BMW sells record 1.099 mil vehicles in first half of 2015

2013 F30 BMW 316i 23

BMW has announced that it has managed its best ever first half of the year sales-wise – the group sold 1.099 million cars globally in the first half of 2015 and reported that both BMW and MINI brands achieved new all-time highs.

Europe was the automaker’s largest sales region with 488,000 vehicles delivered, which was an increase of 9.5 % over 2014. The brand experienced strong growth in markets such as Spain, Italy, Portugal and Ireland.

In the Americas, sales also climbed by 9.5%, and in North America the brand sold 242,300 cars, an increase of 9.6% over the same period in 2014. Meanwhile, Asia chipped in with 337,000 units, an increase of 4.4 percent year-on-year. As for China, the automaker sold over 230,700 cars in the first six months of 2015, up 2.3% from the previous year’s six-month figure.

Munich also reported that it sold 12,500 electrically powered BMW i3 electric and i8 plug-in hybrid cars in the first half of the year, and also delivered over 30,500 BMW M and M Performance models to customers.

These figures were revealed in a statement by Harald Krüger, chairman of the Board of Management of BMW AG, issued earlier today. The company also added that in some BRIKT (Brazil, Russia, India, South Korea and Turkey) markets there was a mixed trend in sales – in particular, sales in Russia have taken a downturn.

There was also mention of its global production network, which currently consists of 30 production sites in 14 countries. Primary news concerns the US plant in Spartanburg, South Carolina, which is set to be expanded, with an investment of US$1 billion set to be injected in until 2016. By the end of 2016, Munich says it will be able to produce over 450,000 vehicles per year at the site, making the facility the largest plant in its global production network.

bmw-x7-render

The statement also mentioned the F17 (or G07, if you will) X7 again; the announcement that the SUV – which is set to go up against the likes of the Range Rover and Mercedes-Benz GL-Class – would be built at Spartanburg had already been made last year, and the latest report back from March indicated it’s set to make its debut sometime in 2017.

The range-topping X7 (as seen in the render by Theophilus Chin above), when it does arrive, will join X3, X4, X5 and X6 production in Spartanburg. The company’s San Luis Potosi plant in Mexico, meanwhile, is scheduled to start production in 2019, and will have a planned capacity of 150,000 units annually.

In all, BMW and MINI are due to launch 15 new models and model revisions this year, almost as many as in 2014, which was the automaker’s record launch year. Among the new offerings are the F48 X1, F15 X5 eDrive40e, F30 3 Series LCI and G11/G12 7 Series.

The acquisition of Nokia’s mapping and location services business, Here, by BMW – together with Audi and Mercedes-Benz – was also touched upon in the statement. The automaker said the purchase is intended to secure the long-term availability of Here’s products and services as an open, independent and value creating platform for cloud-based maps and other mobility services.

It reiterated that the platform is and will be accessible to all customers from the automotive industry and other sectors. News reports indicated that the the deal, which is reported to be worth €2.8 billion (RM11.8 billion), is expected to be completed in the first quarter of 2016.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Cantona on Aug 04, 2015 at 7:08 pm

No surprise here, no other sedan car come close to BMW, Mercedes and Lexus come close but not close enough.
    BMW – Best Man Win !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 9
    • Obviously (Member) on Aug 04, 2015 at 8:01 pm

Haha, you better go and hide…someone will want to eat your intestines tonight.

• seancorr (Member) on Aug 04, 2015 at 10:38 pm

He’s not really wrong in saying that though if he’s talking about the handling bar Audi Quattro models. But interior wise the 1, 3, 5 and 7 Series as well as the X3 are definitely lacking at the moment and we’ll have to wait for the next generation models to roll out beginning with the 7er.

The 2, 4 series and X4 are another issue all together as they’re carbon copies of their respective siblings and BMW didn’t bother making it look different.

• Same L0rrrr on Aug 04, 2015 at 10:50 pm

Low RV car. Mainly for those who got no taste. My Lexus anytime better than this low RV car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 16
        • Dynamo on Aug 05, 2015 at 9:44 am

Thats one thing I have to agree… Im selling off our cars as we are heading for an oversea posting. My 2009 W204 C200 with 43000KM and my wifes pretty new F30 320i Msport with 25k KM. My C class depreciated RM50k in 6 years but my wifes F30 depreciated a whopping RM40k in 2 years.. Wanted to sell to Dealer but depreciation was even higher so selling off privately.. Was told by several dealers BMW depreciates faster than most other luxury brands..

