Taxi drivers need to improve services, reverse perception instead of just blaming Uber – SPAD boss

SPAD-Syed-Hamid-Albar-01

Taxi drivers have made their grouses against app-based private driver services like Uber and GrabCar public, but it’s not a cause that the average consumer is backing with a loud ‘aye’ and a table thump. There is demand for the unlicensed services, which is why they are mushrooming despite authorities declaring such services as illegal.

As always, there are push and pull factors, and local cabbies need to change the perception and mindset passengers have of them and regain their trust by improving services, The Sun reports.

Land Public Transport Commission (SPAD) chairman Tan Sri Syed Hamid Albar (pic above) said the perception that customers have of taxi drivers has cost them, with more people now opting to use illegal services like Uber. Other means of public transportation have also improved over the years, he pointed out.

easy-taxi-super-easy-taxi 259

The SPAD boss also cited a report by British taxi comparison site LondonCabs that put Malaysia top of the list for the worst taxi drivers in the world, claiming that cabbies overcharge riders and that cabs can often be old and in poor condition.

“Our taxi drivers need to improve their services to reverse the perception that passengers have. Instead of just blaming Uber for a decrease in the number of passengers, they need to counter these allegations (that taxi services are poor) and prove them wrong.

“Drivers need to provide better services, be more polite, and also be presentable, so that customers won’t shy away. The cars should also always be in good condition, as some of them are still driving very old cars in poor conditions, like the Proton Saga,” he said when contacted by the free daily.

“We have increased the fares for the taxis, and if they take the same initiative in improving their services, I’m sure passengers will choose them,” he added. Taxi fares were increased in March, with time and distance rates up 25 sen for every 200 metres and/or every 36 seconds.

As expected, the cabbies are unimpressed by Syed Hamid’s comments. Malaysia Taxi Drivers Transformation Association (PERS1M) deputy president Kamarudin Mohd Hussain said this year has been one of the worst cabbies have had to face, with Uber “robbing” them of customers and compounding their woes with the recent GST implementation and passengers put off by the fare hike.

“Where do you expect these drivers to get their money from? Before blaming anyone else, they (SPAD) should also look at what contributions they have made for the taxi industry,” said Kamarudin, a main figure in recent protests in PJ.

“Only recently in May did SPAD allow us to change to a Toyota Innova. But contrary to what Syed Hamid had said, we are always working to change our old cars,” said Kuala Lumpur and Selangor Taxi Operators Association (PERPEKLI) president Datuk Aslah Abdullah, who added that the government needs to be more aggressive in combating illegal services.

What’s your take on this much-debated issue?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• BigBalls on Jul 20, 2015 at 12:59 pm

Well done for growing some balls and saying what the rakyat have been saying for the past 10 years

-BigBalls-

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 1
    • George Abdul on Jul 20, 2015 at 2:32 pm

“still driving very old cars in poor conditions, like the Proton Saga”

Later Tun DrM will use his blog to blaze this guy lol…

• Albar 6 Figure Salary on Jul 20, 2015 at 2:47 pm

Albar talk big but he is very comfy with his 6 figure salary (per month and not per year. nothing will be done. This is drama to appease the rakyat.

Malaysia is the ONLY country in the world where the cab driver can decline taking you and not use meter. Both also illegal but they dare to protest. You come to protest you must come with clean hands. Every other teksi driver never use meter and refuse to pick up passengers when hailed.

This SPAD is so scared to do anything. We complain to SPAD also, nothing is done to these drivers. In reality, do they even get penalized? My neighbor is a crook teksi driver and he has been driving for 10 years. He never uses meter at all.

Many of us have complained to SPAD about him but he has NEVER been called up.

SPAD is a sham and full of lies. Albar, don’t talk big, do something.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
      • Bulan Puasa Protest on Jul 20, 2015 at 2:51 pm

What happened to the drivers when 2nd time PERS1M threatened during bulan puasa. Obvious that they have no respect for the Holy Month. The first was to threaten road blocks during puasa which would have caused mayhem and standstill and cripple the economy.

The IGP should consider this protest and the last threat the SAME as the Low Yat brawl. Each and every PERs1M driver should be arrested like how the polis is chasing Papagomo. They have threatened unrest which will collapse the economy.

There is no difference between Papagomo and the current protest and threat. Both want to threaten the peace of the country and instigate riots.

The IGP should arrest each of these thugs and SPAD should cancel all their licences and ask them to surrender their licences.

There are thousands of willing people wanting to drive teksi and won’t complain. Give these confiscated licences to them.

