Mazda MX-5 to cost RM190k-210k; CX-3 CKD possible?

mx-5 22

Good news (?) for Mazda MX-5 fans – Bermaz CEO Datuk Seri Ben Yeoh has revealed to BFM 89.9 the indicative pricing for the lightweight Jinba Ittai roadster, said to be in the ballpark of between RM190k-210k, depending on equipment.

Its arrival, he said, would be sometime within the next couple of months, somewhere between August and October. As for the other much-awaited Mazda, the CX-3, Yeoh reiterated what was already previously revealed – that the new Honda HR-V-rivalling B-segment crossover is coming towards the end of the year (we’ll be the first country in ASEAN to receive the car, apparently), estimated to cost between RM120k-130k.

all_new_mazda_cx-3_still_5-v2

Not much else of interest (at least to us!) can be gained from the business radio station’s interview this morning, but there are a few more snippets of information to be shared. Firstly, the company is hoping to commence local assembly of the cars currently imported from Japan – namely, the Mazda 6 and CX-9, as well as the upcoming CX-3 – depending on market demand.

Based on how many CX-9s we see on the road, we can pretty much rule that out, leaving the 6 and the CX-3. We already know of plans afoot to produce CKD versions of the former, but it’s the possibility of the latter that’s the big ticket item, seeing as the indicative pricing of the CBU model is already fairly competitive. Also on the cards are improvements to the Inokom plant in Kulim to ramp up quality and production.

Mazda MX-5

Mazda CX-3

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• seancorr (Member) on Jul 20, 2015 at 8:42 pm

Give me the Honda S1000! Bet that’s gonna be cheaper and as good as this MX-5.

As for the CKD CX-3….hard to say coz the HRV has snapped up most of the potential buyers only leaving those who really want the CX-3 around waiting for it to arrive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 53
    • Jimmy on Jul 20, 2015 at 10:19 pm

1. Half-hearted tiny sporty vehicles without good selling points; all the important equipments can be found in HRV as well. So it is a niche market product.

2. For the same spec, changing from CBU to CKD should show a price drop of around 20%, plus minus. We are lucky to get only 10% drop in prices among all the car marques.

3. Profit margin of a vehicle sold in Malaysia is: minimum 40% of the selling price, ie at least RM60K for an RM150k vehicle.

4. Yet, sellers are still skimpy on safety equipments. I want your money, but I don’t want to take care of your family lives. Good profit must be = good service & goods. A vehicle is not good if it is 2 airbags or 0 ESP. In Mazda’s case, there are two: the 2 and the 8.

5. Auto this-thats, if unrelated to safety, are luxurious items to be reserved for higher end variants; do not exchange for safety equipments. Most Malaysian car sellers do it the other way round, Honda Malaysia included; learn from MB and BMW. C200 has 2 airbags + 0 ESP and C250 has 12 airbags + 3 ESPs, is that right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 56
      • Where is Najib's Promise? on Jul 21, 2015 at 8:48 am

Huh? Small B segment with smaller legroom than Myvi also can sell RM130k???

The question we must be asking is, where is Najib’s promise?

Where is Najib’s promise? Najib promised 30 million people 2 years ago before the election that he would reduce car prices by 30 percent.

He said the 30 million people need not worry because BN always kept their word and never mungkir janji. He said if people voted for BN, he was 100% sure to reduce car prices by 30 percent.

Najib, in his speech told people that BN knew how much people suffered paying for their cars and he felt very sorry for the people, thus, he was sure to reduce car prices by 30%.

It is a well know fact, that we Malaysians are paying 3x the global prices of cars. And double whammy, not only we pay 3x the global prices of cars, our cars are stripped down so bad, it hardly lacks any safety features. Even our top D segment cars each have about 20 less safety features than the same car costing 3 times less overseas. For example, a 10 airbag Toyota Camry CBU in the US cost US$22,000. In Malaysia, this cost RM180k. And loads of safety spec taken out. For example Tyre Pressure Monitoring System and many others. Camry Hybrid in the US is US26,000. Come to Malaysia, should be tax free. CKD it using Malaysian parts should be even cheaper. But here sell RM175k

Now, what happened Najib? Where is your promise?

Najib also said that by 2020, we would become high income nation. He said our GDP per Capita would be US$48,000. That would mean, per month, the average Malaysian would be earning US$4000 (RM15,000) per month.

Raja Nazrin, Sultan of Perak said this was pure lies. He said it is an utter lie because 78% all EPF contributors are earning RM1200 and below.

