Mercedes, BMW and Audi bid for Nokia’s Here maps to improve data security, amid worries over hacking

driven-web-series-ep-7-223 (1)

It’s a brave new world, and Dr Dieter Zetsche, CEO of Daimler AG Group, wants to make sure Mercedes-Benz stays ahead of the curve in terms of data security for its mapping software.

“You can see from reading the papers that we are trying to acquire a platform together with our German competitors, to gain control over the platform which enables autonomous driving, for exactly these reasons,” Zetsche said. “We have the goal of designing security into the software,” he added.

Apparently, a consortium, consisting of BMW, Volkswagen and Mercedes would then make the software available to third party competitors if a bid for Nokia Here’s mapping software is successful.

According to Reuters, the bid could be between 2.5 billion and 3 billion euros (RM 10.4 billion and RM12.6 billion). The final agreement will focus on the ownership of the technology patents that facilitate the self-driving cars to communicate with the mobile networks.

Speaking to the news agency, analysts from Morgan Stanley estimate that the value of software and software content will rise to around 60% over the next 15 years from less than 10% today.

Recently, two cyber security researchers managed to take over a Jeep Cherokee wirelessly, and the ensuing media frenzy is testament to the paranoia that now pervades this whole idea of autonomous mobility and the dangers that are associated with vehicles becoming more connected than ever.

Anil Prabha

Anil Prabha has always been a petrol head. He also has a strange knack for remembering car models and their respective registration plates. Naturally aspirated engines are always better than turbocharged or supercharged ones, in his opinion. Ultimately, he believes that there is nothing better in life than just going for a drive.

• Hayes on Jul 24, 2015 at 5:01 pm

to my surprise that Nokia Here maps technology is such a hotcake for these car manufacturer. Its kind of lemon on nokia mobile device, lost signal frequently, perhaps something to do with the hardware.

• notluxury on Jul 24, 2015 at 7:55 pm

Those preloaded navi system sucks big time

• U are correct.
      Nokia Here maps was slow last time, but as fast as any real GPS in software wise, being the best Phone GPS.

the hardware was slow, also correct.
      U need to use a Lumia Phone, to expereince the ultimate Nokia GPS.. it can even detect your location within a building.

Lumia with Nokia GPS, is ultimate GPS.
      Try Nokia GPS in your Android phone..
      is quite good, is called “HERE” navigation.

but not as good as HERE GPS in Lumia.
      I had Lumia and Android phone.

Nokia supply GPS for many brands.
      Nokia Maps Success::
      Back in September of 2013, Nokia did sign deals with automakers like BMW, Mercedes, Garmin, Hyundai, Pioneer, and Volkswagen Group to power location services.
      + Garmin Included Too… Garmin has to sign contract with Nokia…
      1. http://www.wpcentral.com/nokia-teases-here-maps-announcement-automakers
      2. http://www.slashgear.com/garmin-adds-nokia-powered-urban-guidance-to-ios-and-android-apps-27249453/
      + Mitsubishi
      3. http://www.wpcentral.com/nokia-partners-mitsubishi-motors-us-offering-here-tech-2014-models

• I’m not usually paranoid about hackers but the recent news about the hackers being able to control almost every single aspect of the car has got me worried. They can hack into every modern car with Chrysler’s U Connect system. I really hope the Germans know what they’re doing.

• This is what happens when you bring in too much tech into a car. Now terrorist can use this for their attacks.

• DPCraft on Jul 24, 2015 at 5:03 pm

Well, good luck Mercedes… I hope you’ll get it :D

• bukapintubayartol on Jul 24, 2015 at 5:21 pm

I’ve been quite happy using Nokia HERE maps as my car’s navigation. Saved me a lot of hassle when I was in Singapore with no network.