Enough of all the threats and boycotts. If you don’t know or want to compete and you are greedy and selfish, just give up all your licences.

The last few posts on Uber, every single comment was nasty towards teksi drivers. All the comments came from Malaysians. If Malaysians can rate our teksi drivers as nasty, can you imagine how our teksi drivers treat the tourist?

It is no wonder why Malaysian teksi drivers are rated the WORST in the world. Everyday there are tourist being charged RM400 or RM500 for 5km journeys. this has to stop.

My advice to SPAD, cancel all their licences. Make it open to the public. there will be thousands wlling to appy to be teksi drivers.

• SPAD JPJ Corrupted on Jul 20, 2015 at 3:02 pm

Albar pandai cakap besar. But all the spad officers and JPJ all kuat makan duit. The teksi driver very easy. If caught with the offence of meter tampering or not using meter, he just give ang pau to the spad officer.

That is why this problem of worst teksi drivers cannot be controlled. When you let a criminal lose, he will keep on committing the same crime over and over again because he knows it is easy to get away with it.

SPAD should be be very strict and not makan suap. Should do like drugs and hukum gantung. In this case, if offence is done 2nd time, straight away revoke licence strictly.

There are thousands of offenders teksi drivers back on the street doing the same thing. Dirty teksi, smoking in teksi, cheating people, don’t use meter, suka hati fetch people and depends on their mood whether they want to take or not etc etc.

SPAD figures are all false. They will say every year they got xxxx number of offenders prosecuted. Semua tipu. If it is true, the problem won’t be so blatant and such a big scale.

In all the SPAD postings in PT, every comment is negative. this alone shows that the Lonodn based survey is 100% true.

SPAD and JPJ need to stop taking money to “overlook” offences.

• Black Dog on Jul 20, 2015 at 3:18 pm

Perception my foot!

It’s downright the truth.

• Bangsar to KLCC - RM150 on Jul 20, 2015 at 3:24 pm

I am from England on a visit to Malaysia. I got charged RM150 from Bangsar to KLCC last week. It was non peak hours. About 11am.

Cabbie said Hari Raya holidays I will have to incur triple charge. Is this true??

• Painter on Jul 21, 2015 at 10:37 pm

Take Uber.

• Welcome to malaysia!

• Albar Conflict of Interest on Jul 20, 2015 at 3:42 pm

Albar Wife also got so many teksi companies with a fleet of few hundred teksis.

Albar, not conflict of Interest ah? You got LLB and Peguam before and also Law Minister before, you should know about Conflict of Interest

• Same L0rrrr on Jul 20, 2015 at 4:30 pm

Does the taxi Persona/Exora/Saga/Wira have 6 airbags and VSC?

NO!!!

When you mention of moving coffin, these are the real one!

• Lock Up on Jul 20, 2015 at 3:45 pm

All those taxi drivers who don’t use the meter to cheat the public MUST be arrested and charged for cheating. It’s a CRIMINAL OFFENCE!

• satumii on Jul 20, 2015 at 6:59 pm

Tan Sri Crony – the first quality statement from your garbage mouth.

• Honestly i have been using Uber for months and its so much more better. I rather get in a Camry or Vios or City which is so much more safer, comfortable and smells better. Those old Protons which has crappy vehicles as well as pricey ride can go F themselves. Be competitive or get squeezed out of the market.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 2
    • Briton Charged RM450 on Jul 20, 2015 at 2:48 pm

Albar, how is the public now going to be protected by cheats? Every one of us has been cheated by cabs not once but many times. Give me a like if you have been cheated by a cabby in Malaysia.

Tourist also get cheated everyday bringing bad name to the country. The story below is very common. Happens everyday and it is NOT an isolated incident. Really happens daily

Briton charged RM450 for 10km trip, sparking furore over cheating cabbies

PETALING JAYA: An English tourist was charged RM450 for a taxi ride from KL Sentral to the Suria KLCC shopping centre, a distance of less than 10km.

The Land Public Transport Commission (SPAD) said the tourist paid the fare before lodging a report against the driver.

SPAD chairman Tan Sri Syed Hamid Albar said they were investigating and would take action against the taxi driver and the operator.

He said the taxi driver was believed to have threatened the tourist into paying the fee.

“Taxi drivers are our frontliners and ambassadors of the country as they interact with tourists daily.

“We are taking this seriously as it affects the country’s image,” he said after opening SPAD’s new enforcement centre at the Persada Plus here yesterday.

He said SPAD was conducting a study to regulate the pricing mechanism for the taxi coupon system.

