VIDEO: 2016 Lexus IS 200t in Japanese test drive

It has already been announced that Lexus will be coming up with an updated IS – one that will have a smaller but turbocharged engine along with other enhancements. In a fresh video, Japanese motoring journalist Yasuhisa Shimashita takes the new 2016 Lexus IS 200t sedan for a spin along winding stretches.

Wearing a 200t moniker means that the IS will have its 2.5 litre V6 engine swapped out for a smaller-but-more-capable 2.0 litre turbocharged engine that can be found under the bonnet of the Lexus NX 200t compact SUV and the upcoming Lexus RC 200t. It will be paired to an eight-speed automatic Sport Direct Shift transmission, and will get from 0-100 km/h in seven seconds flat.

When it arrives here soon (Q3 2015, we’ve been informed), the IS 200t will produce 245 hp and 350 Nm of torque – healthy power bump of 40 hp and 98 Nm compared to the previous 4GR-FSE V6 mill. What is interesting to note in the video is that since the new engine comes turbocharged, you can actually see the amount of boost that the turbine makes in the instrument cluster, which should satisfy your inner racer boy.

Graham Chin

Having spent a number of years as a journalist for a local paper, a marketing executive for a popular German automotive brand and a copywriter, Graham, a true-blue Sarawakian, knew he had to take the leap back into the motoring scene - and so he did. To him, nothing’s better than cruising for hours along a scenic route, in a car that’s designed and built for that purpose.

• heybadigol (Member) on Aug 03, 2015 at 3:28 pm

Although 7 secs is still much faster than the 8.2 secs for the IS250, its still not as fast as the BMW 328i or Merc C250, which the IS200t is most probably targeted at, as all 3 cars have similar power & torque outputs and the IS200t even equals the 328i’s gear count (8). Those Germans are both sub 6 seconds cars, so all other things being equal, the IS200t should also be sub 6 seconds.

So what happened? The answer is probably the IS350 which soldiers on with the silky smooth NA 3.5 V6. That car does 0-100km/h in less than 6 sec (but is not available here). So this is probably Lexus trying to assure the IS350 buyers that their car is superior to the IS200t. Unlike BMW which also has a 3.0 turbo engine in the 335i (or 340i), which naturally will be faster than the 328i by default, the performance difference between the IS200t and IS350 is too small if they let the turbo’ed car unleash its full potential. So, that IS200t has to take some penalties to ensure people keep buying the IS350. Of course, this is all just a theory. And would not make the IS200t any less desirable.

• Bob_B78 on Aug 03, 2015 at 4:07 pm

Maybe you are right. Very disappointing to see the performance figures. Even a standard Golf GTI is faster than this car.
      Conclusion: Lexus refinement and comfort level are very good, easily rivals or better than those European marques. A real sporting saloon unfortunately no, enthusiast will look else where.

• Same L0rrrr on Aug 03, 2015 at 5:41 pm

People don’t buy Lexus for fast 0-100, do they? None of my customer are.

Lexus is well known for its luxury, comfort, reliable, fuel-saving, good RV, cheap maintenance.

Want fast 0-100? get a Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6R better!

• Bob_B78 on Aug 03, 2015 at 6:07 pm

ZX-6R? raining time, sama nasib with EX5 teduh under the bridge until rain stop.

• for the first time i agree with same lorr

• amirad on Aug 04, 2015 at 8:32 am

Get the Kawa H2R for the insane acceleration.
          Sam, I’m with you on this one.

• alldisc on Aug 04, 2015 at 10:27 am

pathetic malaysians – which is faster. which is more powerful. which has the most gears. which has the most airbags. which is more economical.

when in the end – all will end up in traffic jams. sitting idle behind a Kancil 660 4 speed and not able to overtake. kinda funny.

• flipper2uman (Member) on Aug 03, 2015 at 5:43 pm

I have another theory. Maybe the current IS is already in its mid life cycle Perhaps the new IS in about 3 year down the road would have some tweak to the current engine and gears for better performance. That way it seem like it is a new car with improvements to the current IS. That is my 2 cents.

• Areyousure on Aug 03, 2015 at 3:43 pm

Driving the Lexus like initial-D? Century sprint of 7 seconds cannot consider as fast also, lololol

• Might not be as fast but its surely gonna be reliable and tuneable..

• lth (Member) on Aug 03, 2015 at 4:17 pm

I like the car .. but cannot afford the price. :(

• Sam toilet on Aug 03, 2015 at 4:53 pm

Another glorified TOYOTA. Underneath everything still a TOYOTA! A badge won’t make any difference

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
    • kington on Aug 03, 2015 at 5:45 pm

I’m quite sure you’ve never been in one.

Honestly, i was skeptical when Lexus first arrived in the 90s with all their bold claims, but true enough the LS400 back then was really one hell of a magic carpet. It gained even more mileage when the current LS had refinement levels which AUTOCAR UK recognized as the closest to the Rolls Royce Phantom edging the 7 and S.

Earlier models were developed more with Toyota no doubt but bear in mind that Lexus is still considered a “struggling” automaker considering that they benchmark themselves against Mercedes and BMW. Hence, Lexus still has to use their cars to elevate their brand and not otherwise.

Even if it’s a rebadged Toyota, the GS shares quite a lot with the Toyota Crown which is now one heck of a cruiser especially in Majesta and Athlete specs.

Don’t be a badge snob.

• notoyota on Aug 03, 2015 at 8:52 pm

Thats long time ago. Nowadays lexus is mere glorified toyota, nothing more

• alldisc on Aug 04, 2015 at 10:21 am

kingston,

these are boys still at school – of course they cant differentiate the differences between Toyota and Lexus. in terms of NVH, ride quality and luxury level of equipment.

and of course since they are relatively never went overseas, they do not know what other Toyota cars are sold in other markets including the specifications.

somehow, i pity them.

• shawal on Aug 03, 2015 at 6:40 pm

Here comes the long awaited, anticipated middle finger salute to the people that bought the 2.5l v6…

but lexus hv to facelift dis car…its… For the lack of a better word…. Hideous at the front…

Gorgeous at the back tho..

• in fee knee tea on Aug 04, 2015 at 9:36 am

Was excited to see d vid but at 2.14
    zzzzzz…nemashita redy.