kph – there is another in front of it doing 120kph also and there is another in front also doing 120kph. and the fact that there is a whole line of drivers doing 120 on the fast lane since the middle lane other drivers are doing 105-110.

when we drive at 140-160kph we cannot call other drivers doing 110kph as road hogger. that is inconsiderate. we need to look at our own ethics than. shame on us.

• Great idea for a video. And brilliant execution. Congratulations. Keep up the good work.

• bohchap on Jul 16, 2015 at 11:33 am

Well done fellas! Spot on. I’m guilty of a few here… but only because of reaction to the clueless acts of clueless drivers…

• holofanboi on Jul 16, 2015 at 1:08 pm

Hehe no harm done I guess. I’m pretty sure ALOT of us are guilty of at least one or two roles in the video xP.

*Im a milder version of that profanity spewing woman* :S

• safety 1st on Jul 19, 2015 at 11:54 pm

scenario – 4 lanes highway eg kl-tanjong malim.
    left lane almost no car at all.. only few lorries at 50-80kmh….second left lane few cars at speed 5kmh faster than those lorries…sometimes at the same speed of the lorries…third lane few more cars with speed slightly faster than the second lane and sometime slower then second left lane… overtaking lane (right lane) jammed packed with cars tailgating the car that is at the most front who is trying to overtake the third lane vehicle often in a very long queue…at a speed slightly faster than than the car he is trying to overtake.

The above is the most common scenario in msia highway and sometimes i think even if PLUS put another two more lanes to 5 lanes highway it will still not going to solve the traffic jam.
    What i dont understand with malaysian drivers.. if u drive 5-10kmh slower or faster than the car infront of you, dont bother overtake.. just stick to the left lane and suck up with the situation.. accept your fate that u are stuck driving a 100-150hp car so just follow the flow.. let the 200hp above car the right lane to overtake at speed which is comfortable to them 150-200kmh… atleast this is how people driving at deristricted autobahn… slow ass driver just keep the slow lane.. you will get to your destination safer that way. otherwise just buy a faster cars