VIDEO: 2015 Hyundai Creta billed as “the perfect SUV”

There’s no such thing as the perfect car, let alone the perfect crossover/coupe/wagon. Right? Wrong, according to Hyundai India. As illustrated in its latest commercial, the 2015 Hyundai Creta is billed as the perfect SUV – though we’re not exactly sure what their interpretation of the word “perfect” is.

Said minute-long spot begins with an animated sequence of a Creta getting assembled which, upon completion, then gets driven around in variety of settings, from the city to the outskirts and what have you. Rather amusingly, the entire journey is conducted as a result of a couple trying to educate one another on what’s it like to live the “Creta life.”

You’ll have to watch the commercial yourself and form your own subjective conclusions on this one. On the objective side of things, the 2015 Hyundai Creta was revealed earlier on in June as the South Korean carmaker’s global B-segment crossover – a genre currently dominated by the sales juggernaut that is the Honda HR-V in Malaysia. It is, however, not an all-new model for it was based on the Chinese-only ix25.

Technical specifications include a choice of three engine options – one petrol and two diesels. Said petrol option is a 1.6 litre Gamma mill with 123 PS while the oil-burning range consists of a 1.4 litre CRDi engine and a 1.6 litre CRDi VGT turbodiesel with 128 PS. A six-speed manual transmission comes as standard while a six-speed automatic is offered with the 1.6 litre turbodiesel.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• DPCraft on Aug 05, 2015 at 3:15 pm

The Jap’s CX-3 and HR-V looks better then this…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
    • CarmenTung on Aug 05, 2015 at 3:33 pm

Compare to CX-3 yes..but with HR-V..nah HR-V way uglier

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 16
      • Same L0rrrr on Aug 05, 2015 at 5:59 pm

To be precise, the used Hyundai Creta would be Ultimate Perfect SUV. Don’t waste your hard earned money for fast kimchi depreciation.

• sam proton on Aug 05, 2015 at 8:41 pm

We all know you earn hard money and have affordability problem. At least 90% of readers are richer than you, you no need to feel heart pain for them. We hope one day you can become senior sales man.

• karam singh on Aug 06, 2015 at 4:39 am

Guess what, what the fastest selling MPV ?
        HR-V.
        u said this one more beauty and all that,
        yet HR-V still winning the sales in Malaysia,
        peoples decide which best, peoples love HR-V.
        pullstop

• daddylonglegb1 on Aug 05, 2015 at 3:32 pm

Will seriously consider getting 1 if Sime Darby brings in the 1.6 CRDi VGT turbodiesel

• reyust on Aug 05, 2015 at 3:33 pm

Like Tiguan

• sudonano (Member) on Aug 05, 2015 at 3:34 pm

CX-3 and HR-V look better than this, the rear looks so C4 Picasso inspired.

It can sell though, if priced right. And being a diesel too.

• thepolygonal on Aug 05, 2015 at 3:41 pm

Wah.. what happened to their design. Even the Ssangyong Tivoli looks nicer.

• suomynona on Aug 06, 2015 at 12:59 am

Heck,it almost looks like the Tivoli. I thought Hyundai’s design is all about ‘Fluidic Sculpture’,this oddball just looks otherwise. Just look at its curvier brother,the Tucson.

• camtakpro on Aug 05, 2015 at 3:45 pm

1.6 turbodiesel might make a stand, but 1.6 petrol to fight HRV?

Exora Bold is more powerful.

• cendol (Member) on Aug 05, 2015 at 3:55 pm

Hyundai EX-Creta is not a bad name for this car.

• Later on when it arrive in Malaysia, it’s calles Inokom Kereta. Hhahahahhaah

• Xtremex on Aug 05, 2015 at 5:45 pm

mini Santa Fe, quite nice.

• What a funny name here in Bolehland. Creta.

• Far from perfect. CX-3 looks better.

• big dislike for the video :D

• Many features are stolen from VW Tiguan. Tiguan is the best.