Aug 2015 fuel prices: RON 95, 97, diesel down 10 sen

2013_Toyota_Vios_fuel_test 001

Good news! Fuel prices for the month of August 2015 have been announced, and it turns out that the cost of all grades of fuel have been cut by 10 sen.

As such, come midnight, RON 95 petrol will be priced at RM2.05 per litre, RON 97 petrol at RM2.45 per litre (inclusive of 6% GST), diesel at RM1.95 and Euro 5 diesel at RM2.05. This compares favourably to current prices of RM2.15 per litre for RON 95 petrol, RM2.55 per litre for RON 97 petrol, RM2.05 for diesel and RM2.15 for Euro 5 diesel.

Before you rejoice at the lower RON 97 petrol price and head out for a fresh tank of high-octane fuel, be sure to read our real-world fuel test comparing the two petrol grades.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• petron on Jul 31, 2015 at 8:45 pm

see.. i say it will down..because receive msg frm kpdnkk

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 17
    • Gargantia on Jul 31, 2015 at 11:12 pm

Last month minister say won’t let us know before pass mid nite…

This month pula suddenly say drop price before 11 pm…

Is he lost his brain or just like to eat his own tungue?!!!

Can’t even believe Govt ministers words…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 7
      • What a Lying Government on Aug 01, 2015 at 11:37 am

If Global Brent is USD50.00/barrel = RM190 (x3.8)
        RM190/159 = RM1.19/ltr (per barrel has 159 litres). Eventhough today it is US48.33

Before refining charge and petrol dealer profit is RM1.19/ltr

Our Government keeps on lying to us. Now it looks like the poor will be subsidising the Government for their lavish lifestyles.

There is no way petrol can even be more than RM1.19 as Brent Crude has fallen to its lowest. So, we Malaysians are paying more than 90 sen extra per litre if pump prices are RM2.05 Why?

If they are truly doing a proper float system, the actual price is RM1.19 per litre if per barrel is US$50.

Then there is 2 other elements. 1) Refining cost and 2) Petrol Dealer Profit

The maximum for refining cost is 10 sen per litre. That is the Maximum ceiling for refining based on global refining charges.

Petrol dealer profit also is usually 10 sen per litre.

This is typical Malaysia. Government throw saki baki scraps from the dinner table, the rakyat, like dogs are forced to pick the leftovers and eat. The non reductions is a big joke and a big rip off to the rakyat because recent months Government increased so much…pandai pandai. Also Malaysians just got used to the high prices, as usual.

Critics will argue about sales tax but every single oil producing country sells their oil without sales tax to the rakyat, except for the UK.

Malaysia is the ONLY oil producing country in the world charging sales tax on petrol to its rakyat.

Even at the price of RM2.05, we will be overpaying the Government over 90 sen per litre.

Government made RM Billions in just one month because the prices were so much higher than global prices. Where got real float?

How can they charge so high when they just gave the rakyat the GST gift?

Every single oil producing country gives their rakyat cheap oil. Only one oil producing country, Malaysia, gives the rakyat above global market price for oil.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 7
        • get your facts right on Aug 01, 2015 at 5:22 pm

you start the the calculation at wrong basis.
          yes the price of crude will impact the price of products but the basis of petrol products are base on MOPS ULG 95 price which is around USD71-74/barrel not brent crude price.
          then the all the charges/profit/tax etc coming in,this you can blame on Gov laaa.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
          • Thank you BN on Aug 03, 2015 at 9:48 am

BN Cybertrooper at work. You think we stupid? Now USD48 and you want to kelentong its usd71 to 74.

You think we bodoh ah?

• Same L0rrrr on Aug 01, 2015 at 9:52 am

All my 3 lexus at home have best petrol consumption. Petrol price up or down has no impact to me. Thanks to camry hybrid sales and those kimchi buyer who trade in their 2014 car to me at RM 25k, i will get another Lexus next month.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 57
      • Whatever on Aug 01, 2015 at 10:11 am

Go F yourself.

• Same L0rrrr on Aug 03, 2015 at 5:37 pm

Same L0rrr in disguise please shut up! When i am driving Lexus, do I have to care about the petrol? Use your brain.

However, a lot of people buy Toyota because it save fuel. It is fact also.

Buy kimchi, is cheaper (used unit even cheaper), but you pay more for fuel and maintenance. End of the day, you get a korean cars with japanese car price. Worthy or not, your choice.

• pxp154 on Aug 01, 2015 at 12:56 pm

camry crap & lexus rebadge from toyota. LOL

• Newcomer on Aug 01, 2015 at 3:26 pm

poor real Sam Loo, people always pretend is him..