Do you see the average Malaysian earning RM15k per month by 2020?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 12
        • Gary Chong on Jul 21, 2015 at 12:38 pm

Najib?? Najib has 1MDB matters at hand, busy figuring how to handle it. U wan him 2 reduce car prices? Wait til’ nxt election oso wont reduce la… Janji kosong ditepati~

• jeffkl on Jul 27, 2015 at 11:25 am

If you want to comment on politics I suggest you get out of this site-you got all your facts twisted around your balls

• Lance on Jul 21, 2015 at 9:07 am

You just tembak and got everything your pointed out completed wrong.

• Ekeleh on Jul 22, 2015 at 5:55 am

Ek eleh, as long as Nasi lemak manage the country and business, nasi akan jadi basi. Only thing we can do is to keep complaining…We are in the place that cant change things unless Milotin company closed down :|

• Honda HRV Demand Drop already.
      last time wait 6 months.
      now wait 4 months pun dapat dah.

1. Launched February 5th.
      Booking = 13k @ April 29th.
      13k over 3 months = 4333/month booking rate.
      2. 18k @ July 1st.
      5k increase over 2 monhts. = 2500/month booking rate.
      CONCLUSION:
      Booking rate have dropped drastically.
      Thus, Waiting period reduced to 4 months now.

• Obviously (Member) on Jul 21, 2015 at 7:03 am

That’s what he meant…most of the people that are shopping for this kind of car have already gone for the HR-V. There’s only a limited supply of customers, you know.

• Correct.
      Honda is the Budget Car you can buy.

• Same L0rrrr on Jul 21, 2015 at 11:52 am

Honda HRV is no doubt cheaper than CX3. But people would rather buy the cheaper Rush.

• thepolygonal on Jul 21, 2015 at 9:09 am

Support your comment on the S1000. :D

• hm… Mazda is aggressively rising in malaysian market, and i thought the yeoh empire is switching their business away slowly to neighbouring countries…

• Blitz on Jul 20, 2015 at 8:57 pm

End of the year??? lol. 1st mazda says near end of july for Cx-3. Then around August. Now end of the year? Beter next year la. So slow to come here. Beter go with hrv

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 9
    • Energy Analyst on Jul 21, 2015 at 11:44 am

Would you want to bring it in so early IF you are Bermaz?

1. Look at car sales in Malaysia in 2015 so far, is the market sentiment encouraging?

2. Do you think the approval to bring this CBU is timely now given the weak Ringgit? Bermaz must be delaying because it is bloody hard to price when the Forex is spiraling downward like that

3. CX 3 launching delay is unique to Malaysia, it has been a world wide : e.g. USA first it was mentioned launched in Summer, than now they say it is Fall

• Energy Analyst on Jul 21, 2015 at 12:49 pm

CX 3 launching delay is NOT unique to Malaysia, it has been a world wide ISSUE

adding in the missing words

• DVR camera on Jul 20, 2015 at 9:29 pm

Why don’t Datuk Seri Ben Yeoh offer the DVR camera front & rear with highest 32GB / 64GB as one of the toy which buyer can get together with the car. This product can help the driver claim the insurance faster and help JPJ to arrest the traffic offender.
    I’ll be waiting to get CX-3 as one of my precious SUV this year.

• CX5-FC on Jul 20, 2015 at 9:45 pm

Does anyone know when is CX-5 2.0 facelift coming? been waiting patiently till my jaw drop…

• its already in the showrooms..apparently u can see some of em on the road already

• Aero (Member) on Jul 20, 2015 at 10:28 pm

Of all the Japanese-badged players in our market, Bermaz Mazda has my strongest support because of their emphasis on exports. Almost all of the others (UMW Toyota, Honda Malaysia, ETCM Nissan, Mitsubishi Motors Malaysia, Suzuki Malaysia Automobile and Isuzu Malaysia) have a very different policy; they all assemble CKD models almost entirely for domestic consumption. They do it to reduce pricing, they have no intentions of making Malaysia their ASEAN production hub (because they already have Thailand or Indonesia or both). The exceptions are Bermaz Mazda and Motor Image Subaru, which export the models they assemble to other ASEAN markets and help reduce our import-export deficit.