• They left out 2 important facts. The real reasons this guys are working together to buy those right because Google and Apple are also bidding for it simply because

Nokia’s mapping division and tech is the best in the world for pure GPS performance (waze etc all rely on the internet to some degree and therfore unreliable for such applications)

Google/Apple have the rather advanced autonomous systems already in development and these guys do not want Google/Apple to control this aspect as that would mean that they will have to rely on Google/Apple to mantain the system and Google being Google, they will release it as an open source project would mean a huge loss of revenue stream for these automakers when they wish to offer services on top of autonomous driving or if it was Apple, well the total opposite of what i said with the same outcome, no revenue stream for carmakers. Either way they lose if tech companies get this.

Smart buggers these Germans. Expect autonomous driving systems and tech to remain expensive for the common man much longer guys if this goes through….

• nabill (Member) on Jul 24, 2015 at 9:51 pm

jus get a cheap 7′ tab . download a free Waze , topup rm30 for your prepaid 1gb data , n get the best ,most up to date navigation ever….honestly i dont like build in navs , they looks fancy n all , but with roads changing every week and in car maps get updated every 2 yrs , if ever , just no point…

• I turned off my data package, disabled wifi. Using HERE Maps & HERE Drive+ installed in my Lumia 925, I can even find my car (beta) and drive from KL up to Bukit Alor Setar without worry my phone running out of juice. And the map covers even in Tawau if I plan to go there.

Thats the beauty of HERE products & I admit the map was one of the reason I choose windows phone platform over IOS & Android.

• Josh Ling on Jul 25, 2015 at 12:57 am

the safest security net is human ourselves. once you put everything up and out there (online and onto certain virtual network), there’s always a risk to be hacked and manipulated by someone you don’t know.

i still don’t know why so many car makers claim the system and autonomous driving is very safe bla bla bla. it’s only a matter of time before some black hats crack the code and hack into the whole thing, and do whatever they like about it.

• nd23e on Jul 25, 2015 at 6:46 am

p1 bashers said BMW drivers dun need to insert key to start engine since long long long time ago.

Maybe already had that since 1980, lol. And yeah it’s vulnerable tech to hacking.

• Nokia here map in windows phone is the best there is. It is licensed worldwide to be used without internet connection, just gps tech. It is reliable and can be used overseas. Only windows phone users know this fact.

• kadajawi (Member) on Jul 26, 2015 at 7:06 pm

a) I hope this doesn’t mean that Nokia Here goes away… I really like it. The interface is much better than the Google interface, seriously, are those Google engineers using their software? They remove and hide so many features that you actually need while driving that it becomes barely usable.

b) How on earth is this going to protect car owners from getting hacked, unless the intention is to not have an internet connection (which would certainly help a lot). I doubt that is going to happen though. So how is this improving safety? The goal should be to have access to the maps, without having to depend on Google or Apple.

If safety is the goal, they would have to properly separate entertainment system from the more critical systems. If possible no connection at all, otherwise maybe they can very much limit the commands that can go through, and have a firewall that filters out all invalid commands.

• andrekua on Jul 26, 2015 at 7:56 pm

I’m amazed that many still think Nokia has superior mapping when all you see is Google map or Apple map.

Mapping is all about data or the map itself. Nokia started early and had more extensive map than other especially in the outskirts. Mapping is a time consuming work which is why Google still haven’t passed Nokia. However that will soon changed which prompt Nokia to consider a sale while it’s still worthy. For years, Nokia has their mobile phone department profits to support their mapping division but this had changed when they sold that division to Microsoft. Moreover Microsoft now had their own mapping and will cut ties with Nokia completely by offering their own Bing map.

Unfortunately for Nokia, they will be forced to sell. Google is interested to buy to crush competitors advance, while Apple is interested to catch up to Google map. As for others like this German group, this is a chance to create a closed system that may provide extra security.

• giovannie on Jul 26, 2015 at 9:02 pm

people, you all can try it out.

https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.here.app.maps&hl=en

ps. make sure u allow all setting.
      it allows OFFLINE GPS.
      which is good @ Countryside, jungle.
      as long as GPS signal is there.

nowadays, smartphone equipped to reach multiple GPS signal.

Old days:
      GPS, AGPS.

New days:
      GPS, AGPS, Beidou, Glonass.