“We want feedback from taxi drivers and passengers before proceeding with the study,” he said, adding that there were mixed views about the coupon system.

While some supported it, he said, others saw it as restrictive.

“Some drivers said they would be unable to take passengers if they were not part of the taxi coupon system, while others felt it restrict-ed their movement,” he said, adding that the system was implemented privately by mall and airport operators.

SPAD also announced the purchase of 17 new vehicles, which will be used by its enforcement officers nationwide.

Syed Hamid said the highest number of reports SPAD received were against illegal taxi touts, followed by complaints about overloaded lorries on the road.

In the 3,845 operations conducted since Jan 2010, 74 individuals and operators have been taken to court. Source: The Star Online

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • Hikaru on Jul 20, 2015 at 1:20 pm

I think the taxi should stop complaining and win back the public by providing good or excellent service. As the article points out, you can use the law to hide your lousy service and bad attitude. Worst of all, SPAD consented to the increase in price but there is not decrease in number of taxi around klcc that will refuse to use meter. Blame yourself for the failing business.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • Matchy on Jul 20, 2015 at 1:20 pm

Never increase fare, they say cant cover their cost.
    After increase fare, they say cant get customer.

What the eff that you guys want?! I really suggest that they quit driving taxi which is better for them (no need to do losing business) and also the customer. (less evil taxi drivers)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
  • I am not supporting any sides, just to share the experience by our client, UIAM PhD Student. He took a taxi from Taman Jaya Station to my office, just behind the station for not familiar with the area. Good enough the taxi took him ride and send to my office, which take me on foot about 5 minis. How to explain?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 15
  • albag on Jul 20, 2015 at 1:29 pm

these stupid taxi drivers everyday keep complaining not enough money to cover their cost, Uber grabbing their business…

do they even realise how terrible their service is at first place? Rating one of the world’s worst taxis is the black n white proof!

bodoh mia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
    • alldisc on Jul 20, 2015 at 1:52 pm

first we need to understand the scenario taxi drivers are in – many of them drive for permit owners and need to pay for it.

i say get rid of these permit owners first. please.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
      • tokmoh. on Jul 20, 2015 at 2:11 pm

Those permit owners are too powerful to be touched.

Pusing sini, pusing sana, so long SPAD no balls to tackle those permit owners, things will never change.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
      • sepul on Jul 20, 2015 at 2:31 pm

Yes, agreed.

From what I understand, many taxi drivers are not working for a taxi company. Instead many of them work for the permit owners, so basically they are private cabbies also.

Shouldn’t they all registered with Uber and GrabCar instead?

• Joakim on Jul 20, 2015 at 3:58 pm

yes, excellent point!!! Permit holders only sit back, and collect their fees for doing nothing. This sense of entitlement is truly hurting Malaysia.

• Spot On! don’t always pray for Tongkat. Suit it up and face the world !

• 1st step for improvement, please make the Complaint Hotline a relevant call.

• x-mken on Jul 20, 2015 at 1:46 pm

Local taxi is just pathetic, set to increase fare but fail to obtain customer, sound and cry for every against accuse, now comparable competitive uber and other which fair outstanding services then their inexpert.

• nabill (Member) on Jul 20, 2015 at 1:54 pm

most of them are jus mat rampit on 4 wheels…they way they drive in the city make ur middle finger itch…

• the Ultimate warrior on Jul 20, 2015 at 2:02 pm

1st the rude taxi driver attitude need to change, second please phase out the old iswara fleet, it is old, unsafe and uncomfortable… I been to the persona and exora taxi it feels much more comfortable and clean…everytime I ride the iswara taxi to klia, I have a fear that it will break down half way…

• Can Do on Jul 20, 2015 at 2:02 pm

I travel every week outside of the country. I can agree we have the worst taxis and taxi drivers in the world in general. Only a few are honest but most are just horrible. I was in the Philippines last week. Taxis are just as bad but their taxi drivers are not as bad. Many still go on meters. As Uber is thriving in Philippines and their government make no attempt to ban it. So to the Malaysian taxi drivers, you deserve what you get for screwing your customers. If you can’t do an honest living, just stop driving. Malaysian consumers don’t need you.

• tinmilo on Jul 20, 2015 at 2:10 pm

Perception?
    This is not just a perception, it is a reality that our taxi service sucks big time.
    Wakeup!
    And please don’t continue protecting these culprits. They are ‘driving’ all the tourist away!

• iiAMGPackage on Jul 20, 2015 at 2:21 pm

Retarded mines,retarded cars, retarded service including retarded fares. Not to mention that they are retarded enough to get that retarded job for not doing well at school. That’s why please study well if you don’t want to be one of them.