I don’t blame the Japanese companies for choosing Thailand or Indonesia as their ASEAN hub. To them, it’s just good business, and all things considered, Thailand is the most open of all the ASEAN markets to foreign investors. And now that the Japanese have pretty much conquered the Thai market, they can leverage on their economies of scale… so no matter what our government does in the near future, the Japanese will probably stick with their Thai hub simply because it’s cheaper, faster and more efficient in the long run. There’s no reason why they should make a second major ASEAN hub with a focus on exports like Thailand when they could simply add capacity to their already impressive Thai factories. Even Indonesia today is nowhere near the level of exports when compared to the Thai factories; only when labour costs begin to rise, Indonesia’s auto industry will too. And our Malaysian labour costs aren’t getting any lower either, so we’ve already lost that game. Our only choice is to move upmarket, or into niche markets… like SUVs for example, but also luxury cars. Here, the market is not nearly as competitive and higher labour costs can be offset by higher profit margins on more expensive or niche cars. This is where Bermaz Mazda and Motor Image Subaru come in; they assemble the CX-5 SUV and XV pseudo-SUV for export, and they can still remain profitable. It’s also helpful that the SUV market in Malaysia is the largest per-capita among the big ASEAN markets. Most Malaysians will never realize and hence never appreciate this, but we need to reciprocate and show some support to companies like Bermaz Mazda and Motor Image Subaru for supporting our automotive industry. They might not be very prominent today, but they have grown significantly in sales during the last few years and will grow even more in the future. They could be the next Swedish Motor Assemblies, but only if we buy their cars. No I’m not being paid to promote Mazda or Subaru, I do it because they deserve to be commended for their efforts.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 2
    • Forester For Life on Jul 21, 2015 at 8:23 am

Mind that ETCM Nissan and Motor Image Subaru are from the same Tan Chong Group

• Lololol on Jul 21, 2015 at 10:45 am

Correction, though Tan Chong but managed by different Family Members. Subaru is owned by Singapore Family Member. Nissan is Malaysia Family member. Managed differently and are separate entities.

• holofanboi on Jul 20, 2015 at 10:55 pm

At 190k, rather than getting the Mazda 6 I’d target straight for this!

And pay the price of buying a 2 door in Malaysia. I am so going to get cursed and ridiculed on the road :/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
  • sepul on Jul 20, 2015 at 11:20 pm

The painful effect of excise duties make the MX-5 super expensive for what is essentially a very basic car for budget conscious buyers. It should have been similar in pricing to the CX-3 imo, at the very least.

• O-Man on Jul 21, 2015 at 12:09 am

Agree with Sepul. In Australia Mx5 will be sold in the mid 30k AUD. It only has a 1.5L engine. It will be sold here @ approximately 200k! It doesn’t make much sense. I understand that the tax for imported cars becomes >200% after the engine capacity exceeds 2.5 L. It is ripping off to the max IMHO. Similarly the excellent Toyota 86 is sold from mid 30k AUD and over here it is a whopping 210k! That is why there are only a handful of them on the road. N.B 35000AUD = 98k RM.

• Lololol on Jul 21, 2015 at 10:28 am

Dont pick one aspect and compare la….. Australia income tax rate can go up to 47%. On top of there are levies which needs to be paid as well as GST rates 10%. Also insurance is higher as well as services. So cannot just select 1 and compare.

• O-Man on Jul 21, 2015 at 12:48 pm

Lololol…disagree with you. Income tax higher but health is free and cost of living bucks per bucks is cheaper there. Car servicing is capped with most company and for mazda AU it’s capped FOR THE LIFE OF THE VEHICLE!

• Lololol on Jul 21, 2015 at 1:51 pm

For every benefit you state, there is a service or product which counters the effect. Hence its not apple to apple comparison. Like I said, income tax, levies, GST, services are all more expensive.

Also am not sure what you mean by Car Servicing is capped for the life of the vehicle,… if you mean regular oil change, oil filter change, air filter chance… check out the local manufacturers…. all list out prices and it doesnt go above a certain value. Hence, capped also. No?

• John X on Jul 22, 2015 at 2:37 pm

Who told you this grandmother story? Msian healthcare is also free in government hospitals. You will then complain about wait times. Which is the same there too. Cost of living is cheaper there? Again, who told you. Sydney happens to be one of the most expensive cities in the world. Car servicing? Like the guy who replied below you. It’s standard for oil change and oil filter. Please, don’t be too quick to talk out of your ass.

• olio benzina on Jul 21, 2015 at 12:52 am

Bermaz, pls bring in the manual transmission model.
    Not all of us are hairdressers.

• Lololol on Jul 21, 2015 at 6:14 am

Hmm…. I can understand why people bash Toyota for the lack of safety equipment or VW for their unwillingness to correct a design error on their DSG gearboxes…..

But I wonder why do we need to polarize this when both vehicles are equally well equipped, competitively priced but serves 2 different customer segments…. I think both HRV and CX3 are great products and we should celebrate that the Malaysian market can generate demand for both models so we can have choices.

