LRT disrupted twice by faulty brakes, train catches fire

lrt-depot

Services on the Kelana Jaya light rail transit (LRT) line were severely disrupted today by two incidents, The Star reports. The first took place in the morning when faulty brakes on a train at the Setiawangsa station stopped services for about an hour, causing many users to arrive late for work. The line finally resumed operating at around 9.45 am.

The second occurred later near the Universiti station, and reportedly also involved a faulty brake system. This time however, the implications of the problem were far more serious – the affected train caught fire, forcing the KJ line to halt operations.

The publication reported that the fire and corresponding smoke was visible from the Federal Highway, and this led to a massive traffic jam on Federal Route 2 as motorists stopped or slowed down their vehicles to have a better look at the mishap.

RapidKL said that all passengers on the train were safely evacuated, and line service only resumed running at around 1 pm. It added that the train experienced a brake system fault that might have led to the fire.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• wiwiwiwiw on Jul 22, 2015 at 4:04 pm

Bangga la?
    Malaysia Boleh!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 6
    • So? Your point is?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
    • movingcoffin on Jul 22, 2015 at 7:11 pm

Ferrari Lambo even your tin milo Alza got burnt. Why you dun complain?

Toyota and p2 are moving coffins, no improvement of safety since ages, why no complain?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 7
      • The haters will bash Proton no matter what. Even if an asteroid hits us they’ll bash Proton left, right and centre.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
  • cendol (Member) on Jul 22, 2015 at 4:07 pm

The LRT has been misquoted.
    LRT did not catch fire, only some spark is seen.
    There is no faulty brakes, just some banana skin left on track by some unscrupulous people.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
  • dodgeviper88 on Jul 22, 2015 at 4:56 pm

LOL so typical Malaysian. LRT problem also can cause jam on Federal Highway because of kepochi motorists

• Narmia on Jul 22, 2015 at 4:56 pm

Eh. This is a seized brake issue which is not caused by poor maintenance.

Source: was involved in the LRT business.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
  • tokmoh. on Jul 22, 2015 at 5:18 pm

German/Canadian train caught fire, faulty brakes, nobody panics.

Chinese train got setup glitch, everyone loses their mind.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
    • Not German/Canadian train, but Malaysian/Canadian train.

The star online, April 2010: “Bombardier is supplier of the new 35 sets of four-car trains for Prasarana for the Kelana Jaya Line. The parts of the trains are manufactured by Bombardier and will be assembled by Hartasuma Sdn Bhd in Malaysia.”
      http://www.thestar.com.my/Story/?file=%2F2010%2F4%2F19%2Fbusiness%2F6025856&

• tokmoh. on Jul 23, 2015 at 9:33 am

Bombardier Transportation, their rail arm, is located in Berlin. Can say their trains are more German than Canadian.

• Umnoterusmarautkakudandia on Jul 22, 2015 at 5:39 pm

Tren rosak pun ko salahkan kroni…nie mesti penah nk jd kroni tp x dpt..

#sian

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
  • enoughwithcomplaints on Jul 22, 2015 at 5:40 pm

Only knows how to blame itu la ini la.. what the la malaysian today.. what do u know about lrt maintenance?.. everything wanna relate with politics.. like u people know everything.. u blame lrt maintenance do u understand a word “mishap”? does anyone in lrt wanna burnt people inside lrt coaches? this kind of attitude is what keeping our people nowhere to go..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 8
    • blahblah on Jul 22, 2015 at 5:54 pm

They are typical malaysian people borned with negative mentality and mindset.. What to do?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
  • DramaSwasta on Jul 22, 2015 at 7:44 pm

Headline should say “Jam on Federal Highway caused by kepoh Malaysians”

• Locomotion on Jul 22, 2015 at 8:21 pm

Can’t imagine what gonna happen here to bullet high speed train in future, monkey in charge of maintenance ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
    • Anti-Pati on Jul 22, 2015 at 8:27 pm

Since Singapore’s MRT had a breakdown last week as well, I guess they employ monkeys as well eh?

Could it be nothing more than simple WEAR & TEAR issue? Even with the best of maintenance mechanical parts can get broken, so unless this happens everyday, I don’t really think maintenance is totally at fault here.

• Narmia on Jul 22, 2015 at 9:56 pm

You’re right. Maintenance is not at fault here. Let’s just say I was involved in the development of the next gen Kelana Jaya Line trains and Prasarana has brought up this issue to the train supplier many times. Suffice to say they’re insisting that a new brake supplier be found.

• Singaporean on Jul 22, 2015 at 11:16 pm

Dei Nasi Lemak, when SG MRT breakdown, they gv 1 day full FREE bus services to various destinations. They employed more officers to handle the situation and guide the MRT users to the Bus and various solution. They guide traffic smoothness and etc etc. In your bolehland, what they did? Did they give you FREE NASI LEMAK for the whole day? Next time, dont compare heaven(sg) with your Nasi Lemak management. Thank you for your understanding!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
    • Usavich on Jul 23, 2015 at 10:05 am

mind you, those are not ordinary monkey, they are smart for their own good.

• The train denies it caught fire. Newspapers are just trying to bring down RapidKL. Someone should arrest the station cleaning lady for conspiring to damage the train.

• Dear leader denies belakang mari. Newspapers are just trying to bring down dear leader. Someone should arrest his house maid for conspiring to damage his image.