Landwind X7 to go on sale despite JLR complaints

x7-landwind-pics-001

In this day and age, it is absolutely astounding that Intellectual Property theft is so blatantly disregarded by the Chinese authorities. When one comes across a case such as this, the first reaction is probably to have a good laugh followed by a sense of incredulity.

The Landwind X7 – seen here in full production form – is basically a clone of the Range Rover Evoque. It will go on sale in China next month, despite intense legal pressure from Jaguar Land Rover (JLR). Speculation is rife about its pricing, but it is expected to retail at about £14,000 (RM82,500) in the local market.

Ralf Speth, CEO of JLR, is seething and admits that his company is ‘powerless’ to stop Chinese companies from copying their designs. “China, from my point of view has enough creativity and engineering power to do something on their own and doesn’t have to fall back to the time when copying was of interest,” Speth told Autocar India.

Speth acknowledges that although JLR is practically helpless in this scenario, he believes the onus is on Chinese consumers to make an educated choice and select the real product and not the copied one.

“We hope they generate a self-regulation process so that they can get rid of this kind of copy-paste way of working”, Speth added, pointing out that there is currently no law against the practice.

Just to recap, the gloves came off between JLR and Landwind when the clone was unveiled at the 2014 Guangzhou Motor Show. Speth had mentioned that he was going to fight tooth and nail to prevent what was a blatant case of Intellectual Property theft.

“The simple principal is that it is not something that should happen; the Intellectual Property is owned by Jaguar Land Rover and if you break that IP then you are in breach of international regulations that apply around the world,” he elaborated.

Interestingly, JLR has invested heavily in China as a joint venture partner with Chery, and it will be intriguing to watch how this particular development effects the future of this collaboration.

Range Rover Evoque

Anil Prabha

Anil Prabha has always been a petrol head. He also has a strange knack for remembering car models and their respective registration plates. Naturally aspirated engines are always better than turbocharged or supercharged ones, in his opinion. Ultimately, he believes that there is nothing better in life than just going for a drive.

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jul 22, 2015 at 11:38 am

China cars are now not only competing face to face with kimchis, but in fact are getting more superior than rotten cabbages

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 24
    • jinggo on Jul 22, 2015 at 12:05 pm

Kimchi mana boleh fight, Kimchi setakat bole menang Plotong shj leh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 19
  • Just like smartphone, more and more people accepted brand like oppo, vivo, huawei, lenovo. Soon more malaysia will drive a china made car. As long as the quality is good and with lower price tag.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 22
    • tokmoh. on Jul 22, 2015 at 12:32 pm

Heard this car got Mitsubishi 4G63T, with 6 speed manual or 8 speed auto.

The output is weak, 190hp/250Nm, but seems moddable thanks to Mitsu parts.

I totally love it, if I can have it here, gonna paste troll face all around the car, and park next to Evoques whenever possible. Problem?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 5
      • Chris Tan on Jul 22, 2015 at 2:20 pm

Mitsubishi 4G63S4T with 8AT
        You buy this in China, the dealer will provide you free LR Evoque badging

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
  • jinggo on Jul 22, 2015 at 11:54 am

memang spesis kaki ciplak ni..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 26
    • Even spec ciplak..also will beat proton 4 good.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 38
      • No other car can compare with proton because proton is the worst in auto industry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 60
    • spesis yg ciplak honda accord jadi proton perdana & ciplak mitsu lancer jd inspira mcm mana pula…puihhh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 47
      • NAk dikata pandai tapi macam tak. Nak kata Bodoh, mmg ye

accord perdana, lancer inspira bukan ciplak since it rebadging with consent of the original manufacturer. This one is blatant curi. True people say, when you really hate something, its blinded you from seeing the truth.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 125 Thumb down 8
      • Battu on Jul 22, 2015 at 5:00 pm

itu rebadge. the original ownership still remain and got their share of untung la idiot.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 2
      • Azizi on Jul 22, 2015 at 6:31 pm

Tu ciplak yg ada lesen ada kebenaran dari pemilik jenama asal

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
      • Anderson Chong on Jul 23, 2015 at 7:01 am

Is call “Pronda Acdana”!!!

• ilis bodo on Jul 23, 2015 at 9:50 am

Stupid comment. Get your fact right la.. Jgn ckp mcm org takde akal. Bodoh bangang!!!!

• Aero (Member) on Jul 22, 2015 at 12:01 pm

Rebadging is a win-win for all parties, because one company gets a new car, the other company gets money and the customers get more choices. But reverse engineering or copying (like this Landwind) is bad for EVERYONE. The original company will lose sales and money, the customers will get an inferior product and the copying company will, in the long run, be hated and shunned for using cheap tactics.

In China, local-badged cars only sell well in the inner states where people are poorer and less educated. In the coastal states, the majority of new cars sold are foreign-badged. The Chinese car companies only have themselves to blame, for blatantly copying others in the past (and many still do today). In the last half-decade, some Chinese car companies have moved past the copying era and now make quite impressive cars for the price that they’re asking… but they will have to work many times harder to fix their tarnished image both in China and abroad.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 4
    • Kahwin Koboi on Jul 22, 2015 at 1:30 pm

Dulu Proton cakap takde lagi rebadge, tapi sekarang kahwin sama Suzuki.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 10
  • In reality, Landwind might even improve JLR sales, Landwind does not compete against the Range Rovers, the market for these vehicles are the rich and no rich guy will buy a Landwind. People who uses a Apple phone would buy an Apple look alike, they may look the same but they don’t operate the same. At the end of the day, this type of superficial imitation is good marketing for the real thing and drives innovation and quality in the real thing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 29
    • armandd on Jul 22, 2015 at 3:58 pm

are you Landwind salesman?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
    • No to copycats on Jul 23, 2015 at 10:32 am

An organization spend millions of funding, dedication and years in RnD to produce an engineering sound vehicle that is worth for the safely and travel comfort. Suddenly someone out of no where copy those and reproduce it. For me its just a high profile criminal, non-civic minded and definitely not an automobile producer. Just a typical money oriented cheap and dirt business tactic organization. Sadly lots of consumer are supporting them.

