Guess who is the best-paid driver in Formula One?

So who is the best-paid Formula 1 driver on the grid today? Most of us would think it’d be the reigning champion Lewis Hamilton, with his red private jet, glitzy lifestyle and all the rest of it. Or perhaps Sebastian Vettel, the four-time champ that has just jumped ship to Ferrari. But you’ll be pleasantly surprised at just who it is that reigns supreme on the chart.

It does not matter that his car is an absolute dog. It does not matter that he left his former team just when things turned for the better. It does not matter that he has more fun on a go-kart track than he does in his F1 car. And frankly, his F1 team may not even score more than 10 points this season, but, guess what, it really does not matter. Most astute commentators still rate him as the best F1 driver on the grid. Enough clues?

Well, wait for it, it’s Fernando Alonso! According to Spanish newspaper El Mundo Deportivo, Fernando Alonso is paid €35 million a year, while his fellow countryman Roberto Merhi only earns a scant €50,000 a year. This is the full list, as stated in the publication:

1. Fernando Alonso, McLaren €35m
2. Sebastian Vettel, Ferrari €28m
3. Lewis Hamilton, Mercedes €25m
4. Kimi Raikkonen, Ferrari €18m
5. Nico Rosberg, Mercedes €13.5m
6. Jenson Button, McLaren €10m
7. Felipe Massa, Williams €4m
8. Nico Hulkenberg, Force India €4m
9. Sergio Perez, Force India €4m
10. Romain Grosjean, Lotus €4m
11. Pastor Maldonado, Lotus €4m
12. Valtteri Bottas, Williams €2m
13. Daniel Ricciardo, Red Bull €1.5m
14. Daniil Kvyat, Red Bull €750,000
15. Max Verstappen, Toro Rosso €250,000
16. Carlos Sainz, Toro Rosso €250,000
17. Felipe Nasr, Sauber €200,000
18. Marcus Ericsson, Sauber €200,000
19. Will Stevens, Manor €150,000
20. Roberto Merhi, Manor €50,000

2014_Bahrain_GP_002

Formula 1 has always been seen an elitist sport, with regulations that always seem to favour the top-tier teams. This lack of proactiveness on the part of the FIA towards levelling the playing field also plays into the hands of the kingmakers that rule this sport.

According to the BBC, teams like Red Bull and Ferrari have budgets in the region of £250 million a year, while McLaren and Mercedes have a little less with £200 million a year. The backmarker teams? Well below £100 million at best.

Now, back in 2014, just 63% of the £1.1 billion that was F1’s income went to the teams, while the rest went to the commercial right holders (CRH). Nonetheless, the contracts that define how the teams get paid are confidential.

The mechanics of the profit arrangement are quite complicated, but essentially, the higher you finish, the more money you get. It definitely is another world in the bubble that is F1. I guess, money does make the world go round, or at least in this case, it keeps the wheels of this circus rolling on.

In honour of Fernando Alonso, here is a gallery of his McLaren MP4-30.

McLaren MP4-30

Anil Prabha

Anil Prabha has always been a petrol head. He also has a strange knack for remembering car models and their respective registration plates. Naturally aspirated engines are always better than turbocharged or supercharged ones, in his opinion. Ultimately, he believes that there is nothing better in life than just going for a drive.

• Fiesher_man on Jul 23, 2015 at 11:11 am

According to the BBC, teams like Red Bull and Ferrari have budgets in the region of £250 million a year, while McLaren and Ferrari have a little less with £200 million a year.

Why are there 2 ferrari’s in the article?

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Jul 23, 2015 at 11:26 am

Apologies. Article has been updated.

• Jaguh Kampung Mana? on Jul 23, 2015 at 11:42 am

Where is Malaysia in the list? We always syiok sendiri about our achievements. Astronaut tumpang other spaceship also we hoo haa about how we got our space program and how we can send people to the moon and stars.