• New new comer on Aug 01, 2015 at 6:22 pm

Sam has no integrity and during my time as colleage with him, we all knew he talked big.

• Should drop more as oil prices now are summing down very bad

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 8
  • normal_user on Jul 31, 2015 at 8:49 pm

So fast. Even prime news yet to report on this. Bravo paultan team,!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
    • Curi Curi Malaysia on Aug 01, 2015 at 11:59 am

Just one man can steal RM2.6 billion. Nothing happen to him. And this is when the tupai jatuh. How much more when the tupai was happily jumping and stealing before he jatuh? I think about hundred billion.

What about the other thieves? One good example is Taib. Taib alone has US$20 billion in wealth (RM80 billion) and instead of putting him in prison, he was made Governor.

In total, just corruption alone, Malaysia has lost trillions. Trillions could be used to build more schools and hospitals for the poor

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
  • Pinky on Jul 31, 2015 at 8:50 pm

My family just pumped a total of RM300 worth of petrols for 4 cars yesterday night.. Ouchh..
    #typicalasians

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 6
  • Thanks Najib

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 36
    • Captur on Jul 31, 2015 at 11:42 pm

Najib in trouble now mah. So need to collect support. Drop 10 sen can buy a lot of votes. LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
      • pxp154 on Aug 01, 2015 at 12:57 pm

in conjunction with recent hot news reshuffle cabinets. i mean minister cabinets.

kasi gula2… ppl kp quiet a bit :P

• A Government That Lies on Aug 01, 2015 at 11:54 am

We Malaysians are unlucky. Don’t know why. We live in such a rich country. So abundant in oil, tin, getah, palm, copper, gold, iron, coconut etc etc. you name it, we have it. Even oil and gas, we are one of the LARGEST producers of oil and gas in the world.

Singapore has NOTHING. ZERO. ZERO Resources. ZERO Land. ZERO Everything!

And yet, the GDP Per Capita of Singapore is 5X that of Malaysians. What this literally means is that, Singaporean earns 5x more than what we earn. So, if you are earning RM5000, the Singaporean in the same position is earning RM25,000.

To make matters worse, Singapore dollar to the Ringgit is 2.7 times. The Singaporean can travel all over the world and enjoy whilst we Malaysians can only enjoy in poor nations like Indonesia and Thailand.

How is this so? Both countries started at the same time. We have ALL the natural resources but Singapore has ZERO?

Government has been lying to us all this while. they say Singapore, petrol is RM5 per litre. But they fail to tell you, the aevrage person there is earning 5X more than the Malaysians.

So, which do you think is more expensive. A Malaysian earning RM5000 per month but pays RM2,43 per litre or a Singaporean earning RM25,000 but paying RM5 per litre.

The Government of Malaysia love to lie to the people of Malaysia that our petrol is so much cheaper than all over the world. For example, in UK its over 1.25 pound a litre. Our Government will convert and tell you its RM5.50 per litre!
      But the average UK citizen is earning 3000 pounds.

The funny thing is this. Malaysia produces oil. Singapore does not produce oil. And yet, their petrol is so much cheaper for the Singaporean than petrol to us Malaysians!

The same with cars. the BMW 528i is RM420,000. In Singapore, it is SGD250,000. Which do you think is really cheaper?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
      • annoy_namous on Aug 03, 2015 at 9:09 am

Bro, since you always praise Singapore, there an application form available for migration. Do you wanna apply soonest?? Kindly advice.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
  • intermilan on Jul 31, 2015 at 8:53 pm

Actually / in all fairness, should reduce by a bigger amount.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 13
  • Thanks Najib.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 42
  • tannie on Jul 31, 2015 at 9:01 pm

Your update is faster than Malaysiakini. Good job and thanks for the info!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
    • jinggo on Aug 01, 2015 at 9:02 am

Malaysiakini tak bole pakai la lately, report ada sikit bias la..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
    • Add-A-Comment on Aug 03, 2015 at 8:49 am

Stop reading that la…grow up.