• ChinaChinese on Jul 22, 2015 at 12:57 pm

I dont what is happening to the world nowadays. It seems like copying and cheating is okay for somebody. And what makes me vomit is that there are people who accept and applause to this stupid act. China and cheating and copying is normal meh?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 3
    • Bolehland on Jul 22, 2015 at 1:06 pm

The world has never been about rainbows and sunshine.

• It is normal. Cheating and copying are in their dna anyway.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 14
      • Gargantia on Jul 22, 2015 at 2:48 pm

Yes Proton and cronies right as always about cheating and copying…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 24
  • Diesel Power!!! on Jul 22, 2015 at 1:52 pm

Sorry to say, i really hate this copycat – counterfeit mentality..

This China manufacturer really dun care about dignity..

If u wanna compete, do it like the korean, bring out the best of your own design and tech..not copy bulat bulat..!!!Frankly to said, even proton is more respectable than this copycat manufacturers!!!

I certainly wont buy any imitation goods from this country…i hope ppl will also stop supporting this kind of copycat mentality and product….

Please do pay respect for the hardwork of those ppl that invented and built those brilliant product, whether cars, phone, etc…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 2
  • kopiais on Jul 22, 2015 at 2:09 pm

copying and cheating is a big problem in china. Tetapi menaik taraf adalah sesuatu yang boleh dibanggakan. Wa mau kasi tau,Mana ok ambil jelah..ada betul kaa taraa betul saya cakap..?

• Lantauwind on Jul 22, 2015 at 2:11 pm

Some how from the front photo view it reminds me of mickey mouse ears

• AdaKuKisah on Jul 22, 2015 at 2:28 pm

LandWind = LowYatt

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 14
  • Alex Chong on Jul 22, 2015 at 3:26 pm

Who cares, China market is big enough, regardless dignity or what ever, price is the main factor for the consumers to decide. If someone cannot afford the ORI what’s wrong he opts for the ” copy ” version, at least to fulfill his desire………….

Price tag, so many folds and miles and miles away from the ORI, personally why should we pay for the luxurious price to please the manufacturer ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 16
  • albag on Jul 22, 2015 at 3:51 pm

at least LandWind makes the Evoque look more affordable now… I don’t mind to get one if it can legally sell here with reasonable price…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 13
  • Diesel Power!!! on Jul 22, 2015 at 4:49 pm

To Alex Chong,

Do u mean u also support fake rice,fake egg, since it provide a cheaper alternative to the consumer???

These ppl dun care abt safety,qc,r&d, all they care is how to earn more money…

If the counterfeit/copycat mentality do not change, and there is someone like u still supporting these scums, so dont blame others when u r one of the victim…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
  • Cowboy on Jul 22, 2015 at 6:25 pm

Apparently at the motor show the Jaguar personal apprehended two Landwind employee and handed them to the police but one escaped and came back with a large group of hooligans and smashed the Jaguar exhibits to pieces. Imagine a world without the West we be riding tricycles and eating fake food from China.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
    • anti-kiasu on Jul 22, 2015 at 8:11 pm

U missed 1 point there.. JLW beat the landwill employee first than handover them to the police

• kakikete on Jul 22, 2015 at 10:18 pm

I don’t care either these is ciplak or not. Actual RR will cost your ass smoke at RM500K. How nice if is sell here.

• dignity? on Jul 23, 2015 at 12:26 am

Those keep complaining this landwind is a counterfeit and against IP, yes you are absolutely RIGHT!

But wait…did you ever buy any pirated CD/ DVD / download song and movie freely from the internet?

Who actually infringe IP?

• lanch rover on Jul 23, 2015 at 1:15 am

4G63T? easily beat current 2.0 under power engine..

• Kemen on Jul 23, 2015 at 7:10 am

I just laugh to read kiasu comment here, i thought the copycat minded is only in China but also for the kiasu here. For them, is ok to tipu and copycat and blatantly related with proton. Pls refer wiki the word ‘copy’ and ‘rebadge’ dumbass.

• Wolgen on Jul 23, 2015 at 2:07 pm

when this car (LandWind) will launch in Malaysia? any one know?

• ramai marah ngan china copy mcm2 brg. tapi percaya la,klau kereta ni masuk malaysia, berebut org mau beli.hahaha

• FairLaSiao on Jul 25, 2015 at 3:35 am

How bout if …proton copy evoque.. it is same..and those jackass will give same support as JLR?
    Jlr copy ciplak blatant evoque.. nevermind and good to rakyat.

Perdana rebadge accord..bad and no idea.. not good to rakyat.

See..sapa yang ada masalah actually?

• TJ Chiam on Aug 13, 2015 at 9:23 pm

The interior looks like it came from a Volkswagen!

• Blue Liau on Jun 11, 2016 at 9:08 pm

May I know this car will launch in Malaysia

• Is the X7 available in Malaysia? if so can anyone tell me where, please.