Review train fares to account for rising maintenance costs, electricity tariffs, Prasarana urges SPAD

LRT Kelana Jaya Line

It appears we might see a revision in fares charged by Prasarana for its Rapid Rail train services if the concessionaire has its way with the Land Public Transport Commission (SPAD), according to Bernama.

Group managing director Datuk Azmi Abdul Aziz told the national news agency that such a move is necessary, given the rise in both maintenance costs and electricity tariffs. He added that a review on fares was last done in 2002, and that the potential new rates will be dependent on an assessment by SPAD.

“The review on the rates can, among other things, offset the existing costs, besides enabling train services to be improved for the public,” he told reporters after a briefing on the Light Rail Transit (LRT) project at the Awan Besar Station.

Azmi also said that the first four stations in the first phase of the Ampang LRT line extension will begin service as soon as October 31 this year – these include Awan Besar, Muhibbah, Alam Sutera and Kinrara BK 5.

Another seven stations in the second phase of the Ampang line project are expected to be operational by March, while another 12 additional stations are being built along a 17.4 km route on the Kelana Jaya line, with the lights set to go on by June 2016.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• SmallFart on Jul 23, 2015 at 5:06 pm

Say thank you to the 47%. I scratch your back, you scratch mine :)

• BNaik on Jul 23, 2015 at 5:09 pm

Wah naik lagi. Semua naik except gaji. T.T

Najib pls gime BR1M

• Train commuter on Jul 23, 2015 at 5:35 pm

KL’s public transport still have a long way to catch with country like Singapore. It is not developing in tandem with the economy and population (probably they under estimate the millions of migrants). While there is an objective to grow the national car business but the roads just can’t accommodate the number of cars and limited parking space. The result, high cost of car ownership ie more toll roads, exorbitant parking rates, fuel wastage on traffic jam, etc. Raising train fares will discourage certain group of users. The current return fare from Pandan Jaya to KLCC is RM8. It cost RM40 for a family of 5. So, it is more cost effective and comfortable to drive. Raising train fares may trigger a hike in parking rates too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
  • OMG for a student like me the current fares are already quite high they still want to increase the fares…

• WTFish~! now consider not convenient and expensive… still wanna raise the fare~! I get Bicycle better =…=

• Transporter on Jul 23, 2015 at 11:10 pm

Public transport should be affordable for the public. This is simply another case of poor management by a literally poor government.

• All is Wrong in Malaysia on Jul 23, 2015 at 11:32 pm

I am gonna tell my boss this:

Boss, I arrive late to office bcoz my car broke down every morning. So, please increase my salary so I can buy new car and reach office on time every morning”

• Sam VHL Lorrrr on Jul 24, 2015 at 10:09 am

Maybe the more attractive one should read like this:

“Boss, I arrive late to office bcoz my Proton car always broke down. So, please increase my salary so I can buy new Toyota (as recommended by Sam Jamban) and reach office on time every morning”

• common sensor on Jul 24, 2015 at 7:14 am

This GMD Datuk obviously is not an entrepreneur. Typical salary man with subsidy mentality. When the surrounding factors are tougher, you ought to make your self more efficient ..

• old dog on Jul 24, 2015 at 8:43 am

why paying minister of transportation where SPAD is making the call? canned those MCA guy la.

• LRT 5 times a week on Jul 24, 2015 at 10:59 am

And they are wondering why there are more and more people driving to work

• tokmoh. on Jul 24, 2015 at 12:22 pm

Public transportation in not supposed to be profit making, it’s about providing service to be used by people.

Most public transport worldwide make losses, even Singapore. Very few made profit, and even so through other means eg development on their land, to provide mall-station. Our Prasarana tried to do this too, with Nu Sentral mall at KL Sentral.

It is normal practice for public transport to rely on govt funding to keep in operational. Perhaps our govt really becoming bankrupt they can no longer fund Prasarana. Thanks 1MDB, yuo are of genious!

• 4G63T DSM on Jul 24, 2015 at 4:54 pm

If the government can’t handle this, let the state take over lah!!! Everything also privatise. When privatized why need SPAD and Ministry of Transportion?

Public transportation and essential public utilities should have never been privatized.