• veera on Jul 21, 2015 at 6:23 am

Cx3 is already on the roads in Singapore and we are not the 1st ones to receive them here. Please refrain from giving unfounded statements before Bernaz checks them or just wants to mislead the public. I spotted one on JB roads 3 weeks ago.

• CarmenTung on Jul 21, 2015 at 7:26 am

Ouhh, cx-3 looks appealing outside but inside looks dull and boring completely turn me off…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • manyakmahal on Jul 21, 2015 at 9:21 am

22k USD car, turned into 190k in Malaysia. It makes me feel like… no rasuah, just buy more expensive only. Sigh

• Golfer on Jul 21, 2015 at 9:42 am

The CX-3 is a really good looking car. Hopefully M’sian version is well spec-ed and below RM120k. If it is, i’m sure it will sell well. Really interested to get one myself.

• Mazda MX-5 to cost RM190k-210k
    Toyota 86 or Honda CR-Z better

• Lololol on Jul 21, 2015 at 10:31 am

Both are very different cars. Price different, engine capacity different, drive train different, focus different. How to compare???? only thing common is 4 tyres and 2+2 seats with steering… lol

• Zoom Zoom on Jul 21, 2015 at 9:59 am

120-130k CX-3 is quite expensive. Don’t think the sales can beat HR-V with starting price from 98k. Please CKD and price it from 100k.

• sudonano (Member) on Jul 21, 2015 at 10:03 am

CX3 being CKD is critical to ensure they can make it price competitive to the HR-V. Cause look at the CX5 against the CR-V. No surprise the CX5 is selling like hot cakes since you can get the basic one for 120k or so, and get all the safety features, plus the 2.0 Skyactiv engine which is a much more modern unit compared to the 2.0 in the CR-V. And the base CR-V only has 4 airbags.

The 5 seat SUV market is pretty much a game of Mazda versus Honda, with Mazda owning the mid size, while Honda owns the small SUV. 7 seat SUV, don’t need to say, the current king of the bunch is the Hyundai Santa Fe, what ever said and done, at least in the highest specification, Hyundai really did well, not even the Sorento and forget about the Japanese rivals, they really were spot on with the interior and the refinement.

• Uvnice on Jul 21, 2015 at 10:25 am

Bring in manual MX-5!
    Price it below Rm200k then you got your sales!

• mojojojo on Jul 21, 2015 at 11:22 am

manual manual manual mx5

• Cx-9?? Typo?

• Oh silly me.. There is a cx-9. So unpopular until I forgot it existed

• modesto.h on Jul 21, 2015 at 12:02 pm

look at the sales then decide if CKD or not. This is very obvious recruiting CKD victims. those who buy mazda CBU models are guinea pigs for their CKD experiment.

• Some CBU equipment is high end, just like the sound system BOSE…CKD won’t get…What’s your opinion?

• car-fans on Jul 21, 2015 at 2:06 pm

Mazda Malaysia – U wanna to see your CX3 everywhere then make sure U release good price (below RM100K) – surely sell like Goreng Pisang :)

Just try n see :)

Those who AGREE put vote LIKE :)

• sabahan on Jul 21, 2015 at 2:38 pm

why mx-5 so expensive?

• Rangers on Jul 21, 2015 at 3:24 pm

Bermaz now may risk the one and done happy hour with CX-5 success and raising the price but not value (eg warranty period)

1) Mazda 6? Accord, Camry, Teana, xxx all have different value that make consumer buy them
    2) Mazda 2? Such high price car
    3) Mazda 3? Same with 2 where high price with not much value compare competitors..
    3) Now this highly anticipate CX3 with HRV competing? good luck with hitting RM130K range where many other choices are awaiting there

If Mazda can make all 5 years warranty, they might back to the game…I believe thats one of the reason many buy Honda..

• Balls on Jul 21, 2015 at 4:54 pm

Well, Though the higher price, the materials and feel of the mazda vehicles out classes the rest hence the higher premium.

Mazda 3 price high with not much value???? Which competitor you comparing with??? Altis ? Civic?? Mazda3 Skyactiv currently leads in the features list.

• tiger on Jul 22, 2015 at 1:23 pm

CX3 Delayed again? Need to cancel my booking soon. Go for hrv as no firm launching date from M. Can wait any more.

• So it will be 190-210K and only in auto variant, whereas in Japan it starts from 75K? Congrats Bermaz you did it again, you will only sell 12 units this year, and one of them will NOT be from ME.

• So it will be 190-210K, whereas in Japan it starts from 75K? Thank you bn, you are heroes.