• BMW619_jack on Aug 05, 2015 at 11:22 am

dun lie~~~
            i go check with carbase.my ady ~
            you car Original Price is RM 248,888,now is only RM 120,500。

and second ~ F30 320i have no M sport~

• Dynamo on Aug 05, 2015 at 9:22 pm

Your name BMW but you have no clue on your BMW models? Firstly, i have proof about me selling the car. Secondly, RV is important especially where I still have loans to settle after selling, ofcourse the higher the selling price the less or no loan settlement.

Thirdly, what are you saying no F30 Msport?? The sport version has been out of the market in Malaysia and replaced with Msport package u dimwit. Also, with additional RM18k during offer period, you can upgrade your Msport to Mperformance. Dimwit.

• talkkok on Aug 05, 2015 at 12:54 pm

If you say you have conti car and still talk about RV then you are most prolly a liar to own any.

• Dynamo on Aug 05, 2015 at 9:26 pm

Hi Talksmallkok

A conti driver dont care about RV? You think only millionaire drives conti cars? You think a teacher getting RM6k per month cannot own conti? You think RM4k per month cannot get VW? Cannot get 1 series? This is money we are talking about here.

So next time I buy a Toyota Velfire costing more than a F30 i have the right to talk about RV but not a base BMW?

Seriously, paultan used to have decent people now bombarded with retards like you.

• Same L0rrrr on Aug 05, 2015 at 2:40 pm

If you think your beloved conti cars is way better than Lexus. You just again show us of your ignorance and stupidity.

• Dynamo tak boleh pakai on Aug 05, 2015 at 10:59 pm

Hahaha. That is a good joke. 2009 C-class asking in 110-120k range only la brader. who the fxxx gonna pay 200k for that outdated car?

• BMW619_jack on Aug 06, 2015 at 10:41 am

dynamo~ stop lie~
            F30 at Malaysia only 320d and 328 gt m sport

• For a company that is resting on its laurels, giving us Malaysia sub-standard features, i am afraid mercedes does much better here. Some of its offers don’t even have basic things like comfort access or power tailgate….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
  • Congrats to BMW but from what I am seeing and experiencing, BMW cars (for the price you pay in Bolehland) has exhiliration but lacks emotion. I drive a 328i F30 and selling for a C250 AMG Line. Yes, BMW cars drive like no other, but if you want to feel special whilst you are in or out of the car, nothing beats the classy design of a Merc, regardless of trim..

Theres a feeling of achievement once you own a merc, I had that sense when I got my F30 delivered but died after a few months. Interior quality is there but design is somewhat plain and boring – paying a premium of over 300k for a 328i Id rather get the C200 instead.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 16
    • Accordana on Aug 04, 2015 at 9:00 pm

Talk like an Ah Pek. The only thing is that you lie about owning a BMW.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 13
      • Hi Accordana, please call me 0193567095 and we will meet up after work. Firstly, Im not your AhPek, i do not even look like one and secondly, let me prove to you what I own. Lastly, you seem like the rage guy who got his Almera loan rejected.

I am looking forward to hear from you, I am driving an Alpine White F30 328i M-Performance with Coral Red interior plate Number WA8055Y

• viosteruboh on Aug 05, 2015 at 12:46 pm

So your Vios loan been rejected too?
          LOL

• Actually my vios loan approve for your mama. Semalam baru jumpa dia and i enjoyed our night, so i made loan to get a newer dugong to suit her body.

Congrats viosteruboh, i could end up as your new daddy.

• jinggo on Aug 05, 2015 at 10:46 pm

Ya I saw the number WA8055Y, but it is a Plotong Saga. You need to realise that Plotong Saga is not a 3 series.

• sudonano (Member) on Aug 04, 2015 at 10:47 pm

I don’t deny, the BMW has always been the more simple interior of the two, and even Audi has more drama in their interior.

But that is the thing, it is a matter of taste. For me, I prefer the simple design. It just makes more sense. The C class does look impressive undoubtedly, but for a chauffeur car it would have been fine. As in, as a sports sedan, I want my controls to be easily reached etc. For example, two main gripes with Mercedes for me are the seat adjusters (which are on the door, and you have to stretch to reach it), as well as the column mounted shifter (Mercedes, this is a sport sedan. At least have a regular shifter in the Avantgarde/AMG Line models.).