– I Have Just Added A Comment –

• So like, where are those commenters in the previous article?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
    • OlangBodoh on Aug 01, 2015 at 8:34 am

Bodoh, oil prices supposed to be lower than this. Try read news around the world. Typical ppl like u will support price reduction like this. When oil price is increase, all other good prices increase immediately. When oil prices are down, they discuss for a month to reduce the goods price. And then, its up again, good prices go up… So you should read a lot moron!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 8
  • WTF? Crude oil is now $48.48 and the price only go down by $0.10?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 7
  • alldisc on Jul 31, 2015 at 9:48 pm

still higher than it should be.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 6
  • jinggo on Jul 31, 2015 at 10:13 pm

Gila ke ape najib nk naik harga petrol, kasi gula2 sikit la lepas byk episod kejutan…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 4
  • andrekua on Jul 31, 2015 at 10:54 pm

Strangely some are still happy with the slight downward adjustment despite going up 30 cents already in the past 2 months.

• Jimmy on Jul 31, 2015 at 11:13 pm

The thing that teacher want student to do, especially those sitting at the back … just that students will not be sent ke Pluto.

Guru besar sudah bersara.

Guru besar itu bagus berupaya, zaman dia tiada banyak bullshits daripada the so-called gurus but very fanatic asking Opama to go back to Kinya and asking hock sangs to wear ninja shell; no ninja shell cannot cross the gate. Munasabah makan is not an issue, semua orang akan makan cakes. Tidak menjaga kepentingan schoolnya, yes.

Guru besar, tak kira overweight atau slim, asalkan dia menjaga baik sekolahnya, adalah guru besar baik cemerlang. Kecuali jikalau dia berberat 400kg, iaitu super-gemuk.

Nampaknya masih banyak orangs prefer classic 4-speed sportscars over futuristic 14-speed hypercars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • sandiwara BN on Jul 31, 2015 at 11:47 pm

Stupid Govt fooling the people every end of the month by using fuel as their “sandiwara” tool.
    When the currency drop on Jun, they increase the price.
    But now the currency even drop more, why the fuel suddently reduce?
    What are you try to achieve? Have you use these money to help the poor people every month? Just one time per year such as BR1M etc won’t show your kindness.

You should be blessed than God still giving you a life to live for another day.

• Malaysian government is incompetent & corrupted. It is time to change.

• Nothing is right for you. Moan and groan, moan and groan.

• Mohd Faiz on Aug 01, 2015 at 12:48 am

so next month up 50 cents? what a joke..

• I’m pretty sure next 1 or 2 month when crude oil hits usd 55, we will raise to another 20 sen or more. So basically the formula is 1 step back 2 step forward.

• Datuk S Kunalan on Aug 01, 2015 at 2:03 am

The drop should have been more than just the 10 sen.

Naik banyak tapi turun selalunya sikit.

We Malaysians are suffering under your leadership Mr Najib.

• dodgeviper88 on Aug 01, 2015 at 2:55 am

30th June Brent was at 62 dollars now it’s at 53 dollars, drop of approx 15%. USD/MYR increased from RM3.76 to RM3.81. Prices should had drop at least 10%

• Samad Jain on Aug 01, 2015 at 10:06 am

should have been 20cents drop, according to Rafizi’s calculation.

• seancorr (Member) on Aug 01, 2015 at 12:04 pm

Crude oil is now priced very low now and these faggots only reduce it by 10 cents? You all here better vote for the opposition when the next election comes around.

• 10 sen only? on Aug 01, 2015 at 12:08 pm

naik 3 steps, turun 1 steps.. should be lowered as the price is just around 50usd per barrel compared to last time 60usd. mana formula?

• cendol (Member) on Aug 01, 2015 at 12:24 pm

Frankly speaking there should be TWO tier pricing for petrol.
    One price for Bumi and one price for Non Bumi.
    It is only fair for non-bumi to pay more.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 18
    • NasiLemak2.0 on Aug 02, 2015 at 2:09 pm

Hari2 mkn nasi lemak2 semua pun mau murah dan masih malas. Pasal pemimpinan nasi lemak negara sudah cam nie.

• Gary Chong on Aug 01, 2015 at 3:28 pm

Najibaik

• Tommygun on Aug 03, 2015 at 11:00 am

I have been following the crude oil prices since beginning 2015. Price of petrol is based on Brent crude price. Based on this year’s history, Brent crude Jan15 USD52 pb – Petrol RM1.70, Feb15 USD59 pb – Petrol RM1.95, Mac15 USD55 – Petrol RM1.95, Apr15 USD66 pb – Petrol RM1.95, May15 USD65 – Petrol RM2.05, Jun15 USD63 pb – Petrol RM2.15, JULU15 USD52 pb – Petrol RM2.05 !!!!!

See it is the same as Jan 2015. Even if RM has devaluated..petrol should be about RM1.80 ++

This is what they called “Rakyat Di dahulukan” !!!????***