Proton Iriz R3 touring car nearly ready for shakedown

11794578_883151928400029_5684958918705566824_o

Proton Motorsports has released yet more teaser photos of its new baby, the Proton Iriz R3 touring car, on its Facebook page – and this time it looks like preparations are nearly complete, with the team stating that the car is almost ready for its first shakedown test. It is hoped that the Iriz will be completed in time for Round 4 of the Malaysian Championship Series (née Malaysian Super Series) on August 28 to 30.

Photographed at the rear next to its more illustrious Suprima S cousin, the Iriz certain seems like it’s pretty much ready to hit the track with its tailgate pins and race-spec quick fuel filler, and appears to just be waiting for its signature Proton blue-and-yellow graphics and, of course, the badge on the tailgate.

11217590_881946831853872_5150024368644492022_o

To recap, the Iriz touring car – built according to 1,600 cc Malaysian Touring Car specifications for MCS – is claimed to push out as much as 190 hp (that’s 119 hp per litre without a turbo!), sent through a close-ratio five-speed manual transmission (probably the same dog-engagement unit as its Suprima S cousin) to the front wheels.

Other mouth-watering components include a six-point roll cage (as per regulations), Öhlins adjustable suspension and large Alcon disc brakes. Proton Motorsport claims that we’ll see the finished product in about two to three weeks’ time, and we can’t wait!

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• nabill (Member) on Aug 10, 2015 at 2:06 pm

exhaust in the boot!!
    i can only imagine how much the rear suspension been reworked that it canot accommodate the exhaust anymore…looks ace!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 57
  • Same L0rrrr on Aug 10, 2015 at 2:51 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 207
    • At least better than your TRD stickers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 1
    • frossonice on Aug 10, 2015 at 5:09 pm

Bodo piang sorang ni. Lame. Move on la. You’ve been doing the same shit over and over again, no wonder Toyota is not the no.1 anymore.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 2
    • Better than all of the ricer modded Vios.And I think the Vios TRD not only river,but its a paddy.Get a life Same LOrrr.Accept the fact that Proton is getting better and its better than your holy Toyota.

• Milotin on Aug 11, 2015 at 12:48 am

Milotin pun nak modify utk racing… Ape kestupidan nie… Sad nasi lemak technology!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 33
      • lotushandling on Aug 11, 2015 at 8:01 am

Watch slalom test, Iriz handling is lightyears above your sampan myvi

• By looking at the fact that you have internet access and a computer to type this comment, I guess you just came out from the cave. Just to update you the latest Proton cars are made from HPF steel including this Iriz, in case you don’t know.

The milotin term has long been passed on to your MyVi.

• corrected on Aug 10, 2015 at 3:12 pm

come’on lah proton, pump in more money and get things better around. why so stingy. go for 6 speed manual or dual clutch transmission, paddle shifter. dump that 1.6 opt for 2.0 turbocharged la. driver happy, fans happy, semua happy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 31
  • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 196
  • jobless on Aug 10, 2015 at 4:17 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 199
  • iriz tak nak keluar sv ke

• Btul la melesian ni, kereta utk racing, d maki psl jumlah jualan dan qualiti kereta.. Benar kata p.ramlee kecik2 taknak mampus, sdh tua menyusahkn orng..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
  • teamsleepnine on Aug 10, 2015 at 8:56 pm

the iris rear is like kecil-kecil cili padi….small but mean liddat …but the front ….ummm

• donno on Aug 10, 2015 at 10:03 pm

Forza proton!

Good luck and all the best.

• FlamingFox88 on Aug 11, 2015 at 3:32 am

Remove rear logo from boot area, increase 50hp!

• NomNom on Aug 26, 2015 at 3:50 pm

The gear knob, so classic.. Great job Proton Motorsport.. Salute your effort!