I also prefer the rear entry of the F30 over the C class. The C has the CLA style sloping rear roof, which I found while not as annoying as the C class, the more upright rear of the F30 makes it easier to get in.

If we are comparing AMG line, it would only be fair if we look at the 328i M Sport, which has one feature the Merc doesn’t. Adaptive suspension. That itself is enough for me to go for the 328i. But again, that I because I prefer a more involving drive.

• contirubbish on Aug 05, 2015 at 12:49 pm

Boring conti dash, they are very similar from one gen to another.

The designers should be sacked.

• recession on Aug 04, 2015 at 8:43 pm

surprisingly sales increased in europe countries Portugal,Spain and Ireland…but these countries have almost highest unemployment rate in their history… no doubt rich poor always stay rich..poor people keep getting poorer

• sudonano (Member) on Aug 04, 2015 at 8:56 pm

These guys are really killing it. Mercedes is currently at 900k units thus far, so the race for number one is going to be tight this year.

http://media.daimler.com/dcmedia/0-921-1655029-1-1828593-1-0-0-0-0-1-0-1549054-0-1-0-0-0-0-0.html?TS=1438692637659

Unsurprisingly though. BMW AG has a very competitive lineup right now. The 1 series is fantastic to drive, the 3 series has just been refreshed and is still the dynamic benchmark, the 5 series, although coming to end of life still looks quite fresh, and the 7 series luxobarge is a real technical marvel with the Carbon Core.

Not to mention the 2 series Coupe, 4 series and 6 series that all seem to pretty much own their respective luxury coupe category for the price. The i series and M series too are doing very well, especially the new F8x M3/M4 which are really killing it.

Even MINI is not doing too bad, the F55/56 is pretty solid, and Motorrad too…

Undeniably, there are some duds, like the 2 AT and GT, but even those sell in healthy numbers in Europe, so it is pretty much all good in Munich.

It was a smart move though, to make their cars more attractive to younger buyers with better pricing, especially if you see in BMW’s largest markets, like the UK and Australia, the amount of standard features for the price is almost class leading.

• Gaviny on Aug 04, 2015 at 10:09 pm

And here I am just being poor

• tokmoh. on Aug 05, 2015 at 12:36 am

Ask, and you shall receive… (RM2.6b donation).

It’s ok, as long as you don’t use it for personal use hohohoho

• seancorr (Member) on Aug 04, 2015 at 10:33 pm

Good stuff coming from BMW AG…that means their planning all worked out quite well and I can’t wait to see the behemoth that is the X7 since the X6 is already quite huge on the road.

I’m not too sure if you all realized but BMW Malaysia’s lineup is huge…even when compared to Audi or Mercedes. There’s 28 models for sale here and I haven’t even counted in the different engine and trim line up! Imagine them stocking up all those spare parts and honoring their 5 year warranty.

• tokmoh. on Aug 05, 2015 at 1:20 am

Somehow, I appreciate BMW better as a driver’s car. E30 M3 had gotta be the epitome of everything what BMW is all about. A true ultimate driving machine.

BMW has built itself a desirable brand, but most of their models today are hardly exciting the way their elders did. Made worst with FWD 2-series tourer, heresy!

Ironically, I find another 2-series, M235i the most BMW in their range today. Big power, small light body, 6-speed manual, that’s the way it is best done.

• sudonano (Member) on Aug 05, 2015 at 10:33 am

The 2 series AT/GT is a mess really. It’s funny how even the 316i feels miles more responsive than the 218i LOL.

• tokmoh. on Aug 05, 2015 at 12:58 pm

That’s why it’s not BMW enough for me.

It’s like if a chef’s skill is French cooking, he may be able to cook Asian, but may not be the best.

The same here. FWD 2-series AT/GT is a BMW, but it’s not THE BMW.

• GT-Rider on Aug 05, 2015 at 1:03 pm

Unfortunately GT-R is much faster

• C.P.MOHAN on Aug 05, 2015 at 10:56 am

Look at the volume for six months and for a single marque more then our TIV for the whole year for multiple marques. As for me I prefer MB.

• Earthling on Aug 05, 2015 at 5:43 pm

This tells something. The more money spent on luxurious materials, the more imbalance the society is. U.S. has the most billionaires as well as homeless people.