Pity Malaysia is not in the list. Mana drivers like Mr Singh do so well also, he cannot get funding because of his kulit. Until we stop the kulit practice, Malaysians who do so well cannot go or achieve much in life.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 38
        • Same L0rrrr on Jul 23, 2015 at 2:31 pm

There is only 1 richest F1 racer in the world. But on Malaysian road, there are plenty of self-thought richest F1 racers racing with their mod Myvi, Waja, Wira, Kelisa and City.

• How can you leave out ultimate speed racer, the legendary godcar!
            Ada godcar, ada amoi!

• Why this also need to ask tongkat from Gov? Yes, they might be able to give seed fund and incentives, but thats all.
          Once you have started its up to ur marketability and brand presence to continue. Motorsports is now sadly about marketing and image, less about real performance and results.
          Why Alonso who cant bring in the points but still get paid so high? Its his prestige he brings to McClaren & Honda.
          Same time why K.Singh is struggling despite his past results? Cuz he din have brand manager or his sucks. Cant promote him internationally.

• Leonardo on Jul 28, 2015 at 12:31 pm

Yes F1 is about brand presence and marketing. But performance and results is just as important. Would you put your brand or company name on the tail end car like Manor? Do you want to be seen by the whole world as a ‘loser’? Companies and/or brands want to be associated with winners and leading cars. You also have to pay a lot just to have a small space to place your company/brand on the car or on the suit of the drivers.
            F1 drivers also have to deliver results. If you are following the race now, you would know that Kimi Raikonnen might be out of a contract next year, which is sad. But that is F1, show results or you are out. There are scores of potential young drivers waiting to show their talents. So far Carlos Sainz Jn and Max Vestappen, who have racing fathers, have shown to the world that they can be future champions. At the moment they come cheap. But once they have established themselves, their salary will go up drastically. Depending on which team you are driving for, of course.
            If you notice in the list, there are 5 world champions in the top 6. Only Nico earns more than Button, even though he is not yet a champion. Yes, there is a big value in being a ‘world champion’ in F1. Results do count.

• Nissan on Jul 24, 2015 at 12:53 am

With 260M Najis can buy the whole F1 business

• Just some personal opinion, but I think the title is a bit misleading, as the “richest” F1 Driver is still Michael Schumacher, although he has retired for quite some years.

Should it had been “The Best-paid F1 Driver 201(x)”, it would sound better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
  • tokmoh. on Jul 23, 2015 at 11:31 am

Fernando is richer than you, can you confirm you understood that message?

Lel, hopefully he has the patience and McLaren too step up their game.

The grid is about to lose Kimi Raikkonen, seems he’s destined to retire after this year :( Losing Nando would b even sadder, feels like a part of my childhood gone.

• DakHazee on Jul 23, 2015 at 11:39 am

kimi out, alonso the RICH-EST in!

long live Alonso and Ferrari!

• 50k a year? Lol

• tinmilo on Jul 23, 2015 at 11:56 am

You think is funny?
      Wait till you find out how much Alex Yoong was earning…

• lolipop on Jul 23, 2015 at 12:51 pm

life is cheap

• heybadigol (Member) on Jul 23, 2015 at 1:00 pm

This is after Lewis’ new contract or before it? Surely he would’ve asked for more than Alonso, provided he knew how much the Spaniard was being paid. That’s what happens when you do your own contracts (as Lewis did) without a manager.

Meanwhile, the Red Bull team (and STR) really pays peanuts for their drivers. That explains Vettel’s departure to the Scuderia. With such low pay (despite winning a few races in 2014) and a terrible car, I wouldn’t be surprised if Riciardo too might want to leave them too. He seriously deserves better pay and a better car.

• Kelvin on Jul 23, 2015 at 4:07 pm

At least now I can say that I make more money than an F1 driver. LOL

• Allroadquattro on Jul 23, 2015 at 7:26 pm

judging by current situation they only care about the money than worrying about low raceday attendance.

• No wonder Nico drive as it is now …