VIDEO: BMW G30 5 Series goes round the Nurburgring

Check this out, the G30 BMW 5 Series has been caught going round the Nurburgring. Showcasing its stature as it cruises along slowly on public roads, the car then goes all out as it screeches its way through corners, powering through the straight lines.

A thing to note in this one minute video is that the G30 seems to have minimal body roll. The main reason for this could be laid down to the new CLAR platform (Cluster Architecture, previously known as 35up) which uses a blend of high-strength steel, carbon fibre and aluminium, allowing it to drop some weight – up to 100 kg and understood to be more versatile in terms of suspension set-up.

The G30 is expected to feature a series of different engines, including the 1.5 litre three-cylinder B38 (petrol) and B37 (diesel), the 2.0 litre four-cylinder B48 (petrol) and B47 (diesel) and an upcoming 3.0 litre six-cylinder B58 (petrol) and B57 (diesel).

Impressed? Well tech-wise, the 5 Series has got to match up to its other German competitor, the Mercedes-Benz E-Class which comes with heaps of features this includes an automated parking feature called the Remote Parking Pilot, Multibeam adaptive LED headlight technology and networking connections to communicate with other E-Class owners.

Graham Chin

Having spent a number of years as a journalist for a local paper, a marketing executive for a popular German automotive brand and a copywriter, Graham, a true-blue Sarawakian, knew he had to take the leap back into the motoring scene - and so he did. To him, nothing’s better than cruising for hours along a scenic route, in a car that’s designed and built for that purpose.

• tinmilo on Jul 26, 2015 at 9:57 pm

I don’t care too much about those remote parking and network stuff…
    It is a luxury car, please make it look a million bucks and a luxury interior to match.
    And because is BMW, make it drive like one, and make adaptive suspension standard.

• f34user on Jul 26, 2015 at 10:53 pm

I am an owner of an F34 GT (3 series) and in a way i do regret my purchase after seeing what other manufacturers offer. Firstly, yes BMW is a great car to drive around corners but the design and interior outlook does not justify the price, especially in Msia.
    My interior seems so bland and outdated compared to the new C class, heck it even looks less luxurious than the prev gen C class facelift.

Even the overall design is too subtle.. I was so excited to get the 3 series 6 months ago but over a few months of ownership, it feels like plain ole jane. Meh.. Plus theres so many on the road..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
    • Haroun on Jul 27, 2015 at 2:07 am

Sounds like a Merc salesman trying
      hard to whack its competitor.
      Read the reviews, Merc may claim that its interior is top notch but most
      importantly is the final drive.
      Bimmer F30 is still the
      market leader here.
      From drive train to 0-100 performance
      and fuel efficiency.
      Don’t bad mouth another cos we can
      smell a rat from a distance.
      BTW F34 why complaint of high price and you still bought the GT when F30
      is the star at 268k?
      And seriously I can finger count the number of GT’s around the Mt Kiara area.

• u must first determine when the car is introduced. 3 series was introduced long ago and C-class just introduced this year. Tips: conduct research before buying cars :).

• Proton on Jul 28, 2015 at 3:21 pm

You should buy a Proton

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jul 26, 2015 at 11:45 pm

yea…go test it at the nurburgring cos every 5 series driver is gonna drive there

• nabill (Member) on Jul 27, 2015 at 12:43 am

not really, bcos it actually represents a real world roads , with its countless bumps ,tight bends , long straights,beaten up asphalts,and all…it makes sence to test in there in a closed environment …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • Johan Kia on Jul 27, 2015 at 1:09 am

i truly am a BMW loyal fan. I have an e60 , f30 and recently acquired the f56 since BMW bought it. However, over the course of these few years, i dont see much improvement form the brand BMW. At least not as much as compared to mecs and audis. This is truly a shame.

• BMW design is very similar across the range when even Audi is trying to be different with its styling.

Also, they have too many models for sale within a series making customers very confused.

• Rangers on Jul 27, 2015 at 8:26 am

it just like yesterday the introduce of F10…
    cant wait to get the 2nd hand F10 when this G platform comes :)
    people like Merc for their over design (i mean dont think the LCD display is ugly like a screen paste on the dash board?) the ultra curve, big circle internal..but anyhow different people have different taste, and driving a BMW feeling is different than a Merc..and its no point to compare..