Toyota reports record profit despite lower car sales

2015_Toyota_Camry_019

Despite coming in second to Volkswagen in the race to the top, Toyota has recorded growth in terms of net revenue over the second quarter of 2015 (first quarter of its new fiscal year) – up 9.3% compared to the same period last year to US$57.7 billion (RM223.5 billion), while operating income is up by 9.1% to US$6.25 billion (RM24.2 billion). Net income also increased by 10% to $5.34 billion (RM20.7 billion), which is a new quarterly record for the company.

That’s despite the Japanese brand seeing a drop in combined car sales by as much as 127,285 units (2,114,000 units sold in total) compared to the same period last year.

The only market where Toyota saw an increase in sales in the second quarter was North America, with sales totalling 728,813 an increase of 18,404 units. Operating income in North America amounted to an impressive 151.1 billion yen (RM4.7 billion), the second highest as compared to other markets. The Japanese market is in first, at 475.8 billion yen (RM14.8 billion).

Although its home market contributed the most to the company’s operating income, it saw a drop in sales and likewise in Europe and Asia – the brand sold a total of 469,971 vehicles sold at home, 206,374 over in Europe and 328,602 vehicles sold over in Asia. Other regions such as Central and South America, Oceania, Africa and the Middle East also showed a decline in sales to a combined total of 380,240 vehicles sold.

Tetsuya Otake, managing officer of Toyota Motor Corporation noted that aside from having reaped the benefits from a lower exchange rate, cost reduction played a part in helping the company attain such profits in spite of lower vehicle sales. “Favorable foreign exchange rates and cost reduction efforts were main positive factors, while decreased vehicle sales and increased expenses to support initiatives for enhancing competitiveness were negative factors,” Otake explained.

Graham Chin

Having spent a number of years as a journalist for a local paper, a marketing executive for a popular German automotive brand and a copywriter, Graham, a true-blue Sarawakian, knew he had to take the leap back into the motoring scene - and so he did. To him, nothing’s better than cruising for hours along a scenic route, in a car that’s designed and built for that purpose.

• DPCraft on Aug 05, 2015 at 1:19 pm

Honda and Mazda rise, toyota drop sales

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
    • karam singh on Aug 06, 2015 at 4:42 am

see how Toyota play their games? sales drop but still making big profit ?
      their strategy ? cut cost here and there but sell at higher price.
      more importantly they cut cost on the safety side & thats a shame on Toyota.
      they gain profit a lots from rubbish,useless bodykits

• alldisc on Aug 06, 2015 at 10:53 am

you dont mind to proof this, do you? or perhaps you only know what is happening in Malaysia and not other parts of the world where Toyota cars have up to 10 airbags and full comprehensive list of safety equipment including ABS, VSC, TRAC, EBD+BA, dynamic radar cruise control, blind spot monitor, automatic high beam, rear cross traffic alert & pre-collision system.

talk is cheap my friend. try to be more intelligent when using the keyboard.

• driver on Aug 05, 2015 at 1:38 pm

when you keep on using dinosaur-age engine.. just change the skin, and less safety.. of course it’ll always be profitable.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 2
    • Especially when some of their markets give non-existent, poor or fake safety parts. Sure can be profitable.

• Same L0rrrr on Aug 05, 2015 at 2:38 pm

Iriz give you NEW engine (vvti) and transmission (punch), still no one bother to buy?

Your brain also millions year old design, but it is still smarter than Intel i7.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 37
      • Sam Sister on Aug 05, 2015 at 4:16 pm

Now we know why you never improve, only talk cock all the time, your brain like 2 years old.

• alldisc on Aug 06, 2015 at 10:58 am

u mean carburettor?

coz as far as im concern toyota engines are very much up-to-date in terms of technologies like EFI, DOHC, VVTi (and dual VVTi) and direct injection with top notch reliabilities. The diesels also are modern direct injected 4 valve per cylinder specs – mostly turbocharged and they are all on par with other manufacturers

on the transmission side, Toyota does have CVT, 5 speed, 6 speed, 7 speed and 8 speed auto tranny (depending on the wide range of models) as well as 5 speed and 6 speed manual transmission. what else do you want?

• steven see on Aug 05, 2015 at 1:46 pm

Record profit!!! Not here at bolehland.

• Sam Sister on Aug 05, 2015 at 4:08 pm

True,show room is empty, I just went there last weekend to PJ branch, saw a few sales person playing handphone and the whole big showroom is empty.Nobody seems like bother me because I drove proton.

• Toyol on Aug 05, 2015 at 1:57 pm

Of course got profit when they give you KOSONG spec cars with ZERO safety features.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • Congratz Toyota.
    I believe in Company who make healthy profit.

Company without healthy profit, sure cut cost here and there -u get lemon.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
  • Definitely lah, last time every cars profit 200%, now profit just reduce to 150% only, still earn money even sales volume drop.

• kington on Aug 05, 2015 at 2:26 pm

Indeed, it won’t be too long until Toyota decides to make cars by listening less to their accountants.

Increase in profit? They have UMW to thank! Am sure Malaysia is among the countries with superbly high profit margins!

DRB-HICOM and UMW Toyota have ripped us for far too long dy.

• Credits really have to be given to Toyota for the ability to bring in profits. It’s a commercial miracle, which a lot of corporations have to study and learn.

• horrayooi on Aug 05, 2015 at 4:58 pm

Those who have dugong brain will buy the obsolete 4 speed auto Vios with that kind of price . We can accept it if Axia or Avanza because the price is moderate and acceptable. Wake up Toyota. Give us 5 speed auto or Altis type cvt. If possible with paddle shifters or triptronic. And don’t forget the safety features. One step ahead of your competitors.

• Husky on Aug 05, 2015 at 6:05 pm

That’s is due to the U$ appreciations Yen depreciate that’s why the financial report is good..

• Of course, toyota is ripping you off.
    High price less stuffs, sure will make profit.
    But still many people don’t see it…