KL-Padang Besar ETS – issues with Chinese-made trains still being resolved, no approval yet from SPAD

KTM_ETS_Padang_Besar

Yet more on the trainsets that are to ply the KL-Padang Besar Electric Train Service (ETS) route – according to a report, manufacturer CSR Zhuzhou Electric Locomotive is working round-the-clock to fix the issues that have so far kept the first Chinese-made trainset, ETS201, from entering service.

The issues revolve around faults with the unit’s automatic train protection (ATP) system, The Star reports. The system, a core safety component, automatically applies the brakes whenever it senses a fault or dangerous condition, and is meant to prevent collisions or derailment when adherence to signals or speed restrictions are not met.

Apparently, the ATP has been triggering whenever ETS201 has entered the branch line to Butterworth during trials, slowing the train down. The train, along with ETS202, has been running evaluation trials on the double tracks from Ipoh to Padang Besar since June, but ETS201 failed the compulsory “fault-free running” test eight days in a row when it was first tested in June.

According to a KTMB source, the train has yet to be officially handed over to KTM and that the Land Public Transport Commission (SPAD) had yet to approve the trainsets. The report adds that SPAD has given CSR until Thursday to solve the problem.

KL12_120810_TREN_ETS

The commission’s CEO Mohd Nur Ismal Kamal said that while there had been a lot of pressure for KTM to run its new ETS fleet, the commission will not be rushed into giving the green light when the requirements of the Land Public Transport Act were not met.

The Chinese company told the publication that it was working with its on-board equipment supplier, Bombardier, to solve the problem, and disagreed that its trainsets are inherently faulty. It said that other than the Bukit Mertajam to Butterworth stretch, ETS201 ran smoothly on all other stretches of the line.

However, observers noted that other trainsets such as the Class 91 units made by Hyundai Rotem and Mitsubishi Electric did not suffer the same problem.

Designed for intercity passenger services, the CSR Zhuzhou Electric Locomotive trainsets can touch 145 km/h on a track designed for a 160 km/h speed. A total of 10 trainsets have been ordered for the service – the remaining eight trainsets are still being assembled.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• shhhh jangan bising on Jul 20, 2015 at 11:01 am

how amazed “faulty machines” being put into operations..

money matters?
    safety matters?
    life matters?

epic… :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
  • Salambangi on Jul 20, 2015 at 11:15 am

Dear train users

I have heard from the employees of of those working in the transportation system that the Chinese nade trains are inherently flawed terribly unreliable. Even the Chinese in China complained of their trains systems and hardware.

Should have adopted Japanese , Canadian or Korean made trains and sytems.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 14
    • tokmoh. on Jul 20, 2015 at 2:28 pm

Cool story, bro.

Chinese trains are fine, new Komuter is also Chinese train, I don’t see much problem with it other than screwed up vandals cracking its windows.

China has biggest HSR network, even more than Japan or any European country.

They also have the fastest average operational speed.

The one fatal HSR accident was caused by signal fault, not the train itself.

German ICE fatal crash was caused by a wheel rim broken. So now German trains are dangerous and should boycott? Sound silly? You’re worse, you’re spreading nonsense cuz of your PRC-phobia, with nothing more concrete than just “I heard from blabla”.

CSR Zhuzhou is not your fly-by-night company, they’ll sort it out. This train will run safely.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 11
  • kington on Jul 20, 2015 at 11:30 am

Isn’t this a bigger problem than UBER?

Greedy and incompetent retards.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
  • Ongtk on Jul 20, 2015 at 11:58 am

Fancy, operating the train without SPAD approval! I always assumed SPAD has the final say in public transport safety? Notwithstanding, who will assume responsibility in the event of any mishap or tragedy then? This is truly amazing. I strongly advice all Malaysians to avoid using the train until SPAD has given its approval. Not that they are doing such a fine job hitherto, but at least there will be a party whom can be held accountable for its safety. Nothing seems to be right with this government!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
    • If what you say, “Nothing seems to be right with this government!”, then why would you believe SPAD when they finally give the green light?
      SPAD is also part of the Gov, so by your definition, SPAD also cannot be trusted. You might as well advise everyone dun take public transportation. Just take basikal!

• Make sure you read the article correctly, and read also thr previous article about ETS before giving stupid comment. The already operated ETS is not these chinese make train. The one that use from KL to PB is the existing train set. Not this still testing new coach.

• what do you expect from Chinese maker?

• gaviny on Jul 20, 2015 at 1:41 pm

There’s an error in the article

“SPAD has given CSR until Thursday to come up with the necessary cash to close the issue”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
  • Andrekua on Jul 20, 2015 at 6:55 pm

China can make quality products too, if you pay the right price. Who do you think make your beloved iPhone, iPad and other gadgets.

What they need to do is get the test done right and follow the periodic maintenance checks. Personally I’m more worried about the latter since we do not have the expertise and experience in this area.

• lazy netizen on Jul 20, 2015 at 9:24 pm

for those who r too lazy to read:

1. “The issues revolve around faults with the unit’s automatic train protection (ATP) system”

2. “Apparently, the ATP has been triggering whenever ETS201 has entered the branch line to Butterworth during trials, slowing the train down”

3. “The Chinese company told the publication that it was working with its on-board equipment supplier, Bombardier, to solve the problem, and disagreed that its trainsets are inherently faulty”