Automated Enforcement System (AES) to be revived

AES_Camera

According to a report by The Edge Financial Daily, the Automated Enforcement System (AES) is all set to be “rerolled out soon.” The statement was made by Tan Sri Lodin Wok Kamaruddin, deputy chairman-cum-managing director of Boustead Holdings. More details surrounding the implementation of the second phase will be divulged “within the next one to two weeks,” the report added.

On the revival, Lodin, who is also the chief executive of Armed Forces Fund Board (LTAT), commented that “there should be a positive outcome [of the roll-out] this time.” Earlier in March this year, the joint venture entity between Boustead and LTAT purchased a 50% share in Irat Properties – the latter had taken over operations of the system from both Beta Tegap and Automated Traffic Enforcement System (ATES).

The remaining 50% stake in Irat Properties is owned by LTAT. It should also be known that Boustead had paid a total sum of RM250 million to acquire its 50% share Irat Properties – it is not known how much the latter had to pay in order to acquire both Beta Tegap and ATES.

camera-trap-speed

As for the arbitration case between the concessionaires of the AES and the federal government, Lodin has assured the media that the case has been “mutually settled.” Since the project was halted, the earlier concessionaires have been seeking compensation. Both Beta Tegap and ATES obtained a 66-month concession period, active from December 9 2011, with revenue derived from the payment of summonses.

With the collapse of said project, Beta Tegap recorded an after-tax loss for the financial year (end June 2014) of RM22.58 million with net liabilities pegged at RM32.8 million. Meanwhile, ATES had recorded an after-tax loss of RM20.61 million while consolidated net liabilities were RM47.12 million.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• mr_em on Aug 10, 2015 at 2:32 pm

Why bother with AES to generate income? We as a nation can survive on donation whattttt…….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 1
  • BigBalls on Aug 10, 2015 at 2:39 pm

Government out of money. Time to dig more and more from the rakyat, instead of plugging the leakages.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 1
    • Government is never out of money. It is a lie so that they can continue to raise taxes and implement GST.

If the money is going into the right pocket, Malaysia will be a wealthy nation.

Stop plundering the nation!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 2
    • Ceplos on Aug 10, 2015 at 6:38 pm

If you want to save your money just follow the rules. Yes our government is out of money and shiyytt but rakyat also need to be punished if they don’t know how to respect other road users.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 9
    • trollmaster3000 on Aug 11, 2015 at 5:12 am

why not just ask for more donations from some very friendly people in the arab countries..? they are sooo generous in donating for those in need that their money probably grows on trees.. even jibby has one recently planted in his backyard..

• kamarul on Aug 10, 2015 at 2:46 pm

Thanks Lodin, you crony saving, good for nothing 1mdb chairman

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • Same L0rrrr on Aug 10, 2015 at 2:48 pm

After all, it is all about money!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
  • Calcutta on Aug 10, 2015 at 3:11 pm

speed camera is ok,is which pocket the money end up is the issue

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 0
  • venven81 on Aug 10, 2015 at 3:12 pm

sorry guys but i have one question. do we need to settle the AES summons as of today? i got 2 tickets 2 months back and am wondering whether or not to settle them since i have heard so much about it being invalid? please advise :)

• Gargantia on Aug 10, 2015 at 7:09 pm

My friend you just ask a good question. Seem that this AES more like “show and no go”… onlY helping cronies to gain more profit from corrup**** !!!

• CarmenTung on Aug 10, 2015 at 3:21 pm

While I don’t really care AES is implemented or not…I plead to gov..please raise the maximum 110km/j speed, that is so 90’s already…even modern small A segment cars can easily cruise beyond that speed without stability issues.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 8
  • Common Citizen on Aug 10, 2015 at 4:06 pm

More plundering to come… might as well raise all speed limit to 120km/h on all the highway. Boustead… this is a frequently mentioned name in the recent scandals rumours..

• Make it simple on Aug 10, 2015 at 4:10 pm

Why not let JPJ or police operate it? Only maintenance, repair, supply etc can open tender to qualified contractors like any other govt assets. Any summons paid also goes straight to govt.

• azrai on Aug 10, 2015 at 4:14 pm

Better saman in Singapore Dollar since our Ringgit keep spiraling down.

• Marco on Aug 10, 2015 at 4:34 pm

2.4 million per camera – 10 Mpixel camera ? wowwww ?
    At most including installation ( trenching works on the road ,etc) , 5k-50k with 50k for the most difficult runs with about 10k being the most common …

• Ceplos on Aug 10, 2015 at 6:31 pm

More AES more better. Our road users drive like ass4ole and everyday i have to face all of them.

• Sometimes I don’t understand Malaysian. We you go across to Singapore or even UK they also have AES. In Singapore when you drive over in Singapore all of you follow the rules and Law. When you pass AES you in Singapore you slow down. When Malaysian government implement similar system every Malaysian menyumpah like hell… I don’t understand Malaysian mentality….even though I am a Malaysian. Government build 4 lanes highway Malaysian only use the 2 right lane & road hogging…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
  • When you have constipation, blame the government, when you have diarrhoea, blame the government too. You are never wrong.