SPYSHOTS: Next-gen Honda Civic captured in detail!

Civic.sd02

Get hyped, everyone! The latest batch of spyshots of the next-generation Honda Civic has landed on our desks and this time, it looks to be one heck of a detailed set. While the entire car appears to be wearing a load of camouflage still, our photographers have managed to capture the details on the new Civic thanks to the presence of a pair of parked prototypes.

While several body styles have been mooted for the tenth-generation Civic, the pair caught on camera today are of the sedan variety so we’ll focus on that instead. Beginning at the front, one can see that the all-new Honda Civic will adopt a more aggressive outlook, reminiscent of the face first seen on the Honda Civic Concept. Also, LED headlights will be available on higher-end models as proven by one of the two mules.

Elsewhere on the outside, one will be able to spot a small camera, mounted at the very tip of the front passenger side mirror. As such, the next-generation Honda Civic will feature Honda’s LaneWatch blind spot safety feature as the driver will be able to activate the camera via a small switch located on the left-hand stalk. We’ll get to the interior in a bit.

In profile, one should be able to notice that the duo were captured with different sets of wheels and tyres. This would indicate a higher-end trim plus a more affordable, basic variant. The cheaper model gets 16-inch wheels with spiral motifs wrapped in 215/55 Hankook tyres while the more upmarket version receives 17-inch units with twin, five-spoke designs, wrapped in 215/50 Firestone rubber.

Aside from that, the new Honda Civic appears to have adopted a fastback-like roofline for a more streamlined silhouette. At the rear, not much can be gathered as copious amounts of camouflage were still in the way. What we can see, however, are the stylised arrangement of the rear lamp assemblies that should cut deep into the boot assembly, a cue echoed on the Civic show car.

Also, the pair appear to have been equipped with contrasting exhaust systems – one unit with a single outlet while the other possesses a twin outlet arrangement. Perhaps the twin outlet model is equipped with Honda’s sportier, all-new turbocharged 1.5 litre VTEC engine – figures rumoured to be as high as 201 hp/260 Nm – while the entry-level model gets powered by the same 1.8 litre mill with 139 hp/174 Nm.

Civic.sd18

The next-generation Honda Civic is expected to be offered with a choice of either a CVT or an eight-speed dual-clutch transmission – the base model will likely be sold with a manual transmission. Speaking of the different trims, it should be noted that the prototype with LED headlights is also equipped with an interior trimmed in leather and heated rear seats.

Which brings us to the interior, which is touted to be just as revolutionary. While the dash remains covered in this batch (it’s uncovered here), we can deduce that the two-tiered centre stack seen in the current Civic will seize to feature. The instrument cluster itself is now shielded under a single, sculpted hood for a cleaner layout while the parking brake lever has disappeared altogether, replaced by an electronic unit.

Honda’s renowned skills in packaging are also evident in the way the centre stack flows to reveal two large storage bins fore and aft of the gear shifter. Also, the fabric-covered centre arm rest appears to be hiding even more storage space beneath it. A multifunction steering wheel is captured here but expect the full array of buttons to be present only on the top-spec model.

Throughout the cabin, it is clear that the new Civic is aiming higher than ever with higher-quality materials such as leather employed liberally. An added sporting touch is added via the inclusion of sewn-in “carbon-fibre” strips. Rear occupants will be delighted to know that legroom has been increased while buttons to control the climate system are to be found just below the front arm rest.

With all that has been mentioned, it certainly looks like the all-new, tenth-generation Honda Civic will be ready to take on the opposition when it receives its global debut in the near future. What do you think? Does the new Civic have what it takes to outgun the rest of the pack?

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• Resurrection of Legendary Civic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
    • accordlegend on Jul 29, 2015 at 6:21 pm

Civic was never a legend but accord

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
      • RavenAii (Member) on Jul 29, 2015 at 11:59 pm

Ever seen thousand of racers use Accord for racing? I bet Aunty and Uncle still kept them stock for years to come. (no offence)

• vtecbocor on Jul 30, 2015 at 5:22 am

So engine can tahan bocor or not?

• karam singh on Jul 31, 2015 at 3:06 am

old Bseries engine already reached 20+ years old, can u please show me which engine from any carmaker survive from bocor after 20-30years serving? Bseries engine is a legend even 20years passing its still on the road with powerful hp/litre, 1.6 turbo preve only can manage 140hp, old 1.6 B16a vtec NA produce 160hp+.

K20 series engine is one top tuner engine in the world,reliability.
          This upcoming civic gonna come with 1.5l turbo, estimated 160hp+ 200-250Nm.

• carlies on Jul 29, 2015 at 9:18 pm

Expected a smaller cabin. oh no!

• karam singh on Jul 31, 2015 at 3:07 am

Does civic practicality ever beaten by its own class?
        list me some… with prove of course.

• The only legend is the Honda Legend.

• fukken yiu khad on Jul 29, 2015 at 2:03 pm

hell yeah!!! with 200hp on the wheels this can’t be wrong. and that torque looks yummy too!

• pls fix the super fat ugly rear …..and looks like a facelift than new platform as basic look inc b and c pillar looks the same

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 14
    • well its still under heavy camo so u can’t be sure about the ass..pls reserve your comment until the launch of the car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
      • prfgg on Jul 30, 2015 at 5:28 am

Looks like the car has double chin in front, long small eyes (headlamps) and fat rear, yuck!

• FIST (Member) on Jul 29, 2015 at 2:22 pm

I hate the sloping roofline, it eats up the rear passengers head space

• ProtonforLife on Jul 29, 2015 at 3:09 pm

Proton Preve is still the better choice with better safety, better spec, better performance, better handling and cheaper than this Civic. Save the extra RM45k and pay for multiple holidays and all the petrol you can buy or even buy an Iriz as spare car!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 42
    • policeman on Jul 29, 2015 at 8:48 pm

Preve? Inspira better. Got MIVEC. Can challenge VTEC. I LOL @ CFE.

Be careful driving a Preve. What if the engine dies suddenlt while crossing a junction? Then a truck comes by at high speed and slams into the side of your Preve.

Good safety, yes, you won’t die, but it’ll leave you crippled. A vegetable. Why would you want to be a vegetable for the rest of your life? Is that what you want? You want people to be sympathetic towards you, while they see you having your dinner through a tube? That makes you happy? That turns you on? Sympathy is your fetish?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
      • inspirasmoker on Jul 30, 2015 at 8:03 am

But that cannot beat takata airbags in sushi. Ady killed and will kill

MIVEC is nothing without turbo. I LOL @ MIVEC.

• Hondaugly on Jul 29, 2015 at 3:18 pm

Another horrible and ugly car to spawn out of Honda.
    And for those who are going to put thumbs down FU you CB

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 42
  • DPCraft on Jul 29, 2015 at 3:56 pm

Overall not bad, the front facial a bit disappointed, maybe ASEAN model looks more attractive – who knows

• Holofanboi on Jul 29, 2015 at 4:14 pm

I am seeing alot of Acura on the front 0.o

• heybadigol (Member) on Jul 29, 2015 at 5:19 pm

Do I spot an intercooler in the lower air intakes in front? If yes, then this must be carrying the 1.5 turbo engine. Rumour from the vtec forums says China Civic will get 170bhp & 220NM of torque from the 1.5t. Wonder how much Malaysia will get (IF we get the turbo goodness).

Overall shape looks more matured than the FD & FB before it. But it does look quite fat in the back – could be due to the camo. Cos the leaked design patent shows rear lamps that wraparound deep into the sides – which is a good visual trick to make the rear look tighter than it really is.

I’m still surprised there are no speakers in the rear doors – looks like Honda might continue with speakers on top of the rear parcel shelf/deck. Cos the “budget” Honda City already has speakers in the rear doors. Anybody into good musical fidelity knows a good soundstage should be coming from in front, not music coming from the rear (for the rear passengers anyway).

Am a bit worried rear headroom might be affected by the sloping roofline. Similarly, the sloping rear door frame also means getting in and out for tall people might involve accidentally banging your head against the door frame. Hope im wrong though, cos otherwise, this car looks good. It looks quite big even – almost like an Accord from the late 90s.

• pomen on Jul 29, 2015 at 6:27 pm

dont get too excited…when it comes to malaysian market, we will get cheaper spec…huhu

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jul 29, 2015 at 6:28 pm

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • Dear ah pek, stop misusing the word Outlook. A car cant have an “aggressive outlook”.

noun
    noun: outlook; plural noun: outlooks
    a person’s point of view or general attitude to life.
    “broaden your outlook on life”
    synonyms: point of view, viewpoint, views, opinion, (way of) thinking, perspective, attitude, standpoint, stance, frame of mind
    “the two men were wholly different in outlook”
    a view.
    “the pleasant outlook from the lodge window”
    synonyms: view, vista, prospect, panorama, scene, aspect
    “a lovely open outlook”
    a place from which a view is possible; a vantage point.
    the prospect for the future.
    “the deteriorating economic outlook”
    synonyms: prospects, expectations, hopes, future, lookout
    “the outlook for the economy”

• policeman on Jul 29, 2015 at 8:38 pm

Taruk menual gearbok, kasi Proton rebadge, taruk Lotus handling. Gua gerenti beli.

Wishful thinking! Damn thing doesn’t even have a handbrake anymore. When did driving become so difficult that we can’t hit the clutch and shift gears, or pull up the handbrake on a slope? I recently had a twit ask me how I was able to balance my car on a slope without pressing the brakes and with the handbrake down.

Gen Y is bunch of daffodils.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 18
    • Kotembad on Jul 29, 2015 at 10:40 pm

So, you burn your clutch instead?

• Always can do clutch/accelerator balancing but not recommended for longer time. Better use handbrake / brake

• Orange on Jul 30, 2015 at 2:53 pm

Nice b8 m8.

And we hate your generation too, btw. The feeling’s very much mutual.

• TallGuyProblem on Jul 30, 2015 at 3:39 am

I am 6’3 and by looking at the backseat photo, I can foresee my head brushing the roof ceiling. #TallPeopleProblem

• mosar on Jul 30, 2015 at 11:10 am

so, u buy a car to seat at the back? got chauffeur driving u around isit?

• TallGuyProblem on Jul 30, 2015 at 5:10 pm

Nope and nope. I’m just curious laddie. No harm. Experienced it once in someone’s Merc CLA because I had to seat back there for some reason.

• Janji najix tak ditunaikan,penipu Rakyat! on Jul 30, 2015 at 12:26 pm

This new Civic is gonna look good ahead for another 5 years to come. Look at 7th Gen Civic, now still look very futuristic and maintain good design. But 8th gen civic is suck,really cacat design.

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Aug 01, 2015 at 10:21 am

But one thing for sure is that I would encourage all sorhai tai lan ngongs to buy new kimchis instead.

Need a strong stock buffer for 12 month old kimchis in the used car segment