• aquaria on Jul 20, 2015 at 2:21 pm

well, the root cause of this shitty problem is came from the govt themselve. They give the taxi permit to their cronnies and big company… then the genuine taxi’s driver need to rent out the permit and taxi from this fcker’s company. daily rent ok… one day without services, they still need to pay the rent. So how they cover their burden? by charging us the end user. if they start to give individual permit, no burden to pay daily rent, then we can see the transformation bit by bit.

• sepul on Jul 20, 2015 at 2:34 pm

A taxi company should be using similar business model as a travel agent company. Like express buses.

• Gargantia on Jul 20, 2015 at 2:27 pm

And should the taxis driver need to change the car to d-segment as proper standard?

Please no more crap Proton saga and lousy services !!!

• Tweak2my on Jul 20, 2015 at 2:35 pm

1. Too late to salvage. Given up on KL taxis permanently. Uber and GrabTaxi only.

2. No longer considers Proton, rather have no car. Or take the train, walk, and or cycle, or car pool.

Too off-putting, distasteful and extremely displeasuring. Yuck!

• kapchai on Jul 20, 2015 at 2:45 pm

Legalise all and let them compete. May the best man/person win. Survival of the fittest.

• hadi75 on Jul 20, 2015 at 3:05 pm

Agreed…but government also need to stop giving permits to companies instead give it to the drivers…..

• Joakim on Jul 20, 2015 at 3:44 pm

Personally, for a country like Malaysia, it is shameful to have taxi service that is worst then most Asean countries. Even Indonesia, with all it’s problems, have good private taxi companies like Blue bird and Express Taxi. Most of the government owned have closed down due to competition with the privately owned ones.

• fedupofcabbies on Jul 20, 2015 at 3:54 pm

It’s telling that Kamarudin Mohd Hussain had nothing to say about how the majority of drivers are “robbing” the rakyat of a good service, comfortable ride, money and even to some extent their privacy and personal space. I know people who have been sexually harassed while in a cab. What delusions of grandeur must these cabbies have if they think the people would opt for their services again. In fact, even if Uber didn’t exist, I’d much rather walk in sweltering heat than be in the presence of cheats and creeps.

• Uberian on Jul 20, 2015 at 4:26 pm

I was experienced before at Penang George Town to Gurney paragon about 5~8min journey. Taxi open price on Rm 20 but I’m try to nego till RM 10. End up the taxi reject me and told me” if u can’t afford to take taxi, pls go take bus”

• Kenneth Fook on Jul 20, 2015 at 4:55 pm

I sense some dogs barking at the obvious.

• Taxi drivers who complain should just quit being a taxi driver and make a career change. So many jobs out there, why choose to be a cabbie? Born to be a cabbie ke? Try being a bus driver instead, or a cleaner in a mall or something.

• Shadowsniper on Jul 20, 2015 at 7:42 pm

Just look at the video… how do they dress? Some even look gangster. So parent out there. Will you allow your teenage daughter those cab? If they block the road. As traffic police tarik their car to balai lor. Government can make more money. We citizens of Malaysia have enough of this nonsense taxi driver. It time to reset Malaysia taxi and reboot the whole taxi system in Malaysia.

• Rangers on Jul 20, 2015 at 8:20 pm

this are the ganster of the OWNERS of the taxis..

RM 58 per day? shows how deep they charge..1 year RM 21K can buy a new protong every year.

• they dont know,actually uber is create by them,due to their bad services and attitude.and the dangerous driving skill.well, not all of them but most of them.

• Teksi Kangkung Lembik on Jul 20, 2015 at 11:40 pm

PERS1M Taxi drivers & SPAD goons…all abang-adik

All x boleh pakai.

• Uber_customer on Jul 20, 2015 at 11:54 pm

Uber is providing excellent services. Remember they dont cheat ppl for living like SPAD, malaysia taxi drivers n Bend :)

• Josh Ling on Jul 21, 2015 at 1:16 am

improve your services first, before we talk about others stealing your business. always point to yourself first before pointing to others.

• Golf MK7 Owner on Jul 21, 2015 at 1:18 am

We rakyat complain everyday for the past decade and you didn’t even say any actions will be taken. Only after reading a citation from LondonCabs report then you talk big in front of media ? As usual, rakyat’s voice is not worth the attention of the Government, “actions” only taken when outsiders start complaining about our country. Poor Malaysians, cheated by taxi drivers here and there, and the biggest crook who has been taking us for a huge freaking ride all these time is the government.