Maybach name returns to Thailand with launch of S500

mercedes-maybach x222 s-class1

After an absence of two years, the Maybach nameplate has made a return to Thailand – The Bangkok Post reports that Mercedes-Benz Thailand has officially introduced the Mercedes-Maybach S500 in the Kingdom. The model is priced at 16.9 million baht (RM1.88 million).

The Maybach name, which Mercedes revived in 1997, came to an end in 2012 when Daimler announced it was pulling the plug on the brand due to poor sales. In 2014, the name resurfaced, but this time as an ultra-luxury sub-brand extension of the W222 S-Class model line known as Mercedes-Maybach.

The S600 was announced as the sub-brand’s first model, making its debut at the Los Angeles and Guangzhou shows in November last year. The S500 has since joined the lineup. It’s powered by a 4.6 litre twin-turbo V8 offering 455 hp and 700 Nm, paired with a nine-speed automatic transmission.

The report adds that the S500 is priced considerably lower than its predecessors (the Zeppelin 57 and 62), which ran at around 80 million baht-plus (RM8.9 million), and also undercuts the likes of the Bentley Flying Spur and Rolls-Royce Ghost Series II by some five million (RM557,000) and 15 million baht (RM1.67 million) respectively in that market.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• UMNO Official Car on Aug 07, 2015 at 8:52 pm

Sure UMNO members will order this by the bulk. It is small kacang puteh money for them. After all their big boss also loaded to the max and has billions, so, luxury and fancy lifestyle is common for UMNO.

Whilst people steal RM2.6 billion, we now suffer with high car prices for basic B and C segment.

Don’t forget, this is when the tupai got caught. What about the times the tupai was happily jumping the past 10 years? The tupai would have collected much much more than RM2.6 billion.

Now, we Malaysians suffer with high car prices because everyone is now stealing. Taib of Sarawak alone has US$20 billion wealth (RM80 billion). the don’t penalise him, they reward him with governorship while we all suffer with high rates

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 11
    • After next election tokong will upgrade his s-keras to this. All becoz his Benz is too old and expensive to maintain. Island pipu swollow whole story and says here u go.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 36
      • Even if i upgrade it will still cost much less than the ‘donation’ of your UMNO leader. Your dear leader can buy more than a thousand of this from his ‘donor’. Bolehland people swallow whole story and says donation ok what

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 2
        • Bjian makan 2.6 bill, whole Malaysia.

Dear leader makan 3 bill, selangor onli. Imagine he got whole Malaysia…

Which is worse?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 12
          • George Abdul on Aug 09, 2015 at 5:27 pm

This car just too cheap to be own by PM because he use helicopter and private jet.

Malaysian Rakyat just keep using unsafe 3rd world country car…

• Stripper on Aug 09, 2015 at 7:17 pm

Imagine, 2.6billion by one man on one occassion. His gremlins have been in power for 5 decades. Do the maths.

• Yusof on Aug 10, 2015 at 9:33 am

Too blind. Own people steal also cannot see.

• Shame on Aug 08, 2015 at 9:33 pm

There is no dignity to this majority ethnic. Stealing is normal to them

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 7
      • on you on Aug 09, 2015 at 8:52 pm

Of course.
        Look at mother country. 5000 years of civilization absolutely zero corruption. Only the purest whitest souls come from there to spread the highest most honourable values of mankind throughout the world.
        Maybe except for Jho Low and Qin Hui.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
        • or you on Aug 10, 2015 at 12:12 am

Yeah, when they come here, they must follow the rule of majority ethnic, which is to give/receive ‘donation’. Billions lost in the name of ‘donation’? Ok what. Don’t like the rule? Get sacked like Muhyiddin. Lu tak suka, lu keluar. This is how the Malays rule Malaysia. Everything must follow rule but the rule is for their personal interest

• Yusof on Aug 10, 2015 at 9:34 am

Pleasure seeking. That is all they know. Lazy and don’t want to work hard but want free money

• Donation on Aug 09, 2015 at 5:56 pm

Just keep quiet, I got plenty to share if you support me.

• Nedim Official Car on Aug 07, 2015 at 8:55 pm

This car will be used by Ministers or their sons. But they don’t have to buy it. Remember Nazri? He drove a Porsche Cayenne fully bought and maintained by a timber tycoon wanting contracts from daddy.

So many children will be using this Maybach fully maintained and bought by those seeking contracts

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
  • Diesel on Aug 07, 2015 at 9:08 pm

I wonder how it feels to be inside 1 of this. Absolutely luxury. Really beyond satisfaction.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • RM2.6 Billion Dollar Man on Aug 07, 2015 at 9:13 pm

Small money lah. RM1.88 million only. With RM2600 million (RM2.6 billion), I can buy 1300 units of this car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
  • RM24 Million Diamond on Aug 07, 2015 at 9:20 pm

Kak Rose Diamond alone is US24 Million (nearly RM100 million). This car is just small change lah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
  • Malaysia Jaguh on Aug 07, 2015 at 9:42 pm

Malaysia has the highest Ferrari and Lamborghini ownership in the world. Infact, Lamborghini’s largest order for Aventadors came from Malaysia.

It is amazing. Many of these buyers have no proper jobs nor inherited wealth, nor come from rich families.

they sit in Starbucks, Coffee Bean and strike a few deals with Government officials, and suddenly, big money comes into their coffers.

Only in Malaysia!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 7
    • berombon on Aug 08, 2015 at 3:47 pm

really ahh? I didn’t know that..true fact or you just simply hamtam only…if simply hamtam, not good you know lying…show fact and figures la please..if a friend to your friend says so, it doesn’t count.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 21
  • DPCraft on Aug 07, 2015 at 10:25 pm

Nice car !! Especially this new generation really stands out on the road.

• Jimmy on Aug 07, 2015 at 11:27 pm

1. I know my level is upto brandnew S-class only, but I won’t pretend to be capable by doing unnecessary things just to get myself a Maybach.
    2. I may get a Maybach, Patek, Hermes etc etc but I don’t get the respect of my staffs in my company.
    3. When Ms Wang Ai Zah becomes the president of U5A in 31 Feb 2017, Abama better burns his White Home to destroy everythings to save him and his friends. ABCD will not increase Abama’s support from U5A voters. Internal winds will add oil to the fire, ultimately everybody dies due to 90% burns.
    4. When Maybach is in trouble, it needs the help from parent company Mercedes.
    5. A rest in a Bar after a crack in my head can deter me from writing comments.
    6. Wheelbase 3365mm and width 2130mm, good.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 15
  • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Aug 08, 2015 at 9:25 am

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV

• steven see on Aug 09, 2015 at 5:22 pm

Showroom very empty ah? How is your saga that bought by your papa Sam to you?

• Kancil Hybrid on Aug 08, 2015 at 10:37 am

If I have RM2.6b also I won’t buy this car. I’ll buy Camry Hybrid.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • This car is cheap…

I bet many BN politicians, cronies and the gang could easily buy a few for their own, for their wifey or mistress.

• This car even cheaper for dear leader and his merry band. After all he got 3 billion in his selangor gov piggy bank.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
  • EvoTing on Aug 08, 2015 at 7:08 pm

Your Geneva 2009 Maybach article mentioned the price tags of Zeppelin 57 & 62 were 406K Euro & 473K Euro respectively, which should be around RM1.75m & RM2m. How did you get the RM8.9m in this article?