2019 Volkswagen Golf GTI will come in three variants

2013-Top-5-Volkswagen-Golf-GTI-01

Wolfsburg’s most popular hatchback, the Golf GTI, is slated to arrive in three different variants when it’s introduced in 2019. While the trio (including the eighth-generation Golf) will all sit on Volkswagen’s MQB platform, the performance will vary far and wide, in terms of power that is.

German automotive website Auto Bild says that the new GTI will come in three versions – a GTI Classic that makes 265 hp, a GTI Performance variant that possesses 300 hp and the highest-powered one of them all, a GTI Club Sport variant with 326 hp.

The new Mk8 GTI will also reportedly feature the German marque’s new 10-speed DSG gearbox too. To keep you refreshed with numbers, the current GTI‘s EA888 2.0 litre turbocharged engine generates 220 PS and 350 Nm.

Auto China 2014

Currently, the most powerful Golf does not wear a GTI badge but a top-line “R” tag instead, and it comes in a yet-to-be-made, limited-run Golf R400, which is said to be even more athletic (and more expensive) than the Audi RS3 Sportback – finalised power figures are said to have been tweaked to 420 hp, while torque is somewhere in the range of 450 Nm.

The current Mk7 Golf is also said to be getting a facelift that we can hope to see by the end of 2016, with mild design changes and updates in the form of technology and assist systems.

It notes however, that come January 2016, we might get an indication of the eighth-generation Golf’s design direction when an electric concept “Gen E” makes its debut at the 2016 Consumer Electronics Show (CES).

Graham Chin

Having spent a number of years as a journalist for a local paper, a marketing executive for a popular German automotive brand and a copywriter, Graham, a true-blue Sarawakian, knew he had to take the leap back into the motoring scene - and so he did. To him, nothing’s better than cruising for hours along a scenic route, in a car that’s designed and built for that purpose.

• no more confident on Jul 30, 2015 at 5:31 pm

10TH?

those who fighting for gearbox problem … do u think u still want another VW???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 19
    • VW_rocks on Jul 30, 2015 at 6:00 pm

Looking forward to upgrade my Golf MK6, hehehe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
      • Same L0rrrr on Jul 30, 2015 at 6:53 pm

For VW, at least you are sure the models will come in 2019. Unlike our “beloved” Proton Hybrid, 2009, 2012, 2015… still being tested on the Mars.

• VW Owner previously 2 doors Proton on Jul 30, 2015 at 6:19 pm

i think they are managing the high tech DSG on high torque. until mk7, DSG can handle torque up to 400 to 500nm. That is why Porche carrera GT and like Lambo is using manual even agera R is not using dual clutch but single clutch to handle the 1200hp. I think by adding more speed so they can divide the torque and not put too much pressure. The gearbox problem is mainly is because it is too high tech, and mostly the owner delay in changing DSG oil. What car are you driving, if you drive a DSG whether it is wet or dry clutch, you will appreciate the gearbox than normal one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
      • Jacky on Jul 31, 2015 at 5:27 pm

The agera R is using a 7 speed dual clutch transmission. McLaren P1 is the same too also the LaFerrari. DCT sure can handle high torque but it needs certain extent of care than normal gearbox.

• gtiowner on Jul 30, 2015 at 9:24 pm

Halo. GTI/R doesn’t have problems compared to the cheapskates la

• towtrucker on Jul 30, 2015 at 10:24 pm

Are you ready with tow truck number in speed dial?

• what cheap skates, my VW CC costing more or less same as a GTI is still plaque wt its dsg7 problem.

• Golfer on Jul 30, 2015 at 10:11 pm

Awesome! Really cant wait to see it coming to M’sia. Really hope I can afford to own 1 by then. :(

• Annoynimouse on Jul 30, 2015 at 11:33 pm

Pity our roads are becoming more crowded and traffic jams even on motorways are becoming common sight. You’ll need to work harder to find roads that are suitable to really enjoy the performance. Otherwise, taking it to the track is the only option…

• FIST (Member) on Jul 31, 2015 at 8:18 am

How much power